We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

1st Independent Windows Limited

Profile thumb 8af5aa03 4dfd 459f 984d 0183aece61c9
5.0

47 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What does an Approved Service endorsement mean?

Which? Trusted Traders assesses the services provided by companies who have applied to our scheme. Only certain aspects of the company are endorsed. The "Approved Service" ribbon logo shows you exactly which services they have been endorsed for, Independent Network have been endorsed for their installer network services. For more information please contact us here at W?TT or ask Independent Network direct.

About

No one will do it better or cheaper! - We offer good sound advice on design and product choice together with our quality workmanship gathered from over 40 years experience in the industry supplying and installing Upvc and aluminium double glazed products, windows, doors and conservatories all over the South East incorporating Bromley, Beckenham, Chislehurst, Orpington, Bexley, Sidcup, Eltham, Greenwich and adjacent Home Counties.

Choose from all the latest 'A' rated products for energy efficiency which contributes to lower fuel costs an a wide range of colours available for an elegant look and excellent quality ensuring your highest demands are met. We can advise on the right type of product to suit any style of home you have.

So take advantage of our expertise and have a free no obligation quotation.

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • More Services

    • replacement windows
    • doors and conservatories.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
47 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Duplicate Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my windows and patio doors done by the Ist Independent team. Pretty impressed with the quality of work, timeliness , planning and efficiency of the team. Right from the point when we started exploring options to the time the team walked out of the door having done the job, I have always found this team extremely capable, knowledgeable, patient and willing to work with the client to ensure complete satisfaction. There was transparency all through the process with all details shared to ensure no ambiguity. Pleased with the end result and thank you guys. I would highly recommend 1st independent.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/08/2021 , work completed 08/07/2021
Great Job. Excellent and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my windows and patio doors done by the Ist Independent team. Pretty impressed with the quality of work, timeliness , planning and efficiency of the team. Right from the point when we started exploring options to the time the team walked out of the door having done the job, I have always found this team extremely capable, knowledgeable, patient and willing to work with the client to ensure complete satisfaction. There was transparency all through the process with all details shared to ensure no ambiguity. Pleased with the end result and thank you guys. I would highly recommend 1st independent.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/08/2021 , work completed 08/07/2021
Good work and quality product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time I have used 1st Independent. They have now replaced the front and rear windows with beautiful sash windows, quality brass fittings and locks. They also replaced a patio of patio doors which is no low threshold with clean lines and also brass handles and fittings. They came when they said they would and made a nice job of the fitting. Very pleased.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/08/2021 , work completed 30/07/2021
Window installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our windows and porch door replaced in June by 1st independent windows. Extremely happy with the work done. The windows and door are very good quality, the fitters came at the agreed time and did not stop until finished. Very clean and meticulous.. Would definitely recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/06/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
Window + door fitted excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Window + back door was fitted by Kane 18/6/21 he arrived 8.30. It was pouring with rain, I went off to work when I came home, job finished, no mess. I'm very happy with the result, and very happy with Kanes work he had to work in the rain, I recommend 1st Independent windows they are excellent 10 out of 10.
Janet in Greater London Posted on 21/06/2021 , work completed 05/05/2021
Trouble-free, excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had new double glazed casement windows installed at the front of the house and a new composite door. I was sold by the no-sell salesman! He provided comprehensive details of the products and the available options. The work was carried out on time with a minimum of distruption by conscientious and courteous fitters. We are delighted with the quality of the units and the workmanship of the fitting.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/01/2021 , work completed 15/01/2021
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had our front windows and front door replaced. A good quality and price. First class job, well fitted, very tidy. We are very happy with the product and the excellent fitting. Would thoroughly recommend this Company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/07/2020 , work completed 07/07/2020
Three bed semi-detached, whole house replacement of windows and doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This local company was highly recommended by friends and family. Very professional and friendly company to deal with, from no-nonsense, best-price quote, through Corona virus lockdown delay, to fitting. The price was very competitive and advice and suggestions helpful. The entire installation was completed in 5 days, including 2 bay windows and french doors. My main concern was potential damage to decor. I was amazed that there was no internal damage at all, including two tiled areas and restricted access beside a fitted wardrobe. I am so pleased with the high quality of the composite door, much better than I expected. There was minimal making good externally throughout and very professionally finished. Overall, I'm delighted with my home improvement investment and glad I chose 1st Independent.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/06/2020 , work completed 20/06/2012
Good job and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used 1st Independent Windows to replace two rear windows at my sons property. Salesman knowledgeable, clear about cost of options and no pressure. Good workmanship and overall very pleased with the job. Will use again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/02/2020 , work completed 26/02/2020
