Endorsed by Which?

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

4.9

102 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Damp proofing surveyors
    • Timber preservation surveyors
    • Water proofing surveyors
  • More Services

    • legal report for landlord and tenant disputes
    • surveys
    • survey

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
102 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fast and informative damp and timber survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted AR Surveyors to follow up on a recommendation in our building survey to review elevated moisture readings in a property for purchase. Within a week, the company had organised access to the property with the estate agent, attended the property, explained the main findings over the phone, delivered a written report, and answered some follow-up questions. The report itself contained detailed and helpful information relating to the short-term and longer-term maintenance of the property. The surveyor was kind enough to comment on some relevant sentences from the building survey. Overall, the conclusions seemed well reasoned and the recommendations make sense. I am very happy with the services provided by AR Surveyors.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 10/06/2024 , work completed 07/06/2024
Good Survey and well explained on phone
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As an ex asbestos surveyor, I have a reasonable eye for building reports. The report was thorough and contained the key info I needed to proceed with my purchase. Ray also explained it on the phone to me very patiently, even though I was having a slight technical issue with getting my computer to cooperate while I was working on it. Would recommend.
Customer in Monmouthshire Posted on 17/05/2024 , work completed 07/05/2024
Damp & Timber survey and ongoing advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In the process of buying our flat we hired AR Surveyors to conduct a Damp & Timber survey which was efficient and thorough with lots of recommendations and information. Since buying the flat we have gone back to them a couple of times for further advice on how to tackle certain damp related issues which they have been incredibly helpful with and pointed us in the right direction. Invaluable support for first time buyers, navigating the challenges of renovating a Victorian flat.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/05/2024 , work completed 10/03/2022
Professional and speedy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful at point of enquiry, excellent service (report) and just as helpful post-survey to discuss all findings in detail. Survey was completed on a Saturday and report was shared on the Monday, even though it was a bank holiday - excellent all round.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/05/2024 , work completed 06/05/2024
Ray is a reliable and trusted damp surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend AR Surveyors and Ray enough. Firstly, I have used Ray’s services for four properties over the last few years (as a portfolio landlord) and I have found his work to be accurate, reliable and realistic. Ray does not recommend traders and this ensures an unbiased assessment of any damp, mould, condensation concerns you may have. If you are purchasing an older property and there are any concerns with respect to damp or mould, I would highly recommend contacting Ray for an honest assessment. Many other firms offer “free” assessments, wherein which they would attend your property to ultimately tell you your DPC has failed and you need a new one and charge you upwards of £10k to needlessly chemically inject your walls. This is such commonplace and requires some regulation, but I have been lucky enough to come across AR and Ray who have been able to save me huge amounts of money. In my first property, the survey noted some damp and we contacted a “free” service who told us the usual and then we contacted Ray who identified it was an issue with the guttering causing penetrating damp, which was a far cheaper remediation than what the other service offered. In addition, Ray and Jenny at the office have always been available for follow up questions and clarifications. Not to mention their reliability and quality, their service is absolutely invaluable. Hope this helps anyone out there!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/05/2024 , work completed 26/04/2024
Ray saved our house purchase!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had our mortgage offer expire just before exchange, we were under immense pressure to get a new mortgage offer in place. The new lender asked for a timber and damp survey which was inconvenient and had the potential to hold up the process quite a lot. I explained to AR and they turned our survey round very quickly, our new offer was sorted asap and contracts exchanged. Everything was easy to organise with AR and payment and communication was nice and straightforward. Thank you!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/04/2024 , work completed 13/03/2024
Not reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a damp survey but specifically we needed a survey to clarify if the property we wanted to buy had cavity wall insulation which the primary survey suggested it might have and was not recommended for the house given its elevated and exposed site. I contacted Ray and Jenny and asked if with his survey he could definitively tell me if the house had cavity wall insulation. Retrospectively I noted he phoned me to reassure me that yes he could categorically tell me if there was or wasn’t but didn’t respond in writing to my email. We got the report at a cost of £427 which was largely a formulaic report based on a proforma and regarding the specific question of whether there was cavity wall insulation, it stated‘ I cannot categorically confirm whether or not retro fit wall insulation is in-situ or not however if it had been installed I would expect to visually find installation “filled” drill holes through the external renders and face brickwork always associated with the installation which I found no obvious, readily seen or apparent evidence of. Albeit conjecture based upon that seen and noted and the results of my test procedures we can reasonably assume it has not been installed.’ I was naturally upset about this unhelpful and legally defensive report but as we were in a hurry to complete the sale we proceeded based on the advice of Mr Bakers survey. Today, on removing a vent we discovered cavity wall insulation beads. We are unhappy .. to understate the matter.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 23/03/2024 , work completed 17/05/2023
The trader replied (on 31/03/2024)
I have considered my clients adverse comments and I have reviewed the survey report I provided and the e-mail thread between us. Given it’s been almost a year since the finalization of the instruction frankly I have no recollection of any verbal conversations between us however based upon the statement I made in my report specifically “I cannot categorically confirm whether or not retro fit wall insulation is in-situ or not” I do accept the probability that there was a particular debate between us regarding this matter however, I am absolutely certain that I would not have stated that I could categorically confirm its presence, which is why there is no mention of it by e-mail, most likely I would have said that only an intrusive inspection would be able to confirm this which not only would I not undertake as it is destructive but legal written consent would need to be obtained from the Vendor prior to it, it could be that the latter was not preferred due to the clients stated haste to proceed to completion of the purchase. In regard to the client stating that insulation has been found based upon me finding no evidence of (filled) drill holes anywhere which is the only practical way to install it I am astounded to read it has reportedly been found, the exterior design of the property being part brick and part render is such that it would be almost impossible to conceal these, I have researched to ascertain if there is another way of installing it and can find no alternative.
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy and efficient. I contacted Academy Remedial Surveyors about a long-standing serious problem that previous surveyors failed to resolve or give adequate and honest explanations of. Ray has been a breath of fresh-air. Efficient, friendly, experienced and explaining things to me in plain-English on what is not a straight-forward issue. He has given me a comprehensive report and followed up with a phone call to discuss things. His recommendations seem to be the most cost-effective and efficient proposals. Time will tell but for the first time, I feel hopeful that the issue will finally be resolved.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/09/2023 , work completed 25/09/2023
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything was really straightforward from start to finish. Jenny provided a quote, arranged payment and booked the timber and damp survey extremely quickly. Ray carried out the survey and was brilliant. He gave us helpful context and reassured us that the property was in good condition and didn't need any work doing. Using an independent surveyor gives extra reassurance that no work is being recommended unnecessarily. The survey was provided within a few days and clearly explained all the findings.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/07/2023 , work completed 17/07/2023
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We’d been struggling for years to work out what had been causing the damp and mould in our flat.. Ray did a very comprehensive survey and gave us a very clear report with recommendations. Subsequently he advised as we m’implémenter his recommendations . Throughly recommended
Customer in Medway Posted on 07/07/2023 , work completed 27/06/2023