We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Armstrong & Devon Move

Profile thumb devonmovessewout
4.9

44 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday 08:00–18:00

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

About

Local National and European Movers, Storers & Packers

Since 1981 we have been relocating the people of Devon Locally, Nationally and across Europe offering an exceptional tailor made service with our wealth of knowledge and expertise.

We are accredited members of Which? Trusted Traders, Move Assured and Trading Standards Buy With Confidence Scheme.

You are more than welcome to make an appointment to visit our operating depot at Newton Abbot to inspect our accreditations, Insurance policies and view our fleet of modern well equipped vehicles and secure storage facilities.

We are more than happy to discuss any questions or assurances you may have regarding our services.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • International removals
    • Storage services
  • Waste Disposal

  • More Services

    • house clearance
    • van hire
    • man with a van

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Armstrongs to move our elderly dad out of one home, into storage and then 3 weeks later into his new home. The guys were always on time, polite efficient and very quick. Highly recommend them to anybody needing removals, very reasonable prices as an extra bonus!!
Customer in Devon Posted on 02/05/2022 , work completed 02/05/2022
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Armstrong & Devon Move first moved us from North to South Devon in June 2021. Since then they have held in storage for us a number furniture items not required until an extension was completed. Their staff were excellent at all times, hard working, friendly and helpful and no damage was caused to any of our possessions. The last of the stored items was delivered on 25 May 2022 and, again, the service was excellent. I would definitely use them again if I had to move.
Customer in Devon Posted on 28/04/2022 , work completed 25/04/2022
Great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our furniture was removed to Armstrong's storage dept and returned to us. The men were cheerful and polite and they worked efficiently and professionally in both remal and delivery of our furniture. They were most helpful and in placing the items on return. Communications were vey good, everything was clearly explained and invoices sent regularly. All in all an excellent service.
Customer in Devon Posted on 25/04/2022 , work completed 19/04/2022
Moving House
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unfortunately we were let down by another company and Armstrong Removals were able to step in at the last minute - for which we were very grateful. We arranged for them to pack us one day and move the next. We were impressed by the friendliness of the crews and their dedication to their work. All the valuables were wrapped carefully and we encountered no breakages or scratches. The crews worked quickly and efficiently, but with great humour, which helped at such a stressful time. The whole process was very smoothly managed and I would recommend the firm to anyone. Excellent service!
Customer in Devon Posted on 23/04/2022 , work completed 14/04/2022
Very professional and hard working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Armstrong and Devon Move recently to move house and they were incredibly helpful, professional and careful. The lift was broken at our destination and they just got on with the job, no complaints. I'd definitely recommend them and use them again.
Customer in Devon Posted on 19/04/2022 , work completed 09/04/2022
Devon move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lee and his team did an excellent job they were all very helpful. We had no problems with any damage considering how many ornaments we had packed away. We can highly recommend this company.
Trevor and Mary in Torbay Posted on 04/04/2022 , work completed 15/03/2022
From storage in Plymouth to house in Newton Abbot.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jack and Jon were absolutely fantastic. They had everything loaded up in no time at all. Very friendly. Very professional and hard working. Would definitely recommend.
Sarah in Devon Posted on 04/04/2022 , work completed 04/04/2022
Highly recommended / Worth every penny
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A big thank you to everyone at Armstrong & Devon Move. A great bunch of guys who worked effortlessly to accomplish the move in a timely manner. Nothing was too much trouble for these guys. This company was highly recommended to me by a colleague at work who had used them on two previous occasions. I will certainly be using them again & recommending them to family & friends. Again a big thank you for taking the edge off a stressful day.
Charlie in Devon Posted on 28/03/2022 , work completed 23/03/2022
Awesome Team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you Armstrong & Devon move for all your help and support with our most stressful day. The team worked hard and efficiently on both days (moving out and in) and were really helpful and reassuring all the way through. They helped us pack (rather too many last minute items) and stayed cheery and supportive. Nothing seemed too much trouble. We really couldn't have done it without them and would have no hesitation in recommending them and using them in the future (if we ever dare to move again). Thank you to Lauren and all the guys who helped on the day(s) .....you were truly awesome!!
Customer in Devon Posted on 18/03/2022 , work completed 10/03/2022
Fast and professional removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Armstrong & Devon Move stepped in last minute to assist a different firm we had booked when they were unable to provide enough staff as a result of us contracting covid three days prior to our move. The guys worked quickly and efficiently, in unusual circumstances and ensured we were able to get our move completed. There were professional throughout and complete lifesavers!!
Customer in Devon Posted on 11/03/2022 , work completed 04/03/2022
