Endorsed by Which?

SunGift Solar Limited

4.5

23 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

SunGift Energy are award-winning experts in the design and installation of bespoke renewable energy systems for both commercial and domestic customers.

Our mission is to offer an exceptionally high quality service at competitive prices and we believe that our passionate and dedicated team of experts, with over 100 years of combined experience, do just that. We are specialists in the renewables sector, including solar PV, whole house integrated systems, energy storage, LED lighting, and we also offer a comprehensive aftercare service.

SunGift Energy will ensure your journey in renewable energy is as straightforward, beneficial, and cost-effective as possible. Our complete and hassle-free package, alongside our unrivaled desire to be forerunners in the renewables field, mean you can rest assured that you will receive a truly award-winning service.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
  • Cleaning services

    • Solar panel cleaning
  • Smart Homes

  • More Services

    • led lighting
    • battery storage
    • solar pv
    • ev charging
    • car charging

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.5
23 reviews
Customer Service
4.2
Quality
4.7
Value
4.6
Sort by
Appalling service and a warranty which is useless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a solar installation undertaken on a new-build property. Sungift took months to provide a quote, required endless chasing to do anything, missed the window to install while the scaffolding was up incurring additional costs for me, and took multiple visits to complete the work. Worse, the panels malfunctioned within four months of installation. Sungift then took repeated chasing to do anything about it, and their stock line has been to say it's probably someone else's fault, and that they may not cover the costs of making good the installation. We are now five months on from my raising the issue, and they want me to commit to paying them £2,200 to come and investigate it with no guarantee they will cover that cost. They claim their "workmanship warranty" wouldn't cover scaffolding costs which would depend on a warranty with a company SolarEdge whose products they installed and with whom I've never had any sort of contract nor dealings. I have also never seen their warranty terms nor been sent them. I cannot advise against using Sungift strongly enough, and I'm at the point where I am having to consider legal action to get the issues addressed.
Customer in Cornwall Posted on 01/05/2024 , work completed 26/07/2023
Nice friendly installers but poor management
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We ordered solar batteries from Sungift in December 2022 with a promised delivery early February 2023. February arrived and were told delivery would be April but alternative batteries were available immediately although more expensive. So we agreed and asked for an installation date as soon as possible. That didn't get scheduled until 7th March 2023 but job not completed that day as installer wrongly informed of requirements. It took another week for Head Electrician to come to assess what was needed to complete the installation and then another week for it to be done. That was over a week ago but we have no idea if the installation is working because we have not been provided with the information needed to monitor and control it. Although Sungift have previously enjoyed good reviews and indeed awards, what has become apparent since dealing with them is that they now have more work than they can efficiently manage or handle. Their Operations Manager has rarely answered our polite emails asking when the next outstanding issue was going to be dealt with and has now gone completely silent in response to emails and phone messages left. So the installation which we originally expected to be completed by mid February finally got done in mid March but we don't know if it's working or how to use it. Thus I am writing this review in the hope that their senior management team gets to know how poor their service now is and is concerned enough to do something about it.
Customer in Devon Posted on 29/03/2023 , work completed 22/03/2023
PV installation cost effective
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We run Manleys B&B in Devon and have used Sungift Solar for many years. In 2013 they installed a complete heating system including a boiler, radiators, log burner with back boiler and solar thermal panels, all linked to a hot water tank, which is all still working well. In 2020 Sungift Solar installed a 5.36 kw PV system and this has proven to be an excellent investment. This summer my best estimate is that our total electricity bill is costing less than the daily standing charge of 48 pence a day before VAT. I estimate that even on current electricity prices [27 pence per kwh] we are saving £3.46 per day compared to the situation if we did not have PV installed. Although it is difficult to work out the precise payback period, it will only reduce over the coming winter when unit prices are scheduled to increase massively. In my opinion PV is now a 'no-brainer' and I am not surprised that Sungift Solar has a full order book for domestic PV because they deliver to a high standard. My only negative relates to some of the paperwork as there was a significant delay in receiving the MCS certificate, which is required before claiming SEG. Despite this reservation I am happy to recommend Sungift Solar.
Customer in Devon Posted on 21/08/2022 , work completed 28/02/2020
Excellent Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I phoned Sungift Solar when an inverter on my system broke down. My original installer had ceased trading. Their service was exceptional. I was put in touch with their maintenance department and they agreed they would do the work. They contacted the inverter manufacturers arranged for deliver of a new inverter to my home. Arranged a date for the work and kept in touch of progress on delivery of the new inverter. The inverter arrived a week before scheduled engineer visit and I informed maintenance of its arrival. An hour later I had a call to ask if they could carry out the repair that afternoon. An engineer arrived an hour later. He was one of the best engineers I have encountered, very friendly and professional. Not only did he complete the job in 30 minutes, but he transferred all our system details to Sungift Solar and called back from his home in the evening to check everything was working. Fantastic service I cannot praise the company enough.
Steve in Devon Posted on 14/09/2021 , work completed 13/09/2021
Good work, poor customer services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After sourcing three separate quotes we went with Sungift due to competitiveness and a bit of the advice. Please be aware these are the sales people, so will charm you to get the cash through the door. Installation was scheduled during lockdown and we were impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of the installers, however when the project overran, rather than finish ours off they left site to start another project. When we did get completed we weren't provided with the relevant details to give to our electricity provider so that we would get paid for excess solar. We appreciate the impact COVID will have had on everyone, though it is now almost four months since installation completion and still haven't got the details needed despite repeated chasing of Sungift. Make sure you get all this before paying any final instalments.
