We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

S & A Heating Limited

Profile thumb sa logo  3
5.0

44 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

S and A Heating Ltd are an experienced trusted business based in Torquay, providing high quality plumbing, bathroom and central heating services. Trading since 1977 we have over 42 years experience in the plumbing/ heating industry.
We are based in Torquay where we have an excellent reputation as a local trusted and reliable company and we also work all over the South West
Our professional team of gas engineers are polite, clean, trustworthy, willing to help and most importantly are able to cater for all your domestic requirements in a time frame to suit you.
We are Gas Safe, OFTEC and NAPIT registered, a member of IDHE, CHIL, a registered Energy Efficiency installer and Green deal installers.
Winners of the installer of the month (June) with Worcester Environment 2010 Awards for Excellence.
In February 2018 (aired on BBC1 in May 2019) we took part in the DIY SOS Big Build in Torquay donating our skill and expertise in installing the plumbing and heating in the home for an amazing cause.

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Wet rooms
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Installation of a new Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had an old boiler in our Annexe replaced by S&A Heating with a Worcester Bosch Greenstar unit They carried out a survey of the premises & the existing pipework to the old boiler We agreed a resonable price and the work was undertaken during the following few weeks The installation was first rate with very little mess We would recommend using them for other heating work
Customer in Devon Posted on 11/11/2021 , work completed 23/08/2021
Boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installer came on time on the day stated. Explained what he was going to do and what he wasn't doing ! Started as soon as he’d checked the system and carried on until the job was completed. Once he’d finished and cleaned up, which included patching up the brickwork outside, he explained the working of the boiler and as we kept our original controls etc this was so simple. Having used the boiler app 2 weeks now we are so pleased with the results and would recommend S &A heating any time.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 25/10/2021 , work completed 14/10/2021
Central Heating Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Communication and price quoted, excellent. Richard arrived on time and worked for more than 3 days installing my central heating system. Very clean and efficient and tidy worker, sometimes working without a break. When completed he showed me how to use it and made sure I was satisfied before he left, taking all his rubbish and cleaning all areas. He assured me if I needed advice, to just give the company a ring
John in Torbay Posted on 08/09/2021 , work completed 03/09/2021
New boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent advice and service when replacing my very old boiler with a new Worcester. Work completed quickly and efficiently, many thanks Shaun for a very good job.
Chris in Torbay Posted on 18/07/2021 , work completed 02/06/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard installed a new boiler, replaced the cold water tanks, and upgraded the system. The work was done very promptly and efficiently, and at a reasonable price. Richard was very hard working, tidy, helpful and friendly. Thank you to all the team- we were very pleased with all aspects of the service.
Liz and William in Devon Posted on 10/07/2021 , work completed 30/06/2021
Boiler Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boiler that was 26yrs old, replaced as it was overheating & tripping out. I contacted S&A Heating on Thursday 18th March late in the day. Sean came over to give me an estimate the following day – very impressed with the quick service. A price was agreed and S&A were able to do the work the following Tuesday (23rd March). I was provided with two bottles of cleaner that day to put into the central heating ahead of the replacement (S&A were going to come and do this but I did it myself as it was more convenient for me to do it). The new boiler was delivered directly to me on the Tuesday morning around 0845hrs and Richard from S&A arrived about 10 minutes later – very impressed. Richard put dust sheet throughout the house and got straight on to the job. In no time at all the system was drained & flushed, old boiler removed from the loft and the new one installed. The necessary pipe alterations were done, gas pressures tested etc, condensate pipe installed, system filter fitted etc. S&A also registered my new boiler with the manufacturer and I now have a new boiler with a 10yr warranty. This is the second time I’ve used S&A – they previously installed a full gas central heating & hot water system at my mum’s from scratch – Richard was the engineer on that job and once again a fantastic job was done. I cannot recommend S&A Heating enough to anyone needing heating work done – they’re an awesome company, professional & competitively priced. I will definitely use them again in the future.
