Endorsed by Which?

Techfor Energy Ltd

4.8

118 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We can reduce your demand for daytime grid energy by over 90% for the year!

Download your Free Consumer Guide to getting a great solar PV install and avoiding the pitfalls at:

http://solar.techforenergy.co.uk/consumer-guide/

or call us on 0800 888 6544.

As a SunPower Authorised Dealer we can design systems using the market leading panel from the USA which is over 20% efficient.

Techfor Energy also specialise in EnPhase micro inverters and the best solar panels as well as ground-based systems on residential and commercial properties.

We offer free, no obligation on-line surveys and expert advice on energy saving as well as generation, so please call us today to power up your solution.

Please check out our great reviews here and also on CheckaTrade, Which Local and FreeIndex and we look forward to being of service

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
  • More Services

    • solar pv
    • solar thermal
    • battery energy storage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
118 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first phone call it was clear that Techfor Energy were more professional than the others we had contacted. They were the only ones who carried out a thorough survey including taking measurements that the others guessed at. Glen the surveyor was the only one who inspected our roof space. Their estimate of our likely generation was lower than the others but we have confidence that it is more accurate due to the survey - we have shading issues that both other companies ignored. The guys who did the work were very friendly and professional. Thoroughly recommended.
R Chandlers Ford Posted on 19/06/2015 , work completed 19/06/2015
20 Solar Panels Installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They lived up to expectations. Excellent communication skills and workmanship, highly recommend.
Morrissa, Essex Posted on 01/03/2015 , work completed 01/03/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hamish installed a charging point for a hybrid electric vehicle. I can have no complaints at all - a really nice chap!
Andrew, Eastbourne Posted on 10/01/2015 , work completed 10/01/2015
Reliable & informative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had 16 solar panels installed in December 2014. It was a good price and they were clean and tidy throughout.
Richard, Sussex Posted on 20/12/2014 , work completed 20/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Techfor Energy "stand out from the crowd". I had many companies visit and the standard of consultation and surveys vary. The industry seems consist of people from many diffferent backgrounds and clearly discretion is required when selecting an installer. Techfor Energy were fantastic from the initial consultation through to installation and follow-up. I wanted to know how the system would work for me - and Glenn helpfully and patiently pointed me towards understanding my own energy consumption and with his accurate shading analysis I was confident that an 8Kwp system was the way ahead. Glenn's initial survey was thorough and he was able to point out potential problems such as overloading the roof structure and I felt reassured that care was being taken of the property and sister rafters would be used - not sure that other companies were considering this. The installation went smoothly, the team were a pleasure to have around and follow up always available. Since installation in September the system has been running smoothly, generation has been consistent with shading analysis and fuel bills reduced by 75%! I would recommend Techfor Energy for quality of service and best value for money.
Sheesheemac Posted on 10/12/2014 , work completed 10/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As you can see from other members reviews I can agree that I have no hesitation in recommending Glenn and his fine team. The advice and manner out shone any of the other companies that came around to give quotes. One stepped out of her car in high heels and my wife said I bet she doesn't go in the loft, sure enough she didn't. I had the system installed last September. I've been meaning to leave a review. Sorry it's taken a while, busy lives. Glenn was the only one that didn't break the MCS code of conduct, I know because I checked on what they had to do before they came around. They offered discounts if you signed there and then. Glenn carried out a detailed and thorough survey. Even took photos of the loft to refer to when needed. He was the only one to advise on sister trusses as using thick screws to secure the mounting brackets would weaken the rafters. He was concerned that the weight of the solar panels with weak rafters could fall off in high winds. Something to look out for when you are getting quotes. I had sister trusses put in and I can say the panels are still there even after 102mph winds were recorded on the 14th February, 6 miles away from my house. That's a category 2 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson scale. I wanted a 4kw system but could only get 15 panels on my roof which would have meant a maximum of 3.75kw as most panels are 250w per panel. Glenn advised he could now get a 260w panel which meant I could have a system at 3.9kw. I also had an Immersun fitted which no-one else mentioned or quoted for. It's a device that diverts solar electricity to your immersion heater to heat your hot water before the electric goes to the grid. Everything at the moment is running fine. I even said to Odette at the time of installation when is something going to go wrong? We all know things can go wrong from time to time, sometimes it can't be helped. Scaffolding turned up on time, installation team the same. Installed and no hiccups. All certificates done, FIT application filled in and sent off. No hassle. I've calculated that I have saved ÔøΩ450 off my energy bill in the first 6 months of installation. Well on target for ÔøΩ1000 if not more, very happy. If you are looking for a professional company with integrity that will give it to you straight, no lies just to make a fast buck and rip you off, then look no further than Techfor Energy. You won't be disappointed, I know I'm not.
