Endorsed by Which?

ASK Renewables Limited

5.0

131 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:00
  • Monday 08:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:00
  • Thursday 08:30–17:00
  • Friday 08:30–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

ASK Renewables Ltd. are Solar PV Energy Specialists offering a range of solar PV systems and battery storage options for all budgets.
Established in 2013, ASK Renewables Ltd remain a family owned business with a firm focus on customer service, happy to offer advice and guide you, smoothly from purchase to install at a pace that suits you.

At ASK Renewables Ltd. It’s our commitment to ensure you get the system that’s right for you. We do not send salespeople to your home, we only send our trained surveyors and Domestic Energy Assessors who will evaluate the suitability of your home and listen to your requirements. Expect the surveyor to ask you a lot of questions! Furthermore, they will explain everything in as much detail as you require so you can feel confident you’re getting the right system for you.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar panels
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
  • More Services

    • solar pv
    • battery storage
    • solar panel installation

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
131 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent Company for Solar Panel + Batteries Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted this company after reading the excellent Which reviews that were universally positive and even though they were outside my immediate geographical location. The initial contact was professional and efficient and was pleased to hear that they carried out an in person house survey to establish suitability and discuss requirements. At no point in the process was there any pressure selling, which I found very refreshing. Matt carried out a full survey of my house and spent an appreciable amount of time discussing my requirements and queries. He was professional, knowledgeable and treated my house with respect. I finally agreed to have 12 Solar panels and took up the option of extra battery storage and a larger inverter. The resultant competitive quotation was as expected and installation took place around one month after the survey. The installation happened on the agreed date, with scaffolding erected a few days before. Two men worked on the roof, whilst an electrician ensured a safe and tidy installation of the batteries, inverter etc in the garage. The whole job was completed in the morning to a high standard. The installation team were polite, tidy, friendly and efficient. The company did not want a deposit and full payment was only required a week after installation to ensure that the system was working properly. Matt was happy to help me with any subsequent queries. I found the whole process to be excellent and would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 31/07/2023 , work completed 26/04/2023
The trader replied (on 25/08/2023)
Very kind feedback - thank you! We work really hard to ensure that the system specification right for you and your home which is why we ASK lots of questions and it takes time, but worth every minute. Don't hesitate to get in touch with us if we can help you to get the maximum benefit from your Solar PV system! Thanks again, Matt.
Ask Renewables Ltd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can I just say what a pleasure it has been to do business with the company. Tom who came to do the quote - took plenty of time, was very knowledgeable and personable, answered all my queries and dealt with my email queries promptly even at weekends with no sales pressure whatsoever. The scaffolders were nice lads and the fitters Rob and Mark and the electrician Ben were all very nice and hard working. They enjoyed their work, were very professional, did a great job and didn't seem to mind getting absolutely soaked through doing the fitting in the pouring rain. The panels are generating plenty of electricity including enough for charging my car. I can appreciate why they are a Which Trusted Trader.
Simon in South Yorkshire Posted on 08/07/2023 , work completed 20/06/2023
The trader replied (on 11/07/2023)
Hello Simon, Thank you very much for the lovely feedback, I will make sure it's passed onto all concerned. Your review truly reflects our ethos as a company, no pressure from us, just honest, straight forward advice. We look forward to supporting you to make the very best of your Solar PV in the years to come. Thanks again, Samantha.
Competitive, friendly and professional. Highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installing a solar panel system is an expensive capital investment and we were bewildered by the number of companies available. There were also lots of horror stories. Having found that Ask-Renewables were relatively local to me (Yorkshire) and the highest rated Solar PV company on Which? I arranged for a survey to be carried out after my first phone call with Samantha - not a sales rep but a director of the company. Nothing was too much trouble (despite my having my own ideas about what I wanted my system to achieve) and at no point did I feel that I was being pressured into buying something. Their advice was good (I did my research) and, having found them to be very competitive on price, we arranged the install. It is worth noting that we obtained three quotes in total and, not only were Ask the most competitive, they were also by far the most professional in their approach. One company quoted after looking at our house on Google Earth and then tried to pressure us repeatedly to sign up! Not Ask. The install was incredibly smooth despite my particular requirements not being 'standard' and even when an additional item was required (again, due to my particular needs) someone jumped in a car and brought it out to the fitting team. All done and complete in the day! We installed a large 8kw array with a 6kw hybrid inverter on a south facing roof. Our first week generated enough power for our whole house inc ev and sent £50 back to the grid!
Peter in York Posted on 22/06/2023 , work completed 16/06/2023
