Endorsed by Which?

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

4.9

103 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Damp proofing surveyors
    • Timber preservation surveyors
    • Water proofing surveyors
  • More Services

    • legal report for landlord and tenant disputes
    • surveys
    • survey

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
103 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We’d been struggling for years to work out what had been causing the damp and mould in our flat.. Ray did a very comprehensive survey and gave us a very clear report with recommendations. Subsequently he advised as we m’implémenter his recommendations . Throughly recommended
Customer in Medway Posted on 07/07/2023 , work completed 27/06/2023
Suggested only one solution, which is one we had already tried and had failed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The surveyor attended our property as requested. I gave him a history of the problem (water ingress from the area around the outside chimney) and described some of the actions we have taken to try to remedy the issue (new chimney cowl, flaunching redone, outside wall repointed). I then left him alone to conduct his physical examination, which seemed cursory considering the brief time he spent on it (he was under no time pressure from us and could have spent as long as he liked on it). His subsequent report offered only a single suggestion for a remedy - applying a water repellant to the outside wall. We have already tried this but to no avail, although he didn't know this as I had failed to mention it (he hadn't asked either). When I asked via email whether he had any other ideas, all he could suggest was checking the repellant we had used (brand name Bostik, still within its guarantee period and, in any event, not the original cause of the problem). We expressed our dissatisfaction with the service as we expected a qualified surveyor whose website bears a stamp from the Property Care Association to have the necessary skills to be able to better identify where and/or how rainwater is penetrating the wall and to come up with reasonable solutions. Instead, we have been left no further forward and out of pocket. We requested a partial refund but have been denied.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 06/07/2023 , work completed 20/06/2023
The trader replied (on 18/07/2023)
I have to report that whilst everybody has an opinion this testimonial is totally unjust and does not reflect the true events. In addition, this client lodged a formal complaint against me with the Property Care Association (PCA) who are our regulatory industry body, I have delayed posting my reply until the conclusion of their stringent investigation after considering all the facts and testimony. THEY CONCLUDED I HAD NO CASE TO ANSWER AND MY ACTIONS, PROCEDURES AND REPORTING WERE ALL IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR CODE OF PRACTICE. When possible part of my surveying procedures includes a debate with my clients to establish all relevant information appertaining to the problem akin to a Doctor and patient. This was partly achieved on this project but not fully, a very short time after I arrived the client had to participate on a video meeting and told me to close the door after me thus no more debate, further debate would have resulted in my knowing that a water repellent had previously been applied. With that subsequent knowledge and type of product I informed her that I had sent a technical enquiry to the manufacturer to determine its efficiency and stated we will work through everything to enable a resolve. Immediately after I received an e-mail dismissing me from my services and unbelievably and offensively stating I had "ripped her off" and demanding a refund of the fee charged albeit less minimal travel expenses.
Excellent, trusted advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray did a damp and timber inspection for us following a (wrong) issue flagged by a valuation survey. His excellent ardvice and experience disproved the false issues flagged, and indeed he held a call with the banks surveyor to talk them through why the issues raised were not an issue.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 22/05/2023 , work completed 12/05/2023
Pragmatic advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Academy were willing to be flexible to make sure we had a survey on the day we needed it. Ray arrived promptly and was professional and reassuring. He listened to our concerns and inspected every area that needed attention. He finished the report within a few hours as we needed it quickly in order to brief in our decorators who had started that day. It was an incredible service. He quickly answered my follow up questions. The advice seems sensible and low cost. We hope that it will result in us solving the damp problems.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 10/05/2023 , work completed 09/05/2023
Excellent customer service and a completely professional and efficient company. Best of the best!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment I first made a telephone enquiry to Academy Remedial Surveyors Ltd, I knew I was in a safe pairs of hands. Every question I had was promptly answered and I felt completely at ease. The communications were truly excellent. It is so refreshing to be able to speak to polite, courteous, efficient and helpful human beings. I initially chose AR Surveyors specifically because of their ‘which’ recommended status plus the fact this company clearly advocates unbiased surveying rather than trying to make up non-existent problems in order to sell an unneeded chemical remedy. I was not at all dissatisfied. Prior to survey I was able to speak directly to the office (Jenny is fantastic) and also to my surveyor (Ray) who kindly put my mind at ease with some queries I had following an RICS building survey on a house I am trying to purchase. I highly recommend using ARS Ltd if you need specialist independent damp/property expertise. There is no hard sell to purchase any chemical remedies because they are professional surveyors, NOT damp proof salesmen! I cannot stress this point enough. Beware of any company that sells remedial products and offers a ‘free survey’. I truly cannot recommend this company high enough. A+++
Customer in Berkshire Posted on 04/05/2023 , work completed 14/04/2023
Specialist Survey for property purchase
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick and efficient. The survey report was of high quality and prompt. We need the survey done urgently following some findings and recommendations from the Level 3 survey for our prospective property. As they mentioned in their website, they provide no remedial or construction service and this makes their survey independent and therefore has no incentive in exaggerating defects. Highly recommended.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 21/03/2023 , work completed 17/03/2023
Great work, very fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As first-time buyers we did not have too much knowledge about what to expect with a survey on our first house. Ray and Jenny Baker made the process as easy as could be. They surveyed the property within days of requesting and the report was very thorough and easy to understand. Great communication all the way through. Will definitely be using again in the future. Thank you.
Matthew in West Sussex Posted on 16/02/2023 , work completed 16/02/2023
Excellent service as usual.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Academy Remedial Surveyors in the past and the service given is exemplary. Mr. Ray Baker who did the timber and damp survey on a 500 year old cottage we are buying was superb. Very accommodating and the survey was sent to us the very next day. Cannot recommend them too highly. Five stars!!
Customer in Essex Posted on 28/09/2022 , work completed 27/09/2022
Fast and detailed assessment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used AR Surveyors to complete a damp and timber inspection on a period property as part of my mortgage application as a first time buyer. Despite the difficulties of their being tenants in situ they promptly arranged inspection within 5 days and produced a very detailed and helpful report that was very reassuring and easy to read. The service was very good value compared to other quotes.
Laurel in Hampshire Posted on 29/03/2022 , work completed 25/03/2022
Great report ahead of time!
I dealt with Ray Baker from ARS and he super helpful, a pleasure to talk with and completed our report ahead of time. The report was very detailed and exactly what I needed. What more can you ask for!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/10/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)