We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Ammonite Electrical Services

Profile thumb 1493 head
5.0

34 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Hello, I'm David, a Sole Trader Electrician. Registered with the NICEIC, I specialise in Domestic installations. I cover a sizeable area to the West and South of Birmingham, from Sandwell and Halesowen, through Edgbaston and Harborne, Rednal and Rubery, Redditch and Bromsgrove. I take pride in my work and level of impartial advice, and all work is carried out to the standards and requirements of both the latest IET Wiring Regulation and the Building Regulations where applicable. Do check out my website for further details.

* No call-out charge during business hours
* Full Range of Installation Services
* Fault-Finding
* Full Range of Inspection and Testing Services
* Smoke Alarm installation
* Emergency call-outs
* Portable Appliance Testing (PAT)
* Free quotations
* Independent electrical energy saving advice

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • LED lighting
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • More Services

    • nest pro installer
    • hive
    • ico pro installer

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
34 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Helpful, punctual, professional, courteous, reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First impression was very good. David himself answered my call after only a couple of rings, understood the cooker-related issue straight away and gave very kind and helpful advice. Followed up with an order for the job and met the same immediate response. Parts ordered immediately and arrived promptly with subsequent site visit arranged and addressed within only a few days. Such a pleasure to find a skilled professional who does what he says he will, when he says he will do it, with no mess, no fuss at a reasonable cost.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 08/03/2022 , work completed 07/03/2022
The trader replied (on 09/03/2022)
Many thanks for your kind review John, and I'm glad that you were happy with my services. The aspects you mention are very important to me as a trader, whatever the size of job, and although it's not always easy to answer the phone while in the middle of a job, for me that first contact is important. Thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services and I hope we can be of assistance to you again in the future! David
An electrician of high standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David is a professional tradesman and over the 3 jobs he has done for me he has shown great integrity and a high standard of workmanship. He really cares about getting the job done right and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 09/02/2022 , work completed 09/02/2022
The trader replied (on 10/02/2022)
Many thanks for your generous words, it's been a pleasure to help you out with the various jobs over the past year or so. Thank you for your kind recommendation and I hope I can be of service to you again. David
Very Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Required for a small job(fitting a new cooker) came exactly on time, very efficient also very helpful, advised against us spending money on another electrical job, saving us money and costing him a job. First time used, certainly would use again.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 09/02/2022 , work completed 07/02/2022
The trader replied (on 10/02/2022)
Thank you very much for your kind review, and I'm glad that I was able to sort out this job for you. Thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services, and I hope I can be of service to you again. David
Great work and highly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can offer the very highest recommendation for David and Ammonite Electrical Services. Following water damage in my home, a circuit serving several sockets was tripped out. Access issues and the layout of my property meant it was probably going to be a tricky job tracing the source of the problem, but David got it sorted very effectively. He was able to provide a short-notice appointment to find the fault and carry out repairs. As I thought, the seat of the problem was in the most inconvenient place and related to some damaged old wiring. David made everything safe and got the sockets working again; the price for the job was very competitive and exactly in line with the agreed fees. He cleared up the area and provided a friendly and professional service from start to finish. If you're looking for electrical work in David's service area, you couldn't do better than to contact him.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 11/01/2022 , work completed 11/01/2022
The trader replied (on 19/01/2022)
Thank you very much for your detailed and generous review. There's nothing more satisfying than coming across a potentially dangerous and complex fault situation, and being able to 'source and sort' the problem for my customer as quickly as possible! Thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical and I hope we can be of service to you again. David
Professional, honest and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and value for money. Very prompt response to initial enquiry Work undertaken swifty, on time, on budget and without fuss. Would recommend David to anyone no matter how large or small the job. Nick
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 08/12/2021 , work completed 08/12/2021
The trader replied (on 08/12/2021)
Many thanks for your kind words Nick, and I'm glad I was able to sort out the various issues/faults and get all lighting (old & new) working! Thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services and I hope I can be of service again at some point. David
A highly skilled tradesperson, with complete integrity!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can wholeheartedly recommend this company. David is a consummate professional. He was extremely Covid-safe which was most reassuring in these current times. David is knowledgeable, polite, friendly and utterly reliable and trustworthy. His prices are fair and extremely competitive. Thank you for a fantastic job done.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 23/01/2021 , work completed 20/01/2021
The trader replied (on 25/01/2021)
Many thanks for your kind and generous review Sue, and I'm glad I was able to complete these jobs for you. Thank you for choosing (and recommending!) Ammonite Electrical Services and I hope I can be of service to you again. David
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with work done, while only minor David was quick and thorough with his work and I would highly recommend.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 21/10/2020 , work completed 21/10/2020
The trader replied (on 24/10/2020)
Thanks very much for your positive feedback, and I'm glad that I was able to help you with these minor works. Thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services.
