Endorsed by Which?

Techfor Energy Ltd

4.8

118 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We can reduce your demand for daytime grid energy by over 90% for the year!

Download your Free Consumer Guide to getting a great solar PV install and avoiding the pitfalls at:

http://solar.techforenergy.co.uk/consumer-guide/

or call us on 0800 888 6544.

As a SunPower Authorised Dealer we can design systems using the market leading panel from the USA which is over 20% efficient.

Techfor Energy also specialise in EnPhase micro inverters and the best solar panels as well as ground-based systems on residential and commercial properties.

We offer free, no obligation on-line surveys and expert advice on energy saving as well as generation, so please call us today to power up your solution.

Please check out our great reviews here and also on CheckaTrade, Which Local and FreeIndex and we look forward to being of service

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
  • More Services

    • solar pv
    • solar thermal
    • battery energy storage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
118 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
PV Solar panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A professional and comprehensive survey followed by a very neat and efficient installation. The system set up when completed, was explained thoroughly. Service and help following has also been exemplary. This is the company you will want to use for making this type of investment.
SLNUNN Posted on 24/04/2016 , work completed 24/04/2016
Supply & Installation of a 4kWp system (09.01.16)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
TechFor Energy offered a very thorough service from the moment I first contacted them. Ultimately I was very happy I chose this company to undertake the work and if I would recommend them on that basis. From the initial site survey to the in-depth survey report to the installation all potential issues where highlighted in advanced and corresponding actions taken accordingly meaning we had no surprises after.
RAMANKAHER Posted on 04/04/2016 , work completed 04/04/2016
Solar installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, knowledgeable advice Done very quickly as timescale was limited Very approachable Answered every question in depth Brilliant solar panel advice (Glen), outstanding knowledgeable, tidy electrician.
2011-08-07 12:51:32.997 Posted on 27/02/2016 , work completed 27/02/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We looked at all previous reviews carefully before deciding to seek quotes, and given what has been said by other members we had no hesitation in selecting Techfor as the first company to contact. This installation came at a very busy time, with tariffs changing: but their service throughout was very professional and thorough. Glenn Ashby took care to ensure that all aspects were considered carefully and we have been delighted not only with his suggestions and recommendations, but critically with the installation itself and with the levels of energy generated. We happily recommend this company.
DJP123 Posted on 25/02/2016 , work completed 25/02/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Saw this company on the Which site and approached them. Of the 4 companies I checked Techfor Energy were the most reassuring and professional. Not the cheapest but the price was not far off and the work was carried out on time, with no extras and installed neatly and works fine. Their survey was the most professional and ensured that all factors had been taken into account. 16 panels were installed within 6 to 7 hours and the layout is as expected and has withstood all high winds this winter. If you want a good professional company that are honest go to them, my neighbour asked for details and approached them, I did not think he had a suitable roof and they confirmed to him that his roof was not ideal.
Paul Verrall Posted on 11/02/2016 , work completed 11/02/2016
Solar panel installation (3.42Kw, 12 panels)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We looked at four firms, and TechFor Energy visited punctually, did a thorough survey, and gave a thorough report. Glenn Ashby identified some minor things needed to ensure a successful installation without covering up any costs. They were not the cheapest but we decided to choose them because we trusted them. The scaffolding was installed punctually and professionally by a subcontractor. The installation was quick and efficient on the planned date, with very little mess that was cleared up quickly. All the people involved were friendly and competent. TechFor were helpful in steering us through getting the feed-in tariff approved. Since installation we have generated 338KWh in 3.5 months which, given that it was in the winter, suggests that the expected annual output is likely to be received. The sunniest day in the first three months was the first full day after installation, but the installers don't provide the weather. Minor reservations. 1 - We decided to include extra equipment to divert unused power to an immersion heater; this has produced more hot water than we actually used (it works very well) but has so far saved us about £1 worth of gas - probably not financially justified. That was our decision, rather than their recommendation. 2 - They also provide access to an excellent website MyEnlighten that provides constant monitoring of power production; the server for this was down for a couple of days, but without losing any data.
robertd Posted on 08/02/2016 , work completed 08/02/2016
Solar PV Panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were worried about installing PV panels on our house and selected Techfor as one of the companies to give us a quote because of the excellent feed-back. We were certainly not disappointed, despite the exceptional pressures on the industry currently because of the anticipated changes in the tariff. Glenn was very thorough when he called to undertake the survey answered all our questions with detailed and factual explanations and made a number of useful suggestions. The subsequent quote was clear and accurate, and the team at Techfor were helpful in answering our questions, and making sure that the necessary paper-work was completed promptly. Despite miserable weather the workmen were prompt efficient and tidy and we are very pleased with our new panels which are generating power in line with expectations. We consider that Glenn is exceptional and happily recommend this firm.
