We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Able Felt Roofing Ltd

Profile thumb   dad  bri and uncle dick in 1959  small

5.0

43 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–19:00
  • Monday 07:30–19:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–19:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–19:00
  • Thursday 07:30–19:00
  • Friday 07:30–19:00
  • Saturday 07:30–19:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a small family business born from generations of roofers going back over a hundred years.
Our ways of working and ethics are as they used to be, our methods are the same, we just use modern materials now.
Because we are family business, there are no sub contractors, no one to come and do you're job differently to the job I have described.
We are members of Constructionline, which is a government run pre qualified scheme, which means we have insurances, health and safety, etc.
We are also members of Essex County Council's Buy With Confidence scheme, We have been vetted and crb checked.Whatever work we do is done to the same high standard. We work for several schools in Havering and also Havering Council.
We take pride in making customers property look better for us having carried out work. You will see from any of the pictures of our work how everything is all set out neat, tidy, equal and straight, which shows that we care
We are also Velux certified installers an are registered with Trustmark.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Flat roofing
    • Roof and skylights
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Chimneys
  • Canopies

  • Insulation installers

  • More Services

    • flat roof insulation
    • velux windows
    • sun pipes
    • garage roofs

Customer reviews

5.0
43 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Thorough and professional from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and Paul were great. They fitted our new shelter roof. The work was to a high standard. What we loved particularly was they are both quiet men and got on with the job in hand without any shouting to each other or radio blaring. Job completed to a high standard and left clean and tidy Good guys doing a good honest job. Would highly recommend Able Felt Roofing
Sue in Essex Posted on 22/10/2020 , work completed 15/10/2020
Excellent workmanship by skilled craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm had the unenviable task of re-doing a porch roof that had been badly designed and constructed by someone else. I had confidence in Malcolm from the start, because he thoroughly assessed the job and explained in detail what needed to be done to correct the problems. He also fixed my leaky guttering, sorted out a blockage on my garage roof and repaired a lean-to roof that has seen better days and was leaking badly. Malcolm worked hard, with great skill and attention to detail, and tidied up just as meticulously before he left each day. He did a brilliant job on my porch roof and all the other jobs I asked him to undertake. He also supplied before-and-after photographs so that I was kept fully informed. It's nice to find someone who really takes pride in what they do. I would not hesitate to recommend Able Felt Roofing Ltd. and will definitely use them again in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/10/2020 , work completed 28/09/2020
Repair to flat roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our thanks to Able Felt Roofing Ltd for an excellent repair to our flat roof. Malcolm and Paul arrived promptly as arranged, worked quickly and efficiently and did a really good job. Their work was very neat and precise. When it was finished they left the site clean and tidy. We would have no hesitation in recommending Able Felt Roofing Ltd.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/09/2020 , work completed 22/09/2020
New garage roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and Paul were first class in organising and fitting a new garage roof with absetos to be taken away! They helped choose a suitable roof and suggested any other work to be done! They were very competitive and the results are fantastic! Would not hesitate to use them again!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/09/2020 , work completed 14/09/2020
Garage roof replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We previously had a repair on the extension flat roof and requested a quote for replacement of the garage roof , This was completely stripped and beams replaced . The garage is now waterproofed and has avoided recent storms without problem . Highly recommended
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/08/2020 , work completed 13/02/2017
Repointing chimney stack
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm was very professional and helpful from the start. I was advised that I needed scaffolding and he arranged this all for me and work was started the next day.He informed me of any problems as they arose.He was meticulous in his work and everything was left neat and tidy. He even took photos to show me his work close up. I would highly recommend this company.
Theresa Posted on 10/05/2020 , work completed 07/05/2020
Complete professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and Paul unfortunately took the unenviable task of sorting my leaking extension roof which had wrong flashings installed on my 4 Velux windows, which was product of a rogue builder. From the start they were professional and meticulous and communication was spot on explaining what they had found and even recording the problems they encountered and then explaining the pros and cons for each possible decision and also knowing how costly suggesting ways in which they could save us money. They were very honest in items that might have cost extra from the start The extra they charged for labour was very reasonable. They were professional from start to finish and they were immaculate in tidying up and their work. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/03/2020 , work completed 13/03/2020
