We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

SMD Electrical Services Limited

Logo on white
Profile thumb smd logo jpeg

4.9

85 Reviews

About

SMD Electrical Services Ltd. is an award winning established local company providing all types electrical installation work, maintenance, inspection & testing services throughout Surrey. NICEIC Approved and Happy to take on the smallest to the largest job we have a solid local reputation for quality and service. We champion electrical safety and in 2010 we received the prestigious "Which? Award" Which-Local "Business of the Year" Operating in the domestic and commercial markets we pride ourselves on providing a reliable experienced conscientious and thorough service. We do not advertise as such, most of our work comes from client recommendation. Keeping up to date with all regulatory changes and industry standards we have built a reputation of sound knowledge and experience offering quality electrician’s services. We provide documentation and NICEIC Safety Certificates where required with all work undertaken. We are CRB checked.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • Ventilation installers

    • Ventilation systems
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated home audio
    • Home automation
    • Security
    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • Air conditioning contractors

  • Indoor air quality

  • More Services

    • maintenance
    • fault finding
    • testing
    • ev
    • electric car
    • extractor fan

Customer reviews

4.9
85 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Light fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve came within less than 24 hours after my initial call. Promptly fixed the lighting problem and changed light switch. Work very neat and detailed what he had done and all within agreed rate. Definitely would recommend him for any work that needs to be done!
Customer in Surrey21/11/2019
Would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve fixed several lights that were not working. He was quick, efficient and took the trouble to consult us before incurring extra expense where the outcome was uncertain.
Customer in Surrey25/09/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve replaced a consumer unit and did a huge amount of remedial work at my property. There was a lot of unsafe wiring and sockets and lighting that either didn’t work or was faulty. Steve worked methodically and conscientiously to resolve all the problems. He was punctual, tidy and went the extra mile to make sure all the work was completed on time. I would highly recommend SMD Electrical.
Customer in Surrey02/06/2019
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve fixed some electrical problems I was having and installed a ceiling light. He phoned ahead to say he was on his way and was very professional & tidy.
Customer in Surrey23/02/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve installed electricity into my garage. I am very pleased with the work and would recommend Steve, he is a professional and friendly person.
Daniel, Surrey19/04/2018
Prompt & Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We rang Steve to arrange for our new cooker to be installed. He arranged to visit early the following morning - which was perfect. He was efficient, helpful, polite and left no mess at all. We will certainly use him again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to friends and family.
Bond09/03/2018
Excellent all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have always employed them and would not employ anyone else for electrical work.
Elizabeth, Surrey06/11/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was prompt in responding to my phone call and arranged to attend the following day. I was informed up front of cost. He undertook the task in a friendly and professional way and I was satisfied with the result.
Bridget, Surrey08/09/2017
Professional and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with Steve's work. He did a thorough analysis of our electrics and issued the required certificate.
Melinda, Surrey31/05/2017
Work undertaken with care and professionalism.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve completed a number of electrical jobs including installing and testing a new consumer unit. Work was undertaken with care and expertise to the highest standard to ensure safety.
Kevin, Surrey26/05/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S M D 100% reliable. Made sensible suggestions for improvements, and knows his trade and quality of work is of extremely high standard. I would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Dudley, Surrey01/03/2017
Thank you Steve
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So good to find a local trader who does a very professional job with care and courtesy. I am now confident that the electrics in my home are safe and up to date. I have no hesitation in recommending Steve.
Patricia Barry10/02/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, very reliable, always rings you back. Clean & tidy, pleasant to deal with. Would definitely use service again.
Alan, Middlesex21/11/2016
5 star professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
3 months ago we called out Homeserve for an electrical problem which was not satisfactorily completed. SMD Elec diagnosed a complicated issue and restored the lighting in our garage. Absolutely delighted, thank you.
Andrew, Surrey03/11/2016
Prompt, tidy & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, tidy. Completed work in a very professional way.
David, Surrey30/09/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived promptly and carried out the job in a thoroughly professional manner, with clear explanations and helpful advice. Very pleased.
Mark, Surrey22/07/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the work that was done. Also everything was explained clearly to me and I was confident that only necessary work was being done.
Bridget, Surrey20/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First Class job
David, Surrey13/07/2016
Recommendation of Steve Daws
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am pleased to recommend SMD Electrical Services. I was impressed by Steve's work for me, particularly some from which other electricians had fought shy. Nothing was too much trouble for him. I will unhesitatingly turn to him again for assistance when I need it. Donald Nicholls
2011-05-14 10:01:11.8206/07/2016
Another job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neat, tidy and thorough, with the work required fully described and explained. We've used Steve before and will certainly use him again.
Alan, Surrey05/07/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve arrived at the agreed time, to undertake three electrical jobs for me. He was courteous throughout, and very tidy. He completed all the jobs satisfactorily, and was helpful in explaining very clearly the options open to me on two elements - explaining the practicalities and likely costs. I would have no hesitation in using Steve again.
MSADD07/01/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant tidy worker, always on time. Have used several times & would not employ any other company for this type of work.
Jane, Surrey05/11/2014
Prompt, professional & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used SMD several times over the past 5 years & Steve is always very professional. He provides detailed estimates, is tidy, prompt & I have never had any problems.
Kay, Surrey14/08/2014
Meticulous, punctual and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was recommended to us by a neighbour and is used by many people on our street and in the local area. He originally visited to fit a new socket and light switch, but alerted us to many faults and incorrect areas of our wiring etc and has been putting the list of problems right for us over the past 6-7 months. We have young children and Steve is very good about tidying up after himself, he has also given us valuable advice about "childproofing". He is also very punctual and reliable.
WestByfleetFamily16/01/2014
Trustworthy and Dilligent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"Steve has done a number of electrical jobs for us over the last year. He is always punctual and tidy. The work has always been carried out to a very high standard, without ever cutting corners. We intend to use him for all our electrical needs in the future as we feel in safe hands. We are very happy to recommend him."
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer16/01/2014
Informative and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was recommended by a good plumber to carry out electrical work initially in the refitting of our bathroom. He was quite frank with us about the state of our electrics overall, a situation which we suspected was not up to a decent standard. He explained what needed doing, how much it would cost and the time frame, all of which he kept to. He was very tidy about the house, punctual and kept us updated of progress daily. I would recommend his services to anyone.
IanKT1503/01/2014
A sound and reliable electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has done several jobs for us. We have always found him to be thorough and helpful in his advice and planning. He is very efficient in carrying out the jobs and very tidy. He follows up his jobs with the appropriate paperwork, which these days seems to be essential for certifying electrical jobs. I would definitely recommend Steve for any household electrical job.
Graham30/12/2013
Internal and External Domestic Electrics
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Since discovering SMD earlier this year, they have carried out a number of domestic electrical tasks for me and I have been completely satisfied. Steve completes his work in a highly professional manner and is a pleasure to deal with.I have no hesitation in recommending SMD and will certainly use them for all our future electrical requirements. M Pritchard
2011-03-05 14:58:50.24330/12/2013
David Philpott
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used SMD on a number of occasions and happy to recommend Steve. He is thorough, diligent and conscientious.
2011-08-04 20:49:31.45330/12/2013
SMD review - house electrics and fire alams
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SMD checked all our house electrics and subsequently installed fire alarms and kitchen heat alarm. They carried out this work efficiently and in line with their promised timing, keeping us informed at all stages of any further work that needed to be carried out, making sure we understood all the issues involved. Will definitely go back to them for any future electrical work.
TomAllen29/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve's details on Which Local. A short circuit had left a number of wall sockets and appliances without power. Steve came out quickly and promptly on a Saturday purely to fit in with our agenda. The problem was resolved rapidly and efficiently. We will definitely use Steve again and indeed have asked him to quote for a number of other electrical jobs. I would endorse the other reviews which describe Steve as knowledgeable, punctual and courteous.
EHorsley16/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A competent and knowledgable service was provided with all work carried out to current standards and regulations with no mess
Barrie san27/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again Steve sorted out a few electrical problems and replacements for me with his usual courtesy, efficiency, and friendly advice.
Judy, Cobham08/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is a continuation review for additional jobs done since our first review after Steve replaced our fuse-board with a safer, more modern consumer unit after moving into our new house. We used Steve a number of times in 2011 for various jobs including putting up a PIR security light over our patio, installing strip lighting in our loft, adding an outdoor weather-proof socket, and making safe a number of dodgy DIY circuits that came with the house. Happy to recommend and will use again for some projects lined up for 2013.
