We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Acute Carpentry Ltd t/a Acute Homes

Profile thumb acute homes logo

4.9

30 Reviews

About

Formed in 2009 Acute Homes provides bespoke home renovations, extensions, loft conversions, Kitchens and new builds in and around the Oxfordshire area.

We pride ourselves on delivering innovative solutions and high-quality workman ship. We offer customers a wide range of services from design, project management and all the way through to completion.

Our team of highly trained carpenters, plumbers and electricians work together to provide you a hassle-free service start to finish, and we try to minimise the disruption that a home project can have on you by committing to keep everything as clean and tidy as possible throughout the work.

What we do

  • Carpenters

  • Loft and property converters

  • Builders

  • More Services

    • new builds

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
30 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Acute have carried out several projects for me in 2020, providing an excellent service. The quality of work is always to the highest standard, whilst being completed within budget and to agreed time scales. Communication with the team at Acute is excellent and they are always my first point of call when it comes to my building and carpentry needs.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 24/03/2021 , work completed 30/10/2020
Garden office
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acute Homes built me a fantastic garden office with integrated storage space and covered decking at the front. We are delighted with the project and the space has proved invaluable whilst working from home during the pandemic. Would not hesitate to recommend them - friendly & professional service all through the project - thanks to Paul and his team...
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 22/03/2021 , work completed 11/12/2020
The trader replied (on 22/03/2021)
Hi Mark, thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We thoroughly enjoyed working on your project, and although we provided the workforce, it was down to your design and vision that made it such a modern and innovative space. Please do give us a call when your office in Silicon Valley is opening. Best wishes, Paul and the team.
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As always Acute have done an amazing job. They're efficient, flexible and they completed the work to the highest quality. They also offer a fantastic level of customer service - this is a company that listens to exactly what you want and then delivers. I would happily recommend them and will be using them again in the future.
Ellen in Oxfordshire Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 31/01/2021
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Hi Ellen, we really appreciate your kind review and look forward to working with you for many years to come. Best wishes, Paul
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acute Carpentry's work was excellent. They kept us informed of what they where doing, and dealt with the problems they discovered. They always let us know the cost of any extra works required. They discussed changes where they felt things could be improved. Their staff were friendly and helpful. We were so pleased with their work later to do extra jobs we required.
Peter in Oxfordshire Posted on 25/10/2020 , work completed 21/10/2019
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thanks for your fantastic review Peter, it's much appreciated. Best wishes Paul
Great execution of a complicated job, responsive, accommodating and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had to replace our leaking conservatory roof and increase the pitch of the multiple Velux skylights in the roof. Paul was very helpful from the quote visit and identified problems with what we originally intended to do, and proposed a better quality solution. The job was done to a very high quality finish and within a good timeframe. There were some issues that came up during the job (which could have only been uncovered once work started) and these were resolved quickly and with good communication and advice. The guys who did the work were friendly and accommodating, and there was a minimum of disturbance to us while the work was being done. I would recommend Acute without hesitation.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 11/09/2020 , work completed 10/09/2020
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it's much appreciated. Best wishes, Paul.
Excellent quality and very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acute Homes undertook a knock-through between three rooms to create an open-plan kitchen/dining/family space. The work included ripping out, fitting steels, electrics, plumbing, levelling the floor and fitting the kitchen. The fees were transparent and Paul worked with me at all stages to look at costs. It was helpful to have that when unexpected changes were necessary. All of the team worked very efficiently and arrived to start work at 7.30 each day. All of the trades were on hand to respond to changes in schedule so no hold ups or lag time were experienced. The plan worked in well with our kitchen delivery ready for fitting. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Paul and his Acute Homes team.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 19/08/2020 , work completed 24/07/2020
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
I have passed your message on to the team, which was much appreciated. We hope you have been enjoying your new space. Thanks for choosing Acute Homes, best wishes, Paul.
5 Star service from Acute homes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wife & I contacted acute homes Asking for an estimate on a single storey extension. We wanted a no hassle job , worry free & that’s what we got ! From the start of the extension until the very end acute homes delivered an outstanding job to our home. From craftsmanship to communication, there is not one fault we could find & would recommend them to anyone . Any work done in the future on our home it will be acute homes .
