We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Wassells Arboricultural Services Limited

Profile thumb logo
4.9

25 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Islington Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Islington Trading Standards to create an Islington Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check.

About

Wassells is a family business with over 40 years experience working in the Arboriculture Sector

We currently operate two full time teams carrying out tree surgery in London and have one full time consultant carrying out Professional Arboricultural and Landscape Management surveys and reports.

We are able to provide an expert service in all aspects of tree surgery and management through a friendly and experienced team of professional consultants, trained craftsman climbers and ground staff.

Based in Islington, North London we cover the Greater London Region and more specifically the Central and North London areas.

We also provide tree surveys, consulting, or reporting work to clients outside the Greater London Region. Contact us for more information.

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree removal
    • Tree thinning
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree planting
  • More Services

    • tree surveys
    • pruning
    • winter pests
    • replanting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
25 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells team are really nice and get on with the job with zero hassle. Andrew is really helpful in terms of advising on how best to look after your trees, and his team were quick, efficient and very cheerful and helpful. Much appreciated.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/10/2021 , work completed 06/10/2021
Pruning of a big ash tree and ivy tree.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Both works done very nicely just like previous work carried out 3 years ago. Checking of preference about how much pruning needed etc. Left the garden clean and tidy very happy with their service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/10/2021 , work completed 05/10/2021
Excellent Service and Completed Work Satisfactorily
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells provided a very professional service from their initial visit to discuss requirements and provide an estimate for works, to obtaining permissions required from local authority and arranging a mutually convenient time to carry out all works to our satisfaction and for a reasonable price. Thank you to all the team and we will surely use Wassells again in the near future. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/09/2021 , work completed 14/09/2021
Tree pruning
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells provided a really excellent service-they were quick to come round and provide a quote for two large trees that needed some major pruning, booked a time within a week and the two guys who came on the day were super helpful, very professional, had clear instructions from the quote about trying to maintain as much privacy when cutting back, discussed our requirements, showed good knowledge of the trees and the fact that the magnolia might be sensitive to extreme pruning, started work on time and communicated all the way through to make sure that they didn't take too much off and tidied up inside and outside at the end. A really good experience and good value.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/08/2021 , work completed 05/08/2021
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really impressed with this company. They arrived on the due date and on time, they completed the work in the time they gave, but more importantly, they tidied everything up, very professional would highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/08/2021 , work completed 04/08/2021
Professional and understanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells always respond to calls and emails with caring professional advice, only removing trees when completely necessary. The guys that carried out the pruning were careful not to trample all over our flower beds and checked with us as they worked that it was what we wanted. 10/10
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/08/2021 , work completed 20/07/2021
Very Professional Service for Tree Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard from Wassells provided an exceptionally helpful and professional service to remove a large number of trees from the back gardens of two of our clients properties. They had Tree Protection Orders (TPO's) against them but the roots were potentially causing damage to a neighbouring property and so Richard was able to help by making a planning application to the council on our clients behalf that was necessary to have them removed and then followed through with chopping them down two months later. We are very grateful for your help Richard and will certainly recommend you to other clients in future. Best wishes.
Joe in Greater London Posted on 02/08/2021 , work completed 21/07/2021
Careful, Knowledgeable and Skillful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells took on all the admin associated with a TPO and trimmed and crown-lifted a vast bay. They were efficient, helpful, tidy, and careful. My garden was left completely intact despite the branches raining down. I would recommend without hesitation.
Clare in Greater London Posted on 20/07/2021 , work completed 12/07/2021
Excellent tree surgeons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells were recommended by relatives and estimated for the work two or three months ago. They had to apply to Camden for permission to thin and reduce a very large ash tree in our small back garden. We have no side access so all the wood needed to be carried through the house. The team who completed the work were efficient careful and considerate. The tree looks so much better and there was no damage to our garden. They tidied up well. I would highly recommend them. Not the cheapest but very professional and they know how to prune trees.
Susan in Greater London Posted on 12/07/2021 , work completed 24/06/2021
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, efficient and outstanding job. Really knew what they were doing! Polite and helpful team of workers. So pleased with the results. Thank you Andrew and Team.
Esther in Greater London Posted on 17/06/2021 , work completed 09/06/2021
Arboricultural advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient and prompt as usual. We needed advice on how minor works in the gardens would affect tree roots.
Peter in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/06/2021 , work completed 26/05/2021
Tree work/maintenance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As always, reliable, knowledgeable, and competent. A delight to work with Wassells. Highly recommend them.
Jane in Greater London Posted on 07/05/2021 , work completed 27/04/2021