JayViv08/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Daws did an excellent job of putting our house electrical system in order - it had been added to and modified over the years and was intermittently shorting out. He kept us fully informed about the nature of the problems he encountered and discussed with us the options available to us. He systematically worked his way through the defects and we now have a modern electrical system that is fully compliant with the latest regulations. Steve came when he said he would and did what he said he would do without fail.
Byfleet resident17/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve on Which Local, we had a few relatively straightforward repair jobs to do. He explained his charges in advance and came at the agreed time. It is clear that he is a very experienced and knowledgeable electrician. He carried out the job efficiently and gave us helpful advice regarding the work that needed doing and general electrical matters and safety. We would definitely recommend him.
Davman14/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I picked SMD Electrical Services because of the very complementary reviews on "Which Local". I have now used them twice and have no hesitation in recommending them. Steve(the main man) is very knowledgeable as well as punctual and courteous, and dealt with my problem very efficiently. I will certainly use him again if the need arises.
lenwatson27/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good professional service received. I will definitely use them again and would thoroughly recommend them to others.
norman ratcliffe14/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work involved the replacing & upgrading of domestic electrical distribution boards, the installation of proper earth bonding, the addition of new circuits, and a complete testing of the installation. The work was completed in a very diligent & professional manner - and to the predicted timescale. The documentation & certification is full & complete. I am very pleased with this experience and recommend SMD very highly.
Quintus25/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were in need of finding a competent electrician and after being let down by another firm we were very fortunate to find Steve on Which Local. He is extremely professional, very reliable and right from the start we had total confidence in him. We would never use anybody else and would thoroughly recommend his services. Ron and Sandra
Sandra Strudwick28/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was recommended to us after completing some work for my brother a couple of years ago. We found him to be courteous, reliable and extremely thorough in his approach. Steve diligently talked through each steps and the rationale behind them- a genuine professional tradesman. SteveÍs methodical and respectful attitude would leave us no doubt in recommending him to any other client in the future. We are already considering some aesthetic work in the not-so distant future!Í
nelliebuk09/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Steve and have no hesitation in recommending him. It was a relief to find an electrician we felt we could rely on. He always arrives when he says he will and is extremely helpful.
gwynethann09/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed some spotlights and checked a socket. Did a reasonable job of spotlights. However installed into a ceiling which needs to be replaced, could well have been due to miscommunications on my part. Took longer than expected, but otherwise seemed decent.
Clubby30/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We purchased our first house in Old Woking and got the keys Monday July 18. Steve was in the property on the 19th bright and early at eight o'clock. By midday Thursday he was finished. Two weeks prior, we invited Steve and another independent contractor to provide us with quotations for a rewire and other remedial works. Although the other chap picked up on some grounding and bonding issues, Steve pointed out that a total rewire was not essential since the ex-Council mid-Terrace house was already completely rewired under their responsibility, something that the other guy failed to point out to us. Steve showed us all the evidence and this has saved us a bundle of money. Steve was very thorough and professional throughout the job, identifying and discussing all critical issues while providing detailed information on each item. He replaced the old fuse board with a modern RCD unit, tested all the circuits, made safe all the dodgy DIY jobs left behind by the former owners, rectified some faults, installed some additional sockets, and provided the circuit diagrams and all the relevant installation certificates and reports as promised. He was punctual, courteous, and even did a spot of re-plaster and cleaned up after once all the jobs were completed. We are very happy with the results, and all the suggestions and advice received, and will not hesitate to use him again in the future.
JayViv16/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his team installed solar PV panels for us. He was professional from the start, coming over to survey the house and discuss options and the work involved before sending any quotes. He was thorough in his approach, examining the roof both inside and out as well as the house electricity meter/distribution. He was competitive and flexible in his quotes, offering two different types of panel, describing them both fully and very quick to requite as a result of requested changes. In carrying out the work he and his team were well organised, careful and tidy. They and their subcontractors arrived as planned and finished within time and took clear pride in their work. A professional job from start to finish, quite unlike some of the quick sale merchants who have contacted us.
