We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

1st Stop Cars Ltd

Profile thumb kevin
5.0

71 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday 08:30–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Honesty is our Best Policy

1st Stop Cars is a family built business with qualified staff and MOT testers.

Our aim:

“To give you peace of mind”.

Our pledge:

To only fit the parts your vehicle requires.

To only give honest advice.

To only carry our repairs with customer consent.

One of the largest independent vehicle repair centres in the Southend and Rochford area.

1st Stop Cars Ltd was first opened in 1990 by family members Kevin White and Roger Goodwin. Set up to provide a first class vehicle repair service backed by honesty and integrity, aiming to keep its customers cars on the road without unnecessary costs while providing reliable information.

Based in West St Rochford providing MOT testing and fast fit services on most makes and models. Including servicing, clutch replacement, brake repairs, exhaust and tyre fitting.

With a team of technician’s that has a vast knowledge and experience in general and complex repairs.

Have a question?

01702 544284

What we do

  • Garage related services

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • Battery servicing
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • MOT testing stations
    • Specialist MOTs
    • Car body repairs
  • Motor vehicle mechanics

    • Car and commercial vehicle repairs
  • More Services

    • air conditioning car servicing winter checks

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
71 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Totally deserving of the WHICH award!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked my old banger of a car in for MOT and, unsurprisingly, it failed with three different major faults. I was kept informed and given honest advice throughout. I was given a "worst case", quotation for the work but reassured that I was under no obligation to go ahead and was given time to consider my options. I decided to go ahead and was given a courtesy car so that I could get about while the work was done - this was at no extra cost and was completely hassle free. As promised, the work was completed by the close of business the following day and the final price was cheaper than quoted as they had been able to tweak a couple of things rather than replace them. Absolutely great service and highly recommended.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea Posted on 23/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Absolutely brilliant service and with a smile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended 1st Stop by a friend and now understand why they have such a great reputation. I bought a BMW that needed quite a bit of work doing. 1st Stop were fantastic! Not only did they fit parts that they sourced but also those sourced by myself. At all points along the way, Kevin would advise on the options open to me before the decision was taken as to the best way forward. He was really helpful as well as his team of mechanics. I will definitely use 1st Stop again and recommend to anyone that asks me. The car now has a full MOT and is running well.
Customer in Essex Posted on 06/12/2018 , work completed 03/12/2018
Honest Garage, complete Gentleman owner.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This Garage quite simply does what all car owners dream about, only the work that needs to be done and at a reasonable price. If you ever go to an M.O.T Centre and feel like you are up in Court for something that you did not commit, then go to this garage, the Judge and the Jury are 100% on your side. Can't praise them enough. From the Qashqai and Transit owner Gary.... Cheers Kevin & Co
Gary B Posted on 18/09/2018 , work completed 18/09/2018
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked online for my car to have an MOT this morning and I am delighted with the service I received. I was called and informed about a slight problem with my car involving a spring and how much it would cost to repair. It was really reasonable; I’m very happy to have had the repair sorted out today. Brilliant service from a company I trust.
BooBoos Posted on 30/08/2018 , work completed 30/08/2018
To the rescue again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not for the first time in the year I have been here Kevin and his team came to the rescue. Just a small thing - discovered a big nail in the centre of a big tyre - but outside my ability to deal with, and at a time when I needed the car later today. Less than three hours from when I was waiting for them to reopen after the Bank Holiday, I had the SMS saying the car was ready. As always, it is when the going gets tough that the tough get going, or to put it another way: most businesses can deal with the day-to-day stuff. It's when the unexpected arises that you find out who you can rely on. Much appreciated, guys!
I A H Posted on 28/08/2018 , work completed 28/08/2018
Great service all round!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I do most of my own servicing and mechanical work, always have. I first used 1st Stop about 3 years ago for an MOT on my car and was impressed to the point of getting a cam belt changed. This was quoted for and carried out very efficiently and economically. When I realised that they did motorcycle MOTs also I gave up using motorcycle only MOT stations and have had my bikes done there too. I realise that the DVLA now have a reminder service but I will continue to use Kevin's email and text reminder service. Also appreciate being able to book online, at a moments notice at times! Works for me with my ever growing bike collection! I have no hesitation in recommending 1st Stop.
Serge P Posted on 15/05/2018 , work completed 15/05/2018
A refreshing change!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having become disillusioned with other local garages/dealerships charging over the odds, carrying out unauthorised work, and ALWAYS finding things that ‘needed’ to be done (when they clearly didn’t), I decided to look for an alternative independent garage when my BMW’s MOT and service became due. Came across 1st Stop Cars online, and was impressed with the reviews. Called in last week and was given a convenient appointment and a fair quote on the spot. Thankfully the car sailed through the MOT, although there was an issue with one of the locking wheel bolts which turned into ‘one of those jobs’! Kevin called to report and gave a range of options. Despite this problem taking a good deal of extra time to resolve, the work was completed very skilfully on the same day, and at no additional charge. In my experience it’s rare to go to a garage and pay only what was originally quoted, but that is exactly what happened today. Really impressed with the service received and the skill of the technicians who worked on the car. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and will certainly be returning. Many thanks to Kevin and all the team at 1st Stop.
A. Customer Posted on 15/03/2018 , work completed 15/03/2018
Always professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been a customer of 1st Stop Cars for more than 10 years and I wouldn't go anywhere else. I have my car serviced, MOT, tyres changed and everything else needed here because I feel they have always been honest about what work needs to be done, cost and time. I have found them efficient and professional every time, usually my car being ready in just a few hours. Fantastic service. Arthur. 20-12-2017
Arthur97 Posted on 20/12/2017 , work completed 20/12/2017
Friendly and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was very nervous about using a new garage after my trusted mechanic of 20 years moved away! Was delighted that my car passed the MOT first time and was so impressed with their friendly yet professional manner. I now have my car booked in with them for other work as I feel confident that I have found a trustworthy garage. Such a relief, thank you!
Anna17 Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Honest and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was in desperate need of an mot and found 1st stop cars online and in future won't be using anyone else!! Being a female in my 30's I'm always a little worried about being ripped off with garages but I was blown away by the honesty and professional morals of this garage. My car failed it's first MOT and I was quoted for repairs, I went ahead and booked my car in and was so pleased to be informed my original quote was lowered as I didn't need my rear brake pads changing as first thought. I would recommend this garage as they have proven they deserve their 5 stars if not more, well done 1st stop cars and thanks for getting me back on the road asap.
Scook87 Posted on 17/07/2017 , work completed 17/07/2017