We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

A P Ward - Building Services

Profile thumb logo   apw   new

5.0

42 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 10:00–14:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–16:00
  • Saturday 10:00–14:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a Beckenham, Bromley based building company, which has been established since 1985.
We offer a "one stop" solution to all your building needs and our "start to finish" service covers everything from recommending Architects and Structural Engineers, to completion of works by our skilled and carefully selected workforce, who cover all trades.
Our aim is to offer our clients a fully comprehensive start to finish job, no matter how large or small it may be. We will treat your property with the respect that is deserves and keep you fully informed as work progresses. If you're not happy we are not happy. Our operatives are skilled and knowledgeable tradesmen in all aspects of the industry enabling us to provide a complete building service.
We undertake all types of work from: General maintenance to total refurbishment of domestic and commercial properties for: Loss Adjusters, Insurance Companies, Structural Engineers, Architects, Housing Associations, Churches and of course private home owners.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Plastering
    • Guttering repair services
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom suppliers
  • Disability and mobility

    • Bathing aids
    • Access ramps - indoor and outdoor
    • Home adaptations
    • Stairlifts
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • More Services

    • carpentry
    • plumbing
    • electrics
    • decorating
    • plastering

Customer reviews

5.0
42 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
A tricky job delivered very professionally by a very reliable team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A waste pipe leaking from our upstairs bathroom was in a difficult position to access for repair - so much so that we had been let down by several contractors including one recommended by our Insurance company! After many months we began to wonder if it would ever be fixed. Then I finally found Tony's company via Which Trusted Traders - he came round, assessed what had to be done and within a week had arranged for scaffold to be set up along the side of the house and had the necessary repair done to a very high standard. Then other members of his team completed the redecorating work required inside the house due to the original water damage - again to a very high standard and our agreed specification. Tony would visit during the work and on completion of each phase to ensure everything was going to plan and to our satisfaction. Price was as agreed in advance and the work was done with as little disruption as possible, very clean and tidy. We would recommend him for any general building/maintenance work and will certainly be using him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/10/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Quick service and a pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed some guttering repairs. Tony and his team provided a quotation quickly, and the work was completed efficiently. During the work, Stuart took loads of pictures so I could clearly see what work had been done, and what the problems were. I would certainly use A P Ward building services again. Recommended.
Chris in Greater London Posted on 30/09/2020 , work completed 26/09/2020
The trader replied (on 02/10/2020)
Thank you Chris for your review.
No job too big or small
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AP Ward fitted a new bathroom for us in Sep 2018 and we were very happy with their work. This morning, a screw within the shower door came loose and a glass panel was hanging off precariously. I called Tony and within 2 hours he had someone come round to fix it, which was great service and much appreciated.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/08/2020 , work completed 19/08/2020
The trader replied (on 24/09/2020)
Thank you Polly for taking the time to leave us a review
Excellent work, stress free for us
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used A P Ward on two recent occasions for work on our bathroom. The first was an insurance job to replace a leak-damaged floor and install a new cistern and tiles. We were very pleased with the friendly and efficient handling of the job by Tony and the high quality workmanship by his colleague Martin. We were impressed enough to commission some further work, re-sealing a shower tray and basin. Pricing was fair and open for both jobs. Promises on timescales were kept and everything was left clean and tidy. Definitely our go-to builder for future projects and I have no hesitation in recommending the company.
George in Greater London Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 13/07/2020
The trader replied (on 24/09/2020)
Thank you George for the review.
