Endorsed by Which?

Bespoke Woodwork Services

4.9

99 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

At BWS we specialise in a very bespoke and personal service in designing and making items out of wood. We produce high quality pieces of furniture from alcove units, floating shelves, wardrobes and under stair storage solutions. BWS has over 30 years experience in cabinet making and design.

No job is too big or too small.

We are a family run business who believe in
putting the customer first and listening to their needs to produce high quality pieces.

We are insured to the value of £2 million and we guarantee your happiness with our work.

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Cabinet makers

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • More Services

    • doors
    • wardrobes
    • alcove units
    • floating shelves
    • decking.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
99 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent work and help with the design.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted some shelves and large cupboards built in two alcoves and contacted Gary based on previous excellent reviews. Gary came up with some very helpful suggestions and took into account ideas we had to reduce any likelihood of damp behind the cupboards in the future. He built the cupboards in situ over a week and was quiet and very respectful of property, cleaning up as he went along. The final results are fantastic. Beautifully made and with great attention to detail.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/12/2023 , work completed 21/12/2023
Exceptional quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contracted Gary at BWS Carpentry to build an extensive run of cupboards and wardrobes into the eaves of our loft - a very tricky job to get right. Gary went over our ideas for the design in great detail with us before he started and offered some brilliant suggestions to help improve it. He has a real eye for detail and takes such care over his work, it never felt like he was rushing through it or taking any short cuts. He was respectful of our home and tidied up as he went along. We are delighted with the finished cupboards and wouldn't hesitate to get him back for any carpentry we need in the future. Thank you Gary!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/11/2023 , work completed 31/10/2023
Wall paneling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary built and installed some wood paneling on the bottom half of my bedroom wall, and I'm very pleased with the end result. He was keen to ensure the design was exactly what I wanted by checking in with me regularly and it turned out perfectly. He is a very skilled carpenter, professional and hard working, with an excellent eye for detail, and he is keen to ensure a perfect result. The price was also very competitive. I highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/04/2023 , work completed 24/04/2023
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time Gary of BWS has done work for us. This time Gary built new cupboards under a staircase and installed new shelves in two other cupboards. As before all the work was of excellent quality. Helpful, professional, and on budget. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/03/2023 , work completed 13/03/2023
brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Gary after reading the glowing reviews of his work on Which? Trusted Traders. He responded to my email request for a quote and arranged to come round very soon. I had an original Victorian door which I kept when the external doors to my flat were replaced by regulation fire doors, and I wanted it hung in a doorway in the flat where the door itself was missing. Gary came on time to give me the quote and was able to come and hang the door for me two days later, much sooner than I had expected. He did an excellent job, gave me some very helpful advice about redecorating the door myself and cleaned up very thoroughly. I couldn't ask for a better service or better result, and all at a very reasonable cost. I'd definitely use him again for carpentry work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/03/2023 , work completed 01/03/2023
Excellent window and door repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did an excellent job in repairing window sills, doors, door frames and a door step. Also fitted a larger letter box. A friendly guy and work was of a high standard (and he hoovers up as he goes along!). Many thanks.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/09/2022 , work completed 19/09/2022
Excellent bespoke cupboards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary from Bespoke Woodwork Services built a set of excellent bespoke wardrobes into our bedroom under the slanted eaves section and also a floor to ceiling storage cupboard in the alcove to the side of our fireplace. We are extremely happy with the quality and care taken over the work. Gary built the cupboards exactly to our design and his experience working in older properties with slightly uneven floors/walls/ceilings was very useful. Gary was reliable, respectful of our property and clearly took pride in his work. We received a number of quotes for the work and his was very competitive for the build and decorating, especially for the quality of the finish. We would highly recommend and will definitely use again for future jobs!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/03/2022 , work completed 16/03/2022