greenspecs11/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Steve - this time for fitting solar panels. From start to finish Steve was highly professional and courteous; explaining the entire technical procedure and undertaking the fitting in a timely and efficient manner. All paperwork and certificates arrived swiftly and we are fully confident in the installation which is happily generating away! If you are thinking of fitting solar panels and want to speak to someone who will give proper impartial advice, please get in touch with Steve. We have no hesitation in recommending his services and will certainly be using Steve again in the future.
jollyboy226/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has done a number of jobs for me over the last couple of years and once again today he arrived on time and checked exactly what was wanted before starting work. For one job he advised me that the replacement floodlight I had requested was not needed as I had not fitted the bulb correctly, so he saved me money too! As always he was tidy and pleasant.
Judy, Cobham21/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Steve Daws on several occasions and can thoroughly recommend him for the quality of his work, attitude, punctuality and advice. I will be using him again next month (April 2011) to instal some lighting.
STEVEN ROE15/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve carried out some more electrical work. This included extending the circuit to provide an outside wall light, rectifying the electrics in an outbuilding & also fitting some lights inside the house. As before, Steve provided an efficient and professional service.
George C13/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I engaged the services of Steve last Summer when I bought a house which needed a lot of electrical work. I have been very pleased with his work and recently had Steve back to fit some inset lighting along with a few other jobs. He aligned the lights with great accuracy and precision. He is conscientious and completes work safely and neatly. I would recommend Steve to my friends.
htjt201028/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used SteveÍs services and would recommend him without hesitation. He arrives when he says he will and does a very thorough professional job with minimum disruption. This time he fitted a new RCD consumer unit to replace the old style fuse box- tested the circuits and provided the necessary certificates. The invoiced price was a fair one & as quoted in advance.
George C15/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve re-certified the wiring for our house including replacing the overloaded consumer unit and dealing with a several faults and safety issues. He is extremenly knowledgable, thorough, and reliable and did an excellent job for us. His prices were fair and in line with the quotes / estimates provided. I would happily use him again and would recommend him to anyone in the area looking for a good electrician.
Parahandy, Scotland01/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Steve Daws to replace our old fuse box on the basis that he had already received many positive reviews on this website and he lived very close by. I agree with the other reviewers here in that he was punctual, reliable, tidy and considerate in the way he worked. He was very knowledgeable about the type of wiring in my house and provided lots of valuable information and recommendations about what we could do to improve safety standards. His price seemed fair from what I could find out from a bit of research on the internet, and I would feel very comfortable calling on his services for future electrical work.
wendy_lou05/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was very thorough, diligent and was very personable to deal with, right from the start. He has made a fantastic job of wiring up our new fish pond with its complicated filter system, and pump as well as connecting everything to the mains in the house. I would highly recommend SMD Electrical to anyone looking for a quality electrican.
lisapaulb20/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Daws worked on our home to replace and relocate a very old and rather scary looking fusebox with a new consumer unit. I found him friendly, professional and diligent. In addition Steve was able to recommend other traders to us who we have also found to be good value.
htjt201020/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I selected Steve ( SMD Electrical Services ) as he was local and had so many good reviews in Which. He overhauled our kitchen lighting and replaced lighting in the garage, all in good time and to a professional standard. He is conscientious and reliable and I would have no hesitation in recommending him to others.
ralphk23/08/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve to be very thorough, efficient, on time and pleasant to deal with. We would certainly recommend him.
Brenda Ennis12/05/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Since I last made a recomendation Steve has been twice. He has fitted new time switches for me - lots of questions with the result that they are exactly what I wanted. He also investigated to see if I could have a power socket outside and then fitted one, as well as repairing several light fittings. A pleasure to deal with - a thorough, organised and tidy electrician.
Judy, Cobham06/05/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was recently with us replacing a 'House of Horrors' fuse box. From start to finish we found him thoroughly professional, courteous and a real pleasure to deal with. No query was too much bother for him to explain to us and we felt very confident that we were getting a high standard of workmanship. We would have no hesitation in recommending Steve to anyone else who wants a stress-free electrical experience!
