Endorsed by Which?

AEF Electrical Ltd

4.9

81 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

AEF Electrical offer a friendly, reliable and professional service to the Edinburgh and Lothians area.

With over thirty years experience in the electrical industry we undertake all aspects of electrical work from electrical repairs, upgrades and maintenance, rewiring and fault finding through to testing and certification. We are dedicated to providing cost effective electrical solutions without compromising standards.

AEF Electrical was founded in 2007 and moved to Edinburgh in 2009. Since then we have steadily grown our customer base to include small and medium size businesses, home owners, letting agents and landlords. We have managed to expand our customer base due to our high levels of customer service and workmanship, combined with competitive pricing and reliability.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • More Services

    • building warrant
    • landlord requirements
    • hmo

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
81 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Work completed on time and as detailed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great team who turn up on time, complete the work and clear up behind themselves. What a joy to know that this time of workmanship still exists. Highly recommend this team.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 24/04/2024 , work completed 22/04/2024
Efficient and Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AEF Electrical replaced a double socket, a bathroom fan and a central heating control unit. Communication initially was by email, which promptly clarified the items required, and timescale for carrying out the work - within 10 days. The electrician arrived at the appointed time, worked efficiently, tidily and unobtrusively. Communication was effective and appropriate. The work was completed quickly to our satisfaction. Overall a very positive experience.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 04/12/2023 , work completed 27/11/2023
Professional, fair pricing, excellent standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called in AEF after a previous electrician vanished leaving me in a pickle. I needed a consumer unit rewired, previous wiring tested and sign off and plenty of snagging aswell. I spoke with Dave to make arrangements and he was very helpful considering the tricky mess I had. Pricing and invoicing and work was priced fairly. Communication was also excellent and my Lecky onsite was Ruriadh who turned up on time and worked hard and was very knowledgeable. So altogether I couldn't ask for more. They are now my go to Electricians and if anyone asks, these are the team I will recommend. Thank you both.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 30/11/2023 , work completed 08/11/2023
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to upgrade the external light by out front door. I messaged Dave Norman in the morning and he was able to send Ruairidh round that afternoon. Ruairidh explained that the cable needed upgrading and he would need to install a switching box. He was careful to check with me about the positioning of the switching box and the new light. After the light was installed, he pointed out some minor damage to the stonework caused by inserting the clips for the new cable (luckily the damage was barely visible). In summary - prompt, professional, honest and reliable.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 01/11/2023 , work completed 25/10/2023
Prompt professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted this company for a quote to have stair-lighting repaired/replaced in our tenement stairwell and Dave from AEF responded promptly with a very reasonable quote. Within 48hrs of confirming that we wanted to proceed, an appointment was arranged, Jonny the electrician turned up on time, replaced all our lights and the timer clock within a couple of hours, and tidied up after himself. A very professional service! Would highly recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 31/10/2023 , work completed 30/10/2023
Polite and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed our system tested for short let certification and also PAT testing. From first approach, quote, through to the actual work the AEF team were great to deal with.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/08/2023 , work completed 24/08/2023
Excellent electricians
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AEF Electrical Ltd have done a range of jobs for me, from initially testing the electrics in a recently purchased property to installing a new electrical heating system, along the way repairing some faults (including an immersion heater element) and connecting up new appliances. It has all been handled extremely well and efficiently by Dave (the boss) and Jonny (who came out on time and as arranged). They were both very helpful in providing information and helping me work out exactly what wanted doing, without any pressure or hard sell. Really pleased with the work and a pleasure to have had them involved. Many thanks!
Anne in Edinburgh Posted on 21/08/2023 , work completed 02/08/2023
Professional service, excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We required significant upgrading of the lighting in our kitchen, installation of a new induction hob, and fitting of a new outside light. Dave, the director, visited us and took the time to get a good understanding of what we were looking to achieve. He made excellent recommendations, and checked our wiring to make sure everything was feasible. We felt very reassured by Dave's visit and the conversation we had, and were happy to proceed. The other Dave came to do the work on the date arranged. His skills, knowledge and workmanship were exemplary and he also pointed out a couple of improvements he could make to our existing contact breakers while he was working on our installation. We are very happy with the end results, and it was a pleasure dealing with the AEF team. I will use them again for any future requirements, and have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 28/04/2023 , work completed 27/04/2023
Excellent work and very accommodating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted AEF Electrical Ltd to get a quote for moving sockets and fitting an outside light. They were prompt in replying and came to give a quote on the day/time they promised. We had a specific date where work needed to be done, with a second visit required once we had fitted wardrobes. They were able to accommodate our requirements and turned up as planned. The work done was to an excellent standard and the young electrician was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely use them again.
