Endorsed by Which?

AST Services Ltd

4.9

124 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

May 2020

About

AST Services Limited was established in 1995 by Tony Tucker a former lift and escalator engineer. Tony has spent a total of 39 years in the lift industry, the last 28 specifically working with domestic stairlifts. The combined stairlift experience of our two most senior engineers totals over 40 years! Although a small friendly company with a highly motivated and dedicated team, we easily match our larger competitors in terms of experience and ability. Being a small company with excellent experience means we can give unrivalled levels of service both during the installation phase and the subsequent maintenance of your stairlift.

To date, our customers include cancer care hospices, local authority social services, MacMillan Cancer Nurses and Occupational Therapists as well as charitable organisations such as the Royal British Legion and Motor Neurone Disease association.

What we do

  • Disability and mobility

    • Stairlifts
    • Stairlift Engineers
  • More Services

    • we rent and sell both straight and curved stairlifts.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
124 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Very, very happy customers!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial contact with AST services to the fitting of the stairlift our experience has been excellent. Jason and his colleague Adam are a credit to the company. So efficient, helpful and patient and two really nice guys. Amazingly there was very little noise and no mess at all! We didn’t have to wait long at all for the stairlift and it has made a huge difference to the quality of life of my elderly mother. Thank you so much.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/06/2024 , work completed 30/05/2024
Ryan installed a stair lift for my parents
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan fitted a stairlift for my parents. He was very professional and showed great empathy. He is a credit to AST and would recommend him to anybody requiring this service. He quoted and fitted in less than a week, very impressive service.
Customer in Berkshire Posted on 13/02/2024 , work completed 30/01/2024
Excellent service, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommending Jason and the team at AST. They installed a complicated 4-bend stairlift for us doing a fantastic job to respond to our sudden change in circumstances. They couldn't do more to support us. The stairlift is robust and well built. They explained it all to us and were patient and kind to my deaf, elderly dad.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 24/01/2024 , work completed 24/01/2024
Good installation, excellent friendly service and ongoing support
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would like to thank AST Services for our stairlift which has been invaluable. I have waited six months before writing this review to allow time to give a true reflection on the reliability of the Brooks Stairlift and the ongoing service support provided by the AST Team. I am 100% satisfied with everything from the initial survey that was carried out by Ricky who has vast experience with these products, to the installation, to the friendly and efficient ongoing service support provided by Ricky & Ryan. The AST Team are easily contactable should you have any queries or concerns relating to the product that they have installed.
Customer in Berkshire Posted on 04/12/2023 , work completed 11/05/2023
A memorable experience for all the right reasons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my first enquiry to last contact, AST Services provided a level and quality of service rarely seen these days. At a challenging time I took a deep breath and started making calls believing I was about to enter a dark world of pressure sales, huge expense and frustration. How wrong I was. My initial call was taken by Jason who was knowledgable, genuinely keen to understand our situation and provided straightforward information on options and costings which gave me confidence. He said he would message his colleague who covered my area. Five minutes later Ryan called, said he was nearby and would visit straight away. Ryan arrived 20 minutes later, measured up and explained stairlift, cost and service options clearly. We felt comfortable to proceed and he returned the next day to complete the installation of a straight stairlift with hinged rail and auto swivel. Prior to leaving he outlined emergency and out of hours arrangements and responded promptly when I has a query the next morning. I also called him error without knowing I’d done so and my call was returned straight away to check that all was well (sorry Ryan!) I feel this bodes well should I have need for out of hours help. Ryans work and presence in our home was a ray of sunshine at what was a very difficult time. I cannot offer a single piece of constructive criticism, 10/10, nailed it!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 27/08/2023 , work completed 16/08/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST fitted a stair lift for my parents nearly a decade ago. We have had nothing but positive experience with them. They are reliable and trustworthy and have always responded quickly whenever we have called them. I couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/08/2023 , work completed 07/08/2023
The trader replied (on 09/08/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Very pleased to have been there to help your parents over all these years. Look forward to many more years to come. God bless Tony Tucker Director
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I purchased a stairlift from AST some 10 years ago and the service has been excellent every year since. I have recommended them to others including family members.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/07/2023 , work completed 18/07/2023
The trader replied (on 09/08/2023)
Thank yo for your reply. We at AST Services are so happy when we get reviews from customers that have used our services for such a long time. We certainly will keep looking after you for many years. Thank you Tony Tucker Director
Awful experience