jollyboy224/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Daws has been extremely helpful in advising and resolving the various issues that were faced. He has been punctual, efficient, effective and clarified exactly the choices that were available, given the issues. I am extremely pleased with his work and will be using him as my Electrician going forward. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him.
STEVEN ROE23/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We did not get any other quotes as we are fed up with rogue traders and trusted the which recommendations. We were not disappointed - Steve provides a professional service - clearly quoted for and efficiently carried out. Agree with others that Steve seems a bit on the pricey side but we are using him again for our garage conversion as we know we can trust Steve to complete the job to a high standard with attention to detail.
JLTW19/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Secondary Review Posted by Cregan: Over the last three months we've had Steve back to do numerous jobs. These include replacing the lighting circuit in one room with new downlighters, when he coordinated with the contractor who replaced the ceiling, and replacing the ground floor sockets with a faceplate type, replacing backboxes where necessary. As always, I was impressed with Steve's meticulous attitude to safety, complete thoroughness and trustworthiness. I cannot recommend him highly enough!
cregan17/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called this guy after finding his name on Which Local. He was excellent and professional, safe and thorough. Very professional and I have recommended him to friends. I would gladly use him again. Very reliable and respond to calls and messages promptly. Dr K Gangar
kevinfrancis16/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you are looking for an electrician then I suggest you look no further. I contacted Steve in early December to request a quote for a kitchen rewire and a new consumer unit for the new house I had just bought. We arranged a date and Steve arrived and we spent a good 30 minutes going over my plans and what we wanted. He listened to what we wanted to do with the house and offered advice and suggestions to best accommodate it. Steves very professional quote came in along with more advice, suggestions, leaflets on regulations. He detailed exactly what he would do, what he would use and when he could do it and within a week he was in. 10 days or so later the work was complete and we couldn't be happier. I'd guess that Steves quote is maybe a little more expensive than competing electricians. But I still gave a 5 for value because in my mind, the sound advice, the professionalism, the peace of mind, and his willingness to listen to what I wanted rather than just wading in telling me what I needed was well worth paying a premium for. In the summer we plan on gutting the bathroom and sorting the garden/shed. Steve will be getting the call to sort out any electrical work for both. Highly recommended.
DarrenThomas10/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Follow up Review posted by Kay Kenyon : Steve was doing a small job for us on 1/12/09 when I asked him to check a fuse on a large air extraction unit in our basement. The company sent out a contractor to replace the motor with a new one in Jan but it still didn't work. We had to get Steve back in on 28/1/10 to check the contractors work as they said there was no electricity going to the switch, of course Steve had checked this along with the fuse back in Dec. Several phone calls occurred that morning between us, the contractor and the company which had hired them but it was a stalemate. Steve said, " I will take the whole switch (which they had rewired) to pieces and start again". It is due to Steve's thoroughness and perseverance that he found they had accidently clamped the neutral wire, which is why nothing worked! Yet again we are impressed with Steve's professionalism. Steve moved some sockets for us, channelling in the wiring etc. As usual he was very professional, tidying up after himself, issuing relevant certificates etc.
Kay Kenyon06/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2nd review for this trader: I used Steve again recently to install electricity to the garage, which was a 2 day job. As before, Steve provided a comprehensive quote beforehand, which he stuck to, and was punctual, courteous and hard-working. He also brought a colleague with him, so completed the work in only one day. Extremely pleased with the quality of the work, and wouldn't hesitate to use him again.
Robert101/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve performed some minor electrical work for us. He was very professional and thorough. Before starting the work, he sent us a quote with a full breakdown of the costs. We have not had any issues since he completed the work and Steve has sent us the relevant certificates. I would use him again and would recommend him to other Which? members.
SEdgar09/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thoroughly reliable; good at his job; came when he said he would; clean and tidy. Small. one man business. NICEIC Approved Contractor www.niceic.com NICEIC Domestic Installer www.niceic.com TrustMark Approved www.trustmark.org.uk Surrey County Council Trading Standards Approved www.buywithconfidence.gov.uk Possibly a little on the pricey side, but worth it for a good, reliable worker.
anthony207/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used today for the first time, having found details in Which Local. Despite the snow & ice, Steve arrived early this morning, as agreed, and efficiently completed the job - the replacement of an extractor fan. He had clearly explained his charging policy in advance, so there were no surprises. I would be happy to use his services again.
George C07/01/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got this number from Which when my daughter needed an electrician in a hurry. She said "Steve is extremely thorough and reliable. You know your electrics are in very safe hands. HeÍs friendly, and helpful and gives sound advice. A great person to have working on your home."
