Endorsed by Which?

AST Services Ltd

4.9

124 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

May 2020

About

AST Services Limited was established in 1995 by Tony Tucker a former lift and escalator engineer. Tony has spent a total of 39 years in the lift industry, the last 28 specifically working with domestic stairlifts. The combined stairlift experience of our two most senior engineers totals over 40 years! Although a small friendly company with a highly motivated and dedicated team, we easily match our larger competitors in terms of experience and ability. Being a small company with excellent experience means we can give unrivalled levels of service both during the installation phase and the subsequent maintenance of your stairlift.

To date, our customers include cancer care hospices, local authority social services, MacMillan Cancer Nurses and Occupational Therapists as well as charitable organisations such as the Royal British Legion and Motor Neurone Disease association.

What we do

  • Disability and mobility

    • Stairlifts
    • Stairlift Engineers
  • More Services

    • we rent and sell both straight and curved stairlifts.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
124 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Reliable and dependable company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST, The Friendly Stairlift Company, supplied and fitted a stair lift just one day in February 2008. The same stair lift has been operating safely and reliably here for the past fourteen years - thanks to AST's excellent and attentive service. Great work!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/11/2022 , work completed 02/11/2022
The trader replied (on 14/06/2023)
Thank you for your review Its been lovely having you as a customer for over 14 years. So pleased we have been able to service your stairlift and keep your original stairlift in good serviceable order. (now nearly 16 year old machine)
Providing and fitting a Stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On the first visit, by an engineer not a salesman, the information was clear, exact and all questions answered honestly by a personable young man. The prices were reaonable and the aftercare seemed excellent. I ordered the reconditioned lift from them after seeing other companies representatives. The lift was installed the following day by the company's owner with absolute efficiency, time given to explanation again and the 24hour after care service assured. Both gentlemen were friendly, patient and a pleasure to have in my home. Any mess, of which there was a negligible amount, was cleaned up immediately. There was a fault with the battery which occurred the following day and the issue was fixed the very same day. I can highly recommend this company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/10/2022 , work completed 04/10/2022
Straightforward, Experienced, Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Because my wife has been finding the stairs an increasing challenge, we have been considering a lift for a while. We found the details of Tony's company through the 'Which Trusted Traders' site and are really pleased we went with him. The pricing is straightforward. They understood our needs from the outset and recommended a cost-effective solution. They explained our options clearly and set it all down in writing. From the point of our deciding to go with them, it was a matter of days to the installation. Tony did the job himself and we felt comfortable we were with an experienced engineer who knew his stuff. He completed the job efficiently and to time. Early days yet - but the lift has certainly made a difference to my wife's well-being. We are more than happy to recommend AST.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/10/2022 , work completed 20/10/2022
A company that genuinely cares.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mum has recently been told she is sadly end of life, she is struggling with her mobility. We decided to rent a stair lift, to help her. I came across Tony's website and I am so glad I did! This man has gone above and beyond for my mother. Tony went to my mother's house on Wednesday to fit the stair lift unfortunately she had more bad news, so my father had to cancel the job (even though Tony was already at the address) The following evening I gave him a call after discussing it with my family, we decided it was in her best interest to have the lift. Tony was booked up until September, he said he would call me back. Within 10 minutes he had arranged for himself and Darrell to go and fit the stair lift that same evening (even though he was finished work for the day and needed to head back to Norfolk). The stairlift was installed extremely quickly and professionally. Tony and his team genuinely care about their customers; they are brilliant at what they do, and they really do go above and beyond. I can never thank Tony and his team for the outstanding service they gave my mother. They have made the rest of her life a little bit easier.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/08/2022 , work completed 18/08/2022
Stairlift installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found AST provided excellent service and support from the outset of our enquiry to installation. They were very helpful explaining all the different products available, helping us to chose the right We would highly recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/04/2022 , work completed 01/04/2022
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband has terminal cancer. His occupational therapist gave me AST Services No. I rang on Monday 20th December and was given instructions as to how to measure for the stairlift (video, measurements etc). Tony rang me back to say ‘yes’ could be fitted before Christmas. On Wednesday 22nd December Jason fitted the stairlift. My husband was so happy, it was the best Christmas present ever. Thankyou so much will definitely recommend. Great company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/01/2022 , work completed 22/12/2021
Great service. Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a stairlift for a very narrow staircase which goes round a 360 degree corner i.e. an almost impossible location. We contacted AST and the owner, Tony, came to assess and measure and reckoned it might just be possible but it would be tight. We weren’t in a hurry as it was insurance for the future rather than an immediate essential, which gave Tony time to liaise with the factory, get a rail re-made to make it more user-friendly and work on it over a number of weeks, which he needed as it was a serious challenge. But he did it and, now we really depend on it, we are so grateful. He couldn’t have been more professional and hardworking over it all, keeping us informed of progress as he waited for new parts etc. And we enjoyed having him working in the house as he was so friendly and helpful. A final word of praise: I managed to get a towel trapped in it on Boxing Day. Entirely my fault, but out Tony came, over an hour’s drive each way, to sort it out and not a word of censure: problem just efficiently sorted. I can’t recommend AST enough and can only say thank you.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/12/2021 , work completed 22/09/2021
Stairlift Services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company has been assisting my elderly family for years to service a stairlift. Always a very professional and fast service, friendly and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they go above and beyond to help you with any of your needs. Such a great team thank you for all you do to keep people moving daily
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
Quick installation date and fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Curved stairlift fitted. No pressure to go with them. We were after a quick installation date and were really pleased to get one. All fitted to agreed schedule and budget. We had a power cut the morning of fitting but the engineer was fine about it and worked around the power issue until it came back on. Great first impression and v helpful. I will definitely recommend. Thank you.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/08/2021 , work completed 02/08/2021
AST Services Stairlift fit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service. My mother had a fall on the Saturday. On Monday I called AST after they were recommended by a friend. They did an assessment Wednesday and had it fully fitted and working on Thursday. The installers are friendly, super helpful and clearly know their stuff. The stairlift itself is excellent, narrow profile so left enough space for the rest of us to use the stairs which is great. I couldn't be more pleased with how quick they got this all done, the quality of the work and help they provided.
Altaf in Wokingham Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021