AST was recommended to us by friends we had met at a support group and they had had a very positive experience of AST buying a reconditioned stair lift. There was no pressure sales when the representative came to measure up and this part of the experience was positive. It is also nice to use a local company. We phoned on 22/4/23 and they said they could fit on the 24/5/23. I asked what the difference was between the rental and buying a reconditioned and was told that the recondition are less than 3 years old and rental more than 3 years old. We opted for a reconditioned. When the man came to fit it on the 24th as agreed, he put the rail on our stairs and I was shocked as it appeared dirty inside the track. Inspecting it, it contained a lot of carpet fluff and dust from previous owner(s) as well as pine needles and there was also rust. The fitter explained that the motor and seat are less than 3 years old but the rail is whatever they have. Appalled we rejected the stair lift and bought a new one from another company. We did not lose any money as they did not ask for any upfront. However, I am very concerned, as whilst I am not vulnerable and felt able to reject their dirty and in what appeared to be very poor condition stair lift, many in their client base will be very vulnerable.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/06/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 14/06/2023)
"Thank you for your review I’m sorry that you were not happy with our service”. We at AST Services Ltd take great pride in work and how we treat vulnerable adults in our society, as a result we do not take deposits on reconditioned curved or straight stairlifts, for the following reasons. 1. The consumer has a right to change their mind and as no deposit has been taken this is hassle free. 2. When we bring in the stairlift into the house, the customer can inspect it immediately. Whilst every effort is made to ensure that the equipment is up to a high standard any failure is corrected when the installation is completed, as the entire installation (Rail, carriage, chair) is thoroughly cleaned again. 3. We only ask for payment AFTER the safety demonstration has been done, so if the customer has any issues they can be addressed BEFORE payment is made. 4. If in the unlikely event there are any issues that can’t be addressed immediately then payment is delayed until AFTER they have been addressed and the customer is satisfied. 5. As we deal with vulnerable adults on a regular basis, payment is often delayed until the evening or by one day until family or friends have inspected our installation. (Thus giving 100% peace of mind when dealing with AST Services.) 6. Should a customer feel that they should have purchased a new stairlift, we can easily upgrade the reconditioned stairlift to new one with no loss of money. (Within 2 months) Thank you, Tony Tucker Director
Great and quick service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I originally emailed AST on Sunday and was expecting a call on the Monday but got a call the same day. I explained about my mum needing a stairlift and asked if someone would need to come to the house to do a review of the stairs etc. Tony was very kind and explained about filming the stairs and submitting it so that he could work out a quote from the video and explained about renting or purchasing. After submitting the video Tony responded with the quote and the different options. After my mum decided which option she thought was best, we arranged a date for the workmen to attend. They did a brilliant job of installing the stairlift which is easy and simple to use. My mum was very happy and now brings her a greater quality of life as she was really struggling to walk up the stairs due to her age.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/04/2023 , work completed 20/04/2023
The trader replied (on 14/06/2023)
Thank you for your lovely reply. I'm so glad that the stairlift has really helped your mother. Sending us a whatsapp video really helped us at AST Services speed up the process, your assistance with this was greatly appreciated. I wish all the best for you and your mother. Thank you Tony Tucker Director
Professional, compassionate, efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST Services: 1. responded to our voice mail message within minutes; 2. attended the same day to carry out a survey for stair lift installation; 3. developed a viable solution for a challenging staircase layout; 4. installed the stair lift the following day; 5. kept the disruption to a minimum; 6. showed great compassion and patience in providing training to the 90-year-old customer and carers.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/01/2023 , work completed 10/01/2023
The trader replied (on 14/06/2023)
Thankyou for your review. Helping your father get up the stairs safely was wonderful, especially as your stairs were very narrow. (We at AST Services Limited like an challenge!) Thank you Tony Tucker Director
Reliable and dependable company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST, The Friendly Stairlift Company, supplied and fitted a stair lift just one day in February 2008. The same stair lift has been operating safely and reliably here for the past fourteen years - thanks to AST's excellent and attentive service. Great work!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/11/2022 , work completed 02/11/2022
The trader replied (on 14/06/2023)
Thank you for your review Its been lovely having you as a customer for over 14 years. So pleased we have been able to service your stairlift and keep your original stairlift in good serviceable order. (now nearly 16 year old machine)
Providing and fitting a Stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On the first visit, by an engineer not a salesman, the information was clear, exact and all questions answered honestly by a personable young man. The prices were reaonable and the aftercare seemed excellent. I ordered the reconditioned lift from them after seeing other companies representatives. The lift was installed the following day by the company's owner with absolute efficiency, time given to explanation again and the 24hour after care service assured. Both gentlemen were friendly, patient and a pleasure to have in my home. Any mess, of which there was a negligible amount, was cleaned up immediately. There was a fault with the battery which occurred the following day and the issue was fixed the very same day. I can highly recommend this company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/10/2022 , work completed 04/10/2022
Straightforward, Experienced, Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Because my wife has been finding the stairs an increasing challenge, we have been considering a lift for a while. We found the details of Tony's company through the 'Which Trusted Traders' site and are really pleased we went with him. The pricing is straightforward. They understood our needs from the outset and recommended a cost-effective solution. They explained our options clearly and set it all down in writing. From the point of our deciding to go with them, it was a matter of days to the installation. Tony did the job himself and we felt comfortable we were with an experienced engineer who knew his stuff. He completed the job efficiently and to time. Early days yet - but the lift has certainly made a difference to my wife's well-being. We are more than happy to recommend AST.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/10/2022 , work completed 20/10/2022