Excellent and efficient work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Able Felt Roofing replaced three large Velux windows, removed a fourth and reinstated the tiling. Malcolm and Paul are a father and son team, with many years of experience, who work brilliantly well together. Malcolm provided a detailed quote so we knew exactly what the job involved. He is a good communicator and we were always kept informed about the schedule. The standard of work was second to none, surfaces below the windows were covered with dust sheets and all dust was vacuumed away, often as it was being produced. The installation required re-angling of the new Velux frames to meet the minimum pitch specification and this was expertly done. The adjoining roof materials have been seamlessly dressed in and every aspect of the finish is aesthetically and functionally perfect. I have already recommended Able to a family member and would not hesitate to do so for others. If, like me, you have old Velux windows that are weathered and need attention; then I don't think you could find safer, more professional hands to trust your house in.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/03/2020 , work completed 14/02/2020
Outstanding work carried out by Able Felt Roofing Ltd.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new Velux Window fitted by Able and the work was carried out to a very high standard. We found Malcolm to be an articulate worker, polite and very respectful of our property. All rubbish removed and left clean and tidy. Highly recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/01/2020 , work completed 20/01/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Able Felt Roofing Ltd (Malcolm & Paul) to undertake the replacement of the Fascia around my garage. Also had to form a new felt drip to the garage front. All work was undertaken in a very thorough and professional manner and all rubbish cleared from the site. The work was completed within the day and I would not hesitate in recommending this company to undertake any type of roofing job. Many thanks.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/11/2019 , work completed 11/10/2019
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My guttering was totally replaced along with the facia and soffit boards. Problems with pealing paint on the facia and soffit boards also in heavy rain, there was water running down my exterior walls, forced me to have all this work undertaken. There is a small section of flat roof over the front of my garage which is part of my house which also was undertaken at the same time. All this work was done in a very professional manner, and though it took a couple of days, there was no mess or materials left lying about. I am most pleased with the finished result. Even neighbours have commented on how good this all looks now. I would recommend Able Felt Roofing if you need this kind of work done. The options were explained in a very clear and polite way, no hard sell.
Grandad G Posted on 06/10/2019 , work completed 09/04/2018
Highly recommended roofer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our existing flat roof had a few leaks and as it was twenty years old we decided to have it re-covered. Both my neighbour and a friend had work carried out by Malcolm and his son from Able Felt Roofing and recommended them. From quotation to the work being completed we found Able Felt Roofing to be highly professional with a very high standard of finish. Price was very competitive and based on the work carried out would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/09/2019 , work completed 11/09/2019
New Shed Roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Malcolm and Paul (Able Felt Roofing) previously for myself and also for my mother. And their work has always been very professional. This time the roof on my mother's garden shed had caved in through rot. Malcolm came soon after my call to examine the damage and gave a quote for replacement the same day. After accepting the quote Malcolm came within two days to do the work and finished within a few hours. All rubbish was cleared away and everything left tidy. The only sign of any work having been done was a lovely new shed roof. I cannot fault their work or professionalism and highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 27/09/2019
When all else fails...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After having an awful experience with another "roofer?" I contacted Abel Roofing. Malcolm and his son came and inspected the damage and confidently agreed to remedy the work. A few weeks later all leaks are gone and estimate was as quoted. Highly recommended!
Steve, Greater London Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 02/05/2019
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot thank Malcolm and Paul enough for doing such an excellent job they are very though and conscientious about about everything they do and leave the area very clean and tidy every day. Thanks.
Ken, Upminster Posted on 14/08/2019 , work completed 13/08/2019
Superb quality finish that only years of experience in the business can provide
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Able Felt Roofing in the past in fact 25 years ago to do a small felt roof on our house and it still fine after all those years. We decided to replace our conservatory roof with a felt finish and 2 Lanterns after various estimates we decided to choose Able Felt Roofing once again. Despite the poor weather Malcolm and Paul were able to do a superb job the finish was excellent and their knowledge of roofing is second to none so we were assured of a very high quality job at a what we believe was a reasonable price and timescale and that is what they achieved.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/08/2019 , work completed 19/07/2002
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a leaking workshop roof, water dripping onto my electrics. A telephone call and Malcolm came and assessed the problem. A quote followed which was agreed. The work was completed two days later. I cannot fault the quality of the work or the service I received.
John, Greater London Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 12/06/2019