Recommended for windows & doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Independent Windows recently fitted bi-folds doors and 4 windows to my extension. Pricing was competitive, quality was excellent, and service was prompt and friendly. A pleasure to do business with - recommended.
Customer Posted on 06/11/2019 , work completed 30/10/2019
great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used 1st Independent before and have had no hesitation in recommending them to friends and family. Professional, friendly service, they turn up when they say they will and clean up after themselves. Extremely pleased with the work they have done. Great attention to detail. Colin
Customer in Kent Posted on 04/10/2019 , work completed 28/09/2019
Great Product, expertly fitted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly professional service Great design engineer who understood our wishes and did not play with pricing Expert surveyor All finished off by an excellent fit with a really impressive product Oh yes and the price was very competitive What's not to like!!??
Ian, Greater London Posted on 02/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
Professional Efficient Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used 1st Independent Windows to replace existing double glazing at front of house including bay windows. They attended to survey swiftly and issued competitive quote within a couple of days. They applied absolutely no sales pressure. The work was done within the proposed time frame and was completed in two days as expected. The work was carried out competently, with no significant mess. Am pleased with results. Have no hesitation in recommending.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/07/2019 , work completed 21/05/2019
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used 1st Independent several times now and have always been really happy with the results. Quotes are competitive without any hard sell. On this occasion they replaced our large kitchen window and the job was done in very quick time and without any damage at all to the tiles or bricks surrounding the window. Also really impressed at the steps the fitter took to prevent dust and mess.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/06/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019
Superb job once again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been associated with 1st Independent for many years as the director of a self-management company of a block of flats and having been so pleased with a part installation in my own flat a few months ago, I decided to have replacement windows in the remainder of my flat. As before, the pre-sales service, communication with the company, scheduling, price and installation were perfect. I'm delighted with the result and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending 1st Independent.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/05/2019 , work completed 29/05/2019
Excellent Window Fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service and fitting by 1st Independent Windows was excellent. We needed to have our old windows replaced for quite some time, but were worried about the mess and damage replacing them would cause. Having had them installed now by 1st Independent Windows we wished we had replaced them a long time ago, the disruption from fitting was minimal and the finish of the new windows is excellent. Our rooms are now warmer and so much quieter too, it is well worth doing.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/03/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
Excellent, excellent, excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just cannot speak highly enough of 1st Independent windows if I tried! Kevin gave a very competitive and prompt price to replace all windows and doors in the house with no pressure at all to make a decision. Ally the fitter said it would take 7 days to complete the work and was spot on. He was most trustworthy, efficient and polite at all times and I was amazed how clean and tidy it was at the end of each day as he even hoovered !! I have already recommended 1st Independent to friends and family and have had several complements from neighbours.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/02/2019 , work completed 15/01/2019
Excellent work highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work undertaken, to completely refit double glazed windows, was executed on time and to a high specification. Windows were fitted to the rear and front of my house over two floors. All old windows were removed by the suppliers and work was completed over a day, leaving the house extremely tidy. I would highly recommend Independent Windows to other users.
Kevin 27/01/2019 Posted on 27/01/2019 , work completed 12/09/2018
Fantastic work, excellent price and great customer service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with our new windows and front door. Tina who runs the office was most helpful and very speedy in responses. We had quite a bit of back and forth before we got started (my fault) and both Tina and Kevin were very helpful. There was no hard sell and Kevin and his son were able to measure up and provide a quotation within 20 minutes. The work itself has been carried out brilliantly and to a very high standard (I am a surveyor myself so believe I have a good eye for the quality of the work). The previous windows were quite badly installed and much of the building masonry had to be repaired to install the new windows, 1st Independent did this to an exceptional standard. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and have done so already to quite a few of my friends looking for new glazing for their homes.
Niall Ingham Posted on 27/11/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
Really, pleased with our new door and windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Independent were recommended to us by a family member and although we got a couple of local quotes as we live in Ashford we decided to go with 1st Independent. We are really glad we did. The installer was professional, courteous and conscientious. There was no damage done at all to our newly plastered walls. All work was cariiedf out in one day and all rubbish cleared up and taken away. The quality of the windows and the front door are really good. Everyone comments on how lovely our front door is. We would not hesitate to recommend to anyone else.
KimDuck Posted on 22/10/2018 , work completed 22/10/2018
Great service & very pleased with our windows!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Independent Windows were recommended to us by friends. From the first meeting Phil was really helpful - you can tell he knows his stuff! We’ve recently moved in to an Edwardian property and wanted to replace the old style pvc windows with sash pvc windows. Phil completely understood that we wanted the windows to be in keeping with how the house would have looked originally. The quote was really competitive and it was very easy to arrange a date for installation. The installation itself went very well! We are so pleased with the finished result! It you are thinking of using 1st Independent Windows - do it! You won’t regret it.
