We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

SMD Electrical Services Limited

Profile thumb smd logo jpeg
4.9

92 Reviews

About

SMD Electrical Services Ltd. is an award winning established local company providing all types electrical installation work, maintenance, inspection & testing services throughout Surrey. NICEIC Approved and Happy to take on the smallest to the largest job we have a solid local reputation for quality and service. We champion electrical safety and in 2010 we received the prestigious "Which? Award" Which-Local "Business of the Year" Operating in the domestic and commercial markets we pride ourselves on providing a reliable experienced conscientious and thorough service. We do not advertise as such, most of our work comes from client recommendation. Keeping up to date with all regulatory changes and industry standards we have built a reputation of sound knowledge and experience offering quality electrician’s services. We provide documentation and NICEIC Safety Certificates where required with all work undertaken. We are CRB checked.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • Ventilation installers

    • Ventilation systems
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated home audio
    • Home automation
    • Security
    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • Indoor air quality

  • More Services

    • maintenance
    • fault finding
    • testing
    • ev
    • electric car
    • extractor fan

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
92 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.7
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you are looking for an electrician then I suggest you look no further. I contacted Steve in early December to request a quote for a kitchen rewire and a new consumer unit for the new house I had just bought. We arranged a date and Steve arrived and we spent a good 30 minutes going over my plans and what we wanted. He listened to what we wanted to do with the house and offered advice and suggestions to best accommodate it. Steves very professional quote came in along with more advice, suggestions, leaflets on regulations. He detailed exactly what he would do, what he would use and when he could do it and within a week he was in. 10 days or so later the work was complete and we couldn't be happier. I'd guess that Steves quote is maybe a little more expensive than competing electricians. But I still gave a 5 for value because in my mind, the sound advice, the professionalism, the peace of mind, and his willingness to listen to what I wanted rather than just wading in telling me what I needed was well worth paying a premium for. In the summer we plan on gutting the bathroom and sorting the garden/shed. Steve will be getting the call to sort out any electrical work for both. Highly recommended.
DarrenThomas Posted on 10/03/2010 , work completed 10/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Follow up Review posted by Kay Kenyon : Steve was doing a small job for us on 1/12/09 when I asked him to check a fuse on a large air extraction unit in our basement. The company sent out a contractor to replace the motor with a new one in Jan but it still didn't work. We had to get Steve back in on 28/1/10 to check the contractors work as they said there was no electricity going to the switch, of course Steve had checked this along with the fuse back in Dec. Several phone calls occurred that morning between us, the contractor and the company which had hired them but it was a stalemate. Steve said, " I will take the whole switch (which they had rewired) to pieces and start again". It is due to Steve's thoroughness and perseverance that he found they had accidently clamped the neutral wire, which is why nothing worked! Yet again we are impressed with Steve's professionalism. Steve moved some sockets for us, channelling in the wiring etc. As usual he was very professional, tidying up after himself, issuing relevant certificates etc.
Kay Kenyon Posted on 06/02/2010 , work completed 06/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2nd review for this trader: I used Steve again recently to install electricity to the garage, which was a 2 day job. As before, Steve provided a comprehensive quote beforehand, which he stuck to, and was punctual, courteous and hard-working. He also brought a colleague with him, so completed the work in only one day. Extremely pleased with the quality of the work, and wouldn't hesitate to use him again.
Robert1 Posted on 01/02/2010 , work completed 01/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve performed some minor electrical work for us. He was very professional and thorough. Before starting the work, he sent us a quote with a full breakdown of the costs. We have not had any issues since he completed the work and Steve has sent us the relevant certificates. I would use him again and would recommend him to other Which? members.
SEdgar Posted on 09/01/2010 , work completed 09/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thoroughly reliable; good at his job; came when he said he would; clean and tidy. Small. one man business. NICEIC Approved Contractor www.niceic.com NICEIC Domestic Installer www.niceic.com TrustMark Approved www.trustmark.org.uk Surrey County Council Trading Standards Approved www.buywithconfidence.gov.uk Possibly a little on the pricey side, but worth it for a good, reliable worker.
anthony2 Posted on 07/01/2010 , work completed 07/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used today for the first time, having found details in Which Local. Despite the snow & ice, Steve arrived early this morning, as agreed, and efficiently completed the job - the replacement of an extractor fan. He had clearly explained his charging policy in advance, so there were no surprises. I would be happy to use his services again.
George C Posted on 07/01/2010 , work completed 07/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got this number from Which when my daughter needed an electrician in a hurry. She said "Steve is extremely thorough and reliable. You know your electrics are in very safe hands. HeÍs friendly, and helpful and gives sound advice. A great person to have working on your home."
Cors Posted on 20/12/2009 , work completed 20/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work. Helpful advice. Helpful recommendations for other work. I shall use him again.
davidc41 Posted on 08/12/2009 , work completed 08/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve came and rewired light fittings for me - pleasant, and an organised and tidy way of working. Now investigating time switches for me.
Judy, Cobham Posted on 07/12/2009 , work completed 07/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve arrived at my house at exactly the time we agreed and i immediately found him pleasant and quick to get on with solving the problem. He took great care and managed to rectify the situation in spite of very poor original workmanship on behalf of the house builder. (The house is 4 years old.) He even pointed out that when i paid him, i had written out the cheque for too much! I would certainly use him again and would have no hesitation in recommending him. Please note that he likes his tea cold!
stigner Posted on 20/09/2009 , work completed 20/09/2009