We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

Profile thumb thumb ar surveyors header

5.0

69 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We are NOT a franchise, our staff are directly employed, we do NOT use sub-contractors, we do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Damp proofing surveyors
    • Timber preservation surveyors
    • Water proofing surveyors
  • More Services

    • legal report for landlord and tenant disputes
    • surveys
    • survey

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
69 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time, very punctual, introduced himself, we had a chat about the survey about what was going to be done. He understood what I was after, proceeded to ask which areas of the property were affected, showed him into the first bedroom, showed him the damp, he checked and I then showed him to the bathroom. He surveyed that part into the second bedroom using his equipment and experience he identified our problems. Everything discussed was in the final report. I was pleased to know it was not structural/rising damp. Final report held recommendations for the problem solving. For peace of mind and experience I would highly recommend them. Made sure I understood everything.
Neil, South Hampton Posted on 30/01/2020 , work completed 30/01/2020
Thorough, attentive, courteous, and effective
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Academy Remedial Surveyors twice, and on both occasions found them helpful and courteous. They are thorough, and attentive, and their advice works. Their prices are reasonable and they are happy to give follow up advice. Very happy to recommend them to others.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 21/01/2020 , work completed 18/01/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray completed a very comprehensive survey which has enabled me to understand any issues to be dealt with and the appropriate steps to take. The survey came back quickly, was thorough and professional but also easy to understand and included some helpful pointers such as recommended purchases. All this at a very reasonable price. Thank you Ray and also thank you to Jenny in the office for an excellent service.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 17/01/2020 , work completed 03/01/2020
Did exactly what they promised / offered
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have a serious damp issue in my loo. Before I called on this company I had a range of building contractors offering a range of solutions and I was lost and confused! Ray was very pleasant and professional, arriving on time and submitting his report a day later! His report was extremely comprehensive and thorough, detailing my options going forward. This has made it very easy for me to now move to commissioning works as outlined, with the specs as suggested. Couldn't have asked for anything more.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
Efficient and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had been worried by a musty smell in the living room and was concerned that we might have damp round the chimney breast. Two builders took a look and gave conflicting reports (neither looked outside, but just ran a meter of some kind over the walls). This service, independent of any builder, is more to be relied upon, and I was reassured by the thorough inspection. The problem was identified - penetrating damp from damaged rendering on the external wall - and the report gave clear details about what should be done. The whole process went smoothly and efficiently, with helpful staff and a very quick result. A lot of unnecessary expenditure and upheaval has been saved, and I recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/01/2020 , work completed 08/01/2020
Fantastically quick response and thorough survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service was incredibly fast - I needed a survey that same day and within an hour an experienced surveyor was booked in. He talked me through the property, and explained that there was nothing to worry about - there was no damp anywhere in the flat! He then wrote his report that same day which arrived a few hours later and I was able to press ahead with no delay. The report was thorough and the service impressive. Thank you!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/11/2019 , work completed 28/11/2019
A survey I can trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My homebuyer survey noted some possible issues with the damp proof course, and recommended a damp survey completed. I was wary of the contractors that offered a free survey with a quotation for the works. How could they objectively survey the property when they are actively looking to sell you a service? Looking on Which, I found Academy Remedial Surveyors Ltd and I liked that they were completely independent. I explained to Ray over the phone what my concerns were and he was very helpful. They were reasonably priced and completed the survey promptly and thoroughly. No issue with rising damp or the damp proof course was identified. What a relief! Money well spent for peace of mind and a survey I can trust.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 19/10/2019 , work completed 19/10/2019
An excellent prompt service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My buyer's survey suggested there were a number of problems with damp which was worrying and could have involved expensive repairs and a damp course. Ray was very reassuring and identified very minor actions. His report arrived very promptly and was clear and easy to follow. During his visit/survey he was professional and polite. I am very glad I used him to provide a detailed survey. I cannot recommend him too highly
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/10/2019 , work completed 16/10/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend ARS Ltd. The service was great from the moment I contacted them. The survey was done within 3 days of first contact, and the report delivered a day and a half later. It was comprehensive and clear, and Ray was extremely helpful in discussing findings over the phone as well. All in all a first rate service. Would definitely use them on other properties.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/09/2019 , work completed 21/09/2019
Excellent Report Saving Me £6000
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I received a very detailed and clear report on damp in my flat from this independent specialist damp surveyor for £240+vat. The survey was done a few days after my enquiry and the report arrived a few days later. The report showed there was no rising damp. Before this a damp contractor had quoted over £5000+vat for rising damp work. So I saved £6000. The damp industry is rife with con men. So I f you suspect damp then I’d strongly recommend getting this independent surveyor to report on it before you get a remedial damp company involved.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/09/2019 , work completed 07/09/2019