Endorsed by Which?

S.O.S Plumbing LTD

4.9

35 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–16:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

S.O.S Plumbing Ltd was established in 1992 in order to offer a quality Boiler, Heating, Plumbing and Gas Breakdown Service and Maintenance Company for private & rental properties and are now a top Breakdown and Boiler Installation Company in South Manchester, building thousands of loyal customers along the way.
S.O.S core business is still Heating/Plumbing Breakdowns, Boiler Replacements and Annual Breakdown Contracts and with over 28 years’ experience our long built reputation gives you the added assurance that you are getting one of the most respected companies in the area.
We offer Boiler Replacements, Combi-Replacements, Boiler Services, Boiler Repairs, Unvented Hot Water Cylinders, Gas Safety Checks, Landlord Gas Safety Certificates, Plumbing Repairs, Annual Breakdown Maintenance Contracts.
Being a Platinum Worcester Bosch Accredited Installer allows us to offer guarantees of up to 12 years at no extra cost with Interest free credit on new Boiler installations.
* terms/conditions apply

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

  • Plumbers

  • More Services

    • system flushing
    • breakdown cover plans

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Competitive price and excellent service.
Our old boiler packed up last week. During the recent spell of freezing weather, speed was of the essence to replace it and SOS certainly delivered. They even provided temporary electric fan heaters to help us out. The price was definitely competitive. I would not hesitate to use them again.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 22/01/2024 (Reviewer did not use service)
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All SOS staff are pleasant, polite and efficient. I have always been happy with the work the have done for me
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 16/01/2024 , work completed 15/01/2024
Emergency Plumbing Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned late morning with a toilet that was emptying its cistern (thankfully clean water) into the kitchen below. Given a 2pm til 4pm slot same day and engineer arrived by 2pm. Great guy. Very helpful and problem solved within 20 mins. Impressed.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 09/01/2024 , work completed 04/01/2024
Gas Boiler Annual Maintenance and Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"Very happy with the prompt and efficient attention received from SOS and Barry's skillful investigation and rectification of the boiler fault. Thank you! "
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 21/12/2023 , work completed 19/12/2023
Customer Service and keeping to appointed time
"Tracy and Angela were amazing, when they said they would ring me back they did every time, they listened to my concerns regarding the draining of the water cylinder, they were helpful , efficient and patient with me. I do worry a lot, they were very kind. The heating engineer arrived at the given time, he was polite and reassuring, he put my mind to rest, and did a very efficient job. I was very impressed from start to finish and will be using them again and recommending them to everyone. Thank you. Maureen from Buxton Road."
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/12/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Anthony arrived promptly to carry out annual service on gas boiler. He was friendly, polite & very professional. The work was carried out with the minimum of disruption. I will be using S.O.S Plumbing again to rectify problems with a bathroom. I received a text day before, confirming appointment & the ladies I have spoken to dealing with administration, Tracy & Angela have been polite, friendly & very efficient. Thank you. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this Company.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 01/11/2023 , work completed 01/11/2023
Great response to a plumbing problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
" Absolutely brilliant. Engineer turned up very promptly, assessed the job and carried out a repair in quick time. He explained what the problem had been and the fix which was very reassuring. A brilliant and very professional attitude. I would recommend SOS Plumbing to anyone looking for great service."
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 23/10/2023 , work completed 13/10/2023
Fast response, excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've called SOS Plumbing three times. 1st. When kitchen fitters bodged work with the mains water, split the mains pipe, left us without water and tried to deny it. SOS were quick to respond and fixed a difficult fault that day. 2nd. To fix a toilet that wouldn't flush properly. 3. To replace the faulty kitchen tap. On each occasion their response has been quick and their work to a very high standard. They will be the first people I will call for any plumbing issues. I can't rate them highly enough.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 23/10/2023 , work completed 13/10/2023
Over ten years excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had SOS for boiler services and installation of new boiler since moving to the property. Their employees are very professional and courteous. We have no hesitation in recommending SOS.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 11/10/2023 , work completed 10/10/2023
Efficient and reliable
I'm not sure what is needed to qualify for Which Trusted Trader status but whatever it is I am sure SOS Plumbing have it. I have needed them three times (different jobs) and each time they were quick and efficient and reliable. I didn't get an exact estimate but I knew the basis of their charging and the bills I've had were in line with what I knew.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 28/09/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
Push button toilet repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Plumber arrived on time.Very polite.Went out to get a part ,returned and promptly completed the job.Very happy with the service
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 09/08/2023 , work completed 09/08/2023
Quick and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to contact and job done quickly and easily within 3 hours of first contact even though it wasn't an urgent job. The repair was to replace a weeping elbow bend in the cold water inlet pipe to the boiler.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 06/06/2023 , work completed 05/06/2023