Bespoke Oak Cabinet made and internal doors fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary removed our old doors, made good the threshold, replaced the door stops and supplied a fitted 4 internal doors and new handles/locks as well as making a bespoke oak Cabinet over four days. Gary’s work and attention to detail is excellent, he ensured that we were consulted at each step and he gave us good advice. We are very pleased with the end result so we will definitely use his services in the future and we would highly recommend him to anyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/02/2022 , work completed 08/02/2022
Reliable service for complex job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found BWS (bespoke woodwork services) through Which Trusted Traders Gary sorted out repairs to a heavy swing door in my kitchen. The door has a heavy hydraulic doorspring and I feared that the spring had to be replaced but Gary managed to do the repairs without an expensive replacement. He had also researched the mechanism in advance. What was scheduled as a two day job was finished within a day and was well priced. Gary was also reliable as to the date/time he came round for the quote and the day of the repairs. Highly recommended and I would happily use Gary again
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/08/2021 , work completed 12/07/2021
Spectacular Kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was recommended to my by my electrician and he did an absolutely spectacular job of fitting my new Howdens kitchen. I couldn’t be happier! My kitchen is an awkward shape with the units fitting around an old chimney breast. Right from the beginning, Gary’s attention to detail was impeccable. He advised on the design, double checking the Howdens measurements, and walking through how the kitchen would be installed to make sure it was actually possible to fit it in such an awkward space. He consulted me at each stage to make sure I was happy, and walked through any alterations with me in great detail. Gary also replaced my extractor fan ducting after we discovered the existing ducting was too narrow. He also designed custom housing for the extractor fan to sit inside the chimney breast alcove, complete with shelf to match my wooden worktops. I couldn’t be happier with my new kitchen. Gary was a pleasure to work with and his quality of workmanship is second to none. He clearly takes a lot of pride in his work! I will definitely use him again for future woodwork projects.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/05/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
Book cases
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary built four book cases for us over a period of two weeks. He worked conscientiously, cleaned up after himself every evening and was a quiet and pleasant presence in the house - our children missed him when the work was finished! The finished work is excellent, with very good design. Gary ensured we were happy with every step of his work.
Emily in Greater London Posted on 01/05/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Extremely impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary arrived on time to assemble an outside storage shed. it was a fiddly job as the ground needed to be prepared first ( so it was level) and also the casing around our house cables needed to be unscrewed, shortened and lifted. I was impressed with how neatly the job was done and the shed fitted in snugly. He also kindly put up a curtain rail. He was courteous and willing and nothing seemed too much trouble. Gary has a rare ability to calmly problem solve tricky jobs swiftly. A grateful customer, Susan, London.
Susan in Greater London Posted on 25/03/2021 , work completed 08/03/2021
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a slight rework of our kitchen units to fill a cavity and fit a new dishwasher. Having spent months talking to all the big names (Wickes, Wren, IKEA etc), we always reached the same stumbling block which was that they wouldn’t do small job, so if we wanted a small rework we’d have to pay for the whole kitchen. Thankfully, we found Gary through Trusted Traders. He came over, took the measurements and took care of everything. Very happy with the finished product. Only thing that could have been better was the communication leading up to the job but in light of how happy we are with the work it’s only a very small issue. We’ll definitely be using Gary again.
Tom in Greater London Posted on 23/03/2021 , work completed 13/02/2021
Great Work on Kitchen Sliding Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My sliding kitchen door broke and stuck closed. Gary from BWS got it unstuck and help me work out the right parts to order, discussed approaches and then came back to put it all back together again. Great quality work and problem solving skills that meant the wall didn’t need to be opened up, making the whole thing much simpler. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/01/2021 , work completed 28/01/2021
Great work fitting front door furniture
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary fitted new front door letterbox , knocker and lock pullers on my Victorian front door. He had to make the letterbox opening bigger and it was quite a tricky job as the door is really heavy. He did a thorough job and I am really pleased with the results! Would highly recommend Gary and am sure I will use him again for any carpentry job I have in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/07/2020 , work completed 04/07/2020
New bookcases
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a great job building two new bookcases for me recently. He was very thorough in every aspect of his work, and I am delighted with the result. I would recommend him wholeheartedly.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/07/2020 , work completed 25/06/2020
Fitted wardrobes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm very pleased with my new fitted wardrobes. Gary did a great job and they feel really good quality and exactly what I wanted. He took time to discuss the design with me and he was punctual and tidy while he was doing the work. I would happily recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/03/2020 , work completed 17/03/2020
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary recently completed a number of jobs for us, including fixing a broken door, repairing a staircase and fitting new locks. He did a brilliant job, always on time and going the extra mile to finish all the jobs to a high standard. I would highly recommend Gary and plan to use him again for jobs big and small.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/03/2020 , work completed 15/03/2020
Fitted Living Room Wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary recently built, installed and painted a bespoke wall unit in our living room. Gary did a fantastic job and we are very pleased with the result. He took time and trouble to measure and design accurately. His work was never rushed and he is clearly a craftsman who takes pride in his work. He accommodated changes we requested during the build without complaint talking us through our options. I quickly felt I could trust Gary and I was happy to leave Gary working alone in our house while I conducted personal business. I would use Gary's services again without hesitation for any future joinery work we may need.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/03/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Great kitchen cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kitchen cupboard and meter cupboard made exactly to the requested specification. High quality work. Gary was very helpful and courteous.
Customer in Greenwich Posted on 06/11/2019 , work completed 09/10/2019
Professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a sterling job installing our kitchen, albeit there were a few problems (not of his making) which he overcame in a professional way. Gary arrived on time and cleaned up at the end of the day. The kitchen looks superb now it is finished and we are delighted with it. I would recommend and use BWS Joinery Services again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/10/2019 , work completed 05/09/2019
Good quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took real care over the job and didn’t cut corners. Reasonable rates and willing to look at any job you need doing. will definitely use again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/10/2019 , work completed 30/09/2019
Build cupboards and refit door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary is a professional carpenter and I have no hesitation in recommending his services. Gary was happy to offer solutions for otherwise tricky jobs and does not cut corners. Pleasure to work with.
Customer in London Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 01/07/2019
A true craftsman.
Gary Jackson rebuilt some faulty sliding doors for me, he was fantastic! It was a very difficult job, but nothing seemed to faze him, he worked through the problems calmly and logically. He is a great carpenter,who does precise professional work. He cleaned and tidied up at the end of every day while on site. He arrived when he said he would and kept in contact at all times. Himself and his work colleague (Yeano) were a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was too much trouble for them, so I have no hesitation in recommending Gary, and I will use him again in the future if needed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/06/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
True professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked Gary and his team to build a wardrobe on my first floor landing. This was a very tall wardrobe which meant lots of long pieces coming into my newly painted house. They were careful and did not chip anything. They tidied up daily. Treated my house with respect! I am so pleased with my wardrobe which I also had painting in oil based paint. True professional finish.They did a sterling job. Would definitely use them again!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/05/2019 , work completed 07/05/2019
A job well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and Jeno built a wardrobe with new doors, also a shelving unit with matching doors which were also painted and then they decorated my spare room. They did all the woodwork in situ, clearing up every night. The work was beautifully done and with attention to detail. They are very nice people and I am very pleased with my new bedroom.
Customer in Kent Posted on 22/04/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Perfect bespoke wooden door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary created and installed a wooden door for an arched opening between two rooms in my house. The door is beautifully crafted, and Gary did an outstanding job installing it, including coming back over the weekend to complete the installation. He's friendly, takes time to explain what he's doing, and left everything clean and tidy. Highly recommended. DD, London
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/02/2019 , work completed 10/02/2019
Rebuild of balustrade.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Truly impressed with Gary's joinery skills, knowledge and efficiency. I will most certainly use his service again.