Customer in Cornwall Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
The trader replied (on 16/10/2020)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were impressed with our install team, and can appreciate how disappointing the delay in completion was for you. As you mention, the work was completed during the Covid-19 pandemic. In order to function as close to normal as possible during these unprecedented times it has been necessary for all companies to adapt to the ongoing situation. This includes SunGift, our suppliers, and the organisations and companies we work alongside. SunGift has been putting huge amounts of time and work into updating our procedures and systems to ensure that all future work will run smoothly, even under the toughest conditions. During the height of the pandemic, when your system was installed, we were in the middle of implementing these changes. We sympathise with how frustrating the delay must have been. With regard to your paperwork, it is our understanding that this has now been received. Some delays in this area have been recognised by SunGift and we are currently working hard to improve our performance here. We regret that you had a less-than ideal experience and we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment and inconvenience that has been the result of this. At SunGift, we pride ourselves on supplying the best and highest quality systems available, and we really hope you're pleased with the finished installation.
Excellent work from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sungift Solar have been excellent to work with. Helpful with advice, offered good proposals and incredibly hardworking when it came to installation time. Everything clean and tidy when completed and all installers excellent to be around. Delighted with the installation.
Customer in Devon Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Great system but extremely poor communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My first contacts with Sungift were excellent, with the facts laid out very well - we felt the system choices we made were very good and we are still delighted with it. We chose solar panels and a battery system, and we chose to go with Sungift. However, after we signed the contract and the work was commissioned, communications went completely awry. The work carried out by the installers was of a high quality, but ongoing communications were appalling. The installation involved complex electrical work on our roof and throughout the house which we had to co-ordinate with work carried out by our own electrician. Having to talk to a different member of staff every step of the way made for inappropriately poor continuity of service and frequent miscommunications requiring my regular and sometimes frequent intensive chasing of them regarding everything from simple dates to complex technical issues. This was very inconvenient for us and sometimes frustrating and worrying for us. I appointed my own single point of contact and insisted on dealing with all issues through that person, who, to be fair, did his best. The Sungift communication system is, however, broken. In my view they should immediately adopt a customer focussed system with a single point of contact for customers' issues. I'm afraid that whilst Sungift's work was very good, I can only recommend them if you are prepared to take 100% of the initiative for communications every step of the way.
Customer in Devon Posted on 16/12/2019 , work completed 31/10/2019
The trader replied (on 23/12/2019)
We are very pleased to hear that you are happy with your PV and storage system but are very sorry to hear of your concerns regarding communications. We unfortunately had some staffing issues in the lead up to your installation and although we made every effort to minimise any impact on our customers, we are sorry to hear that this impacted negatively upon you. We have now recruited extra staff which has allowed us to ensure that all customers have a single point of contact for their entire installation from point of sale onwards. We are already seeing a positive impact and will continue to work to ensure our customer service is the best it can possibly be.
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SunGift Solar are excellent at providing, useful information and advice, with communications, with quality installation, and with quality products. The initial survey through to the final Installation was carried out by knowledgeable and professional engineers. The whole process from initial contact to completion of the project was one of total competence. I would not hesitate in recommending SunGift Thank-you to all at SunGift.
Customer in Devon Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 08/07/2019
Excellent experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed our 16-panel domestic solar PV system in December. Excellent experience all-round. Would have given a 4.5 on account of a slow post-installation (and payment of balance) support so I could apply for the FiT. But in fairness this was all around the Christmas period. Otherwise though, couldn't fault the quotation process, survey (although needs jargon-busting a bit), pre-installation communication, installation process itself and the ease of paying. We got a quote from one other supplier and SunGift were well under. But I have no other direct comparison to say how good a value they offered, but seemed reasonable based on what others have told me. All those I dealt with were professional, knowledgeable and happy to help. Would happily recommend.
Customer in Devon Posted on 20/03/2019 , work completed 19/12/2018
Good from 1st phone call to completing installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sungift are the company to use. They were fantastic every step of the way. From my first telephone call asking for a quote to the completion of the job nothing seemed too much trouble. Unlike some of the other companies there was no hard sell. They took time to establish what we were trying to achieve and set about designing a system that met those needs. If you had asked me before the process started I would have been of the opinion that one solar installation is the same as all the others what matters is getting the price down. I would have been wrong. There are ways of cheapening the system but some of those lead to a loss of functionality. Sungift advised me, and advised me very well how to get the most out of our system. We are in an area where power cuts happen frequently, with the system we have (including a battery ) we can continue to have power during a power cut. We are looking forward to having significantly reduced electricity bills from here on, if you would like that too get sungift to design and fit your system. They tailored ours much better than the competitors, I strongly recommend them.
Customer in Cornwall Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 28/02/2019