Excellent work - efficient and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had some remedial work required on a porch and Tony's team proved an excellent choice to undertake it. Quality of work was excellent and they turned up on time and left the impacted area clean and tidy when they left. Communication was excellent and I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/05/2020 , work completed 17/03/2020
The trader replied (on 23/06/2020)
Thank you so much for taking the time in leaving us a review
Reliable, polite and super efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again AP Ward has come to the rescue. I cannot recommend Tony and his team highly enough. I have had repairs carried out on one of my chimney stacks and surrounding roof area and air bricks installed in bedrooms. No time wasting or mess. Very fair prices and no hidden costs. I will continue to use AP Ward. An extremely helpful, friendly and honest company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/01/2020 , work completed 23/01/2020
The trader replied (on 24/01/2020)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review
Honest, reliable, highly capable and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had used Tony and his team a few years ago for a couple of jobs and were highly satisfied. Over the past 2-3 months we needed a few more jobs done ranging from gas fire maintenance/checking, carpet fitting, plumbing and tiling and again we were definitely NOT disappointed with them. No job was too small. They discussed and explained everything before proceeding - helpful and transparent. They met our timing requests with ease. Everything was done really well and all finished before Xmas. We are extremely happy with all the work done. In particular I would like to thank Tony and all his team as they were great with my elderly mother and she felt at ease with them all. Definitely highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/12/2019 , work completed 13/12/2019
The trader replied (on 30/12/2019)
Thank you Diana for taking the time to leave us a review & your kind words
Superb! Honest and reliable with high standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team recently cleared our overgrown garden and we are thrilled with the results. Tony is a breath of fresh air to deal with, he is straight forward, reliable and trustworthy. His communication is excellent. Tony has a first class team working for him and nothing is too much trouble. The job wasn’t straight forward and the team worked relentlessly. Tony has high standards and kept us informed throughout. We have been let down by many tradesmen in the past and now wouldn’t use anyone else. Not only does Tony do garden clearances but building work and bathroom/kitchen fitting etc. Highly recommend!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/11/2019 , work completed 14/11/2019
The trader replied (on 30/12/2019)
Thank you Alice for your review.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete bathroom replacement. This was the second major project Tony and his team have done in our house. Very reliable service, the schedule of works was set out really clearly, Tony was always available to answer questions and talk through things. The standard of work completed was excellent, especially given how complicated the project was. Really happy with the end result, we’d definitely use Tony again for any future projects.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/08/2019 , work completed 21/06/2019
The trader replied (on 30/12/2019)
Thanks guys for taking the time to leave us a review
Reliable good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A P Ward have done a few jobs for me including painting the outside of my house, repairing a step on my front path and putting up a garden fence. All work was done in a reasonable time and to a high standard. They are reliable and trustworthy; will turn up on time and leave the work area clean and tidy at the end of the day.
Brian Posted on 15/06/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
honest, reliable and highly capable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Tony after discovering his high reviews on Google, to help with a flooring issue that had arisen in a tenanted property of mine. On initial consultation it was clear that Tony held the client's needs as a top priority of his when considering budget and solution to the problem, and he gave me great comfort that the work was going to be done to the standard required. Tony tasked one of his team members, Kieran, to perform the work just two days later. Kieran arrived on time and worked quickly and with high professionalism to resolve the issue. I cannot recommend A P Ward building services enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 10/05/2019
Minor guttering repairs done promptly to a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guttering at the front of my house was overflowing and causing penetrating damp. AP Ward came out quickly to survey the problem and replaced the gutter, whilst also attending to some timber work in the eves and minor repointing of a small section of brickwork. The work was done promptly in less than a day, to a high standard and the site left clear of rubbish or debris. Price was exactly as quoted. Highly recommended and would definitely AP Ward for any future work on my home.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/03/2019 , work completed 07/03/2019
Great building team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team of workers were reliable, contactable and competitive. Really couldn’t ask for more. They renovated a whole house for us after a rewire, removed old cupboards, wallpaper, plastered all rooms and changed radiators. I liked that Tony was on top of his team and was always contactable on his phone and e-mail. Highly recommended! Stavros
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
Skilled and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My first floor flat and the neighbouring flat are reached by outside steps. Bricks in the walls on the outside of these steps had crumbled and become loose and there were gaps between the walls and the steps. Having been let down by another builder, we instructed A P Ward in winter, and work was delayed by rain, but we were kept informed. Walls were repaired by a craftsman bricklayer to a high standard. We accepted his advice to change the original plan for the gaps between walls and the steps and again the work was completed to a high standard. We found Mr Ward easy to deal with.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/02/2019 , work completed 19/02/2019
Fast and effective. Overflowing guttering fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Problem. The back of our 1st floor flat had guttering flooded during heavy rain. The result was damp and rotting window frames. Tony came in and identified the problem. Changed the guttering and added an extra down pipe. He quoted 2 days but his guys got it done in a single day. Tony also smoothed potential problems with neighbours about access with a patient and polite approach
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/02/2019 , work completed 21/11/2018
Quality building work with excellent service...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an urgent plastering job to do and A. P. Ward attended promptly and gave me a quote the same day. Tony managed to schedule the work at short notice and on the day, Kieron attended on time and reassured me that the job would be no problem. He was very cheerful, polite and professional - a pleasure to deal with. I was delighted when I saw the finished result - he also managed to do a smaller job in the kitchen which saved another visit. The work carried out was to a very high standard and I have asked the company to look into further renovations in the house. Highly recommended !
