We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

The Volvo Workshop

Profile thumb 6266259

5.0

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Dave Hewitt and Andrew Elliott established The Volvo Workshop by utilising their 64 years of combined Volvo experiences in Chesterfield.

We carry out every task meticulously. We have been members of the Guild of Master Craftsmen for the past 20 years and our company is a member of the Derbyshire Trusted Trader scheme, which is run in conjunction with Derbyshire Trading Standards.

Dealers may come and go but The Volvo Workshop continues to trade very successfully through the economic squeeze. So if you own a Volvo and you're looking for the best workmanship at an affordable price, why not take your car to The Volvo Workshop?

Although we specialise in the repairs and servicing of Volvos, we are happy to undertake work on any make of car.

What we do

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • Battery servicing
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • MOT testing stations
  • Garage related services

  • More Services

    • diagnostics
    • exhausts
    • cambelt
    • abs
    • dpf
    • volvo

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
First Time I have used them. And won't be the last.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having recently moved to the chesterfield area i sought out a Volvo Indie to look after my XC90. I came across the Volvo Workshop on a Volvo Forum on Facebook. I called in On Monday Afternoon to ask about a Cambelt change. I was quoted a fair price and offered a booking 2 days later!!! I dropped her off and they called me when she was done. They advised on one item and quoted me and I booked her in straight away. So far so Good and I do not think I need to go anywhere else despite their being alternatives. Price wise not the cheapest but not the most expensive either. Thanks again from a new satisfied customer.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 12/04/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I took my Volvo V40 to be serviced here, where I have been going for several years. They are very pleasant and trustworthy and always contact you first if any extra work is to be done. I would highly recommend them to anyone as they are very friendly and give excellent service at a fair price.
Terence, Derbyshire Posted on 13/11/2019 , work completed 13/11/2019
Excellent and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used the Volvo Workshop a number of times for repairs and servicing on my Volvo. They have always been courteous, friendly and efficient. They always explain any issues clearly and carry out work to my satisfaction. My recent visit was for an annual service where any issues were explained and noted on the invoice as a reminder for my future attention. The urgency or severity of any issues are also explained clearly. Will continue to use and would have no hesitation in recommending them to friends and relatives.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 09/07/2019 , work completed 06/07/2019
Experts and experienced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not just for Volvo, I have had a Mondeo and now a Honda CRV (Dave is a bit of a Honda groupie) in the garage for regular servicing and other problems and have never been dissatisfied by the standard of work or the technical expertise of advice. Forget the Main Dealer system and go somewhere where you can talk to the person who will do the work on your car and discuss the options available in words which can be understood. The mechanics at The Workshop provide a service which is completed in the time specified, with spare parts (if needed) available at super quick speed and provide great value for money. I have no hesitation to recommend this Workshop
MalcJef Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
Reliable & trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yearly service & M.O.T test. Have used the Volvo workshop since we discovered it 10 years ago. Work always done to our satisfaction by the very professional owners who have always been helpful. Customer service rate of 4 because of lack of courtesy car, which is understandable for a 2 person business.
Gill, Derbyshire Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
Always a good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this workshop for 20 years for all work on my Volvo car. Satisfaction and service is always at a very high standard.
John, Derbyshire Posted on 13/07/2018 , work completed 13/07/2018
Very competent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company is a two-man band. Both are on top of the job for technical skill, honesty, and getting the job done on time. Highly recommended.
John, Derbyshire Posted on 05/07/2018 , work completed 05/07/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, well priced, knowledgeable and good service. I have used to service my V70 - very happy with their work, the pricing and that they are able and wiling to talk through the work done or needed in future. (I would also be happy to send the less car-savvy and women in my family to this workshop, confident they wouldn't be ripped off and stand a reasonable chance of having sensible honest conversation about their vehicle with someone who knows about it. Unusual.)
Steve J Posted on 02/06/2018 , work completed 02/06/2018
Great car service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this trader over several years for servicing my car. Never had any complaints. Honest opinion given for anything needed doing and could see any parts replaced
James C, Leicestershire Posted on 21/05/2018 , work completed 21/05/2018
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very knowledgeable staff. Would not hesitate to use again.
Malc, Derbyshire Posted on 16/04/2018 , work completed 16/04/2018
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very knowledgeable staff. Would not hesitate to use again.
Malc, Derbyshire Posted on 16/04/2018 , work completed 16/04/2018
These guys are brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They really know Volvos and can diagnose and sort out a fault straight away. Very important to someone reliant on the car to get about at all time. Good value too!
Fiona, Derbyshire Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
Top quality service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked in with the workshop for a service, and knew from the start I was at the right place. The staff, all of whom were friendly and very knowledgeable. I'm so pleased to have found the garage, I will be back for every Volvo related needs from now on.
Christine, South Yorkshire Posted on 04/11/2017 , work completed 04/11/2017
Outstanding trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service all round, from booking to picking up. Kept me informed all the way. Great team, highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/10/2017 , work completed 31/10/2017
Definitely recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been a customer of The Volvo Workshop for over thirteen years. I am always confident to leave my cars in their hands knowing that all work will be completed competently and at a reasonable price. I definitely recommend them to other Volvo owners.
Paul, Derbyshire Posted on 12/09/2017 , work completed 12/09/2017
Excellent job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended Volvo specialist. Friendly, professional, prompt service.
Michael, Derbyshire Posted on 04/09/2017 , work completed 04/09/2017
Efficient, honest and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this workshop for servicing and planned repairs for 10 years. 2 very nice men who have always given me total satisfaction of their work.
John, Derbyshire Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend anyone to this workshop. Dave has kept me on the road free of trouble for years. I'm 87.
Jean, Derbyshire Posted on 04/08/2017 , work completed 04/08/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite, job done as requested 2nd time used this dealer. Would recommend him to anyone. Car interior was clean as when taken in. (Unlike some service dealers). Will use him again next year for the cars 3rd service.
Graham, Derbyshire Posted on 20/07/2017 , work completed 20/07/2017
My usual efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave and Andy are great. Nothing is too much trouble. They are fair and understanding and know Volvos inside out.
Paul, Derbyshire Posted on 20/04/2017 , work completed 20/04/2017
Amazing service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The garage kindly booked my car in despite the fact they were busy as being without it was causing great inconvenience. They kept me posted on the work & it was sorted within the day. We will be taking our car to them from now on for servicing etc.
Paul, Derbyshire Posted on 28/03/2017 , work completed 28/03/2017
Outstanding workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work undertaken only by the two master craftsmen. My family have utilised the services of the "Volvo specialist workshop" for over 10 years and used their services for both Volvo & other cars. Totally reliable and meriting the 10 mile drive to the garage. I am satisfied that no other garage could better the extensive work I have had done over the years. I am confident that I am in the hands of highly expert mechanics.
Michael, Derbyshire Posted on 23/03/2017 , work completed 23/03/2017
Brilliant job, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very impressed with every aspect of their work and would have no hesitation in recommending the fast and friendly service they provide.
Henry James, Derbyshire Posted on 06/02/2017 , work completed 06/02/2017
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Volvo Workshop is a real find! I firstly rang to introduce myself as a potential customer and felt welcome straight away. They quoted for my job which was significantly better value than main dealer. The work was done on time/price quoted to suit me. Dave & Steve run an awesome business and credit to them. Many thanks! Will be back.
Graham, Derbyshire Posted on 23/11/2016 , work completed 23/11/2016
Professional personal service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave dealt with my car problems in a very professional, thorough way. I was most impressed with the way I was treated. Excellent all round and will be entrusting my car to this business in future.
David, South Yorkshire Posted on 07/09/2016 , work completed 07/09/2016
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had my car serviced by The Volvo Workshop on a regular basis for several years. I have found them to be very efficient and friendly and would certainly recommend them.
James, Derbyshire Posted on 22/08/2016 , work completed 22/08/2016
Very very impressed and very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called in, out of the blue, trouble with my car. I was attended to right away, wonderful service. I would thoroughly recommend this service centre to anyone. Many thanks for your help guys.
Michael, Hampshire Posted on 05/07/2016 , work completed 05/07/2016
Annual service and MOT
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this firm since 2009 and whenever my 1993 Volvo 940 Turbo has been serviced, it runs like new. What they don't know about Volvo's is not worth knowing.
David, Derbyshire Posted on 16/02/2016 , work completed 16/02/2016
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have dealt with The Volvo Workshop for 10 years and would not entertain looking elsewhere for my car servicing and maintenance. Honesty and first class work at a satisfactory price. Cannot praise them enough.
Derek, Derbyshire Posted on 16/11/2015 , work completed 16/11/2015
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A thorough and professional approach at each stage of the process. A company that values honesty and integrity in it to using relationships. I was very satisfied with the completed work. Would not hesitate to use the company again/recommend them to others
Paul, Nottinghamshire Posted on 05/11/2015 , work completed 05/11/2015
Great customer service again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys at Volvo Workshop are always happy to help and keep you informed on how the job is going, price etc. I always feel I've paid a fair price for a good job, never feel overcharged.
Robert, Derbyshire Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending The Volvo Workshop. They were very efficient and all work carried out was explained and discussed fully.
Thomas, Derbyshire Posted on 28/07/2015 , work completed 28/07/2015
Quality Vehicle repairs at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have brought my Volvo S70 and S40 for annual service and MOT for many years now and have received excellent service from Dave and Andrew. My cars have never let me down because the service has been thorough and you can trust that all the necessary jobs have been completed to an excellent standard and a fair price (much cheaper than main dealers). I have now replaced my S70 for a Mercedes S Class and have received the same excellent service at a fraction of main dealer prices. I would strongly recommend this workshop as they can repair most if not all prestige cars.
gingejoe Posted on 07/07/2015 , work completed 07/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I started using Volvo Workshop after having poor service from three Volvo and Toyota main dealers and other local garages. I have used them for around 10 years with four different cars: newish and older vehicles and only one of which was a Volvo. Both Andrew and David are courteous, will give you an honest view on repairs needed, always return the car on time and in good order, and bill at a very reasonable rate. What more could you want? It is very unusual to find a vehicle repair workshop that you can trust; I wouldn't consider going elsewhere.
chriswick29 Posted on 10/06/2015 , work completed 10/06/2015
Professional and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am happy to recommend The Volvo workshop. I took my car here for an MOT & Service about a year ago, the service was good value for money, and the staff were professional and courteous.
dhutton1970 Posted on 22/07/2014 , work completed 22/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been a Volvo owner for more than 35 years, now having three Volvos on the road an S70, a V40, and a 17 year old 850, all bought new from Volvo Main dealers, and all of them serviced by the main dealers until October 2008. The Workshop, which I understand has been in business for about 15 years, is a two man outfit operating from premises on a trading estate, quite close to the former Volvo dealership, and they have now done two annual services for me on the Volvo 850 and one each on the other two vehicles. I have been immensely impressed with the quality of personal service that they have provided on all four occasions which, if in a different setting, I would rate as highly as the service that I enjoyed for so many years from Speeds. They have been very effective in dealiing with the minor niggles that come with age in a 17 year oid car, and all three vehicles continue to run faultlessly. I would recommend them without hesitation or reservation, and I have always found their charges to be reasonable, far below those of a Volvo Main dealer.
GCWB Posted on 27/02/2010 , work completed 27/02/2010