A company that genuinely cares.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mum has recently been told she is sadly end of life, she is struggling with her mobility. We decided to rent a stair lift, to help her. I came across Tony's website and I am so glad I did! This man has gone above and beyond for my mother. Tony went to my mother's house on Wednesday to fit the stair lift unfortunately she had more bad news, so my father had to cancel the job (even though Tony was already at the address) The following evening I gave him a call after discussing it with my family, we decided it was in her best interest to have the lift. Tony was booked up until September, he said he would call me back. Within 10 minutes he had arranged for himself and Darrell to go and fit the stair lift that same evening (even though he was finished work for the day and needed to head back to Norfolk). The stairlift was installed extremely quickly and professionally. Tony and his team genuinely care about their customers; they are brilliant at what they do, and they really do go above and beyond. I can never thank Tony and his team for the outstanding service they gave my mother. They have made the rest of her life a little bit easier.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/08/2022 , work completed 18/08/2022
Stairlift installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found AST provided excellent service and support from the outset of our enquiry to installation. They were very helpful explaining all the different products available, helping us to chose the right We would highly recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/04/2022 , work completed 01/04/2022
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband has terminal cancer. His occupational therapist gave me AST Services No. I rang on Monday 20th December and was given instructions as to how to measure for the stairlift (video, measurements etc). Tony rang me back to say ‘yes’ could be fitted before Christmas. On Wednesday 22nd December Jason fitted the stairlift. My husband was so happy, it was the best Christmas present ever. Thankyou so much will definitely recommend. Great company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/01/2022 , work completed 22/12/2021
Great service. Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a stairlift for a very narrow staircase which goes round a 360 degree corner i.e. an almost impossible location. We contacted AST and the owner, Tony, came to assess and measure and reckoned it might just be possible but it would be tight. We weren’t in a hurry as it was insurance for the future rather than an immediate essential, which gave Tony time to liaise with the factory, get a rail re-made to make it more user-friendly and work on it over a number of weeks, which he needed as it was a serious challenge. But he did it and, now we really depend on it, we are so grateful. He couldn’t have been more professional and hardworking over it all, keeping us informed of progress as he waited for new parts etc. And we enjoyed having him working in the house as he was so friendly and helpful. A final word of praise: I managed to get a towel trapped in it on Boxing Day. Entirely my fault, but out Tony came, over an hour’s drive each way, to sort it out and not a word of censure: problem just efficiently sorted. I can’t recommend AST enough and can only say thank you.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/12/2021 , work completed 22/09/2021
Stairlift Services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company has been assisting my elderly family for years to service a stairlift. Always a very professional and fast service, friendly and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they go above and beyond to help you with any of your needs. Such a great team thank you for all you do to keep people moving daily
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
Quick installation date and fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Curved stairlift fitted. No pressure to go with them. We were after a quick installation date and were really pleased to get one. All fitted to agreed schedule and budget. We had a power cut the morning of fitting but the engineer was fine about it and worked around the power issue until it came back on. Great first impression and v helpful. I will definitely recommend. Thank you.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/08/2021 , work completed 02/08/2021
AST Services Stairlift fit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service. My mother had a fall on the Saturday. On Monday I called AST after they were recommended by a friend. They did an assessment Wednesday and had it fully fitted and working on Thursday. The installers are friendly, super helpful and clearly know their stuff. The stairlift itself is excellent, narrow profile so left enough space for the rest of us to use the stairs which is great. I couldn't be more pleased with how quick they got this all done, the quality of the work and help they provided.
Altaf in Wokingham Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the service and how quick they came and did it. All very clean. Extremely pleased and work was good.
Cusomter, Buckinghamshire Posted on 14/01/2021 , work completed 06/12/2020
Great service and quick turnaround
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called AST as I needed a stairlift quickly due to my wife's health condition. I was given a clear idea of what options were available (I didn't know you could rent a stairlift) and any other costs (eg breakdown/servicing) were outlined. The engineer called a couple of days later to visit and view the site. He was very helpful and pointed out that there would be no 'sales follow up chasing' once he had given me the quote. This was the case and I then called to book the installation. Tony managed to get out to us very quickly despite the start of the second lockdown. The job was done very quickly and to our satisfaction. Tony pointed out that there could be some amendments that could be made once the stairlift had been used if we wished and he came back when I called him to make a minor change. I found AST a really good company to work with and they seem to be very honest in their approach. I would happily recommend them.