Billy in Edinburgh Posted on 11/07/2022 , work completed 20/06/2022
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted AEF Electrical through the Which trusted trader facility. I was very impressed by their speed of response - within hours. They carried out the work - replacing a fluorescent light in the kitchen - at the time stated in their estimate. The job was completed quickly and with a minimum of mess. I then asked about the possibility of getting the fire alarms brought up to the new Scottish standard. Not only was I given an immediate estimate, but he was able to carry the work out immediately to the same standard as the other work. I have rarely been so impressed by a tradesman.
Jim in Edinburgh Posted on 19/01/2022 , work completed 19/01/2022
Fast Response - Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been stood up by another electrician, I came out of the house to see the AEF van parked nearby. I called the mobile number & Ben came to assess the job during his lunch. He advised that even though it was a small job involving fitting a new switch and moving a light it would necessitate upgrading the fuse-board. I received an estimate within the day, and arranged for the work to be done when I returned from a few days away. On the day of the job, Ben turned up as agreed, and got straight down to work. The job was completed cleanly and efficiently. No hesitation in recommending.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 24/08/2021 , work completed 23/08/2021
Fast response, super attitude and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had two jobs recently carried out by Dave Norman's firm. AEF was amongst other electricians we called when work on the house uncovered some old mains wiring connected to new wiring which had been taped together in a way I wasn't sure was safe. We were under pressure as the wiring was under floorboards which were due to be sealed back down that day. Dave Norman responded positively and was able to arrange one of his team, Ozzie Dave, to visit within a few hours; he replaced the taped joins with a more secure and durable solution. Given the short notice, I felt the fee was fair; it bought peace of mind as well as a proper fix to the issue. The second job, a couple of weeks later, was a full EICR inspection of the property. Ozzie Dave was back. His work was professional, considerate and friendly throughout. He liaised with a joiner, also on-site, so that switch off the power supply from time to time did not stop the joiner using his power tools when required. I very much appreciated Dave's way of explaining things, the thoroughness of his work and his readiness to check and advise on things that were not strictly part of the EICR scope.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 07/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
Light down
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When replacing downlighter bulb in the kitchen I managed to kill all light from 6 fittings. Contacting AEF I had immediate confirmation of my request and intended contacting me after returning from holiday. He arrived bang on time arranged and solved the problem which was not as easy as I had assumed all for a reasonable sum. I was totally impressed by the service and Dave Norman himself, going out of his way to attend a 'simple' problem to my utter satisfaction and in a manner which I was beginning to believe was long gone. I can highly recommend AEF
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 04/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had problems with smoke alarms going off intermittently. I am a 68 year old lady in a house with high ceilings & integrated alarms. I couldn’t fix the problem myself. This was a relatively small job but the company treated me as a valued customer and rearranged their schedule to come and sort the job out urgently. The man who came (Ben) was courteous and isolated and sorted the problems. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company and would use them again for any future electrical work.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/01/2020 , work completed 06/01/2020
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted AEF for Landlord's Electrical Safety Test. Electrician arrived at appointed time, was helpful, communicative and efficient. A new consumer unit was required, and a low insulation resistance reading needed further investigation. A quote was received very promptly, agreed over the phone, and the work was completed without delay after the weekend, together with some additional sockets. All communication was clear and questions were answered in a straightforward manner. The work was completed neatly and efficiently, and everything was left clean and tidy afterwards. Happy with the price, although do not have much experience of prices for these jobs, and did not get other quotes as this contractor was highly recommended.
Robert Posted on 04/07/2019 , work completed 01/07/2019
Very professional and friendly too
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company twice and would not hesitate to recommend them. They are extremely professional, patient and polite. I will be using them again in the future and will definitely send their details to all my friends and family members.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 24/06/2019
100% satisfied with this job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, a stress-free job. Prompt service, quote emailed same day, workers punctual, helpful and efficient. Had previously been messed about by time-wasters so it was very much appreciated that everything went so smoothly. Highly recommended, would definitely use again.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 31/01/2019 , work completed 23/01/2019
5 star service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service at the drop of a hat. Would highly recommend them. Neat, tidy, friendly. Having worked in the trade years ago I was very impressed.