Miscellaneous electrical jobs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a range of jobs that needed fulfilling: Supply and replace a conservatory light & fan, Broken porch lights all replaced and a sensor installed, Garden electrics needed a review, Over hob extraction light broken, Kitchen downlight broken, Under cupboard lights introduced. I could not be happier with the standard of work and timeliness of David. He works solidly and is what I would call 'old school' But in the very best way. Helpful free quote where suggestions were made both ways. He provided all of the materials to complete the tasks and it a thoroughly professional tradesman. Budget was met, timekeeping impeccable, left everything clean and tidy I cannot recommend him more highly.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 22/09/2020 , work completed 22/09/2020
The trader replied (on 30/09/2020)
Thank you very much for your generous and detailed review - it is much appreciated. I'm glad I was able to help out with the various jobs, and thanks for passing on my details to others. I hope I can be of service again to you, and thanks again for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services.
Very professional and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full house electrical inspection. David arrived on time completed the inspection gave advice and promptly sent a typed report all very professional.
Alan in Worcestershire Posted on 21/08/2020 , work completed 21/08/2020
The trader replied (on 11/09/2020)
Many thanks for your kind review Alan, and I'm glad I was able to help out with the EICR. I hope the house move goes smoothly for you, and thanks for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services.
Exemplary in every way. Really sets the standard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David is truly professional with an excellent manner and is very well spoken. He explains very carefully in detail what the job involves, and importantly any uncertainties. He installed several ceiling spot lights at a really good price and to a very high standard. He also used high quality parts. With David there are no nasty surprises in terms of costs, and he only uses high grade parts. This can't be said for many other traders I have had the misfortune to deal with.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 24/07/2020 , work completed 16/07/2020
The trader replied (on 11/09/2020)
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words and positive review, and I'm glad I was able to help out. It's important to me that I provide a quality service with quality parts, and at a competitive price, so it's nice to read it from the other side! Thank you again for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services. David
Great service, communication and prompt arrival
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I explained I had a problem with a faulty oven switch. David agreed a time to come as soon as his schedule was free to do so. He arrived promptly at the time agreed. (with a text beforehand to say he was on his way which was a nice touch) He identified and explained what he thought the problem might be with the switch and fixed it. We also had a couple of queries regarding electrics in our house which David was happy to take time to answer and gave us a good idea of what we might need to do in future if we do decide to have some work done on the house. I would definitely contact David again for any electrical work which we may need doing in the future. Many thanks!
Tom Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
The trader replied (on 02/02/2020)
Many thanks for your kind feedback Tom, and I'm glad I was able to sort the problem for you. I'll always be happy to help out with any future works, and thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services! David
Excellent electrician. Would highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David came out to our property, we discussed the job, he took detailed notes of what we wanted, promptly emailed us an estimate, which we were very happy with. We agreed dates and times for David to carry out the work. David arrived on time he did an excellent job for us, put up a main living room centre light, two wall lights. Replaced six light switches and most importantly replaced our main fuse box. We would highly recommend David he is punctual hard working, tidy and we are extremely pleased with the work he carried out on our behalf. Thank you David.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 30/11/2019 , work completed 29/11/2019
The trader replied (on 14/12/2019)
Many thanks for your generous and positive feedback, and I'm really pleased you were happy with my services. Thanks to you both for your help and flexibility along the way, and thank you for choosing Ammonite Electrical Services!
Great work - very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David did 3 jobs on same day - install oven and make good electrics to do that Fixed a non-functioning light and replaced light unit; Sorted out electrical circuit problem in bathroom. Also carried out safety test on main circuit board. David arrive promptly and has a fabulous manner and professionalism, advice given in simple terms and really appropriate. Very pleased with work, all problems resolved, and very happy with price - 11/10 service.
Customer in Worcestershire Posted on 09/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Truly professional!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service! David is professional, tidy, reasonably priced and does an excellent job. What more could you want? He added a socket for my sons PlayStation which was half way up a chimney breast and tricky to get at. David explained what was involved and put me at ease, he scheduled the work promptly and sent me a reasonable quote for the work to be done. He is polite, friendly and the ultimate professional. I would recommend David to anybody thinking of having electrical work done whether the job is large or small. He is definitely in my rated trades people book :) and I will be using him again.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 03/10/2019 , work completed 03/10/2019
True professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David arrived on time and carried out the job in a friendly and informative manner. The price quoted is what I was invoiced – no call out charge or unexpected “add ons. I have every confidence in David who has undertaken further work at the Property and again, I was very happy with his charges. He has always been happy to answer questions before and after carrying out the work. His work is of high quality and I would definitely recommend him to friends and family.
