We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Stephen Smith & Son Plumbing & Heating Services

Profile thumb strap 1

5.0

18 Reviews

About

Established since 2002, we are a well-regarded, family business dedicated to providing a first class, efficient and reliable service to our customers.

Our qualifications, training and experience allow us to offer a full range of installation, maintenance and repair work. We are registered with Gas Safe, Oftec, the Chartered Institute of Plumbing and Heating Engineers and are Worcester Bosch Accredited Installers.

We are proud that much of our business comes from personal recommendation and hope that this is a reflection of our commitment to providing professional, fair and honest trading.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Gas installers

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Power flushing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
  • More Services

    • natural gas
    • lpg and oil
    • landlord inspections.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
18 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
First Class Professionalism
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the first time I have felt compelled to write such a recommendation/review. However, the service provided by Smith & Son Heating has been superb. I can honestly say this really has been a first-class experience; so much so I would strongly recommend this company to friends and family. From the professionalism of the initial telephone inquiry, the attention to detail outlining the proposed work when visiting our home to quote, on-going effective communications, the actually skilled work of relocation/installation of an entire new heating / hot water system, right through to a follow-up telephone call to ensure I was completely satisfied with the installation and to confirm all the timer settings were correct. I have never experienced a tradesperson that has been so professional - punctual, coordinated deliveries, protected all the walls/carpets and the installation is excellent. Highly recommended and I would have no hesitation to use Stephen & Matt Smith in future.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 09/03/2021 , work completed 04/02/2021
Excellent response to a heating breakdown👍
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I telephoned on a Saturday morning at 9am to report a breakdown of my central heating. At 9.30am Matthew was at my door, found the problem, went to Stratford to get the part and by 11.30am my heating was working again. This was absolutely brilliant because I am 80 and feel the cold badly. Stephen and Matthew have been my heating engineers for a very long time, replacing my boiler in 2016 and have always been ready to discuss problems by phone and come out quickly when required and this was the best and quickest response ever!! In these difficult times it is nice to know there are people you can rely on. Full praise for Matthew and thank you for your response. I fully recommend their services.👏
Customer in Warwickshire Posted on 12/10/2020 , work completed 10/10/2020
Very impressed and would definitely use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new en-suite and this company was recommended to us by someone else. The work involved fitting the new en-suite, removing the hot water tank in the loft and replacing the tank in the airing cupboard. When coming to quote, Matt was full of helpful suggestions about what kind of different things were available and what options we had. We were really impressed with the work performed. Matt, Kieran and the whole team were prompt, polite, tidy, helpful with suggestions and we were extremely pleased with the en-suite which has been finished to a very high standard and in line with the quote. We would definitely recommend.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 21/03/2019 , work completed 13/03/2019
On time, on quote - pleased we choose them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to replace our 20 year old heating & hot water boiler with a more energy efficient and modern condensing boiler. Lots of positive local reviews as well as being an approved Worcester Bosch installer, meant we chose Stephen Smith for one of our quotes. They proved to be competitive and we were impressed with the attention to detail about options to overcome the slightly different layout of the new boiler to the old, within the confines of a standard kitchen cabinet. We agreed the price and start date and Matt Smith and Kieran turned up on time and set about protecting all the work areas (floors, counter tops etc). We wanted a few radiators changed and a Nest thermostat installed at the same time, but the new boiler was up and running by the end of day one, circulating a flush system cleaner overnight. It was a relief not to be left without heating or hot water during a cold spell. All the work was completed promptly on day two and we are really impressed with the result and the difference the new boiler, pump and filter make to our heating system. Highly recommended.
Stephen B Posted on 20/11/2017 , work completed 20/11/2017
Consistently great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole team worked on my son's house, redoing the heating, installing an ensuite bathroom (cast iron bath etc) and sorting the gas supply. The service is excellent. They keep to appointments, work efficiently and are a great bunch of lads. Have had them in more recently to sort my old boiler and again received the same excellent service. No hesitation in recommending Steve, Matt and their team.
David L Posted on 14/10/2017 , work completed 14/10/2017