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Maintence work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A P Ward did a great job for me. I needed to do a number of small jobs including replacing a radiator for my rented out property in Bromley. They were really quick, knowledgeable and enthusiastic and a pleasure to work with. Would definitely recommend them and will be using them for my future jobs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/12/2018 , work completed 30/11/2018
Fantastic service, great team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A.P. Ward Building Services Ltd recently refurbished my bathroom, kitchen, utility and cloakroom. The work has been done to a very high specification and I could not be happier with the results. The various jobs were scheduled to ensure that members of the team were on-site every day so that the job could be completed on time. I have no hesitation in recommending this company to prospective clients.
G.L. Bailey, Purley, Surrey Posted on 17/01/2018 , work completed 17/01/2018
Great work and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a leak in kitchen roof caused by leak from shower. I had thought it was a problem with shower piping but it was in fact sealant pulling away from shower tray. A P Ward assessed the situation, repaired the shower tray, then repaired kitchen roof. And repainted kitchen walls as well as ceiling. A pleasure to deal with. Will use again.
Simon Taylor Posted on 16/12/2017 , work completed 16/12/2017
Very reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used A P Ward multiple times in recent years for both small and large jobs, and, to be honest, I cannot remember ever having to complain, or remind them, about anything. The team is very professional from beginning to end and you get the feeling that they all care about what they are doing and that they want to keep you as a customer. I have recommended them to friends and would do so again at the drop of a hat.
Nick Mitchell Posted on 05/09/2017 , work completed 05/09/2017
Very good service and quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My partner and I have used AP Ward for a number of small and big jobs at our flats. They are always polite, knowledgeable and provide a really good service. Everything they have done for us, from painting to sorting out door frames or installing ovens, has been top notch.
Adam SS Posted on 16/05/2017 , work completed 16/05/2017
Excellent customer service and workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had several bad experiences with trades people, I was so impressed by Karl and his team. They were professional and courteous . The workmanship was superior and they explained everything they were doing. Estimates and updates were provided promptly. I worked from home during the works and they were so quiet and mindful of noise that I sometimes forgot that they were even there, even though they were ripping up floors, sawing and nailing! I will be using them again in the future for a bigger job if they can fit me in!
appletree123 Posted on 16/05/2017 , work completed 16/05/2017
Good work, professional, prompt, courteous and no hidden surprises
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony, Karl and his team sorted out a damp problem, electrics job, redecorated & new carpet. They were prompt, courteous and professional. Everything as estimated, no hidden surprises! But above all they were very patient and kind to my elderly mum - going beyond the call of duty. Will definitely call them if needed in the future.
Diana Dennington Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Went the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good work installing some periscope vents into our external air bricks. The builder even did extra work to set them deeper so they would look neater because he wasn't happy to leave them sticking out further. Highly recommended.
JCoote Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used the services of A P Ward Building Services Ltd for many years and would continue to do so. I have always found them prompt and reliable and very pleasant. I would definitely recommend.
Daisy, Kent Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
You get what you pay for
Customer Service
Quality
Value
With builders and the "trades" you get what you pay for. For professionalism, competence, reliability, trustworthiness and helpfulness AP Ward's qualify 100%. I recommend them without hesitation and would engage them again in the future.
