We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Techfor Energy Ltd

Profile thumb techfor energy logo final v1.0
4.8

96 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Download your Free Consumer Guide to getting a great solar PV install and avoiding the pitfalls at:

http://solar.techforenergy.co.uk/consumer-guide/

or call us on 0800 888 6544.

We can help you save up to 50% or more off your energy bills, depending on your circumstances and equipment designed for you.

As a SunPower Authorised Dealer we can design systems using the market leading panel from the USA which is over 20% efficient.

Techfor Energy also specialise in EnPhase micro inverters, SolarEdge and Power optimisers TriEnergia triangular panels and the best solar panels as well as ground based systems on residential and commercial properties.

We offer free, no obligation surveys and expert advice on energy saving as well as generation, so please call us today to power up your solution.

Please check out our great reviews here and also on CheckaTrade, Which Local and FreeIndex and we look forward to being of service

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
  • More Services

    • solar pv
    • solar thermal
    • battery energy storage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
96 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Supply and install solar panels and storage battery
It was very clear from the time that our three bids for solar panels where received that Techfor Energy were offering the best technical advice about our specific needs and the quality of their bid. All three bidders were selected by having high check-a-trade scores, but Techfor stood out amongst the others. They were the only ones to do a structural survey during the first home visit. They were the only ones to suggest we consider installing an energy storage battery. I am so pleased we went with Techfor. The installation was in two phases, the first for the solar panels, the second, some months later, for a Tesla Powerwall storage battery. Both went well, with Techfor even rectifying a previously unknown sealing problem with one of our roof sky-lights. They listened to what we wanted and tailored their bid to meet our specific needs (e.g. control boxes and battery on the unused east side of our house, despite the electricity meter being, and main thoroughfare, on the west side of the house). The software that comes with the systems is fantastic. Every time the sun shines, I am glued to the apps looking how well the system is doing. I can even keep track of what the Children are doing (electrical usage wise) while we are miles away from home. I am really pleased with the system we went for, and really pleased with the way Techfor supplied, installed and commissioned the systems. Highly recommended.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 23/12/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very satisfied with our Solar PV installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
9KWp PV system installed on 3 roofs in Dec 2019. Tesla Powerwall battery due for installation by February 2020 (due to availability). We were very impressed by the quality of service from Glenn and the team, from our first meeting/survey when he produced 3 options for us to choose. The software available for design is excellent, includes solar predictions and payback period. Installation went smoothly, the guys were a pleasure to have around, they were on time and resolved all issues and went the extra mile. After sales service has been excellent - the IP cabinet door needed adjusting, the excess roof tiles needed moving down, and when the bird protection mesh ran out they came back on a Saturday to complete. The Tesla battery won't be installed until February 2020 so I will leave a further review then. Obviously we've installed in mid-winter so will have better picture in 12 months. Runs our HW even on Dec 21st, the shortest day. Total cost £23k ivcl Tesla battery. Expensive but the right thing to do.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 22/12/2019 , work completed 06/12/2019
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
6KW Solar PV on two separate roofs with one Tesla battery was a big investment so I got 4 separate quotes. Techfor energy were not the cheapest (nor the most expensive) but they were clearly the company which really understood the technology. I then asked around the area and found others who had used Techfor energy and they were all very happy, so I proceeded. Install, commissioning and subsequent support was (and continues to be) fantastic. For example, 9 months after commissioning I was concerned about a firmware update which was not a ‘guarantee’ item. Notwithstanding this, Glen arrived the following week, sorted the issue, took time to explain it all to me and checked my system over. The company really cares about its customers. I installed my solar as part of a major building project ( re roof, extension, new boiler / cylinder, re wire etc). Of all the contractors, Techfor was the only company always to answer the phone and turn up when agreed. A great company which I would use again without hesitation.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 17/12/2019 , work completed 10/04/2019
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prior to deciding on a solar installer I have read many reviews on websites such as ‘checkatrade’ and ‘Which? Trusted Trader’. Techfor Energy was the only company that was repeatedly praised for their high standard of work, customer service and time management so I decided to contract this company, and I have not been disappointed. Techfor Energy installed my 2.5 kWp Solar PV system with Enphase micro-inverters and bird mesh, which prevents pigeons from nesting under the panels. I have been very impressed with their service and top quality. Recently, some of the clips from the bird mesh had popped out due to the adverse weather. When I rang Techfor Energy and spoke to Glenn Ashby he sent me his team the next day to replace the clips free of charge. I would highly recommend Techfor energy for any solar PV project as they are very professional with an eye on the detail.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 06/12/2019 , work completed 03/12/2019
