We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Abbott Electrical

Profile thumb abbott   pic
4.9

25 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Hello, I'm Brian Abbott and I set up Abbott Electrical in 2006 to serve commercial and residential customers in the Cambridge area with all electrical services, including testing, rewires and changing consumer units. With more than 40 years' experience in the trade, I know I can give a first class quality service and at an affordable price.

I'm ELESCA and Part P registered, to guarantee you quality electrical services. So please don't hesitate to call and I'll give you the best advice I can.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electric Showers
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
25 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Electrical safety & re-wire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank assessed my old wiring quickly and as suspected it was not up to standard so he came up with the most cost effective and easily installed solution to fix the problem with no need for specialist equipment. He sourced good materials and set to work early and ended up finishing late but got it done in a day which was good going considering he had a lot of distance to cover and a lot of cable to clip up.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 22/08/2019
Quick, efficient, helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fire alarm fixed at short notice for which I’m very grateful! Incredibly reasonable fee. Advice given on replacing 2 fire alarms and estimated fee given for that. Communication was easy from first contact. Will absolutely use again!
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 04/04/2019 , work completed 04/04/2019
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had several jobs done by Frank. He fixed up our new towel heater, and when it turned out the fittings were different and it was going to take a little longer he didn't charge any extra. He also fitted our night store heater and had lots of ideas as to how to do it efficiently. He is helpful, efficient and fun to work with. I would always turn to him first with any electrical problem.
jadefish7 Posted on 11/06/2018 , work completed 11/06/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank is extremely competent and nothing was too much trouble. I would have no trouble to recommend him.
George, Cambridgeshire Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Good Job by Reliable Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brian did a great job and gave us good advice on our lighting. He responded promptly to enquiries. I'll hire him again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/11/2017 , work completed 06/11/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient, helpful and methodical. Would recommend him to future clients.
David, Cambridgeshire Posted on 09/05/2017 , work completed 09/05/2017
Top marks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top marks to Mr Abbott, of Abbott Electrical, for his professional & very pleasant attitude to the work he was asked to do. I would have no hesitation in recommending his services to anyone. I personally am totally satisfied with the end result.
Kathleen, Cambridgeshire Posted on 27/04/2017 , work completed 27/04/2017
Very pleased to work with him
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a kitchen refurbished. Since the beginning Frank knew how to handle me, and we came up with a very simple set-up. I worked with him and it was nice to see his knowledge and his tools. In the end he also helped me to fit the light (with a camera to pass the cable) and finding a carpenter that was very competent too. One night the power supply tripped and he found the issue on one wire that was drilled by another contractor.... The only issue is we forgot to put capping on the cable, and it made the task a little bit more difficult to fill the holes / painted afterward.
nglaenze Posted on 28/11/2016 , work completed 28/11/2016
Good job & very good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would use him again.
David, Cambridgeshire Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Exceptional work carried out to a high standard by a professional tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The first hour was spent setting out ceiling lights to suit new layout of kitchen, these were put in by laser too ensure they were in a straight line, excellent work along with quality fittings. The second stage all sockets were marked out along the walls, the locations were agreed with myself before being cut in. These were fitted to a high standard along with quality fittings. All the work was pleasing to the eye. Frank is a very pleasant individual, who treats your home like his own, everything is always left clean and tidy, anyone who uses him won't be disappointed as he goes out of his way to oblige.
Richard, Cambridgeshire Posted on 04/09/2015 , work completed 04/09/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank answered my email swiftly, came the next afternoon to see what needed doing, then came two days later and fixed the problem. Friendly, professional and efficient. Would used again without question.
Julie, Cambridgeshire Posted on 28/08/2015 , work completed 28/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job done.
Tanya Posted on 10/10/2014 , work completed 10/10/2014
So pleased we found Frank!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank is fantastic, reliable, efficient & friendly. He has sorted out a range of things for us very effectively & reasonably.
Helen, Cambridgeshire Posted on 05/09/2014 , work completed 05/09/2014
Great, honest tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank is always professional & efficient, having done work for us before, we have found him to be trustworthy & friendly as well.
Chris, Cambridgeshire Posted on 02/09/2014 , work completed 02/09/2014
Really reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended from prompt quote through to completion & very reasonable priced. A genuinely nice man.
Adrian, Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/08/2014 , work completed 22/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank did the wiring in our garden a couple of years ago. He came back this year to find a fault that had occured. Frank is very conscientious and worked very long days to get the original job completed. Frank is very reliable and dependable.
Lynn_B Posted on 19/08/2014 , work completed 19/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had previously used Frank on another job in the house so we had no hesitation in calling him back to install some stair lights in a refurbished staircase. He sourced a very good set of lights which we hadnÔøΩt seen before and supervised the carpenters prior to installation. He was, as usual, professional and very cost effective.
chewitt26 Posted on 02/07/2014 , work completed 02/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank did excellent work to fit my consumer units,, and few other electrical works around the house. He is very responsible and his work is of a high quality and very reasonably priced, will not need to look for any other electrician, as will always be using Frank...recomend him 100%
carcam Posted on 16/06/2014 , work completed 16/06/2014
Interior & exterior electrical work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank has completed 3 different lighting installations for us in the last few months and we can recommend his work, reliability and value for money.
229230 Posted on 22/03/2014 , work completed 22/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank moved an electrical socket, installed an extractor fan in the bathroom, LED downlights in the hall, a new programmer in the hall and a wireless thermostat/receiver. The job took exactly as long as Frank's estimate and the cost was accurate too. The work was of a high quality and I am very pleased with the result. I would wholeheartedly recommend Frank.
jonnoeltoro Posted on 10/02/2014 , work completed 10/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank replaced some old ceiling down lights with new LEDs and also some under-cabinet lights in our kitchen. He carried out the job very professionally and quickly and gave us a competitive price. He is not only a good spark but is very approachable and an interesting man! We have no hesitation in recommending him.
chewitt26 Posted on 08/11/2013 , work completed 08/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frank recently did excellent work to fit my induction hob, and few other electrical works around the house. He is very reasonable in price without any compromise in quality of work....definitely recommend him.
prash94 Posted on 03/01/2013 , work completed 03/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted earth rod, new consumer unit and re wired kitchen. Helpful, reliable, knowledgeable and trust-worthy. Came when he said he would and charges are competitive. Would recommend to anyone doing work. Nice to meet such thorough tradespeople
mmmmcupcake Posted on 12/09/2011 , work completed 12/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Frank for an electrical check and rewiring of the kitchen. He was professional, turned up when he said he would and reasonable. He explained everything fully and nothing was too much trouble. The job was finished quickly and on top of this he is a wonderful man too!
mmmmcupcake Posted on 08/09/2011 , work completed 08/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced our old wired-fuse consumer unit with an RCD protected unit. One-man business. Very pleasent manner, friendly yet efficient service. Cost and time estimates were accurate and the price very reasonable. Very thorough, everything done according to the regulations, thoroughly tested, and properly registered - as it should be. No hesitation in recommending Abbott Electrical.
prm13 Posted on 11/02/2011 , work completed 11/02/2011