APFSE26 Posted on 12/02/2017 , work completed 12/02/2017
Very effective, honest and speedy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was great at giving us all the time we needed to explain everything we needed doing in the house and got back to us very promptly about fixing the shower leak which was the first thing we needed done. Trevor subsequently came and fixed the shower very quickly and efficiently which meant we only needed 1 hour of labour. We look forward to working with Tony on other projects.
cathjmjt Posted on 06/02/2017 , work completed 06/02/2017
New Banister
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having fallen down the stairs in our house partly due to not having a banister rail to hold on to, we contacted AP Ward who came promptly and gave us a quotation which we accepted. They then fixed an appointment for the work to be done and in the event was able to fit us in much earlier. The work was done very efficiently, professionally and courteously and we are very pleased with the result.
13925 Posted on 11/07/2016 , work completed 11/07/2016
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had three rooms plastered - including repair of existing plaster, going back to the brickwork in some places. Also a picture rail fitted in two rooms. Karl, Mark and the team were very professional, punctual and did a great job. Plastering is top-notch. There was a bit of mess from the plaster (which is usual, I'm sure), but it was cleaned up. AP Ward aren't the cheapest around, but you get what you pay for. I'll be using them again for sure.
MR T J CUNLIFFE Posted on 08/04/2016 , work completed 08/04/2016
Saved Christmas!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our cooker broke on 23 December - disaster. After sourcing a replacement that day we discovered the existing gas pipes would not allow the new model to slot into position. Following a call out for help via social media Tony contacted me and offered for one of his team to fix it. This was on 23 December - total panic! Tony arranged for his certified gas engineer to come out on Christmas eve morning. He turned up on time, did the perfect job moving the gas pipes and enabled us to have a lovely Christmas. The workmanship was professional and the engineer courteous, especially given the date and short notice. We were extremely grateful and I would not hesitate to use A P Ward again. I am very happy to recommend Tony's company.
Flexab Posted on 29/03/2016 , work completed 29/03/2016
They took the stress away
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I saw the "trusted service" banner and also needed 1 company that could co-ordinate various trades so I thought I'd check them out, and I am very glad I did. I was getting my house ready to move out and for it to become BTL and they did all the bits that needed to be done, which were the various certificates, changing a couple bits and pieces so that it adheres to guidelines etc, which involved at least three different trades. I gave them a key and let them get on with it and they came and went as they needed. Sometimes the only way I knew they had been, was because something had been changed. It was reassuring that they cared about the property and cleaned up after themselves and that that was only less thing for me to worry about, when I myself am trying to move and all that that entails. As I am moving out of the area, it also leaves me secure in the knowledge that I can just give them a call if I need to and they can just go in and sort it out...like ninja builders! :-)
TrudiJS Posted on 24/03/2016 , work completed 24/03/2016
External Ramp
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend A P Ward highly enough. A friendly and professional company right from the first point of contact. I had a ramp installed outside my home and the work was carried out to the highest quality. I will definitely be using them again for any future building work. Paul Edenbridge
Willsy Posted on 06/03/2016 , work completed 06/03/2016
A P Ward to the Rescue (again...)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following the heavy winds in January we were left with a fence at 45 Degrees and in bad need of some professional attention. We contacted the team at A P Ward as we have used them previously without issue and they promptly surveyed, a price was agreed and we just needed to wait for some better weather. Well, I am pleased to report that the better weather has arrived and the team have now completed their works to a professional standard. We are now looking at some additional works inside the house with A P Ward in the not too distant future - well done and thank you to all at A P Ward!
Daren Pool Posted on 27/02/2016 , work completed 27/02/2016
Used A P Ward on several occasions
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Tony and his team on several occasions and will continue to do so. The jobs have ranged from converting a garage space to an office, internal and external decorating and tidying the tarmac at the end of the drive. On all occasions we were advised when the work would start and how long it would take and, sure enough, the personnel used always turned up at the appointed hour, did a full days' work and cleaned up each day before leaving. Excellent service.