NicolaR Posted on 20/10/2018 , work completed 20/10/2018
Excellent workmanship, excellent product - quick, tidy work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had used 1st Independent Windows for our front room bay window, and only wanted them to replace the bedroom bay. The measuring was done quickly at the time planned, the windows were ordered and fitted within a realistic timeframe. The window fitter did a phenomenal job, removing the old window and replacing with the new within a few hours. Additionally, the whole area inside and out was left immaculate; he brought his own Hoover to ensure no fragments of wood etc were left. The fit is great - no more draughts or road noise! We are absolutely delighted with the care taken and the quality of the work & product.
B W Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
New Windows and Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have recently had new Bay windows and Front door. The arrangements were made and the fitter turned up up on the day He worked very efficiently and to a high standard. I would thoroughly recommend 1st Independent Ltd
Nealeh Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The last job 1st Independent has done for me is to fit windows and French doors in my new 3 bedroom house . The service they offered was great from the first call to the final installation. But Hey, I didn’t expect anything else, as they are one of the few companies that have stood the test of time. They fitted the first set of windows in my house 15 years ago, their service was great then and they have worked on installations for me over the years. Always good competitive pricing, fast service and clean and efficient installers – why go anywhere else!
SSMITH Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Professional, local, trusted firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Independent Windows fitted all new windows to our property, along with a new front door. We found them to be friendly, efficient and highly professional from start to finish.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/06/2018 , work completed 08/06/2018
Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 2 new, bay windows; a new window to the side of the house and a new front door. From start to finish Kevin and his team were professional, courteous, efficient and friendly. Thoroughly recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/05/2018 , work completed 23/05/2018
Excellent Service and Product and no hard selling !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had windows replaced in my 3 bedroom flat. I needed to the job done quickly as wanted to renovate and rent flat again ASAP. They obliged and were very quick to attend initial pricing within two hours of request being made ! They were competitive on price and very knowledgable about what I needed. Good samples and very happy with finished job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/05/2018 , work completed 10/05/2018
Definitely recommend this company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new bay window in our bathroom fitted, we also had some window panes replaced in the bedroom. We are very pleased with the service. Everyone is polite and helpful. The fitting is quick and professional, and the people that fit the windows always tidy up and leave things clean. This is the second time we have used this company, and would use them again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/02/2018 , work completed 28/02/2018
Excellent from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Independent were recommended to me by friends and by a neighbour whose windows I'd admired. Kevin was very helpful and thorough it making sure I ordered what I wanted. The admin beforehand was all very good. Michael was brilliant; prompt, polite, tidy and efficient. I can't believe the difference my new windows and doors have made to my house and I would recommend 1st Independent to family, friends, neighbours and passing strangers who admire them....
Christine, Chislehurst Posted on 13/02/2018 , work completed 13/02/2018
The trader replied (on 16/02/2018)
Many thanks Christine for taking the time to write a review about us. Just as you have mentioned that you were recommended by friends and a neighbour to us, we in turn rely on your recommendation of us to others, we can only guarantee future recommendations from our customers by doing a good job that is in every aspect well done.
Fantastic Workmanship again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used 1st Independent Windows at my last property and again at my current house and each time they exceeded my expectations every time. The latest project was a replacement conservatory and again their workmanship has blown me away. The guys are friendly, trustworthy and no obstacle even causes a problem. I was kept fully informed of time scales at each and every stage, and the work area was left as clean and tidy as ever. I would always recommend them to family, friends and neighbours.
Graham Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
The trader replied (on 08/02/2018)
Hi Graham We are delighted that your latest installation we have done for you has exceeded your expectations of us from the standard of our workmanship to being trustworthy and of course our main aim of our customers being happy with everything. We rely on our customer satisfaction recommendations for our future work, so we are very happy that you recommend us to family, friends and neighbours. Thank you very much for your kind review.
Very high quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent new door for our conservatory and a very neat job . Prompt efficient and very helpful. Gave free advice about other issues we have without any expectation of more work . Fully recommend and will use again
Ruth Carnall Posted on 06/09/2017 , work completed 06/09/2017
Excellent Professional Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Independent Windows provide an excellent product together with a professional and outstanding service. We had all our windows replaced recently and we were very impressed with the entire process from the expert & detailed survey to completion of the installation which was carried out with quality workmanship and the minimum of disruption and also completed within the specified time. I would recommend 1st Independent without hesitation.
Parker Posted on 21/08/2017 , work completed 21/08/2017
Very efficient installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A new front door and a new back door and both installed very efficiently yesterday. Very pleased with the quality of the doors and the installation itself which was done with minimum fuss and disturbance. Front door much admired by friends. Cannot recommend 1st Independent Windows more highly.