Great from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Armstrong were great, from initial quote, booking and the moving day itself. Always professional, quick to respond to queries and the price was very good. On moving day we had three removal people, they were so polite, chatty and upbeat. They worked quickly, but would always check if they weren’t sure about something. At the new house, again they worked at speed. All in all, a great service from start to finish!
Customer in Devon Posted on 25/02/2022 , work completed 23/02/2022
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a great job, from quote to removal. Lauren came round to quote, on the day I phoned, and everything ran very smoothly on the day. All our belongings were treated with the greatest of respect, and nothing was damaged, protectors were used in both properties to protect from scratches, and knocks. The move was stress-free, and I would be quite happy to use them again, and would not hesitate to recommend them. Great job guys.
Customer in Devon Posted on 21/02/2022 , work completed 17/02/2022
Excellent, professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So glad I chose to use Armstrong Devon Move. They made a very stressful relocation so much easier to bear. The men were respectful of all my belongings, and both properties I moved from and into. Nothing was broken or damaged and all items were well protected for the short journey. They were kind and considerate by reassuring me at all times that they were there to do the worrying and to take the strain off me. They helped with last-minute packing, disassembling a heavy oak dining table and two leather sofas. Throughout the day they remained cheerful and jolly. I cannot thank them enough, and hope they enjoyed their drink on me! My only criticism is of the packing service they offer. The boxes were well packed, but the labelling of what the contents were was a little basic. For example, boxes labelled as mixing bowls also contained a variety of other objects. This made unpacking them a little difficult as I did not know what I was going to find when unpacking them. If the box contents were a little more itemised this would have made deciding if to unpack a particular box or not, or to look for things I really need in a short time. I highly recommend them. I have no plans to ever move again, but if I did I wouldn’t hesitate in choosing Armstrong Devon Move again.
Customer in Devon Posted on 13/02/2022 , work completed 04/02/2022
Goods to Storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have found this company to be very helpful in every way, from constantly reviewing their quote as my situation changed, to answering any query promptly. The staff both in the office and the three man crew on the day have all been great. I would thoroughly recommend this company and look forward to the day when they can make the final move into my new home. Anne M
Anne in Devon Posted on 03/02/2022 , work completed 31/01/2022
Fast and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys from Devon Move arrived on Friday 28th January and had loaded up within a couple of hours . They were all friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble!!!! Would throughly recommend Devon Move !!!!!!! Thank you very much .
Customer in Devon Posted on 02/02/2022 , work completed 28/01/2022
Easy to book and quick move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked them with less than 1 week notice, easy to book. The guys who showed up were early, and didn’t waste any time. Knew exactly what they were doing and were lovely. Would use them again and will recommend them! Thanks!
Customer in Torbay Posted on 29/01/2022 , work completed 25/01/2022
Stepped in at the last moment and did a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The house we were moving from has difficult access and that may be the reason another company let us down. Armstrong and Devon Move did a fine careful job with five guys who were cheerful and polite. We were very satisfied and have recommended them to two of our friends who are also moving houses.
Stan in Torbay Posted on 17/01/2022 , work completed 14/01/2022
Excellent and stress-free
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was my first solo house move, and my first using a removal company, it could have been super stressful. But the 2 guys who moved my stuff were great, friendly, efficient and quick, they did a magnificent job, even when a narrow corridor at my new place combined with my long couch signaled a potential problem, they immediately had a plan b ready to go (in the end the couch just fit and was moved in as intended). All my things arrived at my new home in the exact same condition they left my old home. Would absolutely recommend Armstrong and Devon Move to others. Thank you.
Customer in Devon Posted on 22/12/2021 , work completed 18/12/2021
Moved and replaced a heavy washing machine
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We phoned Armstrong & Devon to help remove an old washing machine from a basement and bring down the new (and 97kg) one. The delivery service we had initially paid for said that both machines were too heavy and difficult to carry up this flight of stairs. Armstrong & Devon were immediately happy to help and came around within the hour. Both the guys that arrived were really friendly and helpful. They took one look and said how they were going to do it and got to work. They were really careful of the walls, the washing machine and oak stairs. Completing the task in 20mins. They even took the old washing machine away for me. The price was extremely reasonable and we were so relieved that we now have the new washing machine in for Christmas. We can’t thank them enough.
Paula in Devon Posted on 21/12/2021 , work completed 21/12/2021
Amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole team were so professional, friendly & considerate from start to finish. I cannot recommend them highly enough, if you want a stress free, professional removal company with excellent removal men & excellent customer service Armstrong and Devon Move are your company. Thank you
Customer in Devon Posted on 17/11/2021 , work completed 03/11/2021
Fabulous, would recommend 100%
