We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Southgate Garage (Llantrisant) Limited

Profile thumb sglogo

4.9

47 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–12:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday 08:00–12:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Are you looking for a reliable garage you can trust in the Pontyclun, Llantrisant and surrounding areas?

We offer a wide range of car services at very reasonable prices, which includes MOT’s servicing and repairs.

We are an established garage that has been operating in Cross Inn, Llantrisant for over 50 years.

Our main focus is delivering a quality service to all our customers, being professional, honest and fair at all times.

We are a female friendly garage. Feedback we have received from our many female customers, is that it can be daunting visiting a garage, especially when they have particular issues with their cars. Our female customers have advised us that they felt they have been overcharged for services in previous garages, because they did not understand motor trade jargon. They appreciate our honesty and integrity in assisting with their issues as we give honest advice, without using jargon.

What we do

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • Battery servicing
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • MOT testing stations
  • Tyre fitters

  • Motor vehicle mechanics

    • Car and commercial vehicle repairs
  • More Services

    • car servicing
    • engine diagnostics
    • air conditioning
    • mechanics

Customer reviews

4.9
47 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Car Service & MOT
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have had 2 cars serviced and MOT over the last 2 weeks Both times the work was carried out to the manufactures recommendations and any problems was explained. The cost of the service and MOT was good valve for money.
Customer in Rhondda Cynon Taff Posted on 25/02/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had MOT, Interim Service and rectification work carried out, all done within prices quoted and within time, work explained and carried out professionally.
Chris Broom, Rhondda Cynon Taff Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019
Professional, good service etc.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Service and MOT. Satisfied with work carried out. Pleasant communication. Work carried out with good explanation etc.
Keith, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019
Efficient, friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Interim service and brake check carrried out in a timely, professional manner. Would thoroughly recommend this garage service. No problem is too small to consider. Recent fuse problem on another car was sorted out immediately.
Customer in Rhondda Cynon Taff Posted on 09/05/2019 , work completed 09/05/2019
Helpful, professional, quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Taken VW Gold for grinding noise to rear wheel. Option given for probable cause for OEM parts and recommended parts they use and both prices to compare. Dropped car off following day early morning. 12pm car ready for collection. My engine cooled light was on and they topped up and reset engine warning light. Very competitive price with very high quality parts and service. Will always use these guys.
Christopher, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 24/04/2019 , work completed 24/04/2019
Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly team, very professional. Great communication. They answered any question I had in my mind, without me asking them.
M, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 23/04/2019 , work completed 23/04/2019
Happy to look for ways to save you money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We took our old 2006 Meriva in with a warning light on. Turned out the fault was a faulty valve but Vauxhall on sold the complete manifold at over £500. Due to the age of the car not worth doing, but they explored the options and worked out they could just get from elsewhere the faulty part and hopefully get in to replace just that. They did this and work and part came in under half of what a new manifold was. So we are back on the road.
Customer in Rhondda Cynon Taff Posted on 21/04/2019 , work completed 08/04/2019
Reliable work quickly completed and reasonably priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this garage for three years and would have no hesitation in recommending them. They are very friendly, work is completed quickly and reasonably priced, and after any work I have never needed to go back
Customer in Rhondda Cynon Taff Posted on 08/04/2019 , work completed 08/04/2019
Reliable friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had my MOT and service done. I have used this garage for the last 10 years. Competitive pricing, friendly but professional customer service. Contacted me to remind me service & MOT were due - very helpful!
Julie, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
MOT
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MOT carried out promptly, clean and comfortable area to wait. I have always found this garage to give excellent service. I trust Graham and team to give honest advice and have found them to be extremely helpful over many years. Reasonable costs for work carried out. Full explanation given if corrective work required.
Susan, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 05/03/2019 , work completed 05/03/2019
Friendly Efficient Prompt Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A local garage with efficient friendly staff. prompt service at a very reasonable price.Willuse this garage again.
Customer in Rhondda Cynon Taff Posted on 16/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
MOT Testing.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MOT testing. Releasing dog head from rear buckle. Stripped buckle casing to remove.
Lilian, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 12/02/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
All-round excellence! Plus a comfy, clean & cosy customer pod!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed same day assistance with my car on two separate occasions. The team dealt with me professionally and courteously both times. They fitted me in at short notice, communicated well about the issues and saved me money. I especially enjoyed their cosy and comfy scandi-style 'customer pod' waiting room (log cabin, leather seats, heating and power sockets) so I could work on my laptop while waiting. The customer service I experienced was so slick it meant my service to my clients was also uninterrupted. I would highly recommend. Thank you Southgate Garage!