Customer in Windsor and Maidenhead Posted on 24/11/2020 , work completed 03/11/2020
Great company .. fast .. efficient and personal service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang Tony the owner of the company on the Monday to get a quote. Not only was his quote reasonable... by the Thursday I had an almost new chairlift fully fitted and functional. He came himself to fit it and even threw in some amazing extras. I found him and his staff an absolute pleasure to deal with, honest and totally reliable, and a great price, highly highly recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/11/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
DUPLICATE Superb Service
We contacted AST on Friday 10/07/2020 and our call was dealt with in a friendly and professional manner. A site survey was arranged for Monday 13th and the engineer arrived on time. The engineer carried out the survey and offered his recommendations.He then advised us to consider the options and to contact the office for any further advice and to place an order if we wished.We contacted the office a little later and requested a very early supply if possible. We were delighted when they managed to fit us in the following day and at all times the engineer kept us informed.The stair lift was completed the following day and the results exceeded our expectations.The work carried out was excellent.We would also point out that due to the current Covid problems the hygiene precautions taken by the engineer were exemplary. Thank you A S T
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 15/07/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tried a Thesaurus to try to find a superlative that best described AST that nobody else had used, they had all been taken! From the initial contact to job completion nothing was too much trouble and I am very pleased with the result. This is a caring, professional firm, which provides an outstanding service. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Allan in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/07/2020 , work completed 03/07/2020
Personal Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time of using AST and I can honestly say that they have made both difficult experiences as painless as possible. They are professional, clean working and courteous at all times. I would recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/06/2020 , work completed 03/06/2020
Excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can highly recommend AST Services for their polite, professional, outstanding service. I rang for some information which was given freely and clearly over the phone to me. I rang back the next day to book a quotation, Dave was out the next day to measure up. A very friendly & professional man. Explained all we needed to know, with no pressures. Within a couple of days Dave was back to fit the stairlift, (straight) all done in a couple of hours. He explained to my husband how to control the lift etc. My husband and I was very happy with his work, all clean and tidied up too. We did the paperwork and I rang the office about half to pay. Dave such a good member of your team. Andy called me back for payment. All personal who I spoke to were professional, polite, friendly and knew their product! Great service! Great company!
Mr & Mrs Woodage Posted on 26/05/2020 , work completed 26/05/2020
Excellent service. Highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service from AST was fantastic, can't praise highly enough especially during such challenging times. David did a fabulous job on the installation, very professional and helpful, left no mess whatsoever, great job! Paid the following day over the phone with the office, made the whole process very easy. Dad is thrilled with the stairlift and has made his life easier. Well done AST would 100% recommend this company. Thank you.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 02/05/2020 , work completed 30/04/2020
Excellent service, highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In really difficult times, AST and Tony in particular came to the rescue. They were informative, extremely flexible with arrangements and the install was tidy and efficient – incredibly efficient! Great communication, excellent advice and competitive pricing. The finished job is top quality and I would not hesitate to recommend AST to anyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/04/2020 , work completed 15/04/2020
Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good value & service. No pushy salesman. They gave good advice before purchase. Efficient fitting.
Valerie, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/03/2020 , work completed 18/03/2020
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend AST Services for their effeciency and excellent work over a period of 15 plus years. I think they just keep getting better and better
Lynda, Stanmore Posted on 02/03/2020 , work completed 02/03/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and simon fitted the stairlift very efficiently. There was no mess or noise and they went out of their way to be helpful. My Dad was particularly pleased with the very clear explanation and demonstration of use by Tony. We are all thrilled with it. We would heartily recommend AST and their personal service. We also consider the stairlift to be very well priced.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/03/2020 , work completed 28/02/2020
five star company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
caring owner sorted out all our problems great stairlift on budget very experienced and trustworthy would recommed
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/02/2020 , work completed 26/02/2020
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent. Will make my life so much easier. Thank you.
Suzan, Hertfordshire Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 11/02/2020
Very helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our initial enquiry was answered very promptly & the engineer who called was very helpful in explaining all about the lift. The work was subsequently completed quickly & efficiently - all within a week of our first enquiry. I would certainly recommend this company.
Posted on 03/02/2020 , work completed 03/02/2020
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The stairlift installer was very professional. He carried out the work to a very good standard was very polite, helpful and explained everything very well would certainly recommend their service.
Maureen, Oxfordshire Posted on 22/01/2020 , work completed 22/01/2020
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and kind. Mr Tucker was just the right man for the job. Lady John.
Gillian, London Posted on 30/10/2019 , work completed 30/10/2019
Thorough and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had the stairlift for 1 year and this was the annual service. I was contacted by Mark to say that he was in the area in the afternoon and could he make a time to come and carry out the work. He followed up with a phone call to say when he was 15 mins away so that I knew when to expect him. What a nice young man. Chatty and friendly but at the same time workmanlike. I have renewed my contract for a further year and have found all contacts in the company to be friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend.
Customer in Kings Langley Posted on 03/10/2019 , work completed 03/10/2019
Professional and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No hard sell, just good accurate information. Great product choice and explanation. Fitted within a week, no mess, very polite and respectful. Highly recommended and great value for money.
Mark, Middlesex Posted on 26/09/2019 , work completed 26/09/2019
Great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installation (in July 2019) and its removal of the stairlift for my husband was professional undertaken by AST Services. I would highly recommend them for their work and pleasant manner and care. Mavis.
Mavis, Hampshire Posted on 23/09/2019 , work completed 23/09/2019
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used their stairlift for six years and have been very happy with the service we received. I would not hesitate to recommend them to my friends.
Ian, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/09/2019 , work completed 12/09/2019
Top job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Within one week of enquiry my stairlift was put in, it's just wonderful given me my upstairs back.
Michael, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/08/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent job completed by AST at my elderly parents house. Care & attention and patience went over and above! Would definitely recommend.
Hannah, London Posted on 18/07/2019 , work completed 18/07/2019
Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company was chosen as they were recommended. Their services and attention to detail were unfalted. Every aspect of the installation was explained by Mr. Tucker upon completion of the work.