The trader replied (on 22/06/2023)
Hello Peter, Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our Which? Trusted Trader Profile. It was a real pleasure to help turn your solar PV vision into reality and we look forward to helping you make the most of your investment in the months and years to come. Thanks again, Samantha.
Happy with my system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been wanting to get Solar for a long time but only recently when the price of energy has gone up thought I was ready. The tech has improved recently so now is a great time to get a system installed. I got another quote before speaking to ASK, but ASK's quote was much better (by about £1k) and for a larger system (8 panels instead of 7). After quoting for 2 sizes of system (8 or 16 panels) I went for 8 panels and 2 x 3.2 kWh batteries. No deposit was needed and the guarantees / warranties are great. The installation was done efficiently the day after the scaffolding was put up, panels on in the morning and electrical equipment fitted by 2pm. My only gripe is the promised "guide to the online software" hasn't happened yet. There are lots of screens and options which don't make much sense or use short acronyms without any explanation. Note, the mobile app didn't work for me but you can go through the website. Having said that, they have called me a few times to offer to send an engineer to inspect the system. The first couple of days the inverter was taking power from the grid instead of the battery but now things seem to have settled down and the system is running smoothly (so I declined the engineer visit). So far the record day has generated 21 kWh and I'm a low user (roughly 1500 kWh / year). In 1 month (May) I've used only 12 kWh from the grid. I'm very happy with that. I'm interested to see how the system performs over the whole year.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 29/05/2023 , work completed 20/04/2023
The trader replied (on 11/07/2023)
Hello, thank you for your honest and comprehensive feedback, it's really great to hear that Solar PV can deliver impactful savings, even for low users of electricity. I am sorry it took us a little while to get to you with our customer education session, I know this has now been done but don't forget ASK are here for you for the long term, if you have any questions at all, we are always happy to chat. Thanks again, Samantha.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our Solar Panel system installed by Ask Renewables Ltd a few weeks ago and we have nothing but praise for the company. We are extremely pleased with Ask Renewables Ltd in the way they conducted themselves from start to finish. The whole process was handled with due care and attention in a very professional and courteous manner: from Sam in the office who handled all the logistics and paperwork; Matt who came to visit our house and design a suitable system for our needs; the solar panel installers (Mark and Rob) who did a great job fitting the panels as agreed; the electrician Ben who got it all fitted, connected and working seamlessly; the scaffolders, who were also polite and friendly. The whole process was handled well by everyone with no pressure tactics to make decisions quickly. I was impressed that we did not have to pay anything upfront and in fact, full payment was only paid when we were happy with the system fully up and running at the end. The app that was installed on our phone is extremely useful to monitor the system and also helps to see what electricity is being generated/used etc. All in all, I would highly recommend Ask Renewables Ltd if you are looking for a Solar Panel system to be installed on your premises as they did an excellent job with ours. They are also a ‘Which Trusted Trader’ which you can check on the appropriate website.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 17/05/2023 , work completed 05/05/2023
The trader replied (on 11/07/2023)
Hello, what a simply wonderful review, thank you very much, I will make sure the whole team involved get to read this, they will be blown away! Your experience with ASK is exactly how we like to do business, professional and courteous, polite and friendly, working seamlessly, due care and attention, these are our rules of engagement! The app is extremely helpful, if a little addictive at first, make sure to pay just as much attention to a weather app, as you get to know your system you will get to know, roughly, what you will generate and when with a quick check on the weather. Thanks again, Samantha.
An outstanding company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ASK Renewables supplied & installed a solar PV system together with battery storage at our property. This was a daunting prospect but we needn’t have worried because we were in good hands. From the very first telephone call to completion and beyond they were an absolute pleasure to deal with. I fully concur with the many positive comments here, however a couple of items stand out for me. Firstly, out of all the traders I contacted they were the only one that insisted on performing an on-site survey before providing a quote. This caused a slight delay but it was well worth the wait. In my mind this is essential as any unforeseen problems can be uncovered at an early stage and dealt with before the quotation. It also gives you the chance to discuss your requirements face-to-face with the designer and ask as many questions as you like. Secondly, how a trader reacts to an issue that arises after completion and you've parted with your money is key. In our case an issue arose weeks after completion that was not ASK's fault. I phoned them to simply ask for their advice, however I was pleasantly surprised when they immediately offered to send someone out to sort this issue. They were not under any obligation to do this and it is a mark of a truly outstanding company. Finally, when the time came to apply for a SEG tariff with our energy supplier all the necessary certification and documentation had been correctly supplied. We would not hesitate to recommend ASK Renewables to anyone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/04/2023 , work completed 27/09/2022