Customer in Scottish Borders Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 22/01/2019
Excellent service and top quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have had AEF Electrical complete 2 jobs at our residential property - both occasions, they were flexible with dates and got the job done really quickly. The electricians that came were excellent, great customer service, clean and tidy and made sure everything worked and was in order to our satisfaction before leaving. Can't recommend AEF Electrical highly enough for all round high quality service.
NJBenn Posted on 31/10/2018 , work completed 31/10/2018
Exemplary service from a Top Quality Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first contact to completion of all electrical work within my house I cannot speak too highly of AEF Electrical. Friendly, easy to deal with, on time, smart, and most importantly carried out all work to a very high standard. On completion of the work they explained everything that they’d done and asked if we had any questions or concerns (which we did not). Finally, when they left you wouldn’t have known that they’d carried out major electrical work in the house, such was their standard of cleanliness. I would certainly use them again and would highly recommend them to friends and family.
Jimboreb Posted on 24/10/2018 , work completed 24/10/2018
Very happy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a great response from AEF electrical. Had blown a fuse trying to do a bit of DIY on dismantling some outside lights. Came the following week and on time, were highly knowledgeable and completed the job efficiently. Would certainly use them again and would recommend them to others. Charge us a reasonable hourly rate for a qualified electrician.
Graham Reeves Posted on 02/03/2018 , work completed 02/03/2018
Excellent firm - highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted AEF electrical because we wanted a number of relatively small electrical jobs done. David replied quickly, arranged a visit and sent us an estimate the next day - in fact all commication with him was clear and prompt. He sourced all the switches, sockets and lights we needed which saved us a lot of time and effort. The guys arrived on time, completed the work to a very high standard and tidied up afterwards. Therefore we would have no hesitation in using AEF Electrical for any future jobs.
S & C, Craiglockhart Posted on 28/02/2018 , work completed 28/02/2018
RCD consumer unit installation / replace light fittings
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted company via their website, with prompt response. Arranged work after exchange of photographs and subsequent quote by email. Electrician on the day arrived in the time window specified. Work carried out neatly and per timescale indicated. Chap very polite, professional and pleasant. Great dealing with these guys. Recommend.
Dr I Butcher Posted on 26/02/2018 , work completed 26/02/2018
Bedroom Rewiring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another great job completed on time and to my complete satisfaction by this professional and customer focused company. The work was completed in 2 phases around the needs of the joiners, plumbers and decorators. Both phases were competed on time without any mess by Jonny & Ben, who were a pleasure to have working in our home. During the work, the boss, Dave Norman, looked in to ensure all was going well - good to see that the boss is on top of all the work done by his people. I should like to especially thank Jonny & Ben for fixing a problem caused by one of the other tradesmen who managed to put a hidden screw through one of the lighting cables. Jonny was able to calculate the approximate location of the fault and then he and Ben had to confirm and to fix the fault. Great work by great guys! I have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Keith Parkes Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
Fast and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used AEF for a full rewire and then Jonny came back to finish things once our kitchen and bathroom were installed. He was fast and professional, arrived on time and was a pleasant guy. What a relief after dealing with some other less professional tradesmen over the past year. We would highly recommend.
Louise Posted on 28/09/2017 , work completed 28/09/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient service. Speedy, tidy and at a competitive price
Gillian Quille Posted on 04/07/2017 , work completed 04/07/2017
Garden room wiring and certification
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient job of electrical wiring in garden room and tidying up old wiring. The staff were professional and reliable and issued safety certicates having checked existing wiring too.
Janice Hamilton Posted on 19/06/2017 , work completed 19/06/2017
Excellent company and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived within a couple of days of being contacted by us and gave a quotation. Any queries we had were answered in very practical terms which was much appreciated. Our request to have the work done on a certain date was accommodated. The electrician was very efficient and professional and tidied up everything as he went along. Delighted with the results at a reasonable price and we will use AEF Electrical again without hesitation. Can't recommend highly enough.