Rod, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/07/2019 , work completed 15/07/2019
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my dad had a fall on the stairs we decided it was time to have a stair lift fitted. Mum had always said she didn’t want one but I realise now we should have had one years ago. Not knowing where to look I contacted a major company who then bombarded me with phone calls. Fortunately dads carer recommended Tony from AST. Everything ran really smoothly from the moment I spoke to Tony and within a week we had a stairlift fitted. Tony is polite, reliable and honest with no hard sell. My parents are so pleased with their lift -Thank you Tony
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/06/2019 , work completed 09/05/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with everything and would definitely recommend this company in the future.
Jean, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/05/2019 , work completed 25/05/2019
Installation of Stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We rang AST Services Ltd to enquire about a stair lift and they came out immediately and it was fitted within 2 days. The people who gave us a quote and installed the lift were polite professional and friendly. We had a handrail removed, and later decided we needed it, and they came straight back to reinstall it. We have no hesitation in highly recommending them to others.
Customer in Wokingham Posted on 05/05/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
Fantastic stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would like to thank the team at AST, Everyone who I dealt with was professional and very kind . They came out straight away to measure up, and my lovely stair lift was fitted within a few days. Tony fitted it for me and was such a nice man, he even did a little job for me while he was there, that's not service you get every day. His work was clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend AST to anyone thinking of getting a stair lift. Thank you all, and you Tony for helping me.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/04/2019 , work completed 24/04/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was recommended this company to have a stairlift fitted. The man who came was very professional and not pushy at all. Explained thoroughly the different options available. The man arranged to have the stairlift fitted very quickly and the workmanship was outstanding leaving no mess. He explained how to use the lift safely. A credit to the company. Would highly recommend.
Ian, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/04/2019 , work completed 23/04/2019
Amazing fast service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not only did AST provide an amazing fast service, but it was provided with honest, kind and patient staff. From my daughter's first telephone enquiry on a Thursday, the stairlift was fitted 2 days later on Saturday, to a staircase with 2 curves! The rental cost was fair and reasonable and the option to convert the arrangement to a purchase (within the first 2 months). I made the decision to proceed with AST - no brainer! No hard sale, no wait. Brilliant! Many thanks.
Dorothy, Buckinghamshire Posted on 14/04/2019 , work completed 14/04/2019
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my initial phone call I was impressed by the professionalism and knowledge of the members of staff I spoke to but at the same time the friendliness that made me feel they really cared about getting the right stair lift for my parents use. When I had a query about the quote, following the survey, I left a message on the answer phone and was called back in less than an hour. Simon, who came to fit the stair lift worked efficiently and with skill - he clearly knew exactly what he had to do. When he had finished installing it, he explained to my very deaf 90 year old mother (who also has the early stages of dementia) exactly how to use the stair lift. He was very kind and patient and afterwards her comment was 'He was a very nice young man'. I would highly recommend AST services to anyone looking to rent a stair lift.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 29/03/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Stairlift removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They worked quickly and were pleasant and helpful. Done the removal in no time at all and made sure the area was tidy when the job was finished. Very reasonable prices.
Maryann, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/02/2019 , work completed 27/02/2019
My review.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST Services Ltd, today at 12 midday arrived on time, to service our chair lift. This was our 3rd yearly service, the engineers were always friendly, very professional and explained exactly what they were doing and left everything tidy & working well. Very satisfactory. Would recommend.
Charles Frederick, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/02/2019 , work completed 27/02/2019
Amazing company, people and service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We always thought a stairlift would never fit my Dads steep narrow twisting stairs but I saw AST's website with a picture which looked not unlike our stairs so I got them to come and do a no obligation survey. Really nice guy came and measured and looked and measured again No hard sell just help and solutions. Sure enough it was not only possible but would work on a rental basis which was much cheaper than an outright purchase and would suit our circumstances. On the day of fitting, it snowed 8 inches in the chilterns but with my Dad coming out of hospital, Tony Tucker, the owner of the company made it through the snow with his engineer, even helped me clear the drive and shovel snow to get the gear in. Custom fitted the stairlift with only mm to spare on either side and left the place immaculate. Cannot recommend them enough. Superb !
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 19/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
Good value.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed stairlift, very friendly, good value & cleaned up well afterwards. Very pleased overall.
Waldemar, Buckinghamshire Posted on 12/02/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was Sunday, late afternoon, as I was coming down stairs on my stair lift when it stopped half the way down. I rang AST Services Ltd and within an hour an engineer was at my door. Told me I need a new chair as the motor and gears had failed by 8% I had a new chair, he was fantastic, I'm 88 years old and he made me feel safe.
Joan, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/02/2019 , work completed 10/02/2019
Very impressive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything was handled perfectly, very quick delivery - Tony who installed was fastidious any had a wonderful manner.
Jeremy, London Posted on 06/02/2019 , work completed 06/02/2019
Prompt & efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed chairlift a very prompt and efficient service. No problems with lift & very understanding of circumstances when removing after my husband died. Simon was the agent who dealt with my husband - Andrew said.