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 14/08/2020 , work completed 06/12/2019
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
What a wonderful review, thank you. We really enjoyed your doing your project and are delighted you are really happy with it. Best wishes, Paul.
Roof velux
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work completed today so fitting not weather tested. The guys have been brilliant. Paul has been excellent and timely and the lads Jacob, Louis, and plasterer Ryan have been a pleasure to have in. They have been courteous, considerate, and tidy. Completing a good job on time and Very professionally. Louis even took time to wash my car after some tile dust landed. I highly recommend these people and already have done.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 13/08/2020 , work completed 13/08/2020
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you for this great review. I have made sure Louis, Jacob and Ryan are aware. They really appreciated your comments, as do I. Louis taking time to wash your car is nice to hear and feedback like this is always extra special as it shows that my staff care as much as I do. Best wishes, Paul.
Velux Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul's team arrived to install another Velux window and a beam across the fireplace. The guys arrived early and took the time to understand the work required and what I needed to be achieved. Whenever they came up against a problem, they took the time to explain to me what the issue was and how it could be solved, making sure I was comfortable with the solution. They were very clean and tidy, and very pleasant chaps. This was the second velux Paul's team had installed, and I am happy to recommend them.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 22/07/2020
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this review. Your repeat custom is really valued. Best wishes, Paul.
A recommendation truly justified.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It has been a pleasure to have such a friendly, flexible and efficient firm carrying out major work, over many months, to help transform our new home. All trades produced a very high standard of workmanship and finish, especially redecorations. Their successful liaison with other firms made our coordination of the whole work programme much easier than it might have been. Their administration has been most cooperative and helpful throughout. We are delighted with the outcome and thoroughly recommend acute carpentry. Work carried out from September 2017 to January 2018.
David, Oxfordshire Posted on 16/02/2018 , work completed 16/02/2018
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thanks David, for this great review. We really enjoyed doing your project. Best wishes, Paul.
Fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acute carpentry completed an attic conversion for us and we cannot recommend them highly enough. They are extremely professional (turning up on time every day and emailing information/decisions as appropriate), a pleasure to deal with (considerate, polite and clean) and importantly, do all work to a very high standard. We were particularly impressed with how proactive they were - never assuming any decision, however small - meaning that there were no surprises in the end product or final cost.
Caroline Johnstone Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Caroline for taking the time to submit this review. We really appreciate your kind words. Best wishes, Paul.
excellent Velux installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acute Carpentry installed a Velux skylight in a remote building with no services and did a brilliant job - helpful visit to site to agree what to do - excellent installation while we were away - all left tidy. Excellent value. Highly recommended.
Kathleen Robinson Posted on 11/07/2017 , work completed 11/07/2017
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank Kathleen for leaving this kind review, it's much appreciated. Best wishes, Paul.
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship, good time keeper. Cleaned away each day.
Pauline, Oxfordshire Posted on 26/06/2017 , work completed 26/06/2017
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thanks Pauline, much appreciated. Best wishes, Paul.
Brilliant job highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found this company through recommendation and would have no hesitation in using them again.
Jan, Oxfordshire Posted on 19/04/2017 , work completed 19/04/2017
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Jan. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review in 2017. Many thanks, Paul.
Emergency work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acute Carpentry sent a skilled carpenter within an hour of our emergency (rotten chipboard under shower room and adjoining bedroom). He did an excellent job, would recommend.
Marga, Oxfordshire Posted on 25/01/2017 , work completed 25/01/2017
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you, Marga. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review about the emergency work completed at your property in 2017. Many thanks, Paul.
Excellent work and customer service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great communication throughout. The team really worked with us to achieve what we wanted. The craftsmanship and attention to detail was superb. Not cheap, but we knew what we were going to pay in advance, and the team gave us confidence from the outset, and it was worth the money invested.
Joanne, Oxfordshire Posted on 06/01/2017 , work completed 06/01/2017
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Joanne. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review after our work in 2017. Best wishes, Paul.
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really impressed with Acute Carpentry; very friendly & professional.