Customer in Worcestershire Posted on 24/09/2019 , work completed 23/09/2019
Extension Connection to mains
Job was done next day dave was friendly polite informative cleaned his mess, anything else he will be my first call a pleasant experience ☺
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 04/09/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Fantastic service from an experienced professional...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David at Ammonite has recently completed full electrical inspections at my block of eight apartments in Birmingham, which he did exactly on time and to a perfect standard. Superb communication at every stage with comprehensive 5-year certificates provided upon completion. David even managed to attend to some general fixes whilst completing the inspections, including getting my car park lighting back up and running again, which really was very much appreciated. David has since been back to fit an oven for me in another one of my apartments, When I called, he just so happened to be in the area, and the oven was fitted & working within half an hour... you really can't get better service than that, and I can't recommend David at Ammonite highly enough. Service & professionalism to this level is so rare these days - thoroughly & completely recommended!
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 08/05/2019 , work completed 07/05/2019
Very professional, works quickly, and charges fair prices
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David replaced a failed door switch and also solved an electrical fault we had. The fault was quite difficult to identify but David found the fault quite quickly and came up with a novel solution to what was quite a complicated fault caused by a poor job done many years ago. David was very professional and just stuck at the job until he had resolved it. He was also very reasonable in how much he charged for the job. I would thoroughly recommend David to anyone with an electrical problem - he is excellent.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 07/05/2019 , work completed 07/05/2019
Delighted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David had been very helpful before and had carried out excellent work so I asked him to upgrade the failing fluorescent lighting in my studio. This was done on time, without fuss and to budget. He replaced he fluorescent tubes with LEDs and the result was spot on - a perfect level of studio illumination and colour rendering.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 17/03/2019 , work completed 15/03/2019
Pleasant, proficient, Punctual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A most welcome experience, work completed quickly, no hanging about, no fetching extras, part required in possession. I welcome the opportunity to sing David's praises and recommend him to you all.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 27/02/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
Excellent work. Fully recommended. David is a true professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was fully discussed and David made some wonderful recommendations. Work done: new spotlight in shower, PIR floodlight, Porch light, front PIR bulkhead, new pendant over dining table. The work itself was tidy, very well done and I would definitely be using David's electrical services again without any hesitation.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 14/02/2019 , work completed 13/02/2019
Excellent Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used him twice before, both time he kept to the arrange date and time, he carried out an electrical survey and done some desperately needed rewiring in the kitchen. The report for the electrical survey was sent on time, with sensible advice on what other electrical work we need to do in the house. I will definitely use him again, and I would recommend him 100%.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 20/11/2018 , work completed 14/11/2018
An excellent, professional and helpful electrician - what a find!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having recently moved into a 1970s flat I was keen to update the consumer unit and have the 'electrics' checked. David visited the flat as arranged - from the first I, like others, was sure he was right for the job and so it proved. David replaced my consumer unit, installed dedicated cabling for an oven, additional sockets, an extractor fan, bathroom down-lighting and attended to some other small electrical needs. Because of ongoing building / renovation work I needed David to visit at various times throughout the 'project' which he did - always keeping to arranged dates and times. I cannot thank David enough for the work he has done for me and at a fair price. Would I use him again or recommend him to others? - 100% yes!
Chris Thomas Posted on 29/08/2018 , work completed 29/08/2018
A pleasure to do business with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David carried out an electrical survey of our large Victorian house. Always on time and worked very hard. He produced an electrical survey report promptly. He suggested sensible solutions to the few problems that were identified involving the shower and a few sockets and for these he charged a very fair price.
Davenport Posted on 22/07/2018 , work completed 22/07/2018
Excellent electrician!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were completely reassured from the first phone call that David is completely trustworthy and professional, a lot of other electricians we'd spoken to were happy to say they could quote and complete the work without seeing the scale of the job, but he made sure to come out and check everything over so he could quote us correctly. His prices were very reasonable and he was available quickly to do the initial testing. Whilst here he was very efficient, friendly and gave us really clear information about the best way to move forward. David replaced our very old consumer unit today, all work was completed to a very high standard, he was professional and put us at ease. Will be recommending David to anyone looking for an electrician and will only be using him for any future work we need done!
ColetteH Posted on 06/07/2018 , work completed 06/07/2018
Honest, reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David located a fault in one of our sockets on our primary ring main which was causing the rcd to trip. From the first time I spoke to him, he was very helpful and I felt reassured that I could trust him to investigate and fix the problem. Costs and timescales were explained clearly and once found, the cause of the problem and solution were clearly explained. The whole process was easy and I would highly recommend David for domestic electrical work. Without a doubt will use David for any electrical work we need doing in the future.
