We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Local Branch Tree Specialists

Profile thumb localbranch singlecolour
4.9

52 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 06:30–19:00
  • Monday 06:30–19:00
  • Tuesday 06:30–19:00
  • Wednesday 06:30–19:00
  • Thursday 06:30–19:00
  • Friday 06:30–19:00
  • Saturday 06:30–19:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Local Branch Tree Specialists is a small independent business based in Woking Surrey. Nick Kelly the proprietor and owner has a National Diploma in Arboriculture as well as a fully qualified and experienced team with a combined 20 years experience in the industry. Local Branch takes pride in the fact that any work undertaken is carried out professionally and to the clients 100% satisfaction.

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree planting
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree removal
    • Tree thinning
  • More Services

    • fencing
    • gates
    • ivy removal
    • deadwood removal
    • site clearance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
52 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
A really excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team did a fantastic job trimming a number of trees in our front and back gardens. Two of them very large and tricky to negotiate. Clean and tidy work by a friendly and very professional team. We are really pleased and will use Nick again. All done within time, as per we had agreed and all cleaned up brilliantly afterwards. Highly recommended. Many thanks ++++++
Customer in Surrey Posted on 07/10/2021 , work completed 24/09/2021
Great work, would use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Nick to chop down a diseased tree, grind out the stump and clear away some unwanted logs/shrubs from the garden. Nick was fantastic and managed to get the tree down and stump out without causing any damage to the neighbour's fence (the tree is right on the boundary). Very friendly, polite and tidy at a fair market price for his services. Would absolutely recommend and will use again for other similar work.
Sean in Surrey Posted on 25/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Great customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time I have used Local Branch (Nick Kelly) and I was very happy with the work carried out on a tree in my front garden. The quote was competitive and they fitted me in promptly. Staff employed are very courteous and pleasant and they did an excellent job, cleaning up after them. Will use again.
Rob in Surrey Posted on 25/05/2021 , work completed 04/05/2021
Great work reducing a protected tree
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Local Branch to carry out a reduction on a TPO-protected tree in my mothers front garden. Nick was fantastic; talking us through our options and dealing with the application to the council. He and his team were also fast, effective and professional in carrying out the work itself. The reduction has dramatically improved the shape of the tree, made the house lighter and will hopefully help slow down root damage.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really happy with the service I received from Nick and his team, arrived on time, very polite and helpful, did exactly what was asked in a very efficient and timely manner, and cleaned up afterwards. Reasonably priced and exactly as quoted. Highly recommended.
Sunil in Surrey Posted on 30/04/2021 , work completed 27/04/2021
Small tree pruning
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have had Local Branch come to trim back our small sweet gum tree. On both occasions we have been very pleased with their work, the shape of the pruned tree and the tidiness after they have cleared up. Would recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
Tree pruning
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Local Branch have done several jobs for us reliably and well. They always tidy up when finished and leave the garden neat. This job was the regular winter pruning of our Bramley apple tree.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 01/02/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
Fabulous tree surgeons!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic job, polite and friendly team. Great job of trimming our tree’s, Even cleared the branches that had fallen into our neighbours garden! Garden was spotless when they left. Great price too!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 09/01/2021 , work completed 04/12/2020
The trader replied (on 13/01/2021)
Fantastic to hear you were happy with the work! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! All the best from Nick and the team!
Expert, efficient and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team from Local Branch arrived on time and confirmed the work to be undertaken. Trees that needed re-shaping were cut back carefully and the team was considerate in thinning out excess growth. The garden was left in a tidy state and the work was done expertly and efficiently.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 04/01/2021 , work completed 03/12/2020
The trader replied (on 13/01/2021)
Thank you for your review! Wishing you all the best for a happy 2021!
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team have carried out the removal of trees, stumps, trimming trees and planting trees at our property twice in 2020. The price the quoted for each job was reasonable and realistic. So many tradesman over or under quote so it was refreshing to receive accurate quotes for both jobs. They arrived on time and carried out the work in a very prompt and professional manner leaving all areas clean and tidy and removing all debris. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 03/01/2021 , work completed 09/12/2020
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Your business is greatly appreciated! All the best for a happy 2021 from Nick and the team
Excellent service, highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work required was modest - pruning two trees. But we live in a tree conservation area, so it required advanced approval from the council. We were very impressed by the service from Local Branch Tree. They were scrupulous in abiding by the regulations and making sure we had the necessary permission, including offering to help with applying for it. They complied fully with the quotation they gave us - no attempts to suggest extra work was needed, the quotations themselves were also reasonable and the work was carried out quickly, professionally, with a minimum of disturbance and everything left neat and tidy afterwards. Would happily use them again.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 30/12/2020 , work completed 24/11/2020
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Fantastic! This is great news, so happy we could help! Looking forward to working with you again soon! All the best for a great 2021
Brilliant job done, expert service, very competitive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team quoted a competitive price which we accepted immediately. They understood what we wanted to achieve and they came to do the work soon after we accepted the quote. They did a superb job and worked quickly, neatly and expertly. We were very impressed with their experience, skills and professionalism. We will definitely employ the skills of this company again without hesitation if we need any other tree surgery work. We would highly recommend them to friends, family and everyone.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 29/12/2020 , work completed 16/11/2020
Excellent job - tree removal & shrub clearance.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Nick & the team at Local Branch. They came and quickly worked to remove a tree which has started to affect my driveway. Within the same service they did a total clear of all the shrubs and other plants leaving the verge clear to re plant in the spring. Excellent service and remained Covid safe in all dealings!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 28/12/2020 , work completed 23/11/2020
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are an independent business and these reviews mean alot! Best wishes for a great 2021!
