Endorsed by Which?

AEF Electrical Ltd

4.9

82 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

AEF Electrical offer a friendly, reliable and professional service to the Edinburgh and Lothians area.

With over thirty years experience in the electrical industry we undertake all aspects of electrical work from electrical repairs, upgrades and maintenance, rewiring and fault finding through to testing and certification. We are dedicated to providing cost effective electrical solutions without compromising standards.

AEF Electrical was founded in 2007 and moved to Edinburgh in 2009. Since then we have steadily grown our customer base to include small and medium size businesses, home owners, letting agents and landlords. We have managed to expand our customer base due to our high levels of customer service and workmanship, combined with competitive pricing and reliability.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • More Services

    • building warrant
    • landlord requirements
    • hmo

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
82 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David was recommended to me by the contractor installing a new central heating boiler in a 200 yr-old listed house in central Edinburgh which needed some extra and very complex cable routeing as part of the installation process. He estimated quickly, came on time and did the job promptly and effectively. I discussed a possible additional small job supplying and replacing an electric shower with him which he was happy to take on, again with a satisfactory estimate and outcome within a tight schedule just before Christmas. It is likely that he will be undertaking another more major job of installing a new consumer unit for me later in the spring. I have confidence in his work and look forward to using him for other electrical work in the future and I would happily recommend him to others needing this kind of specialist.
WHICH 56 Posted on 30/01/2014 , work completed 30/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After seeing the excellent reviews in Which Local for AEF Electrical, I contacted the owner, David Norman, and asked him to quote for the electrical part of a project to combine two flats into one. His quote was competitive and I was reassured by both his manner during the estimate process and the good reviews he had received; so I instructed my builder to use AEF for the electrical work. The work is now complete and I am very pleased with the work. David was able both to fit in with the rather haphazard schedule of my builder and meet my exacting requirements. He was more than happy for me to buy the components where I could get them more cheaply and he undertook extra work at a very reasonable cost. In addition to the electrical work, which included a full rewiring, he also supervised the installation of telephone, ethernet and satelite and terrestrial television cabling. I have no hesitation in recommending AEF and I would certainly use the firm again.
chinook47 Posted on 16/01/2014 , work completed 16/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After recommendations here contacted AEF and dave came same day to look at work required, replacing some lights in Bathroom and Kitchen. Gave good advice and solution to the problems, estimate followed, very acceptable and work completed within the week. Very professional, clean and tidy, and will use again - highly recommend this firm.
Peter Ranken Posted on 12/01/2014 , work completed 12/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave Norman (the owner of the business) was recommended to me by my gas boiler engineer. Dave installed a new consumer unit to replace an old fusebox, and installed some extra power points. I was delighted with his work and his attitude. Dave will not compromise on safety or quality, and his approach was intelligent and helpful. It was a pleasure to have him do the work and I will definitely use him again for further work. Thoroughly recommended!
DavidST Posted on 07/11/2013 , work completed 07/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a kitchen circuit reorganised to replace a microwave (plug-and-socket) with a wired-in combination oven. I phoned one evening. Dave came out early the next morning, looked at the job, suggested a neat way to do it, found the necessary parts in his van, and finished the job in a few tens of minutes. He then charged me a VERY reasonable amount. I couldn't have wished for better - prompt, efficient, cheerful. I have complete confidence in AEF Electrical. Highly recommended.
john wexler Posted on 18/07/2013 , work completed 18/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called AEF Electrical after reading the many good reviews here. And now I can add my own good review! Dave and his colleague (also Dave) sorted out some electrical issues in my property. They were both professional, punctual, tidy and trustworthy. I have no hesitation in using them again or recommending them.
GardenerGirl Posted on 10/06/2013 , work completed 10/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
very good - competitively priced, good communicator, did a neat job, was flexible with times and details of the work, issued certificates at the end. Would use again and would recommend to a friend
Paul McMurtrie Posted on 26/12/2012 , work completed 26/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Picked AEF via Which Local and was not disappointed. Had several fuseboxes consolidated into one with full RCB capability. Also had some external wiring provided for a summerhouse. Dave was punctual and the quote process was painless. The fusebox work was complex but Dave offered up 2 alternative solutions and explained the difference in simple layman's terms. The overall price was within the range I'd anticipated. The external work was governed to some extent by the weather and again Dave and his colleague proved flexible to get the job done within my timescales. I have no hesitation in recommending AEF and will certainly turn to them again ass and when the need arises.
normanwhich Posted on 19/12/2012 , work completed 19/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Dave and his team to carry out a complete rewire of our property. The quote was competitive and the work was carried out quickly, efficiently and to a very high standard. We would definitely recommend this company and would have no hesitation in using them again.
GMacA Posted on 07/11/2012 , work completed 07/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had read previous reviews on here & can only echo the positive sentiments. Very flexible, reliable and reasonable prices - we have already had him back for more work and will do so again when required. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dave to anyone & he fully deserves his excellent reputation.
lwa03tjw Posted on 22/10/2012 , work completed 22/10/2012