We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Stephen Monk

Profile thumb portrait of steve
4.9

35 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I am an experienced, conscientious and friendly domestic electrician based in South London. I am fully Part-P certified by NICEIC which means all my work is guaranteed and insured. I am proficient in fault finding, testing, alterations and I am able to issue Electrical Installation Condition Reports (formally known as Periodic Inspection Reports). Customer satisfaction is very important to me and I am proud of the amount of repeat business I have as well as the "word of mouth" recommendations that have brought me many new customers over the years.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
  • More Services

    • fault finding
    • earth bonding
    • security lighting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have now called Stephen Monk four times. Each time, he has been efficient, courteous, friendly, patient, clear, thorough - and very reasonable. The first time was to repair two blown dimmer switches and repair some other things. æThe second was to replace one of the new dimmer switches, which was done free of charge. æThe third time was to install some outdoor garden lights. æThe fourth was to upgrade the electrics in the kitchen for a new gas and electric oven. æWe decided not to do so, because of the complications he discovered, and got an all-gas oven instead. æSince we decided not to go ahead with the work, he offered not to charge us for his time, on the understanding that we would have him do the new electrical work when we got the kitchen refitted, a bargain we were very happy to agree to.
69Arthur700 Posted on 11/12/2012 , work completed 11/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve through this website and the work that he did in our flat confirmed all the good things said about him here. He pretty much overhauled our antiquated electrical system and installed a new consumer unit. This involved mains bonding to gas and water, replacing back boxes in lounge, fixing extended spur in ring, adding new socket in kitchen, etc. He charges a fair rate and is not just highly competent but also extremely thorough, conscientious, polite, and meticulous in his attention to detail. He also explains what he is doing and why, and seems to enjoy the challenge of problem-solving. Will recommend him to anyone.
manishita Posted on 07/09/2012 , work completed 07/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Steve to come and fit some 250watt rated Varilight trailing-edge dimmers for LED down lighters in two bedrooms and also a track light in an upper landing. He explained the tasks in detail and completed the work on time. After he left we had problems with flickering of the LED lights and we have recently discovered that the dimmers fitted were 400 watts and were incompatible with the circuit. We did raise the issue with him at the time, although there was no follow-up.
davidsw16 Posted on 08/03/2012 , work completed 08/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 jobs carried out. First, a like-for-like hob replacement in our flat rented to tenants. At first I thought he might be a "tut, tut, you haven't got one of those" type of suppliers but turned out he just wanted to keep me informed of findings. Explained upgrade to fuse board that could be an advantage. Quick and extremely good value for money. Second, fault finding in our own home where we had lost 80% of the downstairs lights. I feel he enjoyed this challenge more but was still as quick and informative as he went. Problem solved, we now have light again. I then asked him to install some fiddly ceiling fittings which, although extremely time consuming, he still did willingly. Couldn't recommend more highly.
scantscant Posted on 02/09/2011 , work completed 02/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, thorough, seeks advice when in doubt, reliable. He 'took over' our Victorian conversion from a lazy big mouth - no problems, and fairly priced.
Karsten Posted on 10/01/2011 , work completed 10/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Monk is excellent value for a quality job. We had to install an induction hob to replace the old gas hob and replace the electric oven into our existing old kitchen units. Nothing phased him even though my measurements were right there were unexpected problems. There were re-sizing issues which meant lowering the supports for the oven to be able fit the induction hob and leave enough clearance for air circulation between it and the oven. He also had to make the size of the hole bigger for the induction hob to slot into. These issues had to be sorted out BEFORE he could do the straightforward electrical job. The suppliers of the hob and oven wanted £70 each to do the job but would have refused to do anything other than connecting the wires and slotting into the existing spaces anything more demanding and they would have walked away or charged much more. Stephen did everything even if the hard stuff was nothing to do with an electrician and more to do with the kitchen units. He was patient, polite, explained everything well and always tried to ensure that he could complete the work professionally without incurring additional cost or complication to us. Whenever we asked a question concerning this job or other future work, he explained in terms that we could understand and fully answered the question, explaining the options, complications, issues and costs for parts and labour so we always knew what we were going to do and how much it would cost first. And then he did what he said he would do and charged exactly what he estimated. Stephen is a decent, honest, good value and professional electrician and so much more. I will always call him first whenever we have an electricians job knowing that he can probably also do the associated ancilliary or peripheral jobs as well, all to a high standard. I cannot recommend him enough. For peace of mind , a high quality good value job, Stephen Monk is an excellent solution. (Much cheaper than some other quotes we received).
crg0 Posted on 04/12/2010 , work completed 04/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve via this site, and can confirm all the good things everyone has said about him. He is thorough, reliable, competent, tidy, pleasant and punctual - everything you are looking for in fact! He did lots of those 'small jobs' for us, which in fact are not small at all and quite fiddly - but he just got on with it.
Monsaraz Posted on 30/11/2010 , work completed 30/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was personable and helpful. He explained what he was doing and why he was doing it. Extremely methodical. Probably not the fastest operator but one that will find the right solution that will last. And lets face it that's what you want. He charges a fair rate so all in all I couldn't recommend him more.
wonderhorse Posted on 26/10/2010 , work completed 26/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve to come and look at the wiring in my new flat. He was really nice, conscientious, hard-working and polite. He explained (and showed me) the things that he felt needed some work. I found his rates to be very reasonable and competitive, so much so, I gave him a bonus - how often does that happen with traders?! I'd definitely use Steve again and recommend him to anyone.
melissawareham Posted on 30/09/2010 , work completed 30/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen is very friendly and courteous person. Most of all he is very reliable and trust worthy. He knows his job well. He installed a new consumer unit and made couple of light fittings for me. I am very happy and satisfied with his work. No doubt I will recommend to anyone.
khodgson Posted on 22/09/2010 , work completed 22/09/2010