Patricia, Bedfordshire Posted on 01/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
Prompt, professional and kind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We bought the Stairlift thinking it would be needed for quite a while, unfortunately my husband died after only a couple of weeks. AST kindly allowed me to turn it into a rental and refunded the difference, was exceptionally kind and generous of them. Both installation and removal was done quickly and professional. Excellent service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 22/01/2019
Exceptional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been told by other companies that our staircase was so narrow we would have to remove the newel etc from our stairs. Not only that but the fee would be exorbitant. We heard of AST through the Hospice at Home service. Thank goodness we did! They came out immediately and formed a plan which they hoped would work and explained they would make every effort to help us. Simon arrived the next morning and five hours later, we not only had the stairlft fitted but without any modifications to our stairs or wall. As my husband's life expectancy is short, we chose to rent from AST Services and there fees are far lower than any of the companies we approached yet still providing a superior service. We cannot thank Simon enough for his courtesy and efficient work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 16/01/2019 , work completed 09/01/2019
Prompt, professional and very friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a chairlift fitted. From the start to the finish the services were very professional. From start to finish was just one week there was communication throughout the process. Tony the fitter only left once we were satisfied that all was working properly and understood how it all worked. Very, very happy!
Amit, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
(Repair) Chairlift. Fast efficient service explained everything to me before he told us the price. Told me to get in touch if anything went wrong. Will use them again. Very pleasant, gentle man.
Maurice, Surrey Posted on 27/10/2018 , work completed 27/10/2018
Came when said would
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Check stair lift for my father, needed new batteries. Done without quibble.
Paul, Berkshire Posted on 20/10/2018 , work completed 20/10/2018
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very nice young lad, presentable, very organised and clean in his work, explaining everything. Would definitely have them to do further work, should the occasion arise. Very happy customer.
Jacquiline, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/09/2018 , work completed 13/09/2018
Polite and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ATS services Ltd fitted a stairlift in my house. The work was completed efficiently, and on time. The engineer was polite and explained everything clearly. A minor problem occurred the day after installation which was rectified promptly over the phone.
Brian, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/09/2018 , work completed 10/09/2018
Wonderful service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company supplies reconditioned stairlifts for rent and purchase. We rented one. At a time of great distress AST acted promptly to supply a lift. It was fitted, serviced and taken out by a pleasant professional. I would not hesitate to recommend this company.
Rosemary, Hampshire Posted on 27/07/2018 , work completed 27/07/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very nice polite young men called Simon & Andy. Also very professional.
Maureen, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
Excellent service installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really impressed with all aspects of their work.
Patricia, Buckinghamshire Posted on 26/06/2018 , work completed 26/06/2018
Very prompt, helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent initial visit. Very clearly explained. Clear on process and cost and installed in very short order works extremely well.
Dorothy Joy, Surrey Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first ordering to my first service everything was done very efficiently. Would have no problems with recommending to other people.
Eileen, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/05/2018 , work completed 23/05/2018
Fast, efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was extremely impressed with AST, fast response time to an urgent requirement, expert help and advice, speedy installation of stairlift, professional, friendly approach. AST exceeded my expectations in every way and i have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Carol, Berkshire Posted on 23/05/2018 , work completed 23/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended, very fast, efficient service.
Teresa, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/05/2018 , work completed 15/05/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
De-commissioning of stairlift. Money paid upfront before commencement of work. Achieved very quickly tips on getting marks out of carpet. Excellent job, would highly recommend.
Alan, Essex Posted on 30/04/2018 , work completed 30/04/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon installed a stair lift the same day as he came for a consultation. He was friendly, answered all our questions, tidy and quick. Everything was set up at a days notice ready for when my husband came out of hospital.
Donald, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/04/2018 , work completed 27/04/2018
Expertise efficiency + kindness
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A pleasure to deal with this company. They did exactly what we wanted, when we wanted, and added a free extra which made us feel safer. Thank you AST.
Alex, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Top class all rounder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job well done.
Maureen, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked all day - professional, prompt and courteous. Excellent value for money and quick efficient service. Thoroughly deserve their which 'trusted traders' status.
Kim, Buckinghamshire Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely helpful and courteous over phone with enquiries. Completed job in stated time frame, clean and efficient. Great explanations and appropriate demonstrations kind, courteous, helpful and reassuring.
Robin, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST Services Ltd were prompt and professional. Very polite and great with kids. I would 100% recommend.
Amy, Berkshire Posted on 29/01/2018 , work completed 29/01/2018
Professional, caring and responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST Services was recommended to us by Sue Ryder, as we needed a stair lift urgently for a curved staircase. It was installed 3 days earlier than expected so within 4 days, including a weekend. Really excellent service and nice people too.
Sue, Berkshire Posted on 13/11/2017 , work completed 13/11/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very clean and professional.
Ted, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/11/2017 , work completed 06/11/2017
Faultless service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After several weeks of worry I was given the name of their company. I needed a stair lift urgently. I made a call, left a message and was called straight back. Simon arrived the next day to carry out the assessment. Less than a weak later (due to my own commitments) the lift is in place. Simon was great in every way. I highly recommend this company.