Sirius Posted on 18/05/2017 , work completed 18/05/2017
It is wonderful to find an electrical company you can trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We thoroughly recommend AEF Electrical Ltd. Enquiries were dealt with promptly and everything completed efficiently and to a high standard. We were very satisfied with the work. Dave and the guys were very friendly, determined to sort issues and gave excellent advice.
Karen, Edinburgh Posted on 20/04/2017 , work completed 20/04/2017
Great work and quick call out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave was able to come out and do an inspection at our flat the day after we called, which we really appreciated. He also had a wee look at a couple other things we had questions about. We are very happy with the service!
lindsay.mucka Posted on 06/04/2017 , work completed 06/04/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used AEF both for electrical work both in a rental flat and now our own home. Dave did a great job - very friendly, efficient and thorough. All working well and left the place very clean and tidy. Would certainly use again
Alan2017 Posted on 15/02/2017 , work completed 15/02/2017
Quality service. Great bunch of guys.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Dave's services several times now and have no hesitation recommending AEF. All of the guys are highly courteous and on both occasions went out of their way both to achieve what was wanted, and also make sensible recommendations. They came when they said they would, did what was needed (and more) and certification went through without a glitch. Will certainly be using again.
garylamb Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
Happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Couldn't be happier with AEF Electrical's work or their attitude towards their customers. Friendly, reliable, polite, punctual, conscientious, and thorough. Would definitely use them again.
Bisco-chan Posted on 07/12/2016 , work completed 07/12/2016
Great customer service, quality work and unbeatable price. Will use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AEF did a partial rewire on our 4 bed residential property in July 2016 over the course of 8 days. At the quoting stage, Dave understood our needs perfectly and provided a price that beat all others, by between 2 to 6 thousand pounds. AEF went to great lengths to find a time that would work for us to carry out this disruptive work. We were away for most of the install, and our neighbours were very complimentary on AEF's tidiness and communication (a burglar alarm was triggered). The work was completed without any hitches to the time estimate provided. Having been to the property during the work, the clean up was excellent, with floor boards, carpets etc restored well. Our house was again safe for our 2 year old boy when my wife and son returned. Throughout the process, the communication has been excellent and AEF have been quick to respond to queries. There really is nothing to fault AEF on. We'll not hesitate to use again and recommend to others.
trinity_rg Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Appeared on time and did the work needed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The trader was very pleasant,punctual and did the job quickly and efficiently. I would certainly recommend.
victoriadvictoria Posted on 07/09/2016 , work completed 07/09/2016
Great service from estimate to installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really helpful throughout the quotation process, giving sound advice and really concerned that the job they would do would give us the best result. We were unsure about what we needed, and their consultative approach was very helpful and appreciated. Thoroughly professional staff, well presented and tidy in their approach. Costs were exactly as quoted, and we're really pleased with the result - would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Olliep Posted on 01/09/2016 , work completed 01/09/2016
Excellent job; prompt, neat and courteous!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been let down by another firm, I picked AEF Electrical without any prior knowledge, so I was especially delighted when they responded quickly and positively to my request. It was a small job, putting power into a log cabin, which created certain challenges in terms of running the new supply and working round the restrictions of the building design. After a short site visit to discuss the job, I received an estimate within the day, and had the work scheduled within a week. On the day of the job, the team turned up at exactly the agreed time (the clock was chiming as the doorbell rang!), and got straight down to work. They completed the job in one visit (we originally thought it might have required two visits), and it was everything I'd hoped for - neat and tidy, and everything in exactly the right place; what more can you hope for from tradesmen? Both the guys who did the work, and the supervisor who popped in to check everything was in order, were a pleasure to deal with; there's a sense of a real customer service ethic, which is a delight; happy to recommend!
grr150 Posted on 03/06/2016 , work completed 03/06/2016
Great electrical installation and certification
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AEF Electrical completed a range of work on my flat in Edinburgh. Can not fault them, super quick and competitive quotation, had a few additional extras that needed doing and certifications and these were done promptly and without additional charge, even though the original invoice was paid. Would have no hesitation in recommending and using this contractor again.
Site User Posted on 05/05/2016 , work completed 05/05/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From making the most recent appointment to completing the job. David Norman gave complete satisfaction and value. For Several years AEF Electrical has been my first choice for electrical service and retain my full confidence for the future.