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two young men came to trim the large elderberry tree, remove a dead conifer and remove another elderberry tree. They came on time, spreadsheets in the house, so they wouldn't get the carpet dirty, did the job in about 2 hours, cleaned up all the branches and leaves, and were cheerful in the process. That's the way to do it. The big tree was properly shaped and looks really good now. I'm very happy with this service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
The trader replied (on 26/04/2021)
Dear Customer Many thanks for your review we are very pleased that you were happy with our work process, quality of the work and outcome. Regards Wassells Arb.
Nice guys, quick booking on a cancellation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removed a stump in a front garden and moved some slabs to get to roots. Very quick to respond to emails. So quick that they in fact turned up before I’d 100% confirmed the time (they fitted my job in after a cancellation). Helpful guys doing the job. Clear and worked hard. Would recommend!
Max in Greater London Posted on 12/04/2021 , work completed 06/04/2021
Cutting trees in the back garden - only access through the flat
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend Wassel's - they were quick to do the assessment, and appreciated the completely overgrown garden. The work was quite a challenge as all the wood has to come up the stairs from the garden and out through the flat. They were prompt, professional and pleasant, cut the trees cut back and removed all the waste without causing any damage. I will definitely use them next time I need any tree work.
Mary in Greater London Posted on 31/03/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Experienced team - great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Wassells for many years and am always pleased with their work. They are very knowledgeable and carry out the work efficiently and with care. They adhere to their estimates and will follow up if there are any issues. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/02/2021 , work completed 14/01/2021
Tree felling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys turned up just after 8 and removed two trees and left the garden and drive totally clean of debris. Fast and efficient with a no nonsense attitude.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/02/2021 , work completed 05/01/2021
Wassells’ team removed a large spikey palm tree from the back garden in cold rainy weather. They assessed the work carefully beforehand,
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassell’s removed large spikey palm tree from back garden in cold rainy conditions. They assessed the work involved at outset, laid waterproof sheeting through stairways to front door and carefully removed the tree branches and trunk in sections. They worked well as a team, kept us informed about progress throughout. They swept up at the end. The estimate given was the price we paid for the job- can’t rate them highly enough, courteous fair and very reliable .
Jennet in Islington Posted on 20/12/2020 , work completed 03/12/2020
Reliable and a delight to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wessells made all the applications to Westminster City Council on our behalf. The work was carried out safely and efficiently. Highly recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 16/12/2020
We would use Wassells again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team were very professional and polite, consulted with me on exactly how much we wanted the trees reduced by, seemed very knowledgeable and cleaned up the area before they left. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 09/12/2020
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual. The tree work was carried out exactly as I had requested, speedily and efficiently. The team tidied up and removed all traces of their cutting.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 01/12/2020
Hard pruning of 4 Apple trees
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A team of 3 men arrived promptly on site at our school allotment plot at Highgate Allotments. The work was to carry out hard pruning of 4 very old Apple trees. One person did the climbing and cutting, and lowered the branches to his team mates below, who carried them carefully down the path, taking special care not to knock into the greenhouse along the way, and then down to the chipping machine which munched happily through all that was fed into it. There was a lot of wood! They did this on each of the trees and were tidy and efficient in their work manner, cleaning up as they went along and also at the end. We asked if the wood chips could be taken to the school playground on the adjacent street to be used as a mulch. The team were happy to oblige and were careful and considerate of staff and children that were in the playground at the time. They waited patiently until it was safe to manoeuvre the vehicle. I have no hesitation in recommending Wassells for tree work. I have also used their services for tree work in domestic gardens in the past. They take pride in their work and the pricing is fair and competitive.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/10/2020 , work completed 12/10/2020
The trader replied (on 17/12/2020)
Many thanks for your review of our recent tree work. As a small local company we strive to provide a complete professional service to private individuals and organisations. Best wishes
Professional team great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells pollarded a huge Ash tree for us in our back garden. All if it had to come through the house and it was the first wet day we had had in months. They kept the place clean and did a great job. highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 19/08/2020
Tree pruning
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again, Wassells' friendly and efficient operatives carried out pruning of some very tall trees within a restricted space in our rear garden on time, on budget and in a very professional manner - despite heavy rain and high winds.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 01/10/2020
What a transformation!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wassells did an excellent job removing a large (40' plus) cypress tree from our back garden. What was a dark area where nothing grew has now been transformed and we can see the sky! 3 men turned up on the date and time when they said they would and set to work straightaway. One guy got up the tree to do the trimming and the others cleared up and fed the grinder parked out front. As the branches fell they were guided so they didn't drop onto the garden - or next door's garden! All the debris was hoovered up at the end. You wouldn't know they'd been it was so tidy. We opted to keep some of the sawn trunk - all around 1 metre diameter. These make a lovely decorative feature in our front and rear gardens. Wassells did a first rate job for a reasonable price and we have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/01/2019 , work completed 20/12/2018