Endorsed by Which?

AEF Electrical Ltd

4.9

81 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

AEF Electrical offer a friendly, reliable and professional service to the Edinburgh and Lothians area.

With over thirty years experience in the electrical industry we undertake all aspects of electrical work from electrical repairs, upgrades and maintenance, rewiring and fault finding through to testing and certification. We are dedicated to providing cost effective electrical solutions without compromising standards.

AEF Electrical was founded in 2007 and moved to Edinburgh in 2009. Since then we have steadily grown our customer base to include small and medium size businesses, home owners, letting agents and landlords. We have managed to expand our customer base due to our high levels of customer service and workmanship, combined with competitive pricing and reliability.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • More Services

    • building warrant
    • landlord requirements
    • hmo

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
81 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used AEF both for electrical work both in a rental flat and now our own home. Dave did a great job - very friendly, efficient and thorough. All working well and left the place very clean and tidy. Would certainly use again
Alan2017 Posted on 15/02/2017 , work completed 15/02/2017
Quality service. Great bunch of guys.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Dave's services several times now and have no hesitation recommending AEF. All of the guys are highly courteous and on both occasions went out of their way both to achieve what was wanted, and also make sensible recommendations. They came when they said they would, did what was needed (and more) and certification went through without a glitch. Will certainly be using again.
garylamb Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
Happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Couldn't be happier with AEF Electrical's work or their attitude towards their customers. Friendly, reliable, polite, punctual, conscientious, and thorough. Would definitely use them again.
Bisco-chan Posted on 07/12/2016 , work completed 07/12/2016
Great customer service, quality work and unbeatable price. Will use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AEF did a partial rewire on our 4 bed residential property in July 2016 over the course of 8 days. At the quoting stage, Dave understood our needs perfectly and provided a price that beat all others, by between 2 to 6 thousand pounds. AEF went to great lengths to find a time that would work for us to carry out this disruptive work. We were away for most of the install, and our neighbours were very complimentary on AEF's tidiness and communication (a burglar alarm was triggered). The work was completed without any hitches to the time estimate provided. Having been to the property during the work, the clean up was excellent, with floor boards, carpets etc restored well. Our house was again safe for our 2 year old boy when my wife and son returned. Throughout the process, the communication has been excellent and AEF have been quick to respond to queries. There really is nothing to fault AEF on. We'll not hesitate to use again and recommend to others.
trinity_rg Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Appeared on time and did the work needed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The trader was very pleasant,punctual and did the job quickly and efficiently. I would certainly recommend.
victoriadvictoria Posted on 07/09/2016 , work completed 07/09/2016
Great service from estimate to installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really helpful throughout the quotation process, giving sound advice and really concerned that the job they would do would give us the best result. We were unsure about what we needed, and their consultative approach was very helpful and appreciated. Thoroughly professional staff, well presented and tidy in their approach. Costs were exactly as quoted, and we're really pleased with the result - would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Olliep Posted on 01/09/2016 , work completed 01/09/2016
Excellent job; prompt, neat and courteous!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been let down by another firm, I picked AEF Electrical without any prior knowledge, so I was especially delighted when they responded quickly and positively to my request. It was a small job, putting power into a log cabin, which created certain challenges in terms of running the new supply and working round the restrictions of the building design. After a short site visit to discuss the job, I received an estimate within the day, and had the work scheduled within a week. On the day of the job, the team turned up at exactly the agreed time (the clock was chiming as the doorbell rang!), and got straight down to work. They completed the job in one visit (we originally thought it might have required two visits), and it was everything I'd hoped for - neat and tidy, and everything in exactly the right place; what more can you hope for from tradesmen? Both the guys who did the work, and the supervisor who popped in to check everything was in order, were a pleasure to deal with; there's a sense of a real customer service ethic, which is a delight; happy to recommend!
grr150 Posted on 03/06/2016 , work completed 03/06/2016
Great electrical installation and certification
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AEF Electrical completed a range of work on my flat in Edinburgh. Can not fault them, super quick and competitive quotation, had a few additional extras that needed doing and certifications and these were done promptly and without additional charge, even though the original invoice was paid. Would have no hesitation in recommending and using this contractor again.
Site User Posted on 05/05/2016 , work completed 05/05/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From making the most recent appointment to completing the job. David Norman gave complete satisfaction and value. For Several years AEF Electrical has been my first choice for electrical service and retain my full confidence for the future.
William, Midlothian Posted on 24/09/2015 , work completed 24/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used AEF last year to rewire the house I had just bought, and have used them at least 3 times since then. Dave and his colleagues have been unfailingly helpful, and the rewiring was done thoughtfully and in consultation several times with me. They make clear arrangements and are punctual and tidy. It is also a very friendly service. I have found all their work well done and good value. I recommend them highly.
F J Shaw Posted on 26/06/2015 , work completed 26/06/2015