Jacqueline, London Posted on 30/01/2019 , work completed 30/01/2019
Excellent quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Window/frames were beautifully repaired and restored. A pleasure to see a job so well done.
Charlotte, London Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
Competent and diligent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a sterling job making Bespoke shelves in difficult areas of my home. He was friendly, clear, efficient, thorough, tidy and clean, but moreover extremely talented.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/08/2018 , work completed 28/08/2018
Brilliant job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary built integrated shelving in our living room to house TV, Sky box etc. He totally understood what we were trying to achieve and made helpful suggestions. Gary was meticulous and tidy (he is also a nice bloke and easy to have in the house). He is a professional and takes pride in his work. He did a great job and we are delighted with the finished result. Can’t recommend him highly enough.
Duane Cleaver Posted on 12/08/2018 , work completed 12/08/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a really nice job of creating a cupboard to house my boiler. He was great with giving me ideas & options. He was fast & very tidy. A very nice guy too. The whole job turned out to be a pleasure.
Tasos P Posted on 21/07/2018 , work completed 21/07/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary installed 2 Alcon cupboards and floating shelves in our front room. His work was meticulous and carried out with care and attention to our needs. He was easy to have around and always cleaned up after each day. We were very pleased with the sturdy and professional finish.
Anne, London Posted on 24/05/2018 , work completed 24/05/2018
A craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a beautiful job. He is helpful, obliging and an all round good egg.
Margaret, London Posted on 22/05/2018 , work completed 22/05/2018
Superb alcove shelving and cabinets - highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary at BWS created a superb set of bespoke alcove shelving and cabinets across our dining and living rooms. The design we had in mind wasn't typical off-the-shelf but he took it all on board and created exactly what we had envisaged. It was all created on budget with fantastic care and attention to detail. We haven't always had the best experience with tradespeople in the past but Gary is a true craftsman, hard-working and was a pleasure to have working with us! We couldn't recommend BWS more highly.
TobyA, . Posted on 14/05/2018 , work completed 14/05/2018
Professional craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent honesty and highly professional. Very trustworthy.
Michael, London Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Beautiful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed new under stairs cupboards, Gary delivered them brilliantly. Always on time, with nice and clean workmanship, precise and straight lines. It is a pleasure to look at our new doors. Thank you for the lovely work.
Mariana, London Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was very professional, explained things well and did a very efficient job.
Alison, London Posted on 14/12/2017 , work completed 14/12/2017
Great professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was very professional and did a really good job. I would definitely recommend them and use again. He was very clean and tidy and punctual.
Cassandra, London Posted on 06/12/2017 , work completed 06/12/2017
Great quality - nice guy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary visited us to install two built in wardrobes for our bedroom. He was helpful in selecting our design to match the features of our room and our storage needs. He turned up when he said he would, kept the house neat and tidy and the quality of the finish is very good. We're very happy with our wardrobes and would happily recommend Gary to others.
Andrew Lyddon Posted on 24/10/2017 , work completed 24/10/2017
Professional service & quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary provided a professional service throughout and delivered a quality job for us. He was always personable and willing to take on board our ideas and help find solutions to design problems. We would have no hesitation in recommending his services to others.
Claire, Kent Posted on 13/07/2017 , work completed 13/07/2017
Excellent work, good value, would use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary turned our under-stairs cupboard hole into a really well organised, three section, useable space. His work is excellent and he was helpful and precise. We look forward to having some other jobs for him!
John, Surrey Posted on 12/06/2017 , work completed 12/06/2017
Bespoke wardrobes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 3rd time we've had Gary around to complete work in the house. Delighted as always with his craftmanship.
Carlos, London Posted on 09/06/2017 , work completed 09/06/2017
Couldn't be happier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary came and built three fitted wardrobes for me. He came when he said he would, worked very efficiently, is a very pleasant man, was as neat as possible and great at keeping me updated. The wardrobes have a simple modern design which could be quite unforgiving of errors but they are mm perfect so much so that friends, family and even other trades people have commented on the quality of his work.
torie214 Posted on 31/03/2017 , work completed 31/03/2017