Garden Tree Surgery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time. Very pleasant and friendly manner from all who came. Carried out a small extra job without complaint. Tidied up well after work completed. Have been using Local Branch happily now for a number of years.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 21/12/2020 , work completed 09/11/2020
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Thank you so much for these kind words! Wishing you a happy 2021! Best Wishes, Nick and the team!
Trustworthy. Precise. Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using LB for many years. One of few we trust. Excellent rounded foliage profiles. Tidy. Efficient. Pre and post job communication perfect (on site, booking, easy invoicing). Set up area and Health&Safety protocols excellent. Technical approach and teamwork good. Enthusiastic. Love their arboriculture and have a genuine interest in wood even in their spare time. Tree work is performed with enthusiasm and care. Will not over-hack. Proper tools/ladders, even quiet battery tools for one or two jobs (useful if neighbours working from home).
Customer in Surrey Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 13/11/2020
The trader replied (on 28/12/2020)
Thanks so much for this great review! It's great to hear from such a happy customer! We hope you had a great Christmas!
Removal of hedge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team did a great job. They removed a large hedge of leylandii and left the site tidy. They did the job on the day agreed
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 03/11/2020
The trader replied (on 28/12/2020)
Thanks so much! Glad to hear you were happy with the work! We look forward to working with you again soon!
Hedge removal and tree stump removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a hedge removed, an old tree stump removed (about 3ft tall) and general hedge trimming. Local Branch arrived on time and on the date agreed and the employees were friendly and helpful. The estimated price for the work seemed fair and that is what we paid. We did not get quotes as we have used Local Branch over a number of years as they were recommended to us by a neighbour. Since then we have recommended them to other neighbours as we have always found them to be very reliable and have used their services quite a few times now. We would still be happy to recommend them.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 20/11/2009
The trader replied (on 28/12/2020)
Thank you so much for this review! We hope you had a great Christmas!
Conifer Trimming
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trimming top and front faces of 30 m length of Leylandii and subsequent waste removal. Nick Kelly made an initial visit assessment on 15.10.20 with his quotation supplied a few days later. Nick agreed to fit me in between other larger projects. Received phone message from Nick on 30.10.20 asking if it was possible to come that afternoon to do the work, which two of his men did. The work was undertaken quickly and efficiently and all waste removed. Communication via phone, SMS and eMail throughout the process was very effective. I would use the Company on future occasions.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 14/11/2020 , work completed 07/10/2020
The trader replied (on 27/11/2020)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this amazing review!
Excellent tree surgeons.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second piece of work Nick and his team have carried out for us at home. Both pieces of work are pretty significant and required expertise to carry out effectively. Nick is obviously an expert in his field, works hard, arrives and finishes on time and you can have a laugh with him as well if you so wish.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 13/11/2020 , work completed 31/10/2020
The trader replied (on 27/11/2020)
This review has made our day! Thanks for sharing your review with us!
Removed a dead tree and raised the crown on another
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team did a great job. They still managed to fit in my job despite one of the team getting sick. Grinded out the stump of the rotten tree and lifted the crown on my large beech tree. Managed to do the job and clear away the debris without any damage to the surrounding overgrown shrubs! Would certainly use them again.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 08/11/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
The trader replied (on 18/11/2020)
Thank you for your review! We look forward to working with you again soon!
Tree removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team removed trees from our site. They kept to schedule and budget and were all courteous and professional. The site was cleared quickly and without disruption to everyday traffic. Great job!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 27/10/2020 , work completed 29/09/2020
The trader replied (on 11/11/2020)
Thank you! Great to hear you were happy with the work!
