Endorsed by Which?

Attymass Brickwork Limited

5.0

86 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I have served in the construction industry for the last 30 years of which I spent 16 years working as a supervisor for a brickwork contractor which included projects such as Wembley Stadium, Westfield shopping Centre, Deutsche bank and refurbishment at the Houses of Parliament.

I formed my company in 2004 and have worked on various domestic and commercial properties where we have grown to undertake all aspects of construction from the ground works through to the finishing trades.

We specialise in every aspect of brickwork which include new builds, extensions, renovations and all styles of pointing on period properties or new builds. In addition we provide a building maintenance service.

I am also a qualified lecturer and teach bricklaying and construction at a local College for many years. I am an active member of the guild of bricklayers for the last 7 years.

NEW FOR 2019 - We have extended our services. We now offer commercial and domestic cleaning
Please contact us for more information

What we do

  • Builders

    • Plastering
    • Guttering repair services
  • Groundwork contractors

  • Bricklayers

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • Carpenters

  • Cleaning services

    • Stone cleaning
  • More Services

    • brickwork paving
    • graffiti removal
    • oil stain removal

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
86 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Efficient & professional repair to cracked brickwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called in Attymass because of deep cracks around the front bay windows. John Fox explained that the original brickwork had not been properly keyed into the house structure when the house was built in the 1930's. The schedule involved the use of Helifix stitching bars to repair & restore the outside & internal brickwork, then repairing & re-pointing it. Inside, expanded metal mesh & flexible plaster was used & later painted At all times the work was carefully explained to us & done to budget in a neat, timely & very professional manner. The new work was carefully blended with the rest of the frontage. I can highly recommend Attymass: they are very busy & we had to wait for the work to be done but John always responded quickly to queries so it was well worth the wait.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/07/2023 , work completed 07/07/2023
Great work and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were professional and knew what they were doing. The builders were reliable and left things tidy. Couldn't fault them. Did a great job and on time.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/06/2023 , work completed 09/06/2023
House transformed for the better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Attymass’s team of builders carried out extensive repairs to the exterior of my aunt’s cottage in late January and early February 2023. The house had been neglected and so they removed and replaced rotten sections of window frames and paint work before repainting the entire exterior, effecting a significant transformation. The team also repointed some brickwork and removed a collapsed garden wall before building an attractive replacement. John Fox and his team always turned up when they said they would and were unfailingly courteous and professional in their dealings. They completed this complex job to schedule and on budget John also made helpful suggestions for other work needed, such as some replacement fence, and they then took this in their stride. I would highly recommend Attymass for the high quality of their work and their reliability and integrity,
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/06/2023 , work completed 07/02/2023
Garden wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have now used Attymass several times after finding them on WHICH some years ago. Old houses are like the Forth Bridge and need constant care so that they can be enjoyed for generations to come. We use the firm not only because of the quality of the work. but also the quality, friendliness and professionalism of the workforce and John Fox himself. Discussing brickwork with John and his colleagues is rather like discussing food or wine in a French restaurant (which makes us sound posher than we are). They know about bricks; they know about mortar; they discuss various options. They even built a platform over our plants to carry out the work. John's colleagues joked that Joe Biden asked for his card when he was over in Ireland recently. Don't go John ! we need you.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/04/2023 , work completed 22/04/2023
Lintel replacement and rendering/ skimming
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm really happy with the work undertaken by Attmass Brickworks. John was very professional, understood what I required, gave good advice and then communicated the brief to his team accurately. Two rotten lintels were removed and replaced and we also had some exterior rendering done. It was completed on time and for a reasonable fee. I have since used Attymass again for a small job - skimming a wall where a wardrobe had been removed. John was able to fit this in a short notice. I would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/02/2023 , work completed 15/02/2023
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his team did a fantastic job in our garden, extending a flower bed with new bricks, laying new paving stones, installing trellises and repairing some damaged walls. John was very easy to deal with - responding promptly to questions and visiting the site every couple of days to check how the works were progressing. John's team were very considerate and tidied up at the end of each day. Thanks John for a great job and looking forward to you coming back to do a second piece of work for us!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/11/2022 , work completed 08/11/2022
Excellent work, completed with attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his team are superb. They entirely redid a front wall and front path. His team are very friendly and diligent. I'd highly recommend them for any project.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/10/2022 , work completed 30/09/2022
Great work from a great team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We initially hired Attymass to do some repointing in a high wall of our property which involved erecting some scaffolding. Since that job went so well we ended up hiring them to do tons of work around the house, both internal and external including painting and decorating, renovating two rooms, and some wall and ceiling crack repairs. Attymass were always at the property on time, did the jobs well, were very communicative and friendly, and the quality of the work was excellent. We strongly recommend them!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/09/2022 , work completed 01/09/2022
Rebuilding Perimeter Brick Wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In May our front drive brick wall was partially demolished by a roofer reversing into it. I obtained three quotes to submit to the insurance company. John at Attymass was prompt and sent me a very competitive quote which was authorised by the insurance company. Originally John’s schedule was busy until August but later brought forward the work as one of his other jobs had finished earlier. On the scheduled day John came down with his team, briefed them with exactly what was required before leaving to his other job. The team got on to knock down the precariously standing wall and saved and cleaned up the bricks that were not damaged so as to be able to reuse them to match the undamaged wall. The guys worked efficiently and diligently and protected my drive by covering it. The full job was completed in two days and each day John visited the site to ensure that the work was completed to high standard even going extra mile to re-mortar a few drive slabs that were loose. I had no electrician to re-install the drive light. John contacted one of his electrician friends who came early the following day and fitted the light. Later the same day the gap between the light and the surrounding brickwork was filled in and a few other issues with the pointing by the previous builder at no cost. I am highly impressed with the professionalism and excellent workmanship and customer care and I highly recommend his company. For my future projects, Attymass will certainly be my go to company.
Jay in Greater London Posted on 09/08/2022 , work completed 29/06/2022
Fantastic front of house renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his team did an excellent job repairing, repointing where required and painting the front of our three storey victorian terrace, which hadn't been redecorated in years and also creating a new render at the top of our house. The new render was not straightforward as we wanted to retain the corbel detail in the brickwork and an arch that joined the top of our house to our next door neighbour's house which sits at a slightly higher level. The end result is excellent. The rest of the work was carried out patiently and thoughtfully and John and Danny listened to all requests to make sure we were happy with the end result. The team really were a pleasure to have around and were as unobtrusive as possible. They seemed to take great pride in the quality of the work that they did which in our experience of builders is not that common. The quote from John wasn't the cheapest that we obtained but you get what you pay for and we would definitely recommend and would be happy to use John and his team again in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/07/2022 , work completed 20/06/2022