We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

1st Call Southwest Locksmiths

Profile thumb photo on 21 09 2020 at 11.29
4.9

37 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

1st Call Southwest Locksmiths was established in 2007.

We are a small family business with a passion for great customer service and communication.

We are UPVC door and window repair specialist and offer a no obligation free quote on all our services.

We also offer a 24hr Locksmith service and am a NCFE level 3 accredited Engineer.

We are extremely proud to be an Accredited Trusted Trader under the Which program.

For a fast , friendly and competitive service please call 07999349049.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Doors

    • UPVC doors
  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing repairs
  • More Services

    • upvc window locks and hinges

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
37 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Front door mechanism not working - emergency callout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As we couldn't operate the door mechanism on a multipoint UPVC door on a bank holiday, we were concerned we would be stuck until the next day. Using the Which? Trusted Traders website, I read the previous reviews for a local locksmith and contacted Dean's home number and left details for him to call me, which he did within 10 minutes and agreed to rearrange his schedule to come out that day, within 2 hours and would message me in advance of arrival. Dean sent a text in advance as promised and arrived promptly. He immediately set to work assessing the issue and offering a choice of a repair or replacement part, which included a 2 year guarantee. The final bill was reasonable considering the emergency callout and all the work involved, which was done quickly and demonstrated on completion, followed by him cleaning up the door for handmarks from the grease used. Dean was friendly, helpful and professional throughout. A detailed invoice was provided explain work completed, to cover the payment methods and the parts guarantee. I felt confident that I had chosen the right business to do the job and was glad to get this important security issue sorted as quickly as it was. I invited Dean to quote for other work in the future because his business doesn't just do locks, as I have work to replace a blown glass window and fix a conservatory door seal as well.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 02/05/2022 , work completed 02/05/2022
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Dean after being badly let down by another Company. He was prepared to travel out of hours to resolve the problem with our broken front door lock, in a highly professional and cost effective manner. I wish I had used Dean in the first place. I cannot recommend this business highly enough.
(your username) Posted on 20/04/2022 , work completed 19/04/2022
The trader replied (on 20/04/2022)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.
Totally dependable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is exactly what you want from a locksmith ; totally dependable and reliable. This is a family business - if I were his father I would be so proud of him! I would also add that his final invoice was less than I expected!
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 12/04/2022 , work completed 05/04/2022
The trader replied (on 20/04/2022)
Thank you very much for your kind review
Saved the Day
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Insurance company let us down as we thought we were covered. They must have re written their policy and wouldn't come out to cover it. Found Dean local and he said he would be there in the hour which we was. Really helped us out and saved the day. Oiled and greased the locks up and gave advice so we won't be locked out again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/03/2022 , work completed 07/03/2022
Excellent locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean was able to replace our lock at short notice and provided an excellent service. He was friendly, arrived on time, quickly and efficiently completed the job and proved to be good value for money.
Customer in Devon Posted on 23/02/2022 , work completed 23/02/2022
Top Experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean was punctual, polite and got the job done, despite not being a conventional one. I would highly recommend him
Customer in Devon Posted on 16/02/2022 , work completed 16/02/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thanks very much. Taking the time to leave a review is much appreciated.
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally delighted and impressed with Dean's efficient service. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.
Customer in Devon Posted on 15/02/2022 , work completed 11/02/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you.
Friendly and quick service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean came and changed my lock around an hour after I called him. Very friendly and quick. He was recommended to me by a friend who was also pleased with the service.
Customer in Devon Posted on 14/02/2022 , work completed 14/02/2022
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very Good Trader. Very clean and polite throughout. Service was excellent. Fitting a new lock in door which he only needed around 10 mins to complete. Quick and Efficient.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/02/2022 , work completed 01/02/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Thank you very much.
Excellent, professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Dean out to change a lock for me. Very quick to respond and fitted a new lock within minutes. Adjusted another badly locking door for me. Excellent friendly service, at a very competitive rate, would definitely recommend.
Customer in Devon Posted on 20/01/2022 , work completed 20/01/2022
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much
Highly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient, really clean. Happy with work that was carried out. Very Helpful throughout.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/01/2022 , work completed 17/01/2022
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much
Fast, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean came and supplied and fitted my front door lock efficiently. He was friendly and gave me a tip for stopping my door sticking.
Sally in Devon Posted on 20/01/2022 , work completed 20/01/2022
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much
Poor Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We first contacted 1st Call Southwest Locksmiths in June 2021 with a problem back door lock. They came along and replaced the lock, but in replacing the lock, left us with an unacceptably stiff handle action. Cost of parts and labor was £75.00. We complained and they returned, saying that the gearbox had now failed. It seemed a big coincidence, but having gone this far with them, we decided to accept their advice, and have the gearbox replaced. Cost of parts and labor was £164.74. We complained again and this time were told that there was nothing wrong with the door and they would do no more and it has cost us £239.74 to swap one problem for another.
Customer in Devon Posted on 19/01/2022 , work completed 15/09/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
As a business we can always strive to improve, the problem was sorted as initially the door would not lock. The door does now lock and unfortunately you still find it a little stiff. Your wife and I did not. I made numerous visits to you property free of charge , fitted brand new handles , not cheap ones free of charge which you failed to mention. I went above and beyond to help and its obviously forgotten. Very unfair review in my opinion.
Excellent Response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sent a text to Dean this morning asking him to call me, he called me within an hour. He came this afternoon and changed the lock barrel on the door in question within about a quarter of an hour. Everything went smoothly and I would highly recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/01/2022 , work completed 07/01/2022
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you
Lock Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean was polite, efficient and knowledgeable, obtained parts quickly and refitted our door as required. Highly recommended.