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team of 5 tree surgeons were with me for a full day. They were all extremely professional, and the communication was great from start to finish. The tree work was not for the faint hearted, but they handled it with ease and cheerfulness. They tidied up the garden beautifully before they left, and the work done was excellent. In particular they did a crown raise and cut back the branches of a very old tall overgrown chestnut tree by several metres. I was very happy with the work and would definitively use them again.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 27/10/2020 , work completed 13/10/2020
The trader replied (on 11/11/2020)
Thank you! We had a great time working with you!
Reduce eucalyptus tree to stump
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient administration with visit and quote within the week. Job then done within a fortnight. Quick, efficient, clean and sensibly priced. I was very pleased.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 27/11/2019 , work completed 30/10/2019
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with service, on time and on budget. Good advice and 2 trees felled and wasted taken - left everything very tidy. Recommend highly.
Paul Posted on 25/11/2019 , work completed 13/11/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team did a wonderful job felling a dead Silver Birch. They arrived on time, were very efficient and left everything neat and tidy. We would not hesitate to recommend Local Branch to anybody who may be interested.
Simon Sarson, Surrey Posted on 20/08/2019 , work completed 19/08/2019
Removal of 18 conifer trees
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team worked tirelessly over 3 days on what was a substantial job to remove 18 rather large conifers and grind out the stumps. They arrived prompt each morning and were very courteous ensuring that everything was left tidy at the end of each day. I would have no hesitation in recommending Local Branch to others
Customer in Surrey Posted on 09/05/2019 , work completed 03/05/2019
Hedge trimming
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his team were brilliant. He came on the day we first called to provide a quote and then completed the work within two weeks to a very high standard and were very friendly and hard working. I will definitely be using them again in the future.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 18/04/2019
Great job at a great price!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cleared my very overgrown garden as requested and took away all the rubbish! Nick and his team were very polite and efficient and left the site spotless. The price was very good for the amount for the amount of work done! Thank you!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 28/02/2019
Tree Work - removal of ivy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Local Branch Tree Specialists did an excellent job of removing ivy from a 30 feet high tree that had been completely covered over a period of many years. The work was completed on the agreed day at the agreed price. The 3 people who undertook the project were polite, tidy and efficient throughout. We have a number of other trees in or around our property and would have no hesitation in using them again. I would certainly recommend this company to others requiring tree surgery of any type.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 01/03/2019 , work completed 27/02/2019
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and his guys were extremely friendly and professional. We had a very large oak and silver birch cut back. They took great care to make sure no branches fell where they shouldn’t and tidied up all the sawdust. Would definitely recommend and use again. Very happy with the work carried out.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 23/02/2019 , work completed 21/02/2019
Removal of Trees and Fence Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job all round - removed overgrown leylandii & Bay trees, ground down stumps and repaired a fence for me. Friendly, hard working staff - would definitely recommend
Customer in Surrey Posted on 17/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
Super work, nice chaps!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick and team felled 2 large sweet chestnuts at front of property. Very pleasant experience and no issues, they were careful not to damage lawn, left the property tidy and all work carried out as planned and on time. Very competitive on price too.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 16/02/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
Excellent tree surgeons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had numerous jobs done by Local Branch Tree Specialists over the last 4 years or so, both big and small. It is a first class firm. Professional, reliable, and very reasonable rates. They always tidy up well, arrive on time and clearly know what they are doing. The owner of the company is the son of a friend of mine but this is an unbiased and honest review.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 12/02/2019 , work completed 18/11/2018
Trees taken down
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All happy with the work that's been done at our house. We had 3 very tall trees taken down and ground out. This was a major job and all done and cleared away within the day. Happy customer
Customer in Surrey Posted on 31/01/2019 , work completed 12/09/2018
Would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good, efficient and helpful. A pleasure from start to finish, and they definitely know their stuff. I'd certainly recommend Local Branch
Customer in Surrey Posted on 29/01/2019 , work completed 18/08/2018
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick & his team removed 3 large trees & also cut back several very large Oak trees that had TPO's on them. Nick applied for permission to work on the trees with TPO's including meeting the tree officer on our behalf. All the guys were hard working, friendly & polite. We have already recommended to neighbors who have also used Nick. Will be in touch with any future works.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 28/01/2019 , work completed 12/09/2018
Hedge and branch Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Local Branch Tree Specialist to remove and stump grind a leylandii hedge and remove some branches from a beech tree. The work was done on schedule and budget by the very friendly team. All debris was cleared and the garden was left tidy. We would use them again.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 26/01/2019 , work completed 19/01/2019
