Endorsed by Which?

Peter Higson & Co Ltd

4.9

56 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:30
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Higson’s plumbing & heating commenced trading in 1930 serving the Altrincham and surrounding areas. We are now one of the oldest companies in the area.

We are a Worcester Bosch Accredited Installation company and can offer a free twelve year manufactures guarantee.

Since October 2023 we also have an electrical division.

As we are FCA registered company we can offer 0% finance up to 2 years and 10.9% up to ten years.

Our bathrooms as absolutely stunning. All designed and drawn by Jo at her showroom -Altrincham Bathrooms at Stag Industrial Estate, Atlantic Street, Altrincham, WA14 5DW.

Most quotations are free and emailed the same or next day after surveying.

Don’t just take my word for our teams quality repairs, service and installations. Look at our Which reviews.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Peter Higson

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Used for years and would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Peter Higson for years, both for major work such as fitting new bathrooms and for emergency plumbing repairs. He and his team have always been reliable and professional and their work has always been excellent.
Richard and Sarah in Cheshire East Posted on 31/03/2023 , work completed 17/03/2023
First job for me and would definitely recommend and use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and his team are a great crew. They installed a new boiler for me on time and their workmanship is excellent. They went to a lot of trouble to route new pipework required as neatly and discreetly as possible which is greatly appreciated.
Don in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/03/2023 , work completed 15/03/2023
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler engineer recommended Peter to us when he retired last year and we're really glad he did. Peter fitted us in quickly and arrived promptly. He explained what needed doing and why, tidied up as he worked, and completed all the paperwork that keeps our Worcester Bosch warranties going. We asked him back for a plumbing job a few days later, and it was the same story - he even fitted us in on the same day! Peter and his apprentice James were great to deal with and we wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend them. He's now our go-to plumber as well as boiler engineer.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/01/2023 , work completed 12/01/2023
Great Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and his team took my bathroom back to the brickwork and refurbished it. Everything went really well both in terms of time taken to complete the work and budget. The team turned up when they said they would and kept me informed throughout the whole project. They accommodated changes on the way and carried out small extra jobs with a smile. Peter made suggestions which I would never have thought of to solve problems. They cleaned up after themselves and made sure to leave enough room for me to move safely around my house. I really can’t fault their workmanship and would happily recommend them to friends and family. As a bonus, I now have contacts for all the various trades, which I will be using in the future. Thank you so much Peter, James, Kevin, Adam, Andy, Mark and Mervyn for such great work.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/12/2022 , work completed 22/12/2022
Fitting new bathroom heater and taps and repairing hot water system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was agreed a few days prior to commencement. Work was done promptly and efficiently, at the time specified and to budget. The work carried out was to an extremely high standard. The tradesmen worked cleanly and were considerate and polite. We were given a complete and clear explanation of the work carried out on completion. The work was carried out to our complete satisfaction, and we would have no hesitation in recommending the company to anyone and will certainly employ them for any work in the future.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 02/12/2022 , work completed 02/12/2022
Delighted with Full Bathroom Renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter, James and all the trades they work with completed the renovation of our bathroom on budget and on time. They were a pleasure to have around, and made a potentially stressful renovation project run as smooth as possible for us. Any minor hitches were addressed quickly and without a fuss. The standard of customer care and communication is well beyond most other trades we have used previously.The transformation of our bathroom is dramatic,and we are absolutely delighted with the finish. It is now a pleasure to use and a credit to Peter and his team. We will certainly call Peter again, should we need any other plumbing or gas work.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/11/2022 , work completed 08/11/2022
Complete heating system install and ongoing services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter Higson is a genuinely nice guy and very knowledgeable. He helped us when we moved in our current house which at the time didn't have central heating but was fitted with a very old (and not working) coal boiler and immersion take only. He helped recommend the boiler and system we needed, fitted it, connected it to the new gas mains we had installed, fitted all the pips and new radiators into the property. His extensive knowledge of current but also traditional systems was invaluable to achieve this as he needed to decommission the existing coal system and connect in the new one. The boiler and system has worked perfectly since installed five years ago and we use Peter to service it annually. If you're looking for a decent plumber, who can be relied upon then give Peter a call.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/10/2022 , work completed 14/10/2022
Excellent Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and James refurbished our bathroom and carried out a number of repairs to our plumbing system. Throughout the work they were polite and considerate and we are delighted with the standard of workmanship. Throughout the process we were kept well informed of how things were progressing and what the next step would be and they were happy to discuss any concerns we had. Both Peter and James were reliable and always arrived on time for appointments. I would definitely recommend this company. Thanks Peter!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 09/10/2022 , work completed 09/10/2022
Great service and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and James carried out a number of fixes in our house including two leaking pipes above the ceiling, a broken toilet and shower bar valve. We were happy with the work and they left the areas clean and tidy. Peter and James were very efficient, professional and friendly. I would recommend and use them again for any plumbing needs. Thanks again!
Lily in Greater Manchester Posted on 09/06/2022 , work completed 01/06/2022
The trader replied (on 09/06/2022)
Thanks for your review Lily.
Fit new central heating Radiator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Trader supplied a detailed schedule of work and provided a reasonable quotation. He attended promptly on the agreed date to carry out the work of removing an old radiator and re-siting and fitting a new central heating radiator. He was friendly, helpful and professional and carried out the work to a high standard. He tested the system to prove it worked. He left the site clean and tidy.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/06/2022 , work completed 07/06/2022
The trader replied (on 09/06/2022)
Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated.