We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Abbey Gate Locksmiths Ltd

Profile thumb dsc 4498 underwood 001low resolution

5.0

42 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

Steve Underwood of Abbey Gate Locksmiths has been a locksmith for over 40 years so you can have complete piece of mind that you will be getting a very experienced and fully qualified professional service.

Full Master Locksmiths Association accreditation.
Enhanced CRB licence.
Mobile Locksmiths.
24/7 Emergency Locksmith Service – lock outs, lost keys etc.
Lock opening, upgrades & repairs.
Locks supplied & fitted including digital, electronic & master keyed suites.
UPVC door & window lock & hinge specialist.
Replace any locks including BS3621 & BS8621.
Key cutting including safe keys.
Supply & installation of all types of hydraulic door closers & panic hardware.
Safes supplied, opened, repaired, moved & serviced.
Supply and installation of grills, bars, gates, shutters, ram raid & parking bollards.
Free survey & estimates including wired and wireless burglar alarms & access control
Evictions and warrant work undertaken.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Access control
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Alarm and security equipment installers

    • Access control
    • Alarm installation
    • CCTV installation
    • Door entry systems
    • Safe Installation
  • Glaziers

    • Glass boarding up and replacement
  • More Services

    • grills
    • bars
    • bollards
    • roller shutters.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
42 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I accidentally locked myself on a Sunday morning and my door key was left inside the front door. Steve Underwood arrived within 20 minutes of my call, he was able to rescue me very quickly by opening my front door. Overall the job was done efficiently with no damage, reasonably priced and with excellent customer service, I would certainly recommend Abbey Gate Locksmiths Ltd and would happily use them again.
Customer in Reading Posted on 22/11/2020 , work completed 22/11/2020
Replacement security keys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed replacement keys for my security locks. I phoned Steve at Abbey Gate Locksmiths and gave him my details. Steve called me back within 10 mins advising new keys were ready. As I did not have my car that day Steve arranged for delivery of the keys to my location as one of his staff would be near me. From my 1st phone call to problem resolved all under 30 minutes.
Customer in Reading Posted on 05/11/2020 , work completed 05/11/2020
Great work and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent response from Steve. Identified problem with UPVC window over telephone and asked for photos. Appointment made, turned up on time, fixed lock with minimal disruption and great good humour. We will be using Steve again for any lock related problems.
Customer in Wokingham Posted on 10/09/2019 , work completed 10/09/2019
Friendly, responsive and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was extremely responsive, and happy to come round as soon as needed based on emergency levels. He came with a smile and did the work to a high level.
Richard, Oxfordshire Posted on 09/08/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Replacement conservatory door lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lock on my sliding conservatory door fractured. Abbey Gate came promptly as agreed, were extremely helpful and diagnosed the fault swiftly. I was relieved that a new stronger lock was fitted at the same visit and at a very reasonable charge. The whole process was extremely smooth and I remain very impressed with the whole experience. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Abbey Gate Ltd.
Customer in Posted on 22/05/2019 , work completed 17/05/2019
Emergency response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had accidentally engaged the deadbolt on my front door and had also left the key in the back door lock, so I couldn't get in either way. It was early evening and getting cold. I was stranded outside in my car with no internet access and getting quite desperate. I thought that even if I could get an emergency locksmith number I would have to wait hours for them to come. Then I remembered that a friend had used Abbey Gate last summer and had said good things about the service she received. I got Steve's number and he said he would come out within half an hour (it helped that I don't live far from him, but I probably interrupted his dinner time!). He was on time and quickly gained access by the back door. His callout charge was fair. The relief was immense!
Customer in Reading Posted on 12/04/2019 , work completed 18/02/2019
Highly recommend, went the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie, introduced himself on arrival, very friendly and talked through what he was doing. After he left having cut keys for me, when I went back to the property he was working on I could not get in, completely my fault. I rang the number on invoice and Charlie was on his way to his next job so the director came out to help me get in. I was extremely impressed and very grateful.
Hazel, Berkshire Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 25/01/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service; prompt response. Have been using Abbey Gate for 10 years; since they began their business. Never had any problems or complaints. Highly recommend.
John, Berkshire Posted on 17/09/2018 , work completed 17/09/2018