Willmer Posted on 18/08/2017 , work completed 18/08/2017
great windows and workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great family run business. If you want windows replaced ring this firm first. Kevin gave me a very competitive quote and said the windows would be ready in a month. Mike the fitter arrived at 8am and took just over 3 days to fit 8 windows including a large bay window. There was no fuss or mess. Excellent from start to finish and would definitely recommend them as they were recommended to me.
Andycharles Posted on 16/08/2017 , work completed 16/08/2017
The trader replied (on 17/08/2017)
Hi Andy, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, glad to know that your happy with our service and your new installation of windows.
Great service from a professional company
After watching several episodes of 'White Gold' I was very apprehensive with engaging a double glazing company for my needs. The professional service I received from the initial enquiry, to finally pulling into my driveway to admire the finished product is the best I have ever experienced. The cost was reasonable, with no 'hidden extras' The conduct and capability of the fitter was exceptional. After the 1st day, I simply handed over a set of house keys and carried on with my daily routine, with the inner confidence that my house was in good hands and my trust was well placed. The finished product is of the highest quality, which I am pleased to endorse to anyone. Bexleyheath Keith
Bexleyheath Keith Posted on 28/06/2017 (Reviewer did not use service)
Splendid new back door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient and courteous service. We had a new back door installed after we'd moved to a property that already had windows supplied by 1st Independent. The technician arrived well within the 8 week lead time we'd been quoted and he finished a very professional installation job in a couple of hours. Couldn't be happier.
Mike Pook Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
The best!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first consultation, and I've used this company 3 times, the service was first rate. Prices are extremely competitive and final result is perfect. I would recommend this company to all.
Lyn, Kent Posted on 23/05/2017 , work completed 23/05/2017
Just Excellent from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil turned up on time, looked at what we required and gave us a very competing quote, with no pressure to accept. Gave us details of neighbouring properties we could visit to check their work, which we did. Kevin turned up on time to complete the actual measurements and did it within the timescale he said he would. Mike, the fitter, was just unbelievable turning up each day at 08-00 and finishing at 17-00/17-30 to make sure our property was secure each day. Work was completed within the 4 days we were advised it would take. Mike also tidied up each day and cleared all rubbish on the last day. An extremely professional and hard working fitter. Katie in the office was also a delight to deal with. Overall we are delighted with our new windows and can't thank 1st Independent enough for a non-pressure sale, a very competitive price and very professional installation. Very happy to recommend them and glad that we supported a local business. Colin & Jane - Chislehurst
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/05/2017 , work completed 08/05/2017
Superb new windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time we have used 1st Independent windows. This time they fitted new windows and a front door including 2 large bay windows. The product is of a very high standard and the quality of workmanship is superb. We would recommend them to anyone. Thank you
Ian & Angie Posted on 17/04/2017 , work completed 17/04/2017
Oustanding workmanship and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were so pleased with the workmanship and customer service that we received from Ist Independent Windows Ltd. We have a period property and I was nervous about replacing the original crittal windows but the result is fabulous both from an aesthetic perspective and from an energy saving one. No two windows were the same size but the team talked us through the design phase so that we were assured that we would have the best outcome. I would thourougly recommend this company to anybody considering adding or replacing double glazing to their home
Christine Posted on 13/02/2017 , work completed 13/02/2017
An excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We replaced our old back door with a new one, and our second front door with a window. They did an outstanding job, very professional, clean and tidy. The products installed are fantastic and we are very pleased with the result. We strongly recommend them.
Fabio & Eleonora, Kent Posted on 11/02/2017 , work completed 11/02/2017
Brilliant, good honest workmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used 1st Independent for the odd window replacement. And been pleased. This time round I chose them to replace the whole front of my house, 2 bays & 3 double windows. It took 3 days with hardly any disruption. The young man Michael arrived 8am every day and worked solidly without any breaks! He did a fantastic job and very professional tidying all the mess. I am so pleased with the end result & I know the quality will match the final look. I would highly recommend.
Lorraine, London Posted on 07/12/2016 , work completed 07/12/2016
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good quality product. Good workmanship. Excellent workers.
Ernest, Kent Posted on 06/10/2016 , work completed 06/10/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent fitter, very thorough and conscientious.
Trish, Kent Posted on 05/09/2016 , work completed 05/09/2016
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I could not fault the professionalism and high quality of customer care and service. Friendly, honest and genuine sales. I now have the windows I dreamed of. Neil did a tremendous job fitting them and I have had copious comments on how wonderful the house looks. The window cleaner stated these windows are in a different league. Outstanding Job!!
Mrs Downes Posted on 23/06/2016 , work completed 23/06/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work carried out was faultless from start to finish
Michael, Kent Posted on 17/05/2016 , work completed 17/05/2016
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Built sliding doors in porch and previously fitted french windows at back of house. Happy to recommend Danny
Gwen, Chislehurst Posted on 02/12/2014 , work completed 02/12/2014
Flexible
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They installed new windows downstairs and we can have no complaints with the work. They were felxible and competetive in price.
Lynton, Sidcup Posted on 01/10/2008 , work completed 01/10/2008