Achieved precisely what I had in mind. Plus his own input.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thoroughly professional. Very good work. Helped plan and make clear what we were doing. Very pleased with the result.
simon alford Posted on 26/02/2017 , work completed 26/02/2017
Great quality, very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary installed bespoke alcove shelving and cabinets for us. The work was done to a very high standard with attention to detail. He consulted us at every step in the project to make sure we got want we wanted. We would definitely recommend Gary to others.
Jess, London Posted on 27/01/2017 , work completed 27/01/2017
Excellent Carpenter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary made and fitted alcove units and floating shelves for me and I'm very happy with the finished product. His work was to a high standard and he always paid attention to detail, ensuring that the job was completed properly, without rushing. I think Gary takes a sense of pride in his work and it shows. Thoroughly nice chap to talk to and get along with too.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/01/2017 , work completed 23/01/2017
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary built and fitted the casing for a new boiler and made significant changes and improvements to a bedroom cupboard. He is a pleasant man, a good worker and an excellent craftsman. Highly recommended.
jop222 Posted on 22/01/2017 , work completed 22/01/2017
Fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was communicative throughout the process and our bespoke shelves were completed quickly and efficiently. They look great. We've asked him to do some more work and would recommend him to others.
Clare, London Posted on 01/12/2016 , work completed 01/12/2016
Brilliant job & nice guy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job, very reasonably priced. Will definitely use him again, wish I'd known about him sooner!
Jade, London Posted on 07/11/2016 , work completed 07/11/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good- Craftsman's Finish
Steve, Kent Posted on 14/10/2016 , work completed 14/10/2016
Very High Standard of Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Garry from Bespoke Woodwork Services built and fitted custom designed cupboards and book shelves for our study. He completed the work on time to a very high standard perfectly matching the grain and colour to the Oak Door leading to the room as we had asked. His attention to detail was impressive. We shall certainly consider using him again in the future and have no hesitation at all in recommending this very talented cabinet maker.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/09/2016 , work completed 13/09/2016
Excellent alcove storage fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did an excellent job of fitting shelving in my Victorian terrace uneven alcoves. Works to a high standard and cares about the finished product.
1904258 Posted on 29/08/2016 , work completed 29/08/2016
Really happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the work carried out.
Dale, London Posted on 16/08/2016 , work completed 16/08/2016
On quote and attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from Gary at Bespoke Woodwork Services. He installed a new benchtop & cupboards in our kitchen beautifully and built a great custom shelving unit to match. Excellent quality, just as he quoted, and very friendly & trustworthy.
Nicola, London Posted on 10/08/2016 , work completed 10/08/2016
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary fitted a new wardrobe and reconfigured an existing wardrobe in our flat in Kennington and did a superb job - really high quality and easy to deal with.
Mark, London Posted on 26/07/2016 , work completed 26/07/2016
definitely a perfectionist
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had to replace several kitchen cupboard doors which had become tatty. Gary was able to get the exact match of the wood used on the old doors which was great. The doors and pelmets which also needed replacing was replaced neatly with no mistakes. Excellent carpenter.
Angela, London Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Excellent craftsmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary installed alcove units (including bespoke TV stand) and shelves in my living and dining room. I was very impressed by the high standard of the work and attention to detail. Everything looks so beautiful and polished. Gary was also very accommodating to my extra requests and a pleasure to be around.
Eleni, London Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Under stairs Cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent customer service and polite manner, tidied up beautifully, lovely finish on a tricky under stairs cupboard exactly as I wanted it.
Jessica, London Posted on 07/05/2016 , work completed 07/05/2016
Fitted wardrobes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm only recommending Gary because he asked me to, and he's too nice to say no to! Usually when I find a trader this good I keep them a secret because they're so hard to come by... Gary built fitted wardrobes for our bedroom. Where others had said it wasn't possible to build drawers infront of a chimney breast, he did it with no concerns at all. He listened when we said we wanted to stick to a set budget and made recommendations to help reduce the cost, and he offered much better value than many of the other people who quoted. He was tidy and polite, the only reason he gets four stars for customer service is because he was late the first few times we met him, