Endorsed by Which?

R Tredget & Son

4.7

23 Reviews

About

We are a family run business, we take on a variety of jobs such as bathrooms kitchens complete refurbishment extensions and also painting and decorating. All our Quotes are free and we will give the best possible advise.

Where we cannot resolve any complaints using our own complaints procedure, as a which?trusted trader we use Dispute Resolution Ombudsman for dispute resolution in the unlikely event of complaint arising and you wish to refer the complaint to them please contact Which? trusted traders in the instance on 01179812929

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Plastering
    • Building services
    • Conservatories
    • Garage conversions
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • More Services

    • plasterers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
23 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.7
Sort by
Courteous, helpful, very good building work done within quote and to schedule.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What more can I say. The firm were courteous, helpful, did very good work within quote and to schedule. They replied quickly to questions, and adapted to some new ideas we had for the work with understanding and good feedback. Highly recommended. Brian Hagan
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/12/2023 , work completed 04/12/2023
100% trustworthy company who take pride in their work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard, Adam and H (among others) have worked on various projects for us since 2018, including a loft extension, kitchen installation, replacement of ground floor joists and flooring etc. Our Victorian house has thrown some nasty curveballs which are always approached with creative and thoughtful solutions, often preceded with 'If this was my house...' Even when the architect made errors, these were picked up on and resolved by them with minimum fuss or stress. I know that any work they have done will last for many years, as things are done properly and safely. I am updated and/or consulted every step of the way, so I can be confident we're on the same page, know what needs to be done, and how it needs to be done. The team are considerate to children/pets and always ensure they clean up after themselves, as they don't lose sight of the fact that they are working in people's homes. Other trades have been brought in by Richard and Adam when we have needed them, who have also been reliable with reasonable rates. Things haven't always come in on time or budget, which was absolutely outside of anyone's control, (thanks previous owners/architects...) however the communication as to why could not have been faulted in any way. I would absolutely recommend R Tredget & Son for any job you're considering. You will get honesty and quality at a fair price.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/11/2023 , work completed 28/11/2023
Considerate, professional builders.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As our first time building experience, Richard and his team put to rest any concerns and worries we had. They installed steels, opened up 2 fire places and put in a bathroom/ utility room, plastered, tiled and built in storage and cupboard space. They also did the plumbing after we were let down by the plumber we had booked in. Richard was very quick to respond to messages and talked us through each step they were working on, always answering our questions and giving suggestions when we were unsure of the best option. Michelle always sent through quotes for any additional items we requested before going ahead with work, so there were no unwanted financial surprises at the end. The whole team are fab, always polite and an all round friendly bunch to have around. They did a great job working with the difficult tiles (cement, marble and porcelain all hand made) and finishing requests we had. We are really pleased with the very professional finish, and our space feels very much the home we imagined. We hope to have them returned in the future to work on some other areas of the house.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/07/2022 , work completed 22/05/2010
Garage Conversion and updating of adjoining room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team have created a lovely room for us and have also updated the decoration in the adjoining back room. The work was done very professionally, everyone was very polite, friendly and they kept the area very tidy throughout the entire process. They also kept us updated and advised us on each stage of the works. We look forward to them carrying out further work on our behalf in the near future.
Linda in Greater London Posted on 15/12/2021 , work completed 14/12/2021
Excellent work, would use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard, Adam and the team were great on our job. We had a wall removed, a new kitchen fitted, plastering, new floor, etc. They stuck to their quote and were always polite and professional. Great at communicating and keeping us updated on the progress. Already planning on using them again for other projects.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/10/2021 , work completed 24/09/2021
Bathroom
Richard was reliable professional and totally honest with his opinion of the work that needed doing. He was only too willing to assist and try to put right the problems that I have been experiencing from a previous tradesman. I felt that I could trust and rely on his judgement.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/08/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
Orangery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have had Richard and his team do work for me and he will be renewing my bathroom as well soon. This firm are great they are friendly and tidy and do a good job even though we had some delays with orangery through no fault of them all due to the virus but at the end of the day I have a lovely new room to enjoy thank you Richard and team👍
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 11/11/2020
Bathroom gut and refit: Second Contract with Richard - Just as good as the first. One in a million find. Great after care.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is my second time using Richard. The first time was rebuilding my kitchen/conservatory. The job itself was to gut out a bodged bathroom job and re-do it. New tiles, new flooring, under-floor heating and shower enclosure. The same standard carried out throughout this job, as expected. Cleanliness is outstanding - at the end of the day, the site is left cleaner than the rest of my house! Doesn't look like a building site at all. The quoted price was the cheapest of 3 quotes (and even cheaper than the family friend who originally did it "on the cheap" for me and bodged it). Now it's a room that people compliment me on whenever they come and visit, just like the first job he did. The aftercare is amazing too - complete trust in Richard to fix any underlaying issues that may arise (a few touch up jobs here and there). Always picks up the phone and comes to visit if anything is wrong. I was AGAIN a difficult customer but Richard handled this without fuss. He treats me with respect and care. Would recommend completely and am also going to get Rich back to do my garden next year (hopefully).
Customer in Kent Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 02/07/2020
The trader replied (on 15/12/2020)
Hello Jamie Thank you for your great feedback, glad you were happy with the works. Always a pleasure working for you! We are only a phone call away should you ever need us.
Beautiful, watertight and safe, conservatory.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my conservatory roof began leaking at the start of lockdown and the “builder”, who had replaced the roof just 3 years ago could not be reached, I asked Richard Tredget, who has carried out work for us in the past, for his advice and a quotation, which I accepted. Richard made the work a priority, whilst at all times keeping me safe at this difficult time. The whole roof had to be removed (revealing the poor - and dangerous - construction), the flank walls built up in blockwork and a steel beam installed before a new roof could be constructed and made watertight. I now have a conservatory/orangery which is beautiful both inside and out, watertight and, with blockwork walls, cooler in the summer and hopefully warmer in the winter. Some extra work was included as the job progressed, such as outside lights (which I hope to use on warm evenings and which add to my security), external sockets, a new floor etc. Richard, Adam and Jamie have been great. I only wish we had used them for the original replacement roof!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/07/2020 , work completed 28/07/2020
Orangery and Kitchen rebuild. Amazing attitude to work - fast, trust worthy, helpful, great communication and CLEAN!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having already been through a few difficult builders in my short (<1year) time home owning, finding Richard was a relief. I called Rich up and got him in to quote on rebuilding my conservatory and knocking down the wall to the kitchen. The confidence in his ability to get the work done was there from the first meeting. He knew exactly how to do everything that needed to be done, even spotted things that I would never have noticed that would be good to get done. He gave the quote at a cheaper price than competitors so I took him on. His team are quick, hard and VERY CLEAN workers. He knocked my conservatory down in a day! Everything is packed up and left neat at the end of the day. His communication was quick. Any issues that arose on the job, I got a call straight away explaining everything, reassuring me he will not let them be blockers. We came in to a few of these potential blockers (kitchen needed rewiring, whole ceiling needed to be re-plastered, waste pipes needed replacing), along with me being difficult as a first time owner (adding jobs, being indecisive), and where other builders would lose faith, get annoyed, try and get out of the job, Rich carried on. He even gave advice on how to handle another builder's terrible job who I have to take to court! I am getting Rich back to rectify this work. And will get him back for any future works needed. In the end, I am left with an open plan Kitchen and Orangery space that everyone who sees it is jealous of.
Customer in Kent Posted on 08/01/2020 , work completed 20/12/2019