Terrible aftercare service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Technically very proficient and great Presales. Poor communication. Average workmanship. Zero post sales support as we with held £400 of the £31,000 invoice to cover remedial work. System does not work at all and we have no way of getting any support.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 28/11/2019 , work completed 27/09/2019
The trader replied (on 06/12/2019)
The customer bought a Solar PV and battery system from us. The PV system has been working perfectly for over 6 months & to-date is still working. Our warranty commences upon receipt of full payment – not yet received. We have offered support on receipt of final payment which is still unreasonably withheld. Pre-sales, the customer was made aware that there was a “year’s” back log of the supply of Tesla batteries and despite our client’s main contractor failing to install cabling as agreed, we managed to install his batteries within the year. The Tesla battery system was commissioned on 23rd October despite TE being owed £5,709.67 at that point. After commissioning the battery system, an additional £5,451.34 was unreasonably withheld. His initial reason for withholding £11,161.01 was that we had not “boxed in” all the electrics (including the existing electrics). Our previous discussions and contract with the customer never included boxing in the old or new electrics. On 1st Nov the customer paid £5,709.67 and then £5000 was made on 11th Nov (when his battery appeared to stop working). £451.34 was withheld – he was going to get quotes to box in all the electrics. Now the reason for withholding £451.34 is to cover “remedial work”. For the first time in over 10 years of trading we reluctantly have had to submit a Money claim online for the outstanding amount. The situation is unfortunately ongoing.
Dissapointing warranty response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Some 4 years after installation fault developed, reported to techforenegy, 10 weeks later I am getting no responses to mails. When warranty of parts and system was sold on 10, 15 and 20 years, very disappointed with response.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 16/10/2019 , work completed 15/09/2015
The trader replied (on 21/11/2019)
Dear Customer We are very sorry to hear your system has a fault. We have scoured our email accounts over the last few weeks and cannot find a report of a fault, but we do get daily avalanches of emails, so it may have been missed. Please call the office on 0800 888 6544 to report your fault so we can assist you and remedy the situation, as your details on the review are not visible to us, so we have no idea who to contact. Yours sincerely, Techfor Energy.
Very professional organisation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything was professionally and efficiently executed from the first telephone call. We are very pleased with the result.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/09/2019 , work completed 16/08/2019
Thorough, helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. Job done with great proficiency.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Relocating and refitting 12 solar panels, setting up monitoring system, and replacing tiles. Tidiness: 10 Reliability: 10 Average: 10 Courtesy: 10 Workmanship: 10 Tech for Energy did a sterling job refitting the panels as I no longer have the problem with rainwater leaking into the sun room below. Relocating some of the panels has also boosted performance which, happily, I am now able to monitor with the new system installed. The work was carried out thoroughly and professionally with great attention to detail, and was completed as scheduled. I was kept informed of progress throughout. I would highly recommend Tech for Energy.
Mrs Charlotte Heard, Carshalton Posted on 10/08/2019 , work completed 28/04/2019
Recommended Solar Panel Installer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Of the many quotes we obtained when thinking about installing solar panels Techfor Energy's stood out for its clarity and aura of reliability. Glenn Ashby, who carried out the survey of our bungalow, was extremely helpful in explaining the various technicalities to us and made our eventual choice of installer an easy one to make. The work was carried exactly to the price quoted, to a very high standard and by engineers who were a pleasure to have working for us. I would recommend this company unreservedly to anyone thinking of having solar panels installed.
Customer in Kent Posted on 09/08/2019 , work completed 10/07/2019
Installing solar panels on roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Techfor Energy to give us a quote for solar panels on the roof of our bungalow. Glenn provided a comprehensive survey and quote with no obligation. We decided to go ahead. Glenn answered all our questions. The fitters turned up promptly on the agreed date. They did a first class job with no hassle for us. The job was done to the agreed quote. We were impressed with the quality of the people we dealt with and the helpful staff at their office. The only downside was the initial failure of the scaffolders to turn up when scheduled. In all other respect we were very satisfied. The panels are functioning well, as is the monitoring system. I would be very happy to recommend this trader.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 24/07/2019 , work completed 26/06/2019