2011-07-16 22:03:35.7 Posted on 16/12/2015 , work completed 16/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
TechforEnergy installed a 2.4KWp system for us 9 months ago: 8 x 300W LG panels with micro inverters ??" 7 panels on the main roof of a mid-terrace house and one on a ground floor bathroom roof to maximise generation. I chose TechforEnergy because their communication skills were second to none. We had 2 other quotes (all WhichLocal recommendations) but Glenn Ashby was always on the end of the phone and happy to return calls. The company are professional and experts in their field ??" not just Glenn who carried out the survey, but John Appleby providing support from the office. Surprisingly too, TechforEnergy???s quote was the cheapest of the three. At no point did I feel rushed or pressurised. Glenn took as long as was necessary to answer all my questions and talk through alternatives. I felt confident at all times that he would recommend what was best for our situation because he wanted to provide a first class installation (which he has) and obviously appreciates the importance of safeguarding his well-earned reputation. I was particularly impressed by a previous review on Which that he had told one prospective customer that it would not be financially worth their while to install panels. So obviously honest. On the day, the system took just 2 hours to install on the roof (we had a very simple cable run). That included the time it took to go to a nearby builders??? merchant to replace a broken roof tile for us at no cost. You couldn???t ask for more. The guys who did the installation were professional, efficient, respectful, clean, tidy and friendly. It???s worth knowing too that TechforEnergy will reward their customers for any recommendations you make that result in an installation ??" I have a friend who has used them and they are also suitably impressed. If you are still wondering whether to install solar or not, I wouldn???t hesitate to recommend that you get TechForEnergy to carry out a survey for you. Quite apart from reducing carbon emissions, financial returns surpass anything you could get from a savings account at the moment. And installing a solar array guarantees an income, so it???s not got the associated risks of other investments. It???s worth bearing in mind that you need to use as much of the energy you generate as possible before you export to the grid to maximise savings. The predicted financial returns in your quote will be based on assumptions e.g. ours was based on being able to use 5?6kWh per day from our PV system (about one washing machine load). So behavioural change is key ??" you need to use energy when the sun is shining to maximise savings or set devices to run during peak production hours using timers if you are happy to do so. But any assumptions are stated in the quote you receive. The online ???Enphase??? monitoring system we have also tracks how each of our panels is performing ??" be warned for the first few months it???s addictive! You can sit in the office, find out the sun was shining, and wish you???d set the washing machine before you???d left the house. You will have access to daily, weekly, monthly and lifetime reports. It???s also telling me that last month we offset 3 trees worth of carbon. (Be warned, you may need to guard against being too self-righteous down the pub). Finally, with the cuts to FIT that the government is planning, now is the time to do it ??" don???t delay. The Government is proposing reducing the FIT to 1.6p from January 2016. Please sign the petition at: http://tinyurl.com/nqpelsg. TechforEnergy???s home page also has a link to it. Regrets? Only that we don???t have a bigger roof... [As an aside to this review, the solar trade industry estimates that 27,000 jobs are at immediate risk due to the proposed 87% cut to the domestic feed-in tariff and the government admits that ???carbon emissions will increase??ù as a result of the planned changes. People providing the kind of service TechforEnergy provide deserve to stay in the job].
sarahlp Posted on 08/11/2015 , work completed 08/11/2015
Which? Local Review - 4KW System
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Straight up there is no hard sell with TechFor, just good quality support as you start the “due I need/want Solar Panels journey”. There is a steep learning curve for anyone contemplating a PV installation & luckily I had two friends who had installed PV panels via other vendors. So I knew some of the questions & technical ropes with PV panels & what you could get for you money or not. One of my friends paid way too much for a small KW setup! Techfor Energy (Glenn the owner) carried out a comprehensive site survey including measurements of all trees nearby that were likely to impact the PV arrays & offered me two options that we discussed then formally quoted on (within 2 days). The other two installs I had insight were just a “string setup” & have no shadow management or monitoring capability. The PV Solar Techfor solution I chose from TechFor, was the 4KW Solaredge solution which is online to the web so it can be monitored remotely right down to your smart phone & optimises each panel for its max energy generation - panel by panel . Techfor sorted out the HEPC energy survey , scaffolding etc and even 75% filled in the FIT form & marked the areas to fill in. All the pre & post work was on time, the roofers & electrician were very friendly, efficient & the work was very tidy. I consider the system provided as much better value for the money & technically cheaper (as I got a lot more KW output for the space) than both my two friends setups. I would happily use Techfor again.
2011-06-20 11:26:22.163 Posted on 01/09/2015 , work completed 01/09/2015
Premier division company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Originally, I asked Techfor to do remedial work on solar panels installed by one of the numerous 'cowboy' outfits in the industry. I was so impressed with Techfor's attention to detail, customer support and skill of its workforce that, without any selling pressure, I commissioned a second set of panels. I now have a 4kw system with Solar iBoost; since installation, I haven't used any mains electricity or gas to heat water and my general metered consumption has plummeted. In an industry blighted with fly-by-night cowboys Techfor is a beacon of professionalism!
DavidMcC Posted on 11/07/2015 , work completed 11/07/2015