Charles Posted on 17/02/2016 , work completed 17/02/2016
Prompt, Courteous and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Allen Heritage regularly use A P Ward and have always found their service to be prompt, courteous and professional at all times. We would highly recommend their services.
Username Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
Chimney repairs in Beckenham
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a great company. Well organised, speedy, sensible, experienced, very approachable and helpful. Good detailed schedule of work and a comforting quote. Kept to their promises, always on time, worked flexibly on this tricky job despite frequent weather interruptions. On site - polite, tidy, worked thoughtfully around us. Thanks to Tony, Sarah, Karl, Kieren and I'm really sorry but I've forgotten your name (Kieren's colleague). Wonderful. If Heineken did Building Services.........
Site User Posted on 08/09/2015 , work completed 08/09/2015
Bathroom and toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AP Ward have recently decorated my bathroom and toilet - what a brilliant team! Their work is to the highest standard, all that came to the house were polite, punctual, professional and tidy. Tony Ward introduced himself on the first day and kept in touch. Lovely Sarah in the office kept me informed of progress and what would be happening next. Very fair pricing of jobs, cannot recommend this company highly enough.
Clare54 Posted on 18/08/2015 , work completed 18/08/2015
REPAIR AND RENEWAL AFTER WATER INGRESS
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a long standing leak underneath a bath which eventually damaged the lounge ceiling below. Tony and his team carefully replaced rotten timbers in the bathroom and also rot that had travelled to a bedroom . All work was carefully carried out and photgraphic evidence produced for an insurance claim. The work included plumbing , plastering , joinery and tiling. This was all excellent work at a price that satisfied the insurers
Site User Posted on 13/08/2015 , work completed 13/08/2015
Work carried out on 49 Sherwood Road
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is hard to find a builder that can offer every service that you may need for your home.. But APWARD do exactly what they say they can do on there web site.. And to the very highest of standards.. Have used this building contractor for the past 15 years for major and minor building and cosmetic work on my property.. I would recommend them to anyone that wants to feel confident at having an excellent finished job at a fare price..from fitting inter- grated white goods to the kitchen, towel rail heaters in the bathroom to a whole house renovation A.P.WARD Building Services have been there and done this for me over the years with know fuss. My home is my castle as the saying goes and looks better with the devices of the team at A.P.Ward... Thanks again..
TheFella Posted on 14/05/2015 , work completed 14/05/2015
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Myself and my family have used A P Ward for many years now for small minor decoration & repairs to complete bathroom & kitchen re-fits. Tony and his team have always been very professional and are always happy to give advice if needed. It is nice know that I can go to work knowing that I can leave polite, clean & trustworthy people working in my house and also in my elderly mum's house. Nothing is too big or too small for this amazing building company. I highly recommend them. I wouldn't want to use anyone else again. Why look for better when you've already found the best!
Woo262 Posted on 25/03/2015 , work completed 25/03/2015
House Overhaul
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and team redecorated my house from top to bottom as well as fitting a new bathroom and performing structural work to the outer walls of the house. I have used many builders across London over the years and the standard of work on this project was of the highest standard. Mark ( the decorator) finish was impeccable. The bathroom you can see pictures of above and the structual work uncovered during the build was dealt with brilliantly. Through the works Tony's customer service was great and he was always available on the phone. I would thoroughly recommend him and his team and will be using them again in the future.
Andy Bailey Posted on 08/03/2015 , work completed 08/03/2015
Impressed!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had AP ward in to decorate the outside of our house? It was a big job which involved scaffolding, chimney work, removing render, painting and woodwork repairs. They were brilliant! Everything was completely organised without us having to do anything. Scaffolding, painters, renderers, carpenters all turned up at the right times and all worked so hard and with great skill and thoroughness. They were polite and thoughtful. Their work was regularly checked over to ensure it was completed to a high standard. All in all, we can't fault this company. They weren't cheap but they were very good. We have recommended them to friends and would definitely use them again.
Poppy1667 Posted on 29/09/2014 , work completed 29/09/2014