William, Midlothian Posted on 24/09/2015 , work completed 24/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used AEF last year to rewire the house I had just bought, and have used them at least 3 times since then. Dave and his colleagues have been unfailingly helpful, and the rewiring was done thoughtfully and in consultation several times with me. They make clear arrangements and are punctual and tidy. It is also a very friendly service. I have found all their work well done and good value. I recommend them highly.
F J Shaw Posted on 26/06/2015 , work completed 26/06/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A thoughtful, personal and professional service.
local girl Posted on 12/06/2015 , work completed 12/06/2015
House rewire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Glad to have chosen AEF. Work well done for a fair price. Dave and John were pleasant to have around, made sure they knew exactly what was required and just got on with the job unobtrusively. They kept disruption and mess to a minimum. They took time to investigate some mysteries in the old wiring and reconfigured where necessary. The house feels much improved.
CMR403349295 Posted on 27/05/2015 , work completed 27/05/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived promptly as arranged. All items originally specified were carried out and some additional work negotiated on the spot. Price seemed reasonable for work done and fittings used. Would definitely recommend.
Shopper7 Posted on 13/01/2015 , work completed 13/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have now used AEF twice, the first time to replace two consumer units and the second to rewire a couple of circuits. They turn up when they say they will, do a very neat and tidy job and charge the quoted price (which isn't the cheapest, but I suppose you get what you pay for). I would have no hesitation in recomending them.
Easyoasy Posted on 09/01/2015 , work completed 09/01/2015
Quick, knowledgeable and friendly electrican
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an electrics problem on a Friday night so rang AEF on Saturday morning on the off-chance he'd be able to come out on the Monday. David came out on the Saturday morning just an hour or so later and fixed the problem, explaining what he'd done. Price was very reasonable too. Would definitely recommend.
2011-08-11 09:31:01.013 Posted on 22/11/2014 , work completed 22/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David came on time as arranged and completed both jobs (removing redundant boiler wiring and fitting ceiling light strip) timely and expertly. He also examined a faulty bulb and replaced it as an extra. He charged within his quoted price range which I felt was very good value for the work done. I would highly recommend his company (AEF Electrical) ÔøΩ genuinely focused on customer satisfaction and quality of work.
MuLocal Posted on 25/08/2014 , work completed 25/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had AEF Elecrical carry out their third job for us and can only state that their work was of the highest standard on each occasion, their promised time and date of arrival was fulfilled and they gave a full explanation of the task to be completed and what it would entail. The job site was left neat and tidy and at a very reasonable cost too. D Thomson.
dthom15spy Posted on 07/07/2014 , work completed 07/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David Norman attended my flat in Edinburgh promptly as arranged, fitted a new RCD distribution board and checked all circuitry. I would recommend him as reliable, knowledgeable and efficient.
johnparr Posted on 30/04/2014 , work completed 30/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David responded to my request to check a faulty power point quickly, arrived at the appointed time and resolved the problem efficiently. This was the first occasion I had called on him and it will not be the last
clocaenog Posted on 04/04/2014 , work completed 04/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David was recommended to me by the contractor installing a new central heating boiler in a 200 yr-old listed house in central Edinburgh which needed some extra and very complex cable routeing as part of the installation process. He estimated quickly, came on time and did the job promptly and effectively. I discussed a possible additional small job supplying and replacing an electric shower with him which he was happy to take on, again with a satisfactory estimate and outcome within a tight schedule just before Christmas. It is likely that he will be undertaking another more major job of installing a new consumer unit for me later in the spring. I have confidence in his work and look forward to using him for other electrical work in the future and I would happily recommend him to others needing this kind of specialist.
WHICH 56 Posted on 30/01/2014 , work completed 30/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After seeing the excellent reviews in Which Local for AEF Electrical, I contacted the owner, David Norman, and asked him to quote for the electrical part of a project to combine two flats into one. His quote was competitive and I was reassured by both his manner during the estimate process and the good reviews he had received; so I instructed my builder to use AEF for the electrical work. The work is now complete and I am very pleased with the work. David was able both to fit in with the rather haphazard schedule of my builder and meet my exacting requirements. He was more than happy for me to buy the components where I could get them more cheaply and he undertook extra work at a very reasonable cost. In addition to the electrical work, which included a full rewiring, he also supervised the installation of telephone, ethernet and satelite and terrestrial television cabling. I have no hesitation in recommending AEF and I would certainly use the firm again.
chinook47 Posted on 16/01/2014 , work completed 16/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After recommendations here contacted AEF and dave came same day to look at work required, replacing some lights in Bathroom and Kitchen. Gave good advice and solution to the problems, estimate followed, very acceptable and work completed within the week. Very professional, clean and tidy, and will use again - highly recommend this firm.