Always excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the annual boiler service. They sent a reminder with a suggested date, which was good for me. They specified a time. Ryan arrived ahead of time, did the job (in the kitchen) in a reasonable time, and left with no mess. Excellent! Thank you. Hope to see you next year.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 15/05/2023 , work completed 10/05/2023
BRILLIANT SERVICE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good Friday our toilet cistern was continually running water and straight into the toilet bowl. Within 1 hour SOS was on the job. They made a temporary fix. to return on 11/4 to replace the full system. Full marks yet again to SOS. We also get an annual boiler service which has been allocated for 22/4. We have had no hesitation in highly recommending them to friends and family and will continue to do this.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 13/04/2023 , work completed 11/04/2023
A plumber that does not offer a service to replace taps
I enquired if they could replace our kitchen tap and they said they could not. Did not give a reason. I suspect they worked out they could make more profit with other bigger jobs.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 28/10/2022 (Reviewer did not use service)
Quick and efficient response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company has always been very reliable and quick to respond. Customer care are helpful and the technicians are polite and really do get the job done!
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 17/02/2022 , work completed 03/02/2022
Major Bathroom Water Leak
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SOS Plumbing rapid response to our plumbing crisis was greatly appreciated. Despite very tricky access, the problem was essentially resolved on the first visit, much to our relief. We also appreciated that they were able to make timely further visits to resolve the remaining non-critical issues. We won't hesitate to call them again for help if the need arises.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 08/12/2021 , work completed 30/11/2021
Solution found after frustrating month
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When the shower stopped working, I was caught between the requirements of the regulations of the retirement flats where I live and the unwillingness of the shower manufacturers to provide a risk assessment document. I had asked the manufacturers, Aqualisa, to repair the shower. I was then put in touch with SOS Plumbing, who could not have been more helpful. They showed concern for my plight and determination to solve the problem. Their plumber came and fixed the shower at the agreed time. I was most impressed by Angela, at SOS Plumbing. She was patient but determined to see a satisfactory conclusion.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/12/2021 , work completed 04/12/2021
Always happy with SOS
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timely attention to a leak, many thanks for fixing the problem. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 25/10/2021 , work completed 06/10/2021
A Very reliable family business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company has been a wonderful professional support to my family over three years. Their response has been very swift and understanding of our problems. They replaced my very old boiler in our last home 3 years ago the quote was extremely reasonable for a high quality boiler. The staff were very courteous, gave us a quote and no pressure salesmanship. They checked with us a few days after the completion of work, asked did we have any further questions about new boiler and reminded us they were only a phone call away. So when we had problems with a fairly new boiler in our latest home I felt 100% confident of ringing SOS for quality assured, prompt help, he arrived on time explained what the problem was, he ordered the new part and once again left us feeling we were in good hands. Having a disability I need a reliable company, who offered us an excellent quote, with high quality considerate, prompt work especially when we have a urgent problem. They will be there to support you from start to completion excellent family company.
Mrs Casey in Cheshire East Posted on 03/08/2021 , work completed 02/08/2021
"Speedy assistance provided, and problem overcome within one hour“
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This firm were recommended by a close friend and have fully justified this in providing efficient service.
Philip in Cheshire East Posted on 23/04/2021 , work completed 27/03/2021
Excellent response and fast repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job, the plumber arrived yesterday (18th Feb) we didn't expect a visit until the Friday. Assessed what was needed for the job, advised us he needed to order a part, which he could probably get today (19th Feb) Arrived today with the part, fitted and done and dusted very quickly. Very nice, polite and efficient. We've used SOS previously and would again. Thank you
Cheshire in Cheshire Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 19/02/2021
Boiler leak
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Leaking boiler was diagnosed quickly and fixed next day just before Christmas meaning one less thing to worry about. Efficient and prompt service and highly professional from start to finish.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 31/12/2020 , work completed 19/12/2020
Prompt and professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a problem with the boiler at my late mother’s house. There was a strong smell of gas. After tiring off the gas I called SOS Plumbing to request an engineer. They turned up on time and found, fixed and tested the repair within 30 minutes. At all times I was kept informed of what was happening
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 14/12/2020
Repair of leak in bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service received from SOS Plumbing. Arrived on time, after a confirmation email of appointment. The plumber was wearing a mask and respected and maintained social distancing. He efficiently repaired a leak in the bathroom, and I was extremely pleased with the manor in which it was carried out. Price was good as we thought we might require major work, so it was a pleasant surprise when it could be repaired for the price.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 02/12/2020 , work completed 02/12/2020
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic professional service as always, Barry followed strict COVID rules. Would recommend highly SOS
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 20/11/2020 , work completed 30/10/2020