Kathleen, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/10/2017 , work completed 13/10/2017
Outstanding.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Forget the rest, use AST. I thoroughly recommend them, a Five Star service.
Thecoleman Posted on 05/10/2017 , work completed 05/10/2017
Very Good Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good service, helpful, polite and goes the extra mile. Checked work is okay before leaving.
Karon, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/10/2017 , work completed 05/10/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted promptly & very good
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/10/2017 , work completed 04/10/2017
Excellent professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite, efficient and professional. Highly recommend them to whoever requires this type of service.
Angus, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/10/2017 , work completed 04/10/2017
Extremely Polite and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service engineer was extremely polite and friendly. The service was fast and efficient and we have no hesitation in recommending them should we need to use them again.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/09/2017 , work completed 19/09/2017
Reliable service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ATS Services Ltd were represented by engineer Theresa Boland. She is a proficient tradesperson, and carried out stairlift service with competence and care. An asset to her company.
Christine, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/09/2017 , work completed 12/09/2017
Pleasant and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reassuring and helpful.
Ann, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/09/2017 , work completed 04/09/2017
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, fitted quickly and efficiently. Very pleasant staff.
Kathy, Berkshire Posted on 22/08/2017 , work completed 22/08/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ricky was friendly and helpful
Thomas, Middlesex Posted on 11/08/2017 , work completed 11/08/2017
Great Job. Very thorough.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work carried out. Professional and on time. I have recommended this company to other people.
Philip, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/08/2017 , work completed 01/08/2017
A good experience!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with this company and I always shop around. They are professional, knowledgeable, efficient and courteous. Would not hesitate to recommend.
Irene, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/07/2017 , work completed 07/07/2017
Excellent job - very professional & clean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Throughout my contact with this company I have received very caring and professional attention. Both Tony and Simon have been exceptional, and although, because of our odd stairs, the job took longer than planned. Simon kept at it until he was completely satisfied that the stairlift was safe for use. Thank you, guys.
Denise, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/06/2017 , work completed 24/06/2017
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The gentleman was thorough. Polite and professional. Explained everything clearly and gave comfort in knowledge. Job was completed as promised on time and very tidy.
Brian, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/06/2017 , work completed 15/06/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST have been friendly and helpful throughout. They initially provided us with detailed info & competitive prices. They fitted stair lift quickly and everything was hassle free. Reconditioned lift was perfect. Sadly, Mum only used lift for a week before passing. AST were very compassionate and only charged us for a 6 month rental, under the circumstances, as opposed to original purchase cost.
Jacqueline, Middlesex Posted on 11/06/2017 , work completed 11/06/2017
Professional and affordable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick and good communications arrived on time to fit stair lift and did an excellent job. Installer was courteous and explained how the lift worked!
Andrew, Berkshire Posted on 16/05/2017 , work completed 16/05/2017
Very helpful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with our stair lift which is reliable and not unattractive! AST installed it promptly and were very helpful in all ways. They came back very quickly to adjust a small detail. We are very satisfied.
Susan, London Posted on 11/05/2017 , work completed 11/05/2017
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally satisfied with the whole experience. AST came recommended to us in the first place by people we knew well and AST talked us through the whole process at our pace without any pressure at any stage. Good product and good installation process. Understanding people.
Edwin, Middlesex Posted on 09/05/2017 , work completed 09/05/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great stuff.
Philip, London Posted on 04/05/2017 , work completed 04/05/2017
Courteous, competent and kind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A pleasure to deal with them. Everything done with a smile.
Alex, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/04/2017 , work completed 25/04/2017
Marvellous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I absolutely love my stair lift. It has given me back my independence. The work AST did was superb. The technician who fitted was friendly and an expert in this field. I would highly recommend them. Thank you.
Howard, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/04/2017 , work completed 06/04/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional, prompt & friendly company. I have recommended A.T.S to other friends of mine.
Alan, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Efficient and pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The engineer installed the stair lift without any problems. He arrived promptly on the day, was very efficient and very pleasant. Everything works well and we are very pleased.
Edward, Hertfordshire Posted on 30/03/2017 , work completed 30/03/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and informative. Very good service and would recommend to others.
Linda, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/03/2017 , work completed 24/03/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trader did an absolutely amazing job. Was very friendly and sensitive to our needs. Thank you!
Susan, Berkshire Posted on 23/03/2017 , work completed 23/03/2017
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST Services has maintained my stair lift for eight years, and have always responded promptly to requests and have given fault-free service. The AST Service company offers excellent and reliable service.
Harvey, Hertfordshire Posted on 21/03/2017 , work completed 21/03/2017
Excellent caring service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My elderly in-laws had a stair lift installed by AST Services. Their service was prompt, efficient, courteous throughout the time we had the stair lift. When my mother-in-law got stuck in the chair & the belt had to be cut, they replaced it promptly at no charge, and when the time came, sadly, to remove the lift, it was done sensitively.
Neville, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/03/2017 , work completed 07/03/2017
Job well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent customer service provided by an exceptionally talented team. Good job AST!
Everisto, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/03/2017 , work completed 06/03/2017
Excellent and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent and professional service. Highly recommend to anyone.