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They assisted our move on the 18th December 2021 from Newton Abbot to Ivybridge. Very competitively priced, clean, efficient, fast, very friendly and, when things went slightly wrong at the new house (massive delay and we could not get hold of the developer for hours, resulting in tears and frustration), they were extremely understanding and very caring. We would, without question, recommend this firm.
Customer in Devon Posted on 05/11/2021 , work completed 18/10/2021
Excellent Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our move went really well thanks to the everyone involved from office staff to removal men. They were all cheerful, helpful, on time and went the extra mile to accommodate us. No breakages, no damage at either house so well done to all involved. The quote given was the price we paid.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 05/11/2021 , work completed 21/10/2021
All good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yes, we would recommend to anyone again, excellent service, from the quick survey down to the delivery of furniture. Really great bunch of guys to work with as in hard working and nothing was a problem. Oh, and they love home made sausage rolls.
Peter in Devon Posted on 03/09/2021 , work completed 16/08/2021
Couldn’t fault the service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Armstrong and Devon Move are amazing and I can’t fault the service I received. Called for a quote and someone came out the same day. Online system to accept quote was easy to use and no issues with sorting date once I exchanged. The team on moving day were amazing, completely took the stress out of the day. Extremely professional, helpful and all with a fantastic sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. Just sorry to the team for moving on the hottest day ever. Not only did I receive a fantastic service but the price was also equally as great. I couldn’t recommend this company more highly and I would definitely use them again in the future. Thanks for making everything so easy for me.
Customer in Devon Posted on 17/07/2021 , work completed 16/07/2021
From rural to urban
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved from an old farmhouse property on 25/6/21 - the weather was hot, access to the house was difficult with steps in and out, the lane was narrow and the drive undulating but the team from Devon Moves were not phased, smiling and efficient the whole day. They took great pride in their work and were communicative and helpful to us throughout the process. Martin was skilful in dismantling and building wardrobes and beds and great how he was kindly giving advice to his team members. All the guys were great - Harry outstanding just smiling and so courteous!
Christine in Devon Posted on 07/07/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
This company truly bent over backwards to help us!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to difficulties of arranging removals at short notice because they were so busy in June we had been anxious that we wouldn't be able to move by our completion date. That was until I contacted Lauren at Armstrong. Even though they too were extremely busy, they agreed to collect our things in 3 lots on different days leading up to our moving day, and store out things for a few days, and to basically fit us in around their other jobs. We were so relieved and very impressed with their willingness to move us. They were all cheerful and friendly in spite of crazy hours they must have been putting in! They even managed to find a slot to actually move all our stuff in 3 vans actually on our completion day! And it wasn't an easy or short run as it was all the way from their depot in Newton Abbot to Weymouth! Amazing service and such a refreshing contrast to a certain other removals firm who charged us a ridiculous penalty when, earlier in June, our promised exchange had fallen through! Full credit to all the staff and special thanks to Lauren for her willingness to help us in very trying circumstances.
Christine in Dorset Posted on 01/07/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
First class house clearance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrangements were done quickly. Arrived on time. Fast efficient helpful & polite workmen. 4 bedroom house & basement. All done in 4 hours to the agreed schedule & budget. The cooker was still connected, this was sorted out & two of the crew returned within the hour to take it away. That’s service for you.
Mike Posted on 26/06/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
Very Prompt
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The worked very well, efficient and thoughtful.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 26/05/2021
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team moved heavy furniture very efficiently to my new home and worked very hard. They kept me informed throughout which was reassuring and overcame difficult furniture manoeuvring which they expertly overcame. Moving the piano to the second floor was very expertly carried out and I was very impressed. I would recommend them. They definitely knew what they were doing. Great team.
Customer in Torbay Posted on 11/04/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
Professional company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed with the speed and efficiency of this firm. They were professional, friendly and careful.
Customer in Devon Posted on 10/04/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
Exceptional service in every way!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prior to the removal we were kept well informed on all aspects of our move. On the day the two chaps that came were fantastic. Punctual, polite, helpful, very careful with my Mum's precious antiques and nothing was too much trouble. They were in fact a joy to have around as they made the whole day (which we had been dreading) run like clockwork with plenty of light-hearted banter and giggles. Could not recommend them enough!! Thank you to all concerned!
Customer in Devon Posted on 09/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from this company. All the lads were helpful, professional and courteous. I Would highly recommend them.
Customer in Devon Posted on 15/03/2021 , work completed 26/02/2021