Maurice in Devon Posted on 25/03/2021 , work completed 23/03/2021
The trader replied (on 26/03/2021)
Thank you very much for your feedback! It's very much appreciated.
Boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard came out and fitted our new boiler. The service was excellent, very prompt and efficient. Richard is friendly and easy to talk to.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 08/03/2021 , work completed 05/03/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish SA Heating team were very helpful & informative. My new boiler was installed very professionally & an excellent service all round. Thank you James, Shaun & Richard. I would highly recommend this team.
Sarah in Devon Posted on 17/02/2021 , work completed 15/02/2021
Great work all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S&A Heating were tasked with a boiler replacement. The work was carried out on the agreed day. The assessor of S&A Heating had carried out a visit prior to installation to ascertain the work involved. He explained in detail what work would be required to fit the new boiler. The engineer arrived at the agreed time on fitting day and throughout the whole process kept us informed and made sure we were warm enough when there was a need for the doors to be open to drain the radiators due to the extremely cold weather that day. The task was completed by mid-afternoon with the engineer tidying up prior to leaving and all old parts removed. Prior to departure the engineer briefed me on the new boiler operation before going through all the appropriate paperwork and instruction booklets and aftercare information. It was a pleasure to have the engineer in our house, a friendly gentleman who made us feel at ease. Very impressed with the way he worked throughout. Thank you to S&A Heating for a job well done despite the current restrictions. Would have no hesitation recommend S&A Heating to friends.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 21/02/2009
Great work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Will be recommending S&A heating to my family and friends. They were excellent and the engineer Richard was a very clean and tidy worker.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 05/02/2021 , work completed 03/02/2021
Very professional and trustworthy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment I met Sean the surveyor from S&A heating I knew I was in safe hands. He was polite and very professional. He was very informative regarding my new boiler and answered all of my questions and followed all COVID regulations whilst inside my home. My boiler was fitted a lot quicker than I expected because of a cancellation and I was so grateful when Sean phoned to tell me it would be fitted before Christmas instead of the New Year. The engineer who fitted the new boiler arrived on time and worked continuously through the day to get my old boiler out and the new one in. Once the job was completed he explained all the functions to me thoroughly and also went through all the paperwork. He was very knowledgeable and professional and cleaned up everything before he left. Because of COVID he made sure he was very careful and followed all regulations whilst inside my house when testing my radiators. I would not have any hesitation in recommending S&A Heating to anyone that needed a new boiler.
Donna in Plymouth Posted on 03/01/2021 , work completed 22/12/2020
Boiler replaced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The young man who installed my new boiler was brilliant, he worked very efficiently he was very tidy he was very informative explained everything I could not have a better person here to do the job Thank you
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 15/12/2020
Installation of my lovely new boiler.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Your engineer arrived on time explained everything he had to including the removal of my old dinosaur boiler. Everything was explained with the paper work and how easy it was to use the on off button , much with my poor sight.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 14/11/2020 , work completed 10/11/2020
Diligent and insensitive engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was so impressed with S & A heating from start to finish, on time, extremely hard working and very clean and tidy, laying out dust sheets extensively and wearing shoe covers in the house. Really appreciated that James spent time and patience explaining how to use boiler remote device. Lovely guy and would thoroughly recommend the firm.
Customer in Torbay Posted on 28/10/2020 , work completed 26/10/2020
Boiler Supply and Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They carried out a high quality installation on time and with a "no problems approach". All staff were co-operative, helpful and responded promptly to my communications.
