We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Andy The Famous Plumber

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb img 4855 jpg

4.9

38 Reviews

About

Andy The Famous Plumber has been trading in Hertfordshire and Essex since 2002 and enjoys an excellent reputation for providing an honest, efficient and reliable plumbing and heating installation service.

Andy has an extensive client base built on reputation and a commitment to provide a very high standard of workmanship and customer satisfaction.

What you can expect from us:

+ A free no obligation visit to discuss your requirements
+ A detailed written quotation
+ High quality workmanship
+ To treat your home with respect and to cause as little inconvenience as possible

Central Heating Specialists
- Boiler repair & replacement
- Heating system upgrades and repairs
- Energy Efficient controls
- Powerflushing

Mains Pressure Hot Water systems installed

Landlord Gas Safety Certificates

All general plumbing work

*** We'll always call you if we're delayed - your time is important to us! ***

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Water softener installation and maintenance
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler repair
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Boiler installation
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • More Services

    • gas safety certificates
    • powerflushing

Customer reviews

4.9
38 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Professional, friendly and great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a radiator replaced in a bedroom and used Andy for the first time. ( It won't be the last). He came around to quote and talk us through our options, which was very reassuring . He price was very fair. On the day of the job very punctual and completed the work on time to a high standard. I can't fault in any way and and would gladly recommend Andy to any one. We will certainly be using Andy again.
James29/09/2019
Great service all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has done several jobs for us and I have always been impressed. Turns up when he says he will. Explains issues but never pushes anything that is not required. I will require a new boiler system shortly and I plan to use him for that work. He was recommended to us by friends and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone requiring heating/plumbing work.
Customer in Hertfordshire04/07/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Andy and his team on several occasions and will continue to do so. I use Andy for my annual boiler service and annual Landlord Gas Safety certificate. He has replaced a boiler for me too. I would thoroughly recommend him.
Customer in Essex20/05/2019
Andy the Famous Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The famous Andy and his assistant attended our annoyingly leaky kitchen tap and replaced with a splendid new tap. Great job was done, on time and leaving a clean area. We always contact Andy as we get a reliable and consistent service , especially as our old cottage has odd plumbing pipe work and connections and sometimes require a lengthy time in tight spaces... Cheers to Andy.
Customer in Essex02/04/2019
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team have been servicing our boiler for about 10 years and installed a new boiler for my grandmother a couple of years ago and are now servicing that. Their service has always been very good: courteous, efficient and reliable. Would happily recommend him and the team to others.
Customer in Essex09/03/2019
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy & Phil replaced old worn out boiler. They did a great job, no fuss and no hassle. Andy has done work for me over the last 8 years and has always been very professional.
Customer in Hertfordshire07/03/2019
Radiator Install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and team were excellent. The process from end to end was hassle free and well priced. Will use Andy again in future.
Customer in Essex25/02/2019
Excellent work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and two other workmen came to replace our en-suite shower, fix our bath tap/shower mixer and replace sink tap and refuse. They arrived on time, were extremely efficient and the workmanship was excellent. It was a hassle free job and I would definitely use them again/recommend them.
Customer in Essex22/02/2019
Flawless plumbing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came to replace the bathroom cistern and radiator valve. Easy! In the past he's done more challenging things like replacing our boiler and installing a water softener. Large and small - all were done to perfection.
Customer in Essex27/01/2019
Professional, friendly, considerate, thorough, communicative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has been my go-to plumber for 5 years now, and was my first choice when my boiler needed replacing. In addition to highly professional workmanship, I particularly appreciated how interactive and customer-focussed he was at all stages of the process. I'm happy to recommend him.
Pip_Stort15/09/2018
Top class workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy (the Famous Plumber) & Phil have looked after our heating & hot water system for the last 4 years or so, during which time we have received reliable, extremely efficient & personable service, along with some excellent advice. The most recent work we've had done was a new hot water cylinder, installed by Andy & Phil with the minimum of disruption & absolutely no hassle. They also tidied up messy pipe-work left by the previous plumber, so everything looks much neater. We have complete confidence in Andy's work & are pleased to give our recommendation.
Janet & Mark Ratcliff04/10/2017
Great service, high quality, totally secure
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team carried out two lots of work for us: firstly he installed a new house pump and hot water cylinder, moved/replaced a couple of radiators and renovated some basin fittings; secondly he installed a new shower, shower cubicle and sanitary wear in a refurbished shower room. We received very high-quality advice, the work was done punctually and with great professionalism, and the attitude of the team was always cheerful, positive and respectful. The shower room looks fantastic and the flow of the shower is the best I have ever known, while at the same time everything is as tight as a drum with not a drop of water in the wrong place. I cannot recommend Andy highly enough.
longfields11005/02/2017
Excellent, reliable and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy fixed my shower when the large bathroom company that had installed it, as well as other independent plumbers, couldn't. He also installed a heated towel rail in my bathroom and a kitchen tap. All his work was excellent, very friendly and on time. I am definitely going to get Andy to service my central heating and would totally recommend him.
Which? consumer 09/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
USED ANDY ON 04/05/16 ARRIVED ON TIME GOOD EFFICENT SERVICE AND REALY HELPFULL AT REALISTIC PRICE DEFINATELY A 5 STAR COMPANY
morganr04/05/2016
Superb service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team installed a new boiler and overhauled the central-heating system 2 years ago with such good advice and efficiency that I have continued to use him for plumbing work. The recent boiler service was done with the usual friendliness, courtesy and thoroughness.
2011-08-12 13:24:23.49720/10/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy installed a new boiler and Megaflo hot water system for us. He was full of good advice, very professional, efficient and tidy and we are very pleased with the results. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.
134856508/10/2015
New boiler installation and heating upgrade
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional attitude and explained everything and gave advice on best type of boiler etc. Work was completed in time allocated and everything left clean and tidy. I will certainly be using them in future for servicing boiler and any plumbing I need done.