AKirsten Posted on 04/10/2018 , work completed 04/10/2018
Amazing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using this garage for over a few years and have always had amazing service, both guys in receptions Graham & Matt are very helpful and explain everything so easy to understand, always fair on price never had a problem.
David, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 30/07/2018 , work completed 30/07/2018
Always professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this garage regularly for servicing my vehicles over the years and always professional and done to a very good standard. Highly recommended.
Hugh, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 13/07/2018 , work completed 13/07/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New part fitted for brake light. Highly commended.
Mariarosa, South Glamorgan Posted on 04/07/2018 , work completed 04/07/2018
Air Con Recharge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were on holiday in the area in the blazing heat in late June with an air conditioning unit that would not engage. ( I knew about it some weeks previous but forgot to get it fixed. Who needs air conditioning in Wales anyway!). I thought it was a bigger problem than a recharge. I called in to Southgate's in the mid-afternoon for their opinion. They explained that the unit protects itself on low pressure. I asked if they could recharge it there and then. We were asked to return in 45 minutes when the technician was due back. We duly returned and they did their comprehensive recharging process over the next hour. My wife and I sat in a very clean and comfortable little chalet style waiting room. We were very pleased to have it fixed the same day as we were 15 miles or so from our hotel.
martinoxford Posted on 29/06/2018 , work completed 29/06/2018
Friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been coming to this garage for over 10 years, the team are all friendly, experienced, fair and professional. Always kept notified when work needs doing and they never take advantage.
Amanda, South Glamorgan Posted on 19/06/2018 , work completed 19/06/2018
Good efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly service. Helpful phoning me while looking for parts. Would recommend them to others. Only criticism I had a bit of a delay while the parts arrived about 45 minutes on the day otherwise. A good efficient services.
Paul, Buckinghamshire Posted on 07/06/2018 , work completed 07/06/2018
MOT Excellent 5 Star
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fair Play, My car needed a lot of work to pass the MOT, They had it back to me within 24 hrs, kept me informed the whole time. Excellent customer service will defiantly use this garage for future work and MOT's, thanks again Southgate Garage. Regards
Wayne R Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
Excellent work as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having brought my previous car here in the past, I happily chose Southgate to do the first year service on my current car. Having dropped my car off at 9am, I had a call just after lunch to say that the work had been completed. Before leaving, I was given a run through of what work had been done and as the oil had to be changed, I was advised at what types of oil to use if I ever needed to change it to avoid any unnecessary damage to my car. Brilliant service as always and the staff are always professional and happy to help.
D Cowley Posted on 03/06/2018 , work completed 03/06/2018
Professional, great customer service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Car went in for MOT and services, kept up to date by phone on what situation was and prices, and to check I was happy to proceed. Good, clear explanation of mechanical work carried out as I have no idea about cars! Fast, reliable, and great customer service.
Charlotte, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 03/04/2018 , work completed 03/04/2018
Excellent service. very efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable staff. A garage you can always rely on. Can be confident and assured that any job is completed thoroughly and efficiently.
Daphne, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 03/04/2018 , work completed 03/04/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job well done
M D, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 23/03/2018 , work completed 23/03/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional.
Alan, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 21/03/2018 , work completed 21/03/2018
A1 as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MOT and service carried out thoroughly and professionally. Full feedback given.
Chris, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 21/03/2018 , work completed 21/03/2018
Professional & stuck to job estimate.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kept me updated as job proved much more time consuming than estimated. Change of timing belt on Nissan Qashqai, much less space in engine compartment compared to earlier models. Southgate Garage kept to original estimate although job took twice the time.
Robert, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I unfortunately had a blow out in my car and arrived at the garage rather stressed! The staff couldn't have been more helpful & understanding and quickly renewed my tyre so that I could return to work.
Claire, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 14/02/2018 , work completed 14/02/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using this garage for approx. 18+ years with various cars. Graham and all his staff are great. Pleasant, polite and extremely helpful. We would and have referred many people to him. Nothing too much trouble. Well done Graham & co.
Janet, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 10/02/2018 , work completed 10/02/2018
Usual Excellent, Prompt Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Southgate Garage represent a truly professional team of workers. I have been using their services since moving into this area in 1969 which is proof of their outstanding work. Totally satisfied with the willing help I have always received.