Customer in Torbay Posted on 03/07/2020 , work completed 30/06/2020
Fast, Efficient,
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our 23 year old 400 series combi boiler was condemned as un-repairable on Wed 4th July by the service engineer. we called S&A heating for a quote. Thurs 5th July Sean the surveyor visited in the morning and emailed a quote the same day in the afternoon. We accepted the quote by phone and were given a installation date of Tues 9th July. On the morning of Tues 9th Richard the installation engineer arrived at 8.30am. His first job was to prepare his working area around the boiler with protective dust sheets. That done he worked continuously taking out the old boiler, and replacing it with a new one, Richard is not a 9 to 5 man and by 7pm the system was completed and working, Richard explained all the functions, filled in the paperwork and we signed off the installation. Richard removed all the old parts cleaned the area thoroughly before leaving the house. Because the new boiler was physically the same size only its new appearance showed that the work had been done! otherwise everything was left exactly how it was before the work began. We were only six days without hot water and two of those were a weekend!! which was very little inconvenience thanks to S&A Heating Ltd. My impressions are, excellent company, excellent staff with an exceptional engineer. I would not hesitate in recommending them.
Customer in Torbay Posted on 16/07/2019 , work completed 09/07/2019
Trustworthy and honest
We use S&A Heating to look after our rental properties in Torbay and find them trustworthy and reliable, I would recommend this company to all my friends and family.
John Posted on 18/06/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with service and work received from S&A Heating.
Irene, Devon Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 20/05/2019
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Sean and his team. Clean, tidy, efficient, good communications, friendly, knowledgable and experienced.
Customer in Devon Posted on 15/05/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
Very efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial visit by the company to the completion of the work we received an excellent service. They knew exactly what we needed & completed the job in the time frame.
Alan, Devon Posted on 15/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019
Amazing-honest and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic from start to finish. A reliable, honest and professional company.
Jonathan, Devon Posted on 01/03/2019 , work completed 01/03/2019
Prompt, professional and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed replacement of a 25 year old boiler and appraisal of the heating system. S & A attended quickly, and quoted promptly for the new boiler and the essential elements of its installation. They suggested a minor change to the heating control but did not attempt to increase the value of the job unnecessarily (as others had). Delivery and installation time was short; they attended promptly, were polite, friendly and efficient and cleared the little mess which was made. The new installation was explained and demonstrated, and so far (1 week) appears to be all we hoped for.
Martin, Devon Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 22/01/2019
Efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S&A Heating were excellent and a thoroughly professional service was provided. From the initial assessment to installation and the follow up visit to check we were happy with the product and service provided. Highly recommended.
William, Devon Posted on 19/11/2018 , work completed 19/11/2018
Very Good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced my Combi boiler. They were prompt to reply to my original enquiry. Richard came on time, was clean and tidy, explained what he was going to do and when and was very personable. Also gave us ample warning when the water was going off. Job completed to our complete satisfaction.
DevonB Posted on 11/09/2018 , work completed 11/09/2018
Outstanding job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had a new boiler, radiator and system upgrade, dealt with S and A Heating. I am extremely happy with the job they have done and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this company. I dealt with Shawn and Richard was the fitter, both very friendly and professional. All in all a very clean and tidy job, dealt with in a smooth and efficient way. Highly recommended.
Jill, Devon Posted on 16/08/2018 , work completed 16/08/2018
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S and A Heating provided excellent advice on the options that would best suit our home. The work was carried out efficiently, expediently and with minimum disruption. The quality of the work and finishing was excellent. They are hardworking, trustworthy and extremely knowledgeable and made sure we fully understood how to use our new boiler system. We are very happy and cannot praise S and A Heating enough and thank them for doing a fantastic job. We have and will continue to recommend S and A Heating to anyone who may require assistance in the future. Samantha - Paignton
Samantha Posted on 03/08/2018 , work completed 03/08/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Vaillant broke down and could no longer be repaired. I was at my wits end as we have a baby and no hot water, S & A managed to move their diary and fit a new Vaillant within a couple of days. I'm very thankful to S & A for going above and beyond. Special mention for James he was so helpful and calming. I can't recommend this company enough.
Kerry, Devon Posted on 12/06/2018 , work completed 12/06/2018
Proper job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work carried out. The engineer was superb and the company did not "oversell" items that did not need replacing.
Jon, Devon Posted on 03/06/2018 , work completed 03/06/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good contact before & after the job was done. Arrived on time on the date specified. Good, neat, clean job. Happy to recommend to anyone.