Reliable family company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and Paul had done work for us in the past, this time I needed a chimney cowl fitted to stop birds falling down the chimney. Malcolm went up in a cherry picker and managed to adapt the cowl to fit a very large chimney. He is very conscientious and tidy and gives good considered advice. Paul his son came and fixed a leaking porch roof making a new lead valley to direct the water into the gutter and altered the tiles to suit. They are both reliable and very pleasant people to deal with. I would not hesitate to recommend them as they work well together or apart.
Customer in Essex Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 27/05/2019
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was struggling to find someone to do extensive repairs a Scout hall roof when I remembered what a great job Malcom did on a flat roof at my home 20 years beforehand ( which is still going strong) Malcom and Paul had to overcome several difficult problems on the roof which they finished to a very high standard. Malcom and Paul are always on time, turn up when they say they will, very clean and tidy and always polite. Thank you for a fantastic job.
Hazel Posted on 10/06/2019 , work completed 10/02/2019
Great work, very tidy job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I previously had Malcolm and Paul come round and fit a Velux in my House they did an excellent job so they were my first port of call when I needed a roof on my new build garage. The job they did is excellent, they did all the timber joists the felt roof and fascias and guttering it looks great, really solid and incredible neat. They are reliable and turned up on time everytime they said they would.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/06/2019 , work completed 24/05/2019
Repair a leaking roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company was recommended to us by friends and from the outset they were highly professional in their dealings with us. In particular Malcolm responded very quickly to our enquiry and gave a detailed breakdown as to our options. Throughout, he kept us up to date regarding the work and explained fully what needed to be done. The work was completed (as was explained to us) and on the day both Malcolm and Paul were punctual , professional and always very polite. On completion, the worn parts of the roof valley and damaged timber were shown to us and everywhere was cleared up thoroughly. I would have no hesitation in recommending Able roofing to anybody looking for a roofer. Tony (Hornchurch)
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/06/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019
Great work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Able Felt Roofing for several years now for all our roofing and guttering jobs and have always been extremely happy and satisfied with Malcolm and Paul's work. Malcolm recently finished replacing the felt on our shed roof and supplied and fitted new barge boards at the same time. Very pleased and satisfied, as ever. Always professional, reliable, punctual, courteous and trustworthy. We have no problem leaving them to get on with the job while out. Would highly recommend them, you will not be disappointed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/04/2019 , work completed 06/04/2019
Guttering and Fascia Boards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was aware of Able Roofing as they had done work for my place of work in the past and the Premises Manager recommended them. Glad he did ... a quote from another company was a lot higher and they didn’t identify the actual problem. Left them to get on with the job whilst I was at work. Everything was left extremely tidy on my return. Would recommend with no hesitation.
Customer in Essex Posted on 14/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Guttering and fachia board
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided to have Able Roofing as they did an excellent job on my Bowling Club roof, which was paid by Redbridge Council. He worked on his own most of the time, he was trustworthy and did not stop working for the whole of the time he was here. He was a clean worker and he was left on his own on the last day as my wife had to go to hospital. On return he had tidied everywhere. I would recommend him and Able roofing to anyone who wants a very good job carried out.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/03/2019 , work completed 18/02/2019
Prompt response and high standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and Paul have worked for us before and we have been pleased with their expertise. On this occasion, my parents needed help with a leaking roof. Malcolm responded promptly and after investigation explained what had caused the problem and advised what repairs were required. A quote was provided and accepted. The work was done without delay and to a high standard. We would certainly recommend Able Felt Roofing.
Customer in Essex Posted on 20/02/2019 , work completed 23/10/2018
Replacement extension and garage roofs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement extension and garage roofsWe got 3 quotes 2 fibreglass and Able Felt Roofing limited. One of the fibreglass companies and Able were fairly comparative financially. What swung me to Able was 40 years experience good ideas for the garage roof and the fact that our extension roof was 20 years old felt and had lasted well so go with what you know. Also it is a local company something we wanted.Glad we did. Malcolm and Paul came each day on time polite and hard working. They dealt with everything including moving stuff that was in the way. The work was carried out effectively and efficiently and with a care for health and safety. The extension roof is fantastic with new soffits and guttering. And white stone it looks fantastic. Malcolm suggested changing our garage roof from corrugated clear plastic to steel with filon panels. This allowed a lot of light to flood in. He also fitted galvanised steel flashing and took it over the front brickwork which made the brickwork safer. What a great father and son team. They completed the job took all the rubbish away and returned our garden to how it was before. Both roofs are excellent we are very happy.I would definitely recommend Able Felt Roofing in fact I already have.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/11/2018 , work completed 09/11/2018