David, Oxfordshire Posted on 01/12/2016 , work completed 01/12/2016
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you David. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review for the work we completed in 2016. Many thanks, Paul.
Excellent professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The rendering to the front of the house involved scaffolding as well as the actual work, hence the 10 day period. It took a bit longer than expected as it had to dry before it could be painted - and we had a week of rain. It looks fantastic! passers by have made comments on how good it looks. One man asked for details so he could get work done.
Bev, Oxfordshire Posted on 25/11/2016 , work completed 25/11/2016
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Bev. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. I hope you are keeping well, Best wishes, Paul.
Great work & very unique.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good communication from trader as to when He could & could not complete the work. Good quality finish.
Maryanne, Oxfordshire Posted on 04/04/2016 , work completed 04/04/2016
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Hello Maryanne, I hope you are well. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Many thanks and best wishes, Paul.
Professional, reliable company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, friendly and reliable company. Great advice on initial contact. Very high standard of workmanship. Great product.
John, Oxfordshire Posted on 21/03/2016 , work completed 21/03/2016
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you, John. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Many thanks, Paul.
Custom fitted wardrobes - very happy indeed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed wardrobes fitted across a room with curved ceiling and non-vertical walls. I now have a wall of storage built to my specification. Acute consulted every step of the way so I have exactly what I wanted and the result is excellent. Andy translated my thoughts into reality and both he and Liam did a fantastic job.
EB.Cholsey Posted on 02/03/2016 , work completed 02/03/2016
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Many thanks, Paul.
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used acute carpentry previously so were happy to have them back for a job initially to replace some broken roof tiles. It quickly became clear on closer inspection however, that an entire roof replacement was required. Acute took on the extra work and completed it to an excellent standard of work.
Chas, Oxfordshire Posted on 18/02/2016 , work completed 18/02/2016
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Chas. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. I hope you are keeping well, Best wishes, Paul.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked for a bespoke wooden staircase to replace a ladder leading to a loft. The job was excellently designed, and professionally fitted in what were pretty cramped conditions. Excellent work, done in friendly fashion (and well cleared up afterwards)
John, Northamptonshire Posted on 27/11/2015 , work completed 27/11/2015
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you John. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Many thanks, Paul.
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job, workman all friendly. Was able to leave them to get on with the job. Trusted them to lock up at evening when they finished.
Edward, Oxfordshire Posted on 16/11/2015 , work completed 16/11/2015
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Edward. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Best wishes, Paul.
Good job, would use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good professional service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/08/2015 , work completed 29/08/2015
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Many thanks, Paul.
Fantastic install of Velux windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul and Keith ran a fantastic business of which they should be really proud of. They installed 5 Velux windows at our house and the finish was first class. I would highly recommend them.
Nico, Oxfordshire Posted on 29/08/2015 , work completed 29/08/2015
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Nico. I am just looking through all our reviews on WHICH, and it is still very much appreciated that you took your time to leave this review. Many thanks, Paul.
Really impressed, definitely use them again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good reliable tradesmen, really impressed and definitely use them again.
Anne, Oxfordshire Posted on 06/08/2015 , work completed 06/08/2015
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thanks Anne, I really appreciate you taking the time to submit this review. Best wishes, Paul.
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He is very polite & caring young man.
Ann, Oxfordshire Posted on 22/12/2014 , work completed 22/12/2014
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thank you Ann, for this lovely review. Best wishes, Paul.
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from start to finish! Polite, friendly and tidy carpenter's, electricians and plumbers who I couldn't fault on communication and their hoovering skills. The quote was very reasonably priced as were the timescales of work carried out. Thank you Acute I will be coming back!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/11/2014 , work completed 03/11/2014
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thanks for this great review, it really made us smile. Best wishes, Paul.
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work on three different occasions. A bit delayed because of other work, but have no hesitation in recommending
Christina, Oxfordshire Posted on 03/10/2014 , work completed 03/10/2014
The trader replied (on 19/03/2021)
Thanks, Cristina, for leaving our first ever review in 2014. We really appreciate it. Best wishes, Paul.