Prompt, efficient, careful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Through my own carelessness, I found myself one side of the door, with food, water, medication and clothes, between us stood a hefty solid door with a high security lock, which made me feel very vulnerable. Today my neighbour is having a party. Steve arrived very promptly and weaved/wove his mark and in a remarkably short time, I was on the right side of the door. No damage & low cost.
Henry, Berkshire Posted on 13/09/2018 , work completed 13/09/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would certainly use again.
Hazel, Berkshire Posted on 15/08/2018 , work completed 15/08/2018
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Underwood came out on a Saturday afternoon very promptly in answer to a panic call when the door handle on our under stairs cupboard stuck. He replaced the lock having opened latch very quickly and efficiently. I would happily use him again.
Sheila, Berkshire Posted on 07/07/2018 , work completed 07/07/2018
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Accidentally locked out of home, came very quickly and sorted the problem. Very impressed.
Margaret, Berkshire Posted on 13/06/2018 , work completed 13/06/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good, efficient job.
John, Berkshire Posted on 24/05/2018 , work completed 24/05/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Gate were courteous, friendly, and did an excellent job. I would not hesitate to use them again or refer onwards.
Janette, Berkshire Posted on 16/05/2018 , work completed 16/05/2018
Prompt and professional VUG
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quick response, very pleasant manner, repair handled very promptly. We are very satisfied with all aspects of the service.
Sylvia R, Oxfordshire Posted on 16/05/2018 , work completed 16/05/2018
Efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was impressed by their prompt service and efficient and professional manner. It was quite a tricky job and I was impressed by their attention to detail and care taken to do it properly.
Christine, Berkshire Posted on 30/04/2018 , work completed 30/04/2018
Fabulous job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again efficient, professional job delivered in a kind and courteous way. Fabulous.
Mary, Berkshire Posted on 18/04/2018 , work completed 18/04/2018
Excellent service and problem solving
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, prompt, responsive service. Abbey Gate Locksmiths responded immediately to my enquiry about a safe and came to my house to judge location and size. They also moved our old safe to our new house. We were most impressed by their professional approach and attention to detail.
Caroline, Oxfordshire Posted on 02/03/2018 , work completed 02/03/2018
Prompt, courteous & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My first time I have used a Which? Trusted Trader.
Steve, Berkshire Posted on 14/02/2018 , work completed 14/02/2018
Genuinely - brilliant, very prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sorry to you and trader that forgot exact week now but it was around 9 and part of our praise is that he came straight out. We thought we might need a new lock but he said he'd have a go at fixing /oiling it first and that very much worked - so on all counts brilliant and apologise for delay with this.
Nigel, Berkshire Posted on 03/02/2018 , work completed 03/02/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient, friendly and professional. I would not hesitate in recommending them.
Clive, Berkshire Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Top lock bloke
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is a great locksmith and a top bloke - he has got me into my home when I've been locked out, replaced dodgy locks on PVC doors and windows, he has also made me a key to get into a filing cabinet I had not been able to use for years. He is an expert at all things lockable and reasonably priced too.
timhowell Posted on 02/12/2017 , work completed 02/12/2017
Prompt, Efficient and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an emergency as a result of keys being lost and they were with us in 10 minutes and resolved the problem.
Martin, Berkshire Posted on 18/11/2017 , work completed 18/11/2017
Efficient and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following burglary they were extremely helpful at a difficult time and very friendly. At no point did we feel unsure or uneasy about the whole matter of changing our locks.
Keith, Berkshire Posted on 05/10/2017 , work completed 05/10/2017
Smart and snappy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lock from my kitchen from the hall jammed at 4.30. Looked online and found Abbey Gate Locksmiths Ltd. The address was round the corned, so phoned him and he was round in five minutes. Excellent service!
Susan, Berkshire Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
Professional and competetive.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Got an appointment within a few days for my non urgent job. I was informed of the basic call out charge prior to arrival. As soon they arrived they diagnosed the problem with my lock and set to work fixing it. When they finished I asked them to fit a new yale lock to my front door. No problem he said and set about doing that. All work was completed to high standard and within the first 30 minutes. Great price and very happy with the workmanship.
Mr B Williams Posted on 02/10/2017 , work completed 02/10/2017
Quick & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called on 27/09/17 for 28/09/17. Arrived early after advising on way. Within 20 minutes job done. Tidied up and tested very happy with result.