Hard working, polite & good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When we moved to our house 10 years ago the garden had had years of neglect, with huge dead trees, dense tree over population, ugly leylandii hedges, and a lot of work was needed. New to the area we tried different tree surgeons with varying success. When Nick came for the first time we decided to only use him going forward. He quotes when he says he will, his quotes are reasonable, the quality of work is excellent, the team ensure they don't damage surrounding plants and clear up well after themselves. He gives good advice about health and maintenance of mature trees, and the council tree officers have always agreed with his opinion. The team don't leave the garden strewn with junk food wrappers (which other companies have) and they are polite and trustworthy, which is what you want if you are leaving people to work in your garden. I have recommended him to friends who have all been delighted. Although the bulk of our remedial tree work is now done, Nick still comes back regularly to maintain our high hedges and look after the trees, and we have worked with him now for 8 years. My husband suggested I add that the team remained professional & didn't laugh when I asked them to sculpt an old oak into a life sized version of Disney Moana at the back of the garden to please my daughter! Highly recommend!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 16/11/2018
Felling of large Oak Tree and removal of the Timber plus clear up
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Kelly and his courteous team members arrived on time. They worked continuously and expertly; taking care to effect as little damage as possible to my lawn and nearby plants. My Gazebo was directly under the tree to be felled but thanks to the care taken it suffered no damage at all. The Local Branch Tree Specialists team cleared away all of the timber and sawdust at the end of the project, as agreed in the quotation. The tree felled was estimated to be over 200 years old.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 12/04/2018
Prompt and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Left a message and got a return phone call within the hour. Made and kept an appointment to discuss cutting hedge. Price agreed. Work carried out on the day given. All hedge cuttings removed. Lovely tidy hedge. Invoice and payment easy and quick. Would recommend highly.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 16/11/2018
Tree maintenance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Nick and Local Branch for around 10 years. The work has involved felling large trees, lopping and general tree maintenance. Also he tidies up after the work. Not only do I trust Nick but he also manages to employ pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Since using Local Branch a number of my neighbours now regularly use the firm.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 22/11/2018
Local Branch Tree Specialists
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Local Branch Tree Specialists for several years. They are reliable, tidy and good at their job. Also their fees are reasonable. Would recommend them without hesitation.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 20/07/2018
Good work, reliable, a pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick Kelly of Local Branch has done the tree management work for us for several years. His work, which has included dealing with older cedar trees which were splitting. This time was dealing with an ash which was seriously dying back. The work was, as usual, of excellent quality and, as indicated in the review title above, he's always reliable and is a pleasure to deal with.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 26/06/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Local Branch to remove a dead tree, to prune two old oak trees and source and plant a large tree to replace the one I lost. I was extremely happy with the service I received. Despite the tree removal being a much more difficult job than anticipated, I was invoiced according to the quote. They turned up when they said and were polite and courteous and kept me informed of progress. I can only highly recommend Local Branch.
Customer in Windsor and Maidenhead Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 14/11/2018
Perfect Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick was on site within 48 hrs of calling to us to give a quote. He was very knowledgeable and had 5 star reviews so we booked a date to carry out the work. They arrived on time as planned and reshaped some trees and pollarded another. They didn't rush in and out but did a professional job and cleaned up as if they had never been here. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 14/01/2019 , work completed 14/01/2019
Fantastic work ethic from all the team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick came and quoted to reduce some very large trees in my garden. From the offset he came across professional and got back to me promptly. Nick and his team completed the work last week and we couldn't be more happy with the work. Considering how problematic it was to remove the foliage and the amount there was I was surprised at how quickly the team worked and you would be hard pushed to see any evidence of it come the end of the day! They went the extra mile to finish the job properly I I would fully recommend.
NICK H Posted on 05/11/2018 , work completed 05/11/2018
Fantastic work ethic from all the team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nick came and quoted to reduce some very large trees in my garden. From the offset he came across professional and got back to me promptly. Nick and his team completed the work last week and we couldn't be more happy with the work. Considering how problimatic it was to remove the foliage and the amount there was I was surprised at how quickly the team worked and you would be hard pushed to see any evidence of it come the end of the day! They went the extra mile to finish the job properly I I would fully recommend.
(your username) Posted on 05/11/2018 , work completed 05/11/2018
Effective and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was done efficiently and tidily, to the price quoted.
Piers, Surrey Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job. Tidy, efficient and punctual.
Ian, Surrey Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
The trader replied (on 30/10/2018)
Many Thanks for your review Ian! it means a great deal to me and the business! I look forward to seeing you again next year!
Fast and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Asked for a quote yesterday for the removal of a 30’ leylandii. The team arrived this morning, removed the tree and all the foliage before cleaning up to a higher standard than they found the garden when they arrived. The team of three were friendly and very efficient
(your username) Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class, efficient and professional service. A speedy response to my request by helpful and charming young men. Have already recommended them to friends.
Gilda, Surrey Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
Work well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Local Branch before & they have always been reliable & professional. They have also worked well when problems have arisen. The area is always left neat & tidy at the end of the job.
Jill, Surrey Posted on 09/10/2018 , work completed 09/10/2018
The trader replied (on 30/10/2018)
Thank you for your review Jill! I look forward to working with you again!