Sewermouse Posted on 12/06/2014 , work completed 12/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As with other reviewers, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Techfor Energy. The staff in every department that I had any contact with were very personable, highly efficient and extremely professional. They were always very happy to answer clearly and precisely all the questions I asked. Their quotation was extremely detailed and well laid out. They worked very hard to ensure that my installation would be completed and all necessary paperwork finished on the Friday as the new FIT rate was coming in on the following Tuesday. My installation was split over two locations and in three orientations. In the three weeks the system (3.7 KWp) has been in place, it has generated 300 KWh of energy. The minimum that has been generated in a day has been slightly over 3 KWh and the current maximum stands at 23 KWh. I would strongly suggest that you include Techfor as one of your 3 or more companies that you invite quotations from. You will then be able to see why all the reviews have been so positive.
KCK Posted on 19/04/2014 , work completed 19/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As the summary below may go beyond your immediate requirements, I can happily recommend Glenn Ashby and his company Techfor Energy Ltd. for the following reasons: ÔøΩTechfor Energy sent their Technical Director out to carry out a comprehensive site survey. Not only was he the Technical Director, but also the owner of the business and was very knowledgeable and professional. The survey and Q&A session took the best part of 2.5 hours and included measurements of all trees likely to impact the arrays. ÔøΩTechfor was the only supplier to mention the Government grant for EV charging points ÔøΩTechfor was the only supplier to state the need for sister rafters ÔøΩTechfor was the only supplier to talk me through the G59 application requirements and manage the whole process I consider the system provided as value for money and would happily use Techfor Energy Ltd. again. Summary I selected several local companies using a combination of both Which Local and Checkatrade.com, I sent out emails requesting both advice and quotations. Techfor Energy Ltd. were the first to respond. I received a call from John Appleby from their sales team to discuss my requirements the very next morning. As soon as John called, I knew I was dealing with a knowledgeable individual and a professional company. John answered all my initial questions and subsequently arranged for a free technical survey to be undertaken. This was confirmed by email within the hour. Two days later, Techfor EnergyÔøΩs Technical Director Glenn Ashby arrived on schedule and carried out a thorough survey and shading analysis of the property, garden and surrounding buildings and vegetation. He thoroughly inspected the structure of the roof and confirmed that sister rafters would be required owing to the dimensions of the existing rafters. The data gathered and input to his tablet, combined with photographs taken, enabled Glenn to provide me with several options on the spot. Glenn spent another hour of so explaining the options with both honesty and clarity, assisted by a folder full of technical specifications and photographs. By the time he came to leave, I was quite confident as to the system specification I wanted and this was provided to the other companies in order to facilitate a like for like comparison. One or two days after the technical survey, I received a brief courtesy e-mail from the design team to keep you informed of progress and let me know that my design options were underway and later that same day I received detailed quotations for the design, installation and commissioning of both a 4kWp and an 8kWp solar PV system. The following week I received the other quotations (all subject to further survey) and by the time I calculated the additional charges for items omitted or to be upgraded, it was a simple choice. Techfor Energy would provide a system that would largely protect me from rising energy/fuel costs while providing a reasonable return on investment. Having placed my order with Techfor Energy for an 8kWp solar PV system, Techfor Energy got straight into seeking Distribution Network Operator (DNO) approval for the more powerful 8kWp system with a guideline of 20-30 working days for the green light to proceed. A month later, I received confirmation that DNO approval had been granted and we agreed on a preferred date for installation. With a great crew on board, the installation took two days following the erection of the scaffolding. Everything went to plan and the work was carried out neatly and with minimum disruption. The scaffolding was removed the following week just in case there may have been any equipment failures during the first few days necessitating any replacement. The day after commissioning, an Energy Performance survey was carried out and the certificate registered online, the certificate being required to qualify for the higher FIT tariff payments. The Techfor Energy team were then able to fill in the relevant information on my feed in tariff application form so that I could complete it and send it off to my energy supplier for registration. The following day, I received the ÔøΩSolar PV Info PackÔøΩ from Tom and the admin team, comprising all the system schematics and technical information as well as operating instructions, certificates and warranty documentation. I can therefore happily recommend Glenn Ashby and his company Techfor Energy Ltd.
jerry3561 Posted on 24/02/2014 , work completed 24/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first contact to completed installation all work was carried out in a thorough and professional way. Everything went like clockwork. Terrific bunch of guys worked their socks off to complete a large installation in just two days. I am very pleased with design, the quality of the components, and the power generation from the finished PV installation. Will certainly recommend.
B88 Posted on 20/02/2014 , work completed 20/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Techfor very competent, prompt, courteous and well informed. The price was better than another quote, and any questions were answered quickly and fully. I am happy to recommend them.
Anchovy31 Posted on 17/02/2014 , work completed 17/02/2014