Peter Ranken Posted on 12/01/2014 , work completed 12/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave Norman (the owner of the business) was recommended to me by my gas boiler engineer. Dave installed a new consumer unit to replace an old fusebox, and installed some extra power points. I was delighted with his work and his attitude. Dave will not compromise on safety or quality, and his approach was intelligent and helpful. It was a pleasure to have him do the work and I will definitely use him again for further work. Thoroughly recommended!
DavidST Posted on 07/11/2013 , work completed 07/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a kitchen circuit reorganised to replace a microwave (plug-and-socket) with a wired-in combination oven. I phoned one evening. Dave came out early the next morning, looked at the job, suggested a neat way to do it, found the necessary parts in his van, and finished the job in a few tens of minutes. He then charged me a VERY reasonable amount. I couldn't have wished for better - prompt, efficient, cheerful. I have complete confidence in AEF Electrical. Highly recommended.
john wexler Posted on 18/07/2013 , work completed 18/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called AEF Electrical after reading the many good reviews here. And now I can add my own good review! Dave and his colleague (also Dave) sorted out some electrical issues in my property. They were both professional, punctual, tidy and trustworthy. I have no hesitation in using them again or recommending them.
GardenerGirl Posted on 10/06/2013 , work completed 10/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
very good - competitively priced, good communicator, did a neat job, was flexible with times and details of the work, issued certificates at the end. Would use again and would recommend to a friend
Paul McMurtrie Posted on 26/12/2012 , work completed 26/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Picked AEF via Which Local and was not disappointed. Had several fuseboxes consolidated into one with full RCB capability. Also had some external wiring provided for a summerhouse. Dave was punctual and the quote process was painless. The fusebox work was complex but Dave offered up 2 alternative solutions and explained the difference in simple layman's terms. The overall price was within the range I'd anticipated. The external work was governed to some extent by the weather and again Dave and his colleague proved flexible to get the job done within my timescales. I have no hesitation in recommending AEF and will certainly turn to them again ass and when the need arises.
normanwhich Posted on 19/12/2012 , work completed 19/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Dave and his team to carry out a complete rewire of our property. The quote was competitive and the work was carried out quickly, efficiently and to a very high standard. We would definitely recommend this company and would have no hesitation in using them again.
GMacA Posted on 07/11/2012 , work completed 07/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had read previous reviews on here & can only echo the positive sentiments. Very flexible, reliable and reasonable prices - we have already had him back for more work and will do so again when required. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dave to anyone & he fully deserves his excellent reputation.
lwa03tjw Posted on 22/10/2012 , work completed 22/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have made use of David Normans services He is an efficient and reliable worker and very cost effective We would recommend him highly
Nogbad67 Posted on 20/08/2012 , work completed 20/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When we moved into our house recently, the electrical system needed a thorough review and upgrade. We had to engage David Norman before he could survey the job and he readily allocated a full week some time in advance for our work. He along with his colleague Dave gave us a lot of sound advice on the way to proceed, the workmanship was excellent and jobs ranged from replacing lights to installing smoke alarms and a new fuse board. The final invoice was a very pleasant surprise. We thoroughly recommend AEF Electrical who are well worth their 5 star rating on Which Local.
Bluepen Posted on 08/08/2012 , work completed 08/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Communicates, explains and pleasant.
JohnDing Posted on 23/07/2012 , work completed 23/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt helpful service. Good price. Found the info on 'Which Local'. Would use again.
Chris Practitioner Posted on 14/07/2012 , work completed 14/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted AEF on recommendation from my parents after they carried out some extensive work to their new house, as we had a humming fuse box. David Norman called me straight away as he thought it might be a safety issue and he arranged for someone to be with us within 30 minutes. Cannot fault the service.
th35m1dg3 Posted on 22/06/2012 , work completed 22/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David Norman carried out a small job for me quickly and efficiently and was a very pleasant person to deal with . I can understand why he is recommended by so many people
Robin Mathieson Posted on 25/04/2012 , work completed 25/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This electrician (David Norman) did a very competent job of replacing a faulty socket and earthing the recently installed cable head. David was a pleasant and helpful electrician. I would employ David again for other electrical work.
springburn Posted on 23/04/2012 , work completed 23/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found this Electrician (David Norman) on Which Local and I can confirm that he lives up to his 5-star rating. He did a number of jobs in our home including fitting some new sockets, making safe some old electrical fittings and installing a new circuit board/fuse box. Everything was done tidily and efficiently and for a reasonable price. When he upgraded the circuit board he advised me to contact Scottish Power about replacing an old mains cable - I would never have known this and no other electrician had mentioned it. I have no hesitation in recommending him to others.