Great work, efficient and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were super impressed from the moment we had them round to quote, so skilled at visualising how much stuff we had and the cubic space we would need, other companies were not so able to do this! We moved from a three story home so loads of stairs and lots of stuff to shift! The team worked so well, nothing was too much trouble they left no mess and even waited until we had vacuumed round so they could take the vacuum too. The boss popped in a couple of times to check we were happy with the way things were going, it was lovely to see a happy team and work environment I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend their service, they were an absolute pleasure to deal with the office always replied to emails speedily and were friendly and helpful. Top service at a great price, couldn’t ask for more!
Customer in Torbay Posted on 22/02/2021 , work completed 12/02/2021
Superb service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We opted for both the moving and packing service and both were incredible. They arrived the day before we were due to move and in three hours packed up our entire house, being really considerate of me working from home. It saved us so much stress and they did an excellent job. The next day they arrived and totally cleared the house in what felt like minutes, and in a very friendly, considerate manner. Vans loaded they meet us at our new property and moved everything back in to the rooms we asked AND put all of our furniture back together. Nothing at all was broken in the move and they dealt with awkward staircases and wardrobes in a very jovial way! We cannot rate Armstrong and Devon Move highly enough, they saved us an enormous amount of thought and stress and made the move a very enjoyable day. All communications with the movers and the office for booking was very easy and clear. Fabulous!
Customer in Devon Posted on 09/02/2021 , work completed 05/02/2021
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a last minute move and the team were extremely accommodating. Very polite on the phone, as were the guys in person. They were able to sort the move on a weekend, which was fabulous. They arrived on time and were very efficient with the move. I can’t praise them highly enough. Reasonable price too. Thank you
Customer in Devon Posted on 02/02/2021 , work completed 31/01/2021
Efficient, friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Armstrong team moved us from a flat in London to a house in Devon and were a pleasure to work with from start to finish. From Lauren's organisational efficiency during the quote and the booking process, always with swift responses, to the punctuality and speed of the packing and moving team, it was a well-oiled machine. The guys clearly took pride in their work and in how carefully they packed the boxes and the vans. Nothing was too much trouble.
Customer in Devon Posted on 19/01/2021 , work completed 17/01/2021
The work was great the men were very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Armstrong very helpful and friendly they treated my goods very well. They were very efficient the made sure everything was taken out of the property with no damage.
Customer in Devon Posted on 31/12/2020 , work completed 17/12/2020
Cannot thank enough fantastic company and a real pleasure to deal with.
Once again second time I have booked this company and everyone from the boss to the workman on the vans we cannot thank enough for there hard work during difficult times. As I was not able to be at home for the move due to having a bone marrow Transplant the guys made the move such a stress free day for the rest of my family and thank you from the bottom of my heart. I seriously recommend this company very highly reasonable cost and very reliable. we certainly will use you in the future if required.
Lee in Devon Posted on 08/12/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Thank you boys!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team have just brought my leather sofa from London to our new home in Torquay. It was a tricky job involving 5 men and 3 ladders to get the sofa onto the balcony and into the 1st floor sitting room. It was all done with efficiency and good humour and much cheaper than buying a new sofa.
Susan, Torquay Posted on 30/10/2020 , work completed 24/10/2020
Fast & Efficient Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used Armstrong Removals to move house in the past, and finding them competitively priced for an efficient service, they were the obvious choice when I had a large item which I needed disposing. As always the service was quick and reliable. I would have no hesitation in using them again, or recommending them to a friend.
Customer in Devon Posted on 09/10/2020 , work completed 06/10/2020
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved on the 24 09 2020. 10/10 staff worked really hard never stopped. Highly recommended. They even moved my pot plants. A really big thank you to everyone, and to Lauren for organising the move.
Customer in Devon Posted on 30/09/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
Endorsement Reference - Very happy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of household goods into storage.
David, Endorsement Reference Posted on 24/09/2020 , work completed 08/09/2020
Endorsement Reference - Moving Time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally professional service before, during and after the move. Everything promised when quoting for job was carried out exactly as promised. Would not hesitate in recommending them to everyone
Posted on 17/09/2020 , work completed 02/09/2020
Endorsement Reference - Excellent service - highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent team who helped us to pack and then move. Efficient and respectful of our belongings. Good communication and their sense of humour made a mammoth task seem less challenging .
Posted on 17/09/2020 , work completed 01/09/2020
Endorsement Reference - Smooth efficient house move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved house from one part of Devon to another. Devon Move packed up all our stuff and drove it to new house. They were extremely efficient, friendly and courteous and were very careful with our belongings. Work completed on time and ?extras? we needed doing were not a problem. Very satisfied.
Posted on 17/09/2020 , work completed 05/09/2020