Replacement roof for workshop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended Able Felt Roofing from a friend. The works was to replace the roof on my workshop including new sections of the roof its self, new felting, fascias and guttering. I can highly recommend Malcolm and Paul’s workmanship and with the completion of the roof, the workshop looks like a new building!
rcoleman Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018
Replacement Garage Roof and guttering
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot fault the workmanship from Malcolm and Paul. They explained every stage and options available. They kept to schedule and were on time everyday. They are a professional and polite family business. The excellent finish to the work was exceptional. We would be pleased to recommend them to anyone.
Keith Martin Posted on 06/07/2018 , work completed 06/07/2018
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good professional job. Contractor very user friendly - would certainly use again & recommend to others.
Alan, Essex Posted on 18/07/2016 , work completed 18/07/2016
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would not hesitate to recommend this trader.
Valerie, Essex Posted on 02/07/2016 , work completed 02/07/2016
Reliable & trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Able Roofing organised all work as promised. The job was done with friendliness and reliability. The fellows, father and son, were helpful and reliable, which is great for us - an older couple, disabled husband. Very pleased with the work and finish. Great!
Evelyn, Essex Posted on 14/09/2015 , work completed 14/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would Thoroughly and unreservedly recommend this company. Quotation prepared and sent promptly, cheaper than 2 other quotes I received. Arrived on time each of the four days it took and Malcolm and son Paul worked hard every day and produced an excellent finish. Cleared site of rubbish and swept all around our bungalow on the final day as well as clearing up each evening. Excellent workers and a fantastic finished job! Must admit that I was dubious at all the 5star ratings of previous clients but I could not fault them either. Thankyou very much and I will recommend you to any of my friends requiring a first class roofing job.
Richard.barnes Posted on 12/08/2015 , work completed 12/08/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good workman. Work done excellent. Cleans up and leaves a perfect job well done.
Joan, Essex Posted on 27/05/2015 , work completed 27/05/2015
Garage Roofing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used for garage roofing and very happy with Malcolm's work.
Steve, Essex Posted on 15/01/2015 , work completed 15/01/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Malcolm and his son to Extend the flat roof and also provided new guttering fascia. All work was completed on time and I would gladly recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/12/2014 , work completed 20/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've had Malcolm and his son back to do another job for us - this time a flat roof on a kitchen extension. They quoted us a good price and did the job in the time they said. They worked very hard over two days and we are extremely pleased with the outcome.
linbar Posted on 24/10/2014 , work completed 24/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and his son have just finished a complete new garage roof including new boards, fascias and guttering. I found them to be hard workers who turned up when they said they would (weather permitting) and they have done a really good job. They cleaned up afterwards and took away all the rubbish. They were polite and friendly and quoted a fair price. I recommend their work and have now asked them to replace another roof for us. Well done!
linbar Posted on 08/05/2014 , work completed 08/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Able Roofing replaced my garage roof in 2011 and did an excellent job.the work was done efficiently and to the original estimate.In 2014 my neighbour had his roof replaced with a rubber membrane by another Company whose work was shoddy and faulty damaging my roof in the process! Able roofing repaired the damage done cleanly and efficiently .I highly recommend their work.
Urchin Posted on 11/03/2014 , work completed 11/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Able Roofing replaced a roof on a pair of garages with galvanised aluminium sheeting plus a tiled frontage. Very efficient, arrived early, took away all rubbish. I am very satisfied.
femart Posted on 04/11/2013 , work completed 04/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm and his son fitted two sun pipes. He provided us with all the information we needed, answered all our questions and was very straight forward to deal with. He came when he said he would and overcame the obstacles in a calm and positive way. He also replaced some roof tiles which had been replaced by a previous roofer with reclaimed tiles which blended in with the existing therefore the overall look was much better.
mender Posted on 09/06/2013 , work completed 09/06/2013
Roof refurbished
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Malcolm refurbished the roof. The felt had leaked on the roof and he was able to fix it.
John, Essex Posted on 15/11/2011 , work completed 15/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Originally Able Felt Roofings provided a new roof to our 1930's garage and subsequently made reparations including some new tiling to our ground floor living room extention at the back of the house. Work was conscientiously carried out in a positive manner and estimates adhered to.
frinton Posted on 18/08/2009 , work completed 18/08/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Originally Able Felt Roofings provided a new roof to our 1930's garage and subsequently made reparations including some new tiling to our ground floor living room extention at the back of the house. Work was conscientiously carried out in a positive manner and estimates adhered to.
frinton Posted on 01/09/2008 , work completed 01/09/2008