NiceCupOf Tea Posted on 03/04/2012 , work completed 03/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used David at AEf electrical twice now and on both occasions have been very satisfied with David's meticulous work and amiable nature. This is a a service you can trust and it won't break your bank balance.
Kirklea11 Posted on 08/01/2012 , work completed 08/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used David Norman week of 24/11/11 for a small job for dealing with some ceiling lights. He arrived promptly and dealt with the work efficently and charged very reasonably. I would be happy to use him again and recommend the firm to others.
Camus Posted on 03/12/2011 , work completed 03/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted AEF and David arranged a time to look at a couple of small electrical problems I had in a rental flat. He turned up when he said and fixed both problems there and then. Great service and value for money.
mags68 Posted on 28/11/2011 , work completed 28/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David upgraded our fuse board and did an excellent job. Arrived on time, explained how the new board would operate, and checked all circuits were functioning properly following installation. Would use him again and recommend him to others.
Dunsie Posted on 25/11/2011 , work completed 25/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came promptly and did the repair. Seemed helpful.
HAMI Posted on 20/11/2011 , work completed 20/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David did a small job for us (replaced bathroom fan). He was polite, efficient and very reasonably priced. We would certainly recommend him and would use him ourselves again.
Inverleith Posted on 09/11/2011 , work completed 09/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We just moved house and needed the electrics looked at as they were old. David came and was very polite and honest and gave us 3 options for improving the wiring . We knew we needed a complete rewire and David gave us a good price for the work needing done. He completed the job in the time he said he would and left the house very tidy. He did a great job and I would not hesitate to use him again.
Porty1 Posted on 02/10/2011 , work completed 02/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David fitted a built-in oven for me, an outside socket and trace heating for a drain pipe which had been freezing up during the winter. He did the oven when he came to provide the estimate which was very helpful. He had to go away and source the trace heating but kept me informed of progress. He was also provided me with options for the outside socket. A very reliable electrician that I would highly recommend.
Stuart, Edinburgh Posted on 09/04/2011 , work completed 09/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David carried out a thorough routine inspection of the electrical circuits in my flat. He phoned the day before the appointmant to confirm and was punctual and efficient. He rectified three minor problems on the spot and provided the written report on the installation there and then. He also gave me options for a future upgrade while making it clear that this was not a requirement on legal or safety grounds. I would happily employ him again.
Mart47 Posted on 04/04/2011 , work completed 04/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David replaced my bathroom ceiling fan and did a super job. He responded to my email for a quote promptly, and rang to let me know when he was going to arrive. He was very reasonably priced and reliable. I would definitely use him again.
thandy70 Posted on 01/04/2011 , work completed 01/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had some very old style light switches (in keeping with the house) which had failed, David managed to re-use all but one of them, trying different options to try and keep them if at all possible. I was very grateful for his approach and flexibility in trying to do what I wanted. Would very happily have him back if/when I have any further electrical work required.
Joshi Posted on 30/03/2011 , work completed 30/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Only a minor job, but arrived promptly, seemed knowledgeable and careful in what he was doing, and did the job quickly. Price seemed very reasonable.
Conrad Hughes Posted on 25/11/2010 , work completed 25/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David Norman responded promptly to my original contact. He surveyed and identified the problem quickly, procured the necessary fittings and completed the job without delay. He impressed as a skilled electrician and I would be very pleased to use his sevices in the future. I regarded his charges as very reasonable.
Bill C Posted on 09/11/2010 , work completed 09/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David at AEF Electrical has undertaken various electrical work for me over the last year. He has proven himself to be punctual, reliable, honest and overall good value for money. I would happily recommend his services to other Which subscribers.
Janetrodger Posted on 08/10/2010 , work completed 08/10/2010