Cors20/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work. Helpful advice. Helpful recommendations for other work. I shall use him again.
davidc4108/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve came and rewired light fittings for me - pleasant, and an organised and tidy way of working. Now investigating time switches for me.
Judy, Cobham07/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve arrived at my house at exactly the time we agreed and i immediately found him pleasant and quick to get on with solving the problem. He took great care and managed to rectify the situation in spite of very poor original workmanship on behalf of the house builder. (The house is 4 years old.) He even pointed out that when i paid him, i had written out the cheque for too much! I would certainly use him again and would have no hesitation in recommending him. Please note that he likes his tea cold!
stigner20/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, thorough, tidy. Did a good job and kept me informed of what he was doing and what was legally necessary for safety. In view of rain affecting an outdoor job he stopped work and came again as soon as weather permitted, not charging for additional travel etc.
Bauer27/06/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 home visits from Steve who carried out the work required and gave excellent advice in particular with regard to health and safety issues. He is a very straitforward trader who tells you in advance of his visit, what the minimum cost will be. Steve is strongly recommended as a highly skilled electrican, polite and trustworthy.
hotstuff24/06/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
on time, very polite and pleased with work. Highly recomended.
dathan03/06/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did several jobs for me over a period of about two months. In addition to fitting a new consumer unit and testing the wiring for the whole house he installed a new armored cable to my garage and log cabin, re-wired the garage and installed power and lighting in the cabin. In addition he installed, tested and connected new wiring and controls for underfloor heating in my new wet-room, installed new wiring and connected up the illuminated mirror and bathroom cabinet and supplied and fitted new low-voltage fire-rated lighting and a new extractor fan. The work was charged out exactly in accordance with the most acceptable quotation and the hourly rate was extremely reasonable. Steve has an excellent technical knowledge and provided full documentation both by post and e-mail.He was always punctual and reliable and it was a pleasure to have him working on site. I recommend him without reservation
Agricola484001/04/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a problem with a circuit-breaker tripping regularly over several months for no apparent reason (which "blew" all power and saniflo circuits) and, having employed one electrician who failed to identify a specific cause after extensive (and expensive) testing, I engaged Steve Dawes of SMD. Steve quickly identified that the circuit-breaker itself was faulty and needed to be replaced. He also told me that he could not guarantee that replacing the circuit-breaker would completely solve the problem but recommended that he should do the replacement first and undertake further (relatively costly) testing only if replacing the circuit-breaker failed to resolve the problem. He carried out the work promptly and efficiently, and his charges were very reasonable. He also phoned two weeks after the work was completed to check that the new circuit-breaker was operating satisfactorily. The new circuit breaker has functioned efficiently for the past 4 months, and there have been no further problems.
Gerry Sherry15/02/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Steve Daws for quite a lot of work on my house over the last two years. Ranging from a new consumer unit, installing bathroom downlighters, to checking the lighting circuit. On all occasions I have found his work to be of excellent quality and him to be trustworthy and honest. He provides estimates on a fixed price for project work or per hour for "Investigation" work. And what is more, he sticks to those estimates. Thoroughly recommended.
cregan15/02/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Steve based on previous recommendations on Which? Local. Although only a small job (new spotlights in a bathroom), he came round first to provide a full explanation of the work and estimate, and carried out the work professionally. Would definitely use him again.
Robert120/10/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Follow up Review posted by Kay Kenyon : This is actually the 3rd time we've used Steve and as always he was very professional.An accurate estimate followed by punctual, precise, neat and tidy work.
Kay Kenyon16/10/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve wired my new garage. He made an excellent job. He was punctual and tidy.
MR T15/06/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was a small job but Steve could not have been more professional, he laid dust sheets from the front door to the lounge and was very neat and tidy. He also came and gave me a quote the previous week.
Kay Kenyon18/01/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Daws installed a power circuit in my garage and renewed lighting cable and fixtures. He provided a comprehensive and accurate estimate and completed the the work to a high standard, ensuring overall compliance with safety and other regulations.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer07/08/2007
Outstanding!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't recommend Steve highly enough. He is extremely prompt and efficient. He explained everything as he went along and helped me make decisions about what had to be done. He is hard-working, polite, friendly and always clears up as he goes along. Excellent!
Alison, Surrey(undated)