Endorsed by Which?

Peter Higson & Co Ltd

4.9

56 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:30
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Higson’s plumbing & heating commenced trading in 1930 serving the Altrincham and surrounding areas. We are now one of the oldest companies in the area.

We are a Worcester Bosch Accredited Installation company and can offer a free twelve year manufactures guarantee.

Since October 2023 we also have an electrical division.

As we are FCA registered company we can offer 0% finance up to 2 years and 10.9% up to ten years.

Our bathrooms as absolutely stunning. All designed and drawn by Jo at her showroom -Altrincham Bathrooms at Stag Industrial Estate, Atlantic Street, Altrincham, WA14 5DW.

Most quotations are free and emailed the same or next day after surveying.

Don’t just take my word for our teams quality repairs, service and installations. Look at our Which reviews.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Peter Higson

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
High quality service and work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted PH after passing by their van in Altrincham. The process of getting a quote was very smooth and Peter was very polite and understanding. Once quoted and we agreed, the work was carried out. The team was highly professional in explaining what they were going to carry out and they did it without leaving any mess. Peter would also advise on progress and ensured the work was done with superb finish. I have since used PH twice and have not been disappointed. Very trusted also and everything was put into place after they finished. Quotation process is very straight forward. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 20/01/2022 , work completed 05/01/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
We are so glad our gleaming vans get the attention that they deserve. It was a great pleasure to work at your business. We wish your ventures all the great success that they deserve and look forward to working with you again in April. Best wishes Peter
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Peter and James recently replaced an old boiler. Peter kept me updated about the start date and his communication has been excellent throughout. The work was carried out with minimum disruption and they left no mess. They were punctual, courteous and professional, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the company.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/11/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the years we've had Peter do a number of jobs for us. He has replaced and performed annual maintenance on our central heating system and done a number of smaller plumbing jobs. Peter always provides a quote and agrees dates before starting any work and keeps to those dates. In some cases he has called and actually began the work earlier than expected. His workmanship is top quality and he always removes any rubbish at the end of the job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you so much. It is always a pleasure to work for you and we look forward to meeting again. Best wishes as always Peter
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Peter Higson for many years, a complete bathroom replacement, also a new boiler and new radiator installation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 20/09/2017
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
It’s always great to work for you and have a chat about the world in general- especially the Altrincham area !! Best Pete
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Old gas boiler replaced with new gas boiler, removed all old radiators ., replaced with new radiators (total 7). Replaced kitchen sink mixer tap, supplied and fitted new bath panel and new shower hose, carried out electrical work, fitted new thermostat and new consumer unit. Also some remedial plaster work. Supplied complete itemised estimate of work prior, prompt start and completion of work, advice given to us on any enquiry we asked about, but did not place any pressure us to have any extra work done. Placed on annual service. I fully recommend Mr Peter Higson and his company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 31/03/2020
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
The pleasure was all ours. We very much appreciate your business, jars of honey, tea & biscuits !! Great to have you on our client list. Best wishes Peter
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of uneconomical to repair combi boiler . Peter Higson chosen from a approved supplier list from the domestic and general warranty scheme for replacement boilers . Peter higson has been excellent from start to finish. Made contact within the hour to view the required job and has provided a first class service throughout from installation to clearing up after completing the work . Whilst they are not the cheapest I was happy to pay for many years of experience and expertise to ensure a professional job was done . The old adage ? you get what you pay for ? comes to mind . They ensured all was working correctly with the boiler and would not leave until a wifi connection to the boiler was working properly . Peter and his co worker James were pleasant and courteous throughout the time they were on site and answered any questions we had on the work being carried out I would have no reservations in recommending them .
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 21/10/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
It was a pleasure to work for you both and your cat was a great apprentice- always looking in the toolboxes and showing initiative. Thanks so much for your business Best wishes Pete
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional installation in time and on budget. Very tidy and no issues with his work at all.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 20/09/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
We are so glad that you are pleased with your boiler and heating order last year. Thanks for giving us your new bathroom order this year. It is very much appreciated and is a delight to work for you both Best wishes Pete
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
a very good professional job with lots of information along the way about progress,problems and costings
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 31/10/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thanks so much. Your review is much appreciated Best wishes Peter
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of new boiler. Was very satisfied with the work and the manner it was done. Reluctant to send copy of the invoice as it shows personal bank details.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 10/05/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you for your business and review. Both are much appreciated Best wishes Peter