We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

A1 Garage Doors

Profile thumb logo

4.9

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

Andy McCulloch T/A A1 Garage Doors Started trading in April 1997. Fitting Predominantly Hormann garage doors for sectional and up and over doors. Roller doors by Aluroll with somfy controls and motors have been used for over ten years now. Both companies have a great customer service record and offer a full backup service to A1garage doors allowing us to update the doors automation and control gear as and when new products are available.
Repairs to existing garage doors are normally carried out within 48 hours most parts are in stock. (Roller cables and springs for all the common makes.)
Estimates for new doors and automation are free with an on site visit by Andy McCulloch Brochure and price given on day of visit

What we do

  • Garage door repairs and installation

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Efficient, friendly provision & fitting of replacement garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient and timely service from initial call out, inspection and assessment of existing door, explanation of options, provision of estimate same day, order, installation the following week and invoicing. Andy provided a professional, friendly and tidy supply and installation of replacement up and over the garage door. Removal and disposal of the old door was also included.
John in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/04/2021 , work completed 21/04/2021
Exceptional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Amazing old fashioned service. Andy answered call straight away. Incredibly polite and friendly. Responded by text as he said he would. Worked done within 48 hours turning up on time. Andy was very fair and honest, talking us out of a new door and did a very high quality repair instead. Neat and tidy. Cannot recommend highly enough
Paul in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/04/2021 , work completed 15/04/2021
Andy fixed our old double garage door on a newly built garage - excellent job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy fixed our old up-and-over double garage door on a newly built garage and did an excellent job! We found Andy on the Which Trusted trader site and were delighted with his workmanship and helpful attitude. I had emailed him photos of the door and fittings we had kept from the old garage to save him coming for a site visit and he gave us a fixed price and organised to come a couple of weeks later. He and his son came today and cracked on, dismantling the temporary ply doors we had installed several months back, stacking them at the side of the garage (they would have taken them away if we had wanted). Now have a fully functioning garage door again - which is a huge relief as everywhere we had tried on Google and other sites, they weren't interested in fitting an existing door without selling us a new one. Many thanks, Andy
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 13/03/2021 , work completed 13/03/2021
5 Star Service from A1 Garages Luton
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy fixed a faulty 40 year old garage door on spec for a very reasonable standard repair charge saving me the expense of having to replace it. I recommend this excellent local company and happily award it 5 Stars.
Customer in Luton Posted on 18/09/2020 , work completed 17/09/2020
Excellent Service
Telephoned Andy to ask him to visit me to repair my garage door. Instead he provided me with some free advice that enabled me to easily solve the problem myself. Having experienced poor work from other garage door suppliers in the past, I have no hesitation in recommending A1 Garage Doors in Luton.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 19/06/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first enquiry to completion I cannot fault Andy and son (A1 garage doors). He arrived at the agreed time to give us a detailed explanation of all door types and gave us a quote for the one we agreed on. On the fitting day Andy and son arrived promptly, they were cheerful, polite and were happy to answer any questions that we had. We were also very grateful that Andy went the extra mile to make sure that it was done to our complete satisfaction and that we understood how to maintain the door. Many in the road have said how nice it looks and I would definitely recommend A1 doors.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 17/07/2019 , work completed 08/07/2019
Emergency Repair to Garage Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an urgent problem with my up-and-over garage door, which had become jammed open. I called Andy from A1 Garage Doors and he initially gave me some helpful advice on what the problems could be. When I confirmed that I had already checked these, Andy was quick to arrange to come out and repair the door, with transparent prices quoted. Andy repaired the door and explained where the handyman (ahem, cowboy) who'd initially fitted the door went wrong and how it had caused the problem. Andy also gave me some helpful tips on maintaining the garage door to prolong its life. The door is now opening and closing much smoother than it ever had before.
Customer in Luton Posted on 11/03/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
New Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used A1 garage doors on a previous occasion, I was happy to ask for a quote when I wanted to change to a roller door. Andy provided helpful information and advice. A top quality product was supplied and installed at a realistic price. Very pleased with the product and the after service provided. Always available for advice on maintenance. Top quality, highly recommended
Customer in Luton Posted on 28/01/2019 , work completed 16/05/2016
Professional & Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good service repaired garage door which had been incorrectly serviced. All left in good working order. Fair and reasonable charge.
Bill, Bedfordshire Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & very professional. Gave a full explanation & provided options & cross. Very trustworthy.
Barbara, Buckinghamshire Posted on 17/10/2018 , work completed 17/10/2018
Knowledgeable, Friendly & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced my old garage door with a new electric door. Very pleased with the work and at Andy’s efficiency. Competitive too, as I got a few quotes before placing the job with him.
Hina - Beds Posted on 05/10/2018 , work completed 05/10/2018
Effective... Polite... Good Quality of Work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have a electronic double garage and one of the doors would not open. I called A1 Garage Doors and Andy asked me about the problem and was very thorough.. and thru questioning me was able to find out what the problem was. He advised me of his earliest availability and booked to come and see me to rectify the problem. Andy called the next day advising of a cancelled appointment and that he could come and see to my garage that day. I was very pleased about that. Andy turned up and promptly got on with the job. When he finished .. he made sure the door was working ok and tested it several times. He then came and showed me what he had done.. what the fault was and also what to possibly try if it happened again. I was very happy with his work and attitude. And he even offered payment via bank transfer which was easier than having to have cash on me. Highly recommended for a job well done Thank you Andy
Neil J Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent! Professional, efficient and courteous. Would have no hesitation in recommending them.
J.M, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/08/2018 , work completed 23/08/2018
Garage Door failing to operate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have an 11 year old SWS electric door that was no longer operating properly in that it was only lowering 30 cms at a push. Andy arrived within 2 hours (wasn't I lucky) and deduced the problem was with the control unit. From the literature he held he was able to re programme the unit and it now works properly. Andy has a friendly personality and, when asked, will advise you on your associated door problems. He has earned his Which? Trusted Traders recommendation.
Conn Posted on 22/07/2018 , work completed 22/07/2018
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quick response to initial enquiry. Sorted the problem quickly and efficiently. Provided advice and information for future.
Joanna, Bedfordshire Posted on 16/03/2018 , work completed 16/03/2018
Excellent & professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were particularly impressed with thorough instructions on how to operate and maintain the door.
Victoria, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/03/2018 , work completed 07/03/2018
Desperate Doors!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our remote garage door needed some tender loving care! Andy came along and replaced slats and installed a new motor. Now the door is back to its original self. Works perfectly! Thankyou.
Hopeful Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
Replacement garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Andy last week, he was with me the same day. Measured up and gave a quote, ordered the door while with me and confirmed delivery, installed the door a week later at the agreed time. Did a good job removing old wooden door and installing new one, cleaned up and did an excellent job all round.
Adrian Cotton Posted on 02/02/2018 , work completed 02/02/2018
Superb service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a broken Spring on garage door. Andy was with me within two hours of reporting the problem. Very quick and efficient work in repairing the door and good value. Highly recommended.
MargaretN Posted on 17/07/2017 , work completed 17/07/2017
Brilliant job, prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, clean, professional, fast and efficient service and advice will certainly use him again. I have no hesitation to recommend him the only negative is that he is a little bit pricey.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/05/2017 , work completed 19/05/2017
Identified the problem within seconds
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was done within 10 minutes. I'd thoroughly recommend
Philip John Freeborn Posted on 10/03/2017 , work completed 10/03/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would certainly recommend to anyone.
Norma, Hertfordshire Posted on 20/09/2016 , work completed 20/09/2016
Brilliant, prompt, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Some years ago A1 Garage Doors repaired the garage. It lasted all these years but gradually fell into disrepair and finally gave up altogether. I found my old invoice and gave them a ring. Andy had to get me a new door and today came to fit. he was absolutely brilliant, did a great job and also cleaned up all the mess.
Pamela, Bedfordshire Posted on 15/07/2016 , work completed 15/07/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend Andy at A1. He installed our automatic garage door a number of years ago with a competitive quote and completed the job when he said he would. Has since been efficient to help with any repair issues even giving instruction to reboot it via the phone when he has been unable to attend in person. Brilliant service.
Jenny M Posted on 25/03/2016 , work completed 25/03/2016
Top job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed by a fast, efficient and competent service. I would highly recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Good quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
installed garage 3 years and have done a repair since. stuck to quote, didn't take them long at all. good quality work
Nicholas, Buckingham Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
new garage Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First impressions always count, and having dealt with many trades people recently with my house renovation, Andy provided his quote very promptly and clearly detailing the correct work we requested. Andy kept our drive way very clean and tidy during installation of the garage door with very short notice from ourselves to complete. My partner reversed the car into the door a few months ago breaking part of the frame, Andy was happy to come out and rectify the damage for free. There may be cheaper about but I always go for Local tradesmen and highly recommended A1 Garage doors for their customer service . Mr McAllister
S, Dunstable Posted on 01/02/2015 , work completed 01/02/2015
supplied and fitted our sectional doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been extremely happy with the work carried out. We found him to be, friendly, polite, helpful, clean and professional. We have since recommended him to other people, who have also been very happy with his services.
Hina, Bedfordshire Posted on 01/01/2013 , work completed 01/01/2013