Robert, Berkshire Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
Caring and thoughtful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband was confined to living downstairs and we considered having a stair lift installed but to purchase one was too expensive. We learnt about AST Services Ltd who hire stair lifts. They came promptly to measure up, arrived when expected and made alterations to the original design at no extra cost. Having the stair lift gave my husband the pleasure and convenience of sleeping in his own bed, being able to have a shower and access to his hobbies. When he passed away the stair lift was removed quickly and efficiently. All the staff were friendly.
S M, London Posted on 05/01/2017 , work completed 05/01/2017
Quick to help
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Massive thanks to the AST team. We phoned Monday, they surveyed Tuesday and fitted first thing Wednesday morning. The price was very competitive with no hidden extras, the team were really friendly and very professional. We would defiantly recommend this company as they couldn't have been more helpful in our time on need.
LJT Yateley Posted on 28/12/2016 , work completed 28/12/2016
Very satisfied with product and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called one day and Ricky came next day to do a survey and quote. Accepted and booked in within a few days. Ricky said he doesn't do cancellations so was on time and installed. Had a few small niggles on operation but came very swiftly to solve problems with new components next day. Ricky is our dedicated engineer in event of any problems and have every confidence in him and the company. I would recommend this company to you without any reservations offering a product that is reliable and suitable to your circumstances.The customer care is excellent.
John1001 Posted on 08/12/2016 , work completed 08/12/2016
Excellent choice of firm and stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AST are not only friendly but prompt and efficient , very friendly and very helpful. I have been very impressed with the care they have taken and shown . I am very happy to recommend them wholeheartedly .
Monica Posted on 23/09/2016 , work completed 23/09/2016
Life saving
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stairlift performed well from installation. It has allowed us to maintain out lifestyle for all the family.
Michael, London Posted on 12/09/2016 , work completed 12/09/2016
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient & quick. Explained working satisfactorily complete with demonstration.
Joyce, Middlesex Posted on 16/08/2016 , work completed 16/08/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very nice job well done.
Kathleen, Hertfordshire Posted on 22/06/2016 , work completed 22/06/2016
Prompt, reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having an urgent need for the installation of a stair lift, on the recommendation of the OT at the local hospital, I contacted the firm of AST for a quote. Their chief engineer responded the next day with a price which was considerably lower than the other companies I had contacted, in addition the work would be carried out within two days of accepting the quote, unlike the other firms who quoted a much longer lead time. The work was carried out by Tony Tucker, the owner of AST, and was carried out quickly and efficiently working non stop until the installation was completed. He explained in detail what was entailed in the fitment before he started, whilst he was carrying out the work. When the installation was completed to his satisfaction he spent time showing and explaining how to use the system. He did not leave until he was satisfied I was fully conversant with all aspects of the chair lift. I have no hesitation in recommending the firm of AST for anyone looking to have a chair lift installed.
Philip, Hampshire Posted on 25/05/2016 , work completed 25/05/2016
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responded to my telephone call immediately & arrived to carry out the job within 48 hours.
Neil, London Posted on 13/04/2016 , work completed 13/04/2016
Brilliant job. Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I received an excellent service on all aspects of the job required, plus it was the cost that made my final decision for me. Also, just had the stair lift serviced and taken out a further 12 months cover at a very reasonable price.
Sally, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/03/2016 , work completed 01/03/2016
A prompt service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A prompt and professional service is very important, to the owners well being. "A Broken Chairlift" !! I rang on a Saturday morning. Received a service call the same afternoon. Repair completed on Monday following. (Motor replaced.)
Patricia, Essex Posted on 10/08/2015 , work completed 10/08/2015
Prompt professional pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent personal service.
J, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/09/2014 , work completed 01/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to get a stair lift removed and contacted AST after reading the reviews in Which Local. AST were very prompt in dealing with my phone calls and Tony Tucker was very good at keeping me in touch with when he could come and do it. He removed the lift leaving very little damage and was a pleasure to deal with.
nutaholic Posted on 07/04/2011 , work completed 07/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My 98 year old mother in law had real problems with her stairlift. In the end if just wouldn't function. As she can hardly walk we needed a replacement pretty quickly. I had the good fortune to look up Which? Local and found Mr Tucker. The two reviews spoke so highly of him. I phoned him up and 4 days later a stairlift had been installed. He is truly a lovely man and he worked late into the evening to make sure a lift was fitted asap. My inlaws too were very impressed with his workmanship and kind manner.
mavis bentham Posted on 08/12/2010 , work completed 08/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Mr Tucker as an emergency as my operation had been advanced. I contacted him onthe friday,and as I had had a stirlift previously for my wife, was able to give him the measurements.He arrived on the following Monday and the lift was fitted in a couple of hours to my complete satisfaction.
murray62 Posted on 22/02/2010 , work completed 22/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Tucker was recommended by our Macmillan nurse. I telephoned him immediately and he called to survey our house the same afternoon and installed the lift the next day. There was no disturbance and he explained the workings of the lift clearly. He operates on a rental basis which is an ideal arrangement. He is caring, very efficient and we thoroughly recommend him
colonel cat Posted on 12/03/2008 , work completed 12/03/2008