EleanorF04/09/2015
Plumbing Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem with our power shower and Andy approached the job (via ringing the manufacturer) professionally and once he had the feedback, the job was done on the 2nd visit. No complaints, he is reliable, courteous and knows his stuff.
17942822/08/2015
New Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team supplied and fitted a new boiler for us. I have been very pleased with the new boiler and I have had them into service it. I would recommend them, they are polite and they work very cleanly and we would use them for any other plumbing jobs we need doing.
Katy L B21/08/2015
Great plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has been solving all our plumbing requirements for many years. He services our boiler every year reminding us when it is due without us having to contact him. He and his staff are very efficient and tidy workers and arrive at the time arranged. I would recommend them without hesitation.
DianaA18/08/2015
A pleasure to deal with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy installed a new boiler and radiators into our house, replacing an old, inefficient system. His work is of a very high standard and he offers fair, unbiased advice (for example on different boiler or wireless control options). He has obviously installed lots of systems, but even so the final decision is made by the customer - he's not in any way pushy. Polite at all times and very quick to respond to messages online or by phone. We will certainly use Andy again.
Site User18/08/2015
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has been our plumber for over six years now. Always had great service and will continue to use him for future plumbing needs.
Jane and Paul17/08/2015
New mains tank and plumbing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very happy with the way Andy responded to request. Job well done, will certainly use him again.
Dave and Di11/08/2015
More than the extra mile....
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team installed a new house pump and hot water cylinder, moved/replaced a couple of radiators and renovated some basin fittings. His admin and communications were extremely efficient, we received very high-quality advice, the work was done punctually and with great professionalism, and the attitude of the team was always cheerful, positive and respectful. As if this wasn't enough, once the pump was installed it revealed a problem in the water system which Andy stayed well into the evening to fix. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Site User11/08/2015
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Andy to arrange a review of my existing heating system and to install an new boiler and controller. Not only was Andy and his team totally professional, if found their advice and guidance impartial and felt that they were always recommending the right option, and not trying to increase prices for themselves. They were in my property for 3 days to install a new boiler, flush the system and ensure it was all working. Andy also took the time to track down the specific heated towel rail that I wanted for my bathroom. Finally, and one of the best parts of the service form the team, he checked back a few days after installation to ensure that everything was working correctly. I would heartily recommend their services to anyone.
GrahamA11/08/2015
Andy the famous Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First time I have used Andy and was very impressed with his work and attitude and would highly recommend him.
2010-10-05 07:43:58.8710/08/2015
Andy the plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy replaced our boiler and flushed the system. No mess. Work completed on time. Heating now better than ever.
DaveLangridge12/05/2015
Andy the famous plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has done several jobs for me over the years. Definetely reliable and trustworthy.
Silvia02/03/2015
Review on Andy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has done a couple of jobs for us including fitting a new boiler. He has always been very knowledgeable and helpful in explaining options and we really trust his opinions. In arranging appointments he has been reliable and in doing the work has been very neat and tidy. It is great to have found a plumber who we know we can rely on and contact in the future to do any other work in the same way.
Matthew21/02/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Andy a couple of months ago when I needed to replace my programmer. He was excellent quoting for work, giving me options, very honest and genuine, did the job which I am very happy with - and also pointed out something on my water tank for me to keep an eye on. I found him through Which and I'm happy that I did.
Foodieclaire18/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy fitted a combi-boiler and overhauled all radiators over 4 days. He gave excellent advice all round, and I ended up with a very neat and thorough job. He was polite, friendly and reliable. After the job was completed, he called a couple of days later to check that all was fine - which it was. I have already recommended him to friends and will certainly use him again.
S Jenkins18/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was looking for someone to fit a modern catalytic gas fire and found Andy on this site. He was utterly reliable,phoned/turned up as arranged,was painstaking in the work of removing the old fire and backboiler and fitting the replacement. His rates were clear and reasonable. Would have no hesitation in using him again and have already recommended him to several neighbours!
lindapennell23/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
very good worker and clean
ron ayling04/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Andy on this site and used him to fix a water heater which the original installer had botched. Andy researched the water heater problems and contacted the makers for correct installation procedure. Very satisfied with this work and some other installation work Andy has done for me.
Valkerie27/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a problem with a combi boiler. Rang Andy in the morning. By 11:30 he had fixed the problem and serviced the boiler! (not bad concidering how atrocious the weather was). Would have no problem recommending Andy. he is knowledgeable (took time to explain what he was doing in simple laymans terms) polite and punctual - what more can you ask for?
antipope21/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service - I asked Andy to come and remove a radiator which took a couple of hours including refilling the system and adding some anti corrosion stuff. He rang me the night before to check that all was ok, kept me in the loop as to what was happening including calling me to say that he would be 15 mins late due to traffic in Harlow. Well reccomended!
RachelAshwood03/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On the recommendation of a work colleague I had Andy supply and fit a Megaflo system and a water softener. I was very pleased with the service, the quality of neatness of the work and the follow up after the work was completed to make sure all was ok. I'm quite fussy and difficult to impress so he did well. I have recommended him to a number of other people and thought it was about time I put him on here.
veryzangy27/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy was the contractor used by the company that fitted my kitchen to install the plinth heater and move the gas cooker. He has since done all my gas appliance servicing and disconnected an old gas fire. I have confidence that he knows what he is doing and gives a good service at a good price. I have found that he phones back when he says he will and keeps in touch if he is delayed for any reason.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer09/09/2009