We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

The Sussex Bookcase Company

Profile thumb img 4477

4.9

57 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Are you looking for robust handmade storage furniture?

If you are fed up with flat packs that wobble or furniture that doesn’t quite fit your home, The Sussex Bookcase Company is here to help.

We offer a choice of finishes including solid wood, solid wood veneers and painted. You can choose to commission modern designs or reproduction classics. Fitted or freestanding, whatever sort of storage furniture you select, you can be confident that it will last.

Make the investment in storage for your home and you will feel the benefits every time you use it. Our bookcases and cupboards can be designed to fit small and awkward spaces. We can also design feature furniture and create family heirlooms.

To see further examples of our work and more information about The Sussex Bookcase Company please go to our website before getting in touch to discuss the furniture you would like made for your home.

What we do

  • Cabinet makers

  • Carpenters

  • More Services

    • fitted furniture
    • wardrobes
    • freestanding storage
    • etc

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
57 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Requested four Bespoke cabinets to fit into existing spaces. Immaculately finished and installed. Kept me updated throughout the design phase. Couldn't be happier with result.
Jacqueline, East Sussex Posted on 10/11/2018 , work completed 10/11/2018
The trader replied (on 27/05/2019)
Thanks Jackie and between us I loved the design we both came up with. Nick
Extremely professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was extremely professional from first contact to completed project. His work was meticulously executed and I am so pleased with the finished result. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.
Clare, Kent Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
The trader replied (on 20/10/2018)
Many thanks Clare, I have thoroughly enjoyed making and fitting your pieces of furniture. I would also say that anyone wanting superb soft furnishings should have a word with Clare at Langdon Interiors of Cranbrook.
Prompt, efficient, good workmanship, very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick made and installed a hanging bookcase which he brought already painted. He also solved a tricky situation by making our store cupboard (part of an in-built kitchen unit) mouse-proof adding another layer of wooden structure inside and he consented to tighten and secure Ikea chairs where the fitting had got loose as well as carry out other minor jobs which were important to us but really beneath his level of expertise. We were very grateful for his first-class service and will definitely use him again when the need arises.
Cornelie Usborne Posted on 16/08/2018 , work completed 16/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/09/2018)
Thanks so much for the review and not a problem helping out on the other bits and pieces! Nick
Quick response, prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Holt arrived the day after my email to him, completed the work the following day. He was professional and polite and did an excellent job.
Geoffrey, East Sussex Posted on 04/08/2018 , work completed 04/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/09/2018)
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, my pleasure. Nick
Bespoke TV corner cabinet & glazed display unit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a corner TV unit with additional drawer units either side, at the same height - something that was impossible to find in the high street. Nick understood our needs and offered us a large range of different woods, mouldings, wax finishes & knobs to choose from. We received a proper quote with drawings and at a very fair price. His attention to detail and craftmanship has resulted in a carefully made, high quality piece of furniture that looks perfect in the space it was designed for. You can see it has been made by someone who takes pride in their work.
MCarley Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
The trader replied (on 28/06/2018)
Thank you for your kind review, it was a real pleasure making your furniture. Nick
Professional, friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Sussex Bookcase Company designed and made a cubby hole unit to fit along one wall under a sloping ceiling in our bedroom. We had a wide range of finishes to choose from. As well as the unit Nick made fitted wardrobes, again which fit into an unusual space. The unit was made to match the wardrobes. Both pieces were made and fitted quickly and efficiently and within our budget. Nick was professional and friendly. He kept a tidy work area and made sure everything was clean once he had finished. Nothing was too much trouble. The Sussex Bookcase Company is highly recommended, we are extremely pleased with our new pieces of furniture.
Jacob.B.A Posted on 26/04/2018 , work completed 26/04/2018
The trader replied (on 18/07/2018)
Thanks so much for your generous review, I enjoyed the challenge. Nick
Prompt, professional, tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted bookshelf, completed to schedule and to agreed price. Nick was very helpful, efficient and tidy. Work was completed to an excellent standard, very pleased. We have asked Nick to complete further tasks for us. Very happy and pleased to have found him.
Toby, East Sussex Posted on 26/04/2018 , work completed 26/04/2018
Really brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely satisfied with a perfect job, I will certainly recommend this trader to all my friends and family.
Avril, East Sussex Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
Fantastic Job Very Meticulously Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick is a very helpful & tidy worker - he redesigned existing book shelves with great precision. A pleasure to have work in the house.
Susan, East Sussex Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Great professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, courteous and experienced cabinet maker. Clean tidy and accurate workmanship. High level of attention to detail and customer service.
Robert, East Sussex Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018