Endorsement Reference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had solar panels installed, I was taken through the whole process step by step from sales to installation to after sales by really good, honest and knowledgeable people. The installation day was great, they turned up when they said they would and left sooner even than they had predicted. The only evidence that they had even been there was the equipment installed. Lovely, tidy job which I am over the moon with. I would sincerely recommend ASK Renewables to anybody looking to install solar.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/03/2023 , work completed 06/03/2018
Excellent service and reliability - 20 x 405W panels, 5 Kw Inverter, 4 x 3.2 Kw batteries
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided to contact Ask Renewables after reading the wonderful reviews on the Which website and we wholeheartedly agree with their comments. Sam (in the office) skillfully guided us through the process and arranged for Tom to carry out a site visit. He asked us what we would like before mentioning any of their products and this was very refreshing as previous quotes were quite heavy on sales patter. Tom discussed where would be best to site the inverter and batteries and after an inspection of the roof and measurements we had another chat to discuss what size of array was possible and our options on which type of inverter/batteries might best suit. There was no pressure to order a specific set up and we soon received a detailed quote from Tom which set out everything with a clear price. We tweaked it slightly - adding extra batteries (for future proofing) as we intend to purchase another EV in a couple of year's time. Once we accepted the quote we were looked after by Sam again who applied for the DNO regarding the 5 Kw inverter. It came back quickly so Sam booked our installation for 21st March 2023. Scaffolding was erected 2 days before the 3 installers arrived. We were amazed at how smoothly/quickly the installation went and were guided through installing the monitoring app onto our phones before they left - fantastic, knowledgeable and friendly guys. We highly recommend the whole team at Ask Renewables! The system is already providing significant savings!
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 29/03/2023 , work completed 03/02/2023
The trader replied (on 12/02/2024)
Thank you for this, it was good to speak to you a moment ago and to hear how pleased you are with the system. I’ll wait to hear from you when you’ve got the new smart tariff set up and then we can get the overnight battery charging for you as well. Thanks again, Tom
Excellent service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a visit from Neil on 23/01/23. He was very knowledgeable about the products and what we could realistically expect. He then did a very thorough job surveying our property, checking roof trusses, and possible position of the battery. A week later we received a very comprehensive quote and paperwork tailored to our property giving very clear breakdowns of what each component contributes to the system. Once we committed to the quote things moved very fast. There were no costs paid up front. Scaffolding arrived on Monday 13th February and the panels were fitted on Thursday 16th February. The fitters were very careful and respectful of the property and the fitting was completed in a single morning. We were set up with an app to monitor the panel’s production and the battery. Ask renewables monitored the solar yield to ensure all was working correctly before they sent out the invoice for the full payment. All the paperwork arrived a couple of weeks later and that enabled us to contact our energy provider to sell our excess energy to the grid. The whole process from start to finish was so easy. All the permissions were obtained by Ask on our behalf and we did not have to get involved. The company was very easy to contact and exceptionally knowledgeable about everything to do with the process from start to finish. We are so delighted with the company and the service they provided we recommended them to a friend who has also had panels fitted by Ask.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 23/03/2023 , work completed 23/02/2016
The trader replied (on 06/12/2023)
Many thanks for the feedback! We're pleased the process went smoothly from initial survey to post installation support, as this is exactly what we work hard to do! We hope you continue to enjoy the many benefits your system will bring in the years ahead. Best wishes, Matt
Ask Renewables - excellent from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At the initial survey, Matt asked what system we required and carried out a thorough detailed survey followed by several questions before coming up with the proposal for solar panels plus battery storage. Within the next week, we received a very detailed but easily understood quotation. Matt was aware I was getting additional quotations but did not pressurise us or offer additional ‘incentives’. After obtaining two more quotations I decided to go with Ask Renewables. A date was set for the scaffolding to be erected with the installation taking place the following day. On the day of the installation, a team of two quickly and efficiently installed the solar panels, batteries, inverter and associated equipment. They left by mid-afternoon after tidying everywhere and explaining how to use the app to control the system. I have been very pleased with how the system works and the amount of energy produced by the panels. Everyone I have had contact with from Ask Renewables has been professional and very pleasant and I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Dennis in South Yorkshire Posted on 16/03/2023 , work completed 21/02/2023
The trader replied (on 06/12/2023)
Great to read this feedback, thank you! I'm particularly pleased to note you did feel under any pressure from at the quotation stage - this is exactly our ethos. We are not a hard pressure sell company, and aim to give all the time and support needed to make the right decision for you and your home. We hope you're enjoying your system still! Best regards, Matt