David, Devon Posted on 20/04/2018 , work completed 20/04/2018
Hard job executed brilliantly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shawn came and was the first of a number of quotes I had for a complicated boiler replacement. After having seen five more people, not only was Shawn the most reasonable, Richard completed the job with no fuss, was thoroughly professional and a real pleasure to work with. Payment is flexible but more importantly, this business is the only one I encountered who simply told me what I need and didn't try to up-sell or pray on my lack of expertise! Thanks S&A. We'll always use you in future.
JakeMc Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I want to thank you for the excellent job of Mr Simon Frost for the excellent job of fitting the new boiler. My wife and I are very pleased to have the new boiler. Simon told me not to touch anything regarding the boiler, even with the mains electricity is off. Once again thank you so much.
Jose, Devon Posted on 29/11/2017 , work completed 29/11/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hard working. Efficient, pleasant, well mannered. Cheerful!
Christine, Cornwall Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful. Very tidy very happy would recommend this company.
Burt, Devon Posted on 17/10/2017 , work completed 17/10/2017
Excellent customer service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and courteous at all times. I needed to have a new boiler installed and I chose to use this company as they were highly recommended to me. The engineer was very good because he ensured that surfaces were protected and any mess was minimal...he even swept up afterwards. I was informed regularly of progress by the engineer who was able to complete the job without imposition. I have also since then had the boiler serviced. On both occasions arrangements were made easily and the company was very accommodating. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending S & A Heating LTD to anyone requiring excellent customer service.
Miss. S. smith Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Relatively small job (Wi-Fi CH programmer). Telephone contact was courteous and pleasant. Fitter friendly and informative. All round great job.
Kim Dalwood Posted on 20/09/2017 , work completed 20/09/2017
Fab!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, tidy, fab!
Elaine, Devon Posted on 26/06/2017 , work completed 26/06/2017
Excellent, work prompt & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The tradesmen arrived on time, worked extremely hard in very hot conditions. Explained procedures in detail. Didn't stop for lunch or tea breaks, drank on the hoof, pleasant, tidy, restored my airing cupboard brilliantly. Cleared away all debris, an excellent job done.
Margaret, Devon Posted on 19/06/2017 , work completed 19/06/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good workmanship, professional service. Great customer service.
Susie, Devon Posted on 26/05/2017 , work completed 26/05/2017
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted new C/H boiler, tank, rewired in very old house. No mess, cheerful workers - end result - very happy. They were also the lowest quote!
Frazer, Devon Posted on 08/05/2017 , work completed 08/05/2017
Great job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, reliable company.
Peter, Devon Posted on 01/05/2017 , work completed 01/05/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although I live in the top flat on the third floor with no lift and entry to the far bedroom where the central heating boiler is fitted to the outside wall at the same time as a shower was fitted to bathroom wall. The floor area was completely covered by the fitter and left spotlessly clean after fitting both units. At the age of 92 I was well pleased.
Edmund, Devon Posted on 21/06/2016 , work completed 21/06/2016
Excellent value.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I received on extremely professional service from this company. They were prompt and clear in their explanations when asked to give me a quote. They fitted the job into their diary quickly and did an excellent job of installing our boiler. The model provided was excellent value for money, and has proven to be reliable and efficient. A very pleasing service.
Alicia, Devon Posted on 09/12/2015 , work completed 09/12/2015
They replaced the boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Their work was fine but gas supply issues which delayed it - no fault of. Happy to recommend
Mr Pillar, Torbay Posted on 22/10/2015 , work completed 22/10/2015
Very happy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did the 2nd service on boiler. Been in property for 30 years - S&A Heating have always done all of their central heating - trustworthy, local and reliable
Mrs Alloway, Torquay Posted on 11/10/2015 , work completed 11/10/2015
They put in new boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very clean and tidy, very efficient
Mrs Payne, Torquay Posted on 11/09/2015 , work completed 11/09/2015