Customer in Devon Posted on 06/12/2021 , work completed 06/12/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you .
Efficient, good quality workmanship at a good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean was prompt and efficient, working very tidily and provided a high-quality service. We have recommended him to the other properties on our estate who may require his services. Thanks.
Danny in Devon Posted on 20/11/2021 , work completed 10/11/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much.
Very impressed - highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean first popped by to assess our requirements and then arranged to get the new high security locks made. The installation visit was on the date agreed and the work was carried out very well with no fuss. Throughout the process, Dean was extremely polite, professional and a pleasure to do business with. On a couple of occasions, we changed our specifications yet there was no problem in accommodating the new requirements. We definitely recommend him (with six stars if that was possible).
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/11/2021 , work completed 18/09/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much.
Window repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean came and got right on with the job, he was very courteous, and very happy with the price, will have him out again if needed.
Mrs Hick in Plymouth Posted on 11/08/2021 , work completed 11/08/2021
The trader replied (on 26/10/2021)
Thank you very much. Dean
Everything Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything was excellent, service, manner and presentation, nothing was too much trouble. Dean is tall and good looking and helped me move some plant pots too, he was delightful and did a very good job.
Customer in Salcombe Posted on 29/07/2021 , work completed (undated)
The trader replied (on 26/10/2021)
Thank you very much. Dean
First class service and a very professional tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had just moved so we needed front and back door locks replaced. It is unusual nowadays to find a genuine tradesman who takes pride in the work he does. Dean does this and he is an absolute professional, knowledgeable and helpful. We can't recommend him highly enough. The price quoted was very reasonable. We are very satisfied customers. We were so pleased with his work we have asked him to come back and do some more work for us.
David in Plymouth Posted on 28/07/2021 , work completed 28/07/2021
The trader replied (on 26/10/2021)
Thank you very much. Dean
Would recommend strongly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended to use Dean for replacing a lock installed by a cowboy emergency “ locksmith". Dean was on time, very pleasant, a quick worker who handled the job extremely well. I was delighted with the outcome. Happy to recommend 1st Call Locksmiths.
Tony in Devon Posted on 18/06/2021 , work completed 17/06/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
1st Call Southwest Locksmiths - Two new locks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can certainly recommend 1st call's prompt, excellent and friendly service. The work was done to the agreed schedule and budget.
Margaret in Plymouth Posted on 11/06/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
First class wirk
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean arrived promptly and was able to fix the patio door which was refusing to open. He has a friendly open manner but above all he was professional and knowledgeable throughout. I am so pleased to have found him and would not hesitate in recommending him or using his services in the future. Thank you for an excellent service
Sandra in Devon Posted on 07/06/2021 , work completed 07/06/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
Good job, well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called 1st call Southwest Locksmiths in the morning as the front door lock was not working. I told him the problem and he gave me a price and I asked what was the call out charge and he said the price I have given you includes supply and fitting which I thought was very reasonable. He said he would be with us mid afternoon and would phone when he was on his way which he did. I would happily use him again and recommend him to friends and family.
Bryan in Plymouth Posted on 24/05/2021 , work completed 20/05/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you Bryan.
Lifesaver
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What an absolute lifesaver, great fast service - all in the same day. Very professional customer service provided. Friendly and polite, outstanding work carried out. Highly recommended
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/05/2021 , work completed 06/05/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
Lock repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, efficient, reasonable cost. I would recommend. *****************************************
Customer in Devon Posted on 23/04/2021 , work completed 20/04/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much.
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found him to be efficient, friendly and did the job very cleanly. Adhered to Covid rules.
John, Plymouth Posted on 05/02/2021 , work completed 03/02/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was carried out very satisfactorily and we were very pleased with the result. The man who carried out the work arrived on time and was very pleasant throughout the work. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anybody.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 21/01/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
Good work all as expected
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean did an excellent job on the various locks that needed attention including spending time to match the lock type with the style of the door.
Customer in Devon Posted on 25/11/2020 , work completed 18/11/2020
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you .
Door lock service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First rate service. Highly recommended.
Russel , Cornwall Posted on 22/10/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you Russel.
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did what he said he'd do. Supplied and fitted new UPVC French Patio locks. Understandable, reasonable and a lovely guy.
Annette, Saltash Posted on 22/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much.
replacement glass
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First time I have used Dean to replace glass and am more than satisfied with both his professional approach and standard of workmanship. Excellent service and would have no hesitation in recommending Dean to any other client.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 09/10/2020 , work completed 07/10/2020
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Much appreciated, thank you.
Endorsement Reference - Trustworthy Trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The exterior door would not open as the lock had jammed. it was dealt with very professionally , new parts supplied and fixed . Now all in good working order. Everything left clean and tidy , very pleased.
duffield , Endorsement Reference Posted on 14/09/2020 , work completed 02/09/2020
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got Dean recommend on to me and he is great I would recommend him on. very helpful tradesmen and gave me time to discuss my quires.
Posted on 10/09/2020 , work completed (undated)
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Dean a lot due to the work I am in and he is just great. Dean is very efficient. Always on time and on budget. I will and have recommend this company.
Posted on 02/09/2020 , work completed (undated)
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you very much.
Endorsement Reference - Patio door lock fix, and new window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean and tidy, reliable. I would trust him with any work. Even called to check everything was fine and said call anytime something goes wrong. On my list of hero traders.
Mrs Elston Posted on 01/09/2020 , work completed (undated)
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you Mrs Elston
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used dean a few times and he was very great at the work. He is very quick and efficient and has great customer service skills.
Posted on 20/08/2020 , work completed (undated)
The trader replied (on 21/01/2022)
Thank you.