Fast and Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy to get a same day appointment. The plumber did an excellent job quickly and efficiently. We have used the company before and would happily recommend to others.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
Gremlins in the heating
I HAVE USED SOS ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AND ALWAYS FOUND THE TO BE AN EFFICIENT AND EXCELLENT SERVICE.MY LATEST EXPERIENCE THROUGH DUE TO NUMEROUS PROBLEMS WITH MY HEATING SYSTEM BUT SOS WERE SO THOUGH AND STUCK WITH THE PROBLEM UNTIL EVENTUALLY WERE ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. I WAS KEPT INFORMED THROUGHOUT THE PROCESS ,THE STAFF WERE CURTIOUS, PROFESSIONAL AND ALWAYS ARRIVED ON TIME
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 26/09/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The plumber was very courteous and quickly identified the problem which he rectified after purchasing a new valve from a local plumbers merchant. Always have had good service.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 10/09/2020 , work completed 01/09/2020
Fast and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast response, excellent workmanship. Good contract for servicing and plumbing by monthly direct debit.
Customer in Cheshire West and Chester Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 25/08/2020
Thoroughly professional and reliable sevice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted to replace my boiler and have had plenty of quotes from various people but SOS was the one firm that took the trouble to listen to my requirements and didn't have their own agenda. I was impressed how good they were right from the office, Angela, to the surveyor and supervisor, Chris, and most of all the fitter, Anthony, who did everything and more than I was expecting. There were no issues or problems brought to me, he just got on with it, even neatly bricking up the old flue gap. Excellent service all round.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 23/06/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
SOS Plumbing to the rescue
I had a fault in my WC cistern and SOS plumbing attended within 2 hours and sorted the problem. As a property manager I have used them many times before for the past 8 years and can recommend them to you without reservation. Tim Harvey
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 11/06/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Easy Process
Customer Service
Quality
Value
During the recent covid-19 crisis, my old boiler failed and was unable to be repaired. SOS quoted a fair price for the replacement, adhered to the agreed timescale, price and fitting schedule. Social distancing was an added complication but carefully managed by all staff. It was a purchase I'd been putting off for far too long, imagining a tortuous and costly process. SOS proved that image to be wrong, completing the fitting in under 3 days leaving the house clean as well.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 04/06/2020 , work completed 20/05/2020
Urgent plumbing works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had problems in two separate upstairs toilets. Having managed through for several weeks one cistern that was leaking became worse and one other toilet was making an horrendous noise on refilling after flush, so repairs became a more urgent matter. Given that we were in the middle of the coronavirus crisis we were not sure that we would be able to get a plumber to attend and sort for us. SOS Plumbing were recommended to us. We contacted them and within 36 hours a plumber had sorted both issues quickly with parts without any problem. They provided an exceptional and efficient service at a very reasonable cost and I would highly recommend them to others.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 22/05/2020 , work completed 20/05/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SOS have replaced my boiler and hot tank, and generally upgraded my central heating and hot water systems. This major work has been completed within two weeks of my first identifying a serious problem, and all the while we have all exercised the complexity of social distancing. Angela (office), Chris (supervision), and Anthony (the work) have all been extremely accommodating and efficient. I have used this company previously to service my old boiler and this has always been carried out quickly and efficiently. I unhesitatingly recommend this company.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 18/05/2020 , work completed 15/05/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using SOS Plumbing services for few years for our residential and BTL properties. They have always provided timely and professional service. Recently my tenant reported a fault in the toilet which was causing them inconvenience. I called SOS plumbing and request to look into the situation urgently. The very next day their plumber fixed the issue. I am really pleased with the service and would highly recommend them to anyone.
Harry S Posted on 15/04/2020 , work completed 15/04/2020
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company many times for different types of plumbing, they are very efficient, friendly and prompt, I would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 10/04/2020 , work completed 09/04/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always helpful quick and reliable job competitive price.
Caroline Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 10/03/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SOS fitted a new boiler to a house that is rented out, I have 9 rental properties and all are looked after by SOS and have been for several years.
Salem Properties Posted on 01/03/2020 , work completed 01/03/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Annual Service. Replacement of bathroom tap and shower resealed. Excellent work as always. Very professional and friendly company to deal with.
Mary Posted on 19/02/2020 , work completed 19/02/2020
Assessment Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My underfloor heating system was updated with new equipment which was not easy to obtain. SOS did a great job at a fair cost. This is one of the most customer focussed companies I have ever experienced. Angela, who usually received the requests is experienced and very helpful. No matter how busy they seem to be the customer always seems, in my experience, to get the priority desired. With such a high level of skill and desire to serve their customers well, this is a company I have no hesitation to recommend to anyone.
H. Ferres Posted on 20/08/2019 , work completed 20/08/2019