Good Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had my boiler serviced and found Stephen to be punctual, informative and efficient. As I had arranged a days leave from work this does count for a lot plus the fact that a part required could be sourced straight away and replaced without delay. The service is backed up by efficient admin and all calls were returned. So simple but so many traders don't do it. Would recommend and will use again.
Mike H, Solihull Posted on 28/04/2017 , work completed 28/04/2017
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen and his son Mathew fitted a new boiler (Worcester) for me in 2012, unfortunately there was a leak somewhere in the system and visits from Worcester confirmed there was nothing wrong with the boiler and that there was a leak in the system. It took several visits and lifting of wooden floors until the leak was discovered order a concrete floor in the conservatory. He advised sealing off the pipes and fitting electric heaters in the conservatory, rather than lift the concrete floor at great cost. He fitted the radiators and everything was great. I have always been happy with the prompt, flexible dates and timing each year for the boiler service. Work has always been completed cleanly and proficiently, they are friendly and take their shoes off when entering my house. I have no complaints about Stephen Smith and Sons work and have recommended them to others who need an excellent plumber and heating engineer.
Jane, Solihull Posted on 21/12/2015 , work completed 21/12/2015
Exceptional Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Smith and his son Mathew have recently installed a new hot water and central heating system to replace my original inefficient and aging system (that was at least 20 years old). They were responsible for the whole project from specification and procurement through to installation. Thanks to this upgrade I am saving a small fortune on my fuel bills. Their depth of knowledge is exceptional and their quality of work is first class. A truly professional and friendly company that I would recommend to anyone!
Andy and Angela Posted on 14/02/2015 , work completed 14/02/2015
Reliable professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have known this family company for many years during which I have had new boiler installation and regular annual services. I have no hesitation in recommending the work, reliability and customer service attitude.
Carver Posted on 12/02/2015 , work completed 12/02/2015
Excellent Service, Highly Recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Smith and his Son Matthew have been servicing our boiler and Fire for five years now. They were our first choice to supply and replace our boiler, shower, and some radiators. The work was carried out efficiently and to high standard. Our house is an old farmhouse and it put up a fight to be bought up to date, Stephen and Matthew did a brilliant job, they are friendly and tidied up after themselves. We are delighted with the quality of the products supplied. We would highly recommend their services.
BevPaul Posted on 22/01/2015 , work completed 22/01/2015
High quality, efficient boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Smith and Son installed our new Worcester Bosch boiler. Very efficient and smooth installation and would recommend for similar jobs.
Ian Mac Posted on 02/01/2015 , work completed 02/01/2015
friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had regular servicing of our complex central heating system, repairs when there has been a sudden breakdown and re-siting and changing of radiators during the past couple of years. We are very happy with the quality of workmanship. Phone messages are responded to quickly and we can strongly recommend this company for any gas central heating problem.
CMR101054583 Posted on 31/12/2014 , work completed 31/12/2014
COMPETENT, EFFICIENT & RELIABLE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very happy to recommend Stephen Smith and son Matthew for any plumbing and heating installation, servicing or repairs. They are reliable and honest and have carried out a variety of jobs over the years, for us and other members of our family, with competence, expertise and friendliness.
D Posted on 17/12/2014 , work completed 17/12/2014
Great Family Business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matthew serviced my oil fired boiler and has alson carried out repairs. Work is completed on time and to budget. There is never any mess left and my questions are always answered.
ChrisG2 Posted on 12/12/2014 , work completed 12/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had these guys around to fix my central heating issue. They were the only company that called me back and I was able to arrange an appointment for the next day. Arrived when they said they would (although only an 'afternoon' slot), quickly diagnosed the issue and replaced the valve. The drain down tap was old and wouldn't stop leaking so they had to drain the system and replace that too - but no additional cost to me (but extra time for them). Cost was reasonable - very friendly father & son team. Have asked for a quote for a replacement boiler - so hopefully I won't have the issue of the previous poster.
tim190 Posted on 24/10/2014 , work completed 24/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a very thorough boiler service, was on time, polite, didn't leave a mess and charged a reasonable price. Will use his service again.
Bob & Sue Posted on 05/08/2013 , work completed 05/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service. Did more than was asked and was slightly cheaper than the price originally quoted
reldas23 Posted on 23/08/2012 , work completed 23/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This father & son business has an incredible attitude to service. Excellent workmanship and value you for money. What a find!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/07/2009 , work completed 15/07/2009