Colin, Berkshire Posted on 28/09/2017 , work completed 28/09/2017
Excellent service, great result.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really great service provided - quick response, helpful and efficient. A very knowledgeable tradesperson with long expertise in this field. I am very impressed.
Victoria, Berkshire Posted on 30/06/2017 , work completed 30/06/2017
Broken key in lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt, arrived within one hour of our phone call. Extremely helpful and the problem was quickly resolved. Excellent service.
Alison, Berkshire Posted on 19/06/2017 , work completed 19/06/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, prompt service - nothing too much trouble. Would recommend to friends. Impressed with helpfulness & professionalism.
Jean, Berkshire Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
Amazing service - couldn't have been better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve gave an instant estimate on the phone and a very clear breakdown of how his visit would run. He arrived on-time, professional, friendly and full of advice. Work carried out to a high standard and he tidied up after himself. Great to see a local, family business, setting the standard for how tradespeople should be. Price was very reasonable too.
JayBee Posted on 20/04/2017 , work completed 20/04/2017
Honest and reliable at a time when in need.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has rescued me several times as I've locked myself out. He doesn't have extortionate rates and advises on safety. Would single-handedly recommend him.
Jen B Posted on 06/10/2016 , work completed 06/10/2016
Quick and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed that they responded very quickly when I called. My door was repaired within a few days with a difficult to source part with a temporary repair in the meantime. The call out rate was very reasonable and the cost of parts was kept to a minimum. Overall I am very pleased and will be using Abbey Gate Locksmiths again.
Beth W Posted on 24/09/2016 , work completed 24/09/2016
Responsive and reasonably priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted a few locksmiths; Abbey Gate got the nod because they responded quickly, were able to understand the requirements of the job even when I wasn't explaining them very clearly, and quoted a reasonable price. Job now done, we have a new solid front door lock, and keys for all the other locks in the house that the seller couldn't find keys to.
guyfletch Posted on 13/09/2016 , work completed 13/09/2016
Fast and effective
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Gate quickly diagnosed and repaired the problems with my broken front door lock. Great job.
Trevor, Berkshire Posted on 29/07/2016 , work completed 29/07/2016
Happy to recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient service received. Happy to recommend. We will be placing Abbey Gate Locksmiths on our regular contractor list!
shiplake Posted on 12/07/2016 , work completed 12/07/2016
Excellent service & excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lost keys to in-law's house while they were on holiday. Abbey Gate were round within 15 mins and sorted out the problem. First class service, very professional, efficient & friendly. I would recommend them very highly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Brilliant. Fixed all the problems.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic! Punctual and hardworking. Encountered several unexpected problems outside of an already difficult task. Worked the unworkable into shape for a good price - recommend. Cheers.
silicondreamer Posted on 15/08/2015 , work completed 15/08/2015
Good advice and good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Underwood responded rapidly to a difficult situation, where all the locks of a house had to be changed quickly. The advice he gave was exactly right (he didn't know that I had a related professional background at the time) and he worked quickly and tidily, completing the work in a very short time. The price he quoted (and honoured) was very reasonable for the quality of workmanship and materials. All in all, a very professional job, carried out in a very friendly and helpful way. I would recommend Abbey Gate to anyone.
brokenstringuk Posted on 18/07/2015 , work completed 18/07/2015
Excellent installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve installed a complex entry lock at an entrance to a small block of flats, including both key locked and key pad operated door, matched to an existing installation. High quality fittings, very neat installation and competitive price. All completed on agreed dates.
2011-08-10 12:21:31.157 Posted on 06/07/2015 , work completed 06/07/2015
Trustworthy, reliable and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed my locks changing promptly. I rang out of hours and was able to receive advice that evening and arrange a time. Came the next morning. Changed the locks and cut additional spare keys. Reasonable price. Very friendly and clearly very experienced. Overall very impressed, would widely recommend!
NEgan15 Posted on 02/07/2015 , work completed 02/07/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Stephen to put a safe in my property. It turned out to be a great choice - I was given full advice and was not pushed into buying from the more expensive range. Really pleased with every aspect of my experience with them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/01/2015 , work completed 17/01/2015