Iona & Andy Posted on 20/06/2018 , work completed 20/06/2018
Very good work and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David recently carried out a partial rewire and fitted a new consumer unit in our 1930s house. He carried out the work very professionally and competently and worked almost non-stop every day. When he first came to give us a quote for the work he explained everything he would need to do and was very clear. His quote was very fair, he was always on time and always left everywhere clean and tidy. We are more than pleased with David's work and would definitely recommend him for any electrical work.
gwentrev Posted on 23/05/2018 , work completed 23/05/2018
Excellent highly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend. David competed works on my Birmingham home which I arranged remotely by phone from London. He made everything so easy, replied quickly and was incresibly clear on costs and requirements. He made himself available quickly and was great throughout. I will definitely be coming back to him for future work.
JennyT Posted on 14/05/2018 , work completed 14/05/2018
Can't recommend highly enough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David will be my only choice for electrical work in the future. I emailed a number of providers when sourcing my work & David's response was prompt, detailed & informative. The quality of his first impression left me so reassured that l immediately decided that he was the only choice. After asking useful introductory questions, he was able to provide me with a quote by email & still agreed to visit my property in person for a more thorough inspection, at a time that suited me. In person David was courteous, professional & thorough, & even did some preparatory work before confirming a quote that came in under the budget that l had actually set for myself. Between this initial visit & the agreed time for carrying out the work (again at a time that suited me) David kept up an excellent level of conversation by email. The initial approach to several of his 'competitors' had just resulted in an email back saying "call this number", so I continued to be won over by his approach. When it came to doing the work, David was there at the agreed time, completed the work within the agreed window & charged the agreed price. l was also able to pay in the manner most convenient to me. Even though it was a relatively small domestic job, David left me feeling like a valued customer throughout, including wearing covers on his shoes when entering my home, which l really appreciated. l am delighted with the results of his work & have already passed on his details to friends.
Campbell Posted on 18/03/2018 , work completed 18/03/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently contacted David for a quote to replace all of the light fittings in my home. David quoted a very fair price and undertook an excellent job. Subsequently he has installed exterior lighting by way of a porch light and security lighting. He is very knowledgeable and a very competent electrician furthermore he arrives as arranged and on time. The next stage of my project is for a ‘health check’ of my electrical system. I would absolutely recommend David for your electrical work
Gill Brown Posted on 11/02/2018 , work completed 11/02/2018
Professional, knowledgeable and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David undertook a detailed and thorough survey of the property. I was most impressed with the high standard of work and his attention to detail. The work was carried out efficiently and at a fair price. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
John, West Midlands Posted on 05/12/2017 , work completed 05/12/2017
Electrical works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would like to take the opportunity to praise Ammonite Electrical Service. Having recently moved to Saltford I was in need of electrical works to be carried out in my garden workshop. I sent Ammonite an email with a list of the jobs I wanted done. Within a few hours I had a reply and agreed a date for a visit to receive a costs quote. Upon the visit from David, he was very thorough with checking my current electrics and ensuring what I wanted could be done to provide a long lasting, yet within budget setup. I had some following queries, which no matter how trivial they were David was happy to answer and explain all the details. Having accepted David's competitive quote, he arrived punctual with all the materials required. He worked through the heatwave we were currently having without ANY compromise on the service expected. Works were completed beyond my expectations. -To name a few, I was particularity impressed how there was no mess left behind (he had his own rubbish bag which he even took away with him), provided the finest attention to detail such as sealing around joints and labelling everything up. Once the works were completed, David then spent the time with me to ensure I was happy with it. Overall, my experience with Ammonite Electrical Services was exceptional from the start to end proving a reliable, prompt and an outstanding professional service. Once again, thank you David!
Alexander Posted on 10/07/2017 , work completed 10/07/2017
Brilliant Electrician with great knowledge. Completed several jobs to an excellent standard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been renovating my house for a year now and David has completed many jobs throughout this time. Everything from installing a new light to designing and installing new kitchen and garage circuits has been completed to an excellent standard. David is very knowledgeable and was able to advise me on several complicated issues. He was also incredibly flexible and found solutions to a number of issues. I cannot fault the standard and neatness of David’s work, it was all completed to an excellent level. I would not hesitate to recommend for any electrical job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/03/2017 , work completed 25/03/2017
Very knowledgeable and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Knowledgeable, reliable and pragmatic and happy to use email (my personal preference!). Always turns up, even for small jobs, willing to share knowledge with those generally interested in good practice and a fair price charged too such that we recently used David for more involved work on our loft conversion inc wireless linked smoke detection to satisfy Building Control, so enabling retention of our original doors.
2011-08-13 19:29:23.157 Posted on 12/06/2016 , work completed 12/06/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ammonite provided an excellent price and did the job quickly and turned up on time. He did the job efficiently and quickly without disruption, also giving good advice. Although the job was small he gave us the same amount of consideration and level of professionalism you would expect. Will be keeping his card for extra jobs in the future.
C.Hawkins Posted on 12/06/2016 , work completed 12/06/2016