Gwyn, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 06/02/2018 , work completed 06/02/2018
Excellent service and care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this garage for over 30 years and have always had trustworthy service. Graham and his staff always put the customer first.
Yvonne, South Glamorgan Posted on 29/01/2018 , work completed 29/01/2018
Very Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nice service. Decent price, thank you.
Barry, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 17/01/2018 , work completed 17/01/2018
Love This Place!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't recommend this place enough. They provide fast, efficient service. Their customer service is amazing! They are always friendly, polite and very helpful.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/12/2017 , work completed 18/12/2017
Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Fantastic front desk service and advice. Full of details, explained work done and only charged for work needed.
Michael, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 18/12/2017 , work completed 18/12/2017
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Such great customer service. Kept in touch, helpful, great value. Will most definitely be returning if I have car issues.
Thomas, South Glamorgan Posted on 23/11/2017 , work completed 23/11/2017
The trader replied (on 19/12/2017)
Thank you for your amazing feedback much appreciated.
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After purchasing a new battery from a local motor factor they asked us to return for an alternator check. They informed us that we needed a new alternator. Budget cost £290 took the car to our regular garage "Southgate". They tested and proved Alternator was working correctly. Great news on the test.
Kenneth, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 18/11/2017 , work completed 18/11/2017
The trader replied (on 19/12/2017)
Thank you for your feedback, very much appreciated.
Happy to find a genuine garage at last
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Finally found a garage that I feel I'm not being "ripped off". Told me exactly how much everything costs beforehand, only changed what was needed. Very professional. Had a "safe" feeling about this garage. Highly recommended, never going anywhere else!
Leigh, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 04/11/2017 , work completed 04/11/2017
The trader replied (on 19/12/2017)
Thank you for your amazing feedback, much appreciated.
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional service by all staff.
Michael Owen, South Glamorgan Posted on 03/11/2017 , work completed 03/11/2017
The trader replied (on 16/11/2017)
Thank you!
First Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish from Graham and team. Very helpful!
Aled, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 03/11/2017 , work completed 03/11/2017
The trader replied (on 16/11/2017)
Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated.
Excellent and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed, will certainly use them again and I have no hesitation in recommending them for their fast, efficient service.
Ronald, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 30/10/2017 , work completed 30/10/2017
The trader replied (on 22/11/2017)
Thank you so much for your feedback much appreciated
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Southgate Garage for some time. Have always been treated with courtesy and respect, never 'talked down to', always completed on time and would phone with any extra work required, never just go ahead without consultation. Kept up to date with any tyre, brake issues etc. Prompt and Professional is good slogan.
Stephen, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
The trader replied (on 08/11/2017)
Thank you for you feedback very much appreciated!
Courteous, Efficient and Prompt Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Customer Services - Professional and Courteous. Work Standard - Very good with comprehensive explanations. Timing - Very Prompt. Telephone call when vehicle ready - appreciated.
John, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
The trader replied (on 08/11/2017)
Thank you for you feedback very much appreciated!
Accommodating and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have full confidence with the service I get at Southgate Garage. I have recommended the garage to my husband and both my daughters. They are very informative and do not treat customers without consideration and are fairly priced.
Deborah, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
The trader replied (on 16/11/2017)
Thank you for your kind feedback and recommending us to the whole family.
Outstanding Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been with Southgate Garage about 17 years always been very happy.
Jane, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 12/10/2017 , work completed 12/10/2017
The trader replied (on 08/11/2017)
Thank you for you feedback very much appreciated!
Excellent garage with friendly staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have regular Service and MOTs and repairs done at this garage. I have always found the owner and employees of Southgate Garage to be friendly, courteous and honest. They get the best price for any parts required and complete the work in a timely manner. I would highly recommend the service they provide.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/08/2017 , work completed 30/08/2017
The trader replied (on 19/10/2017)
Thank you for you feedback very much appreciated!
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Car kept cutting out solved by garage printed circuit board damaged found after much perseverance by garage
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 14/07/2017 , work completed 14/07/2017
The trader replied (on 19/10/2017)
Thank you for you feedback
Efficient service mechanically and as a customer. Garage always efficient and quick. I won't use any other garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removed and installed clutch master cylinder. Replaced brake fluid.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/05/2017 , work completed 26/05/2017
The trader replied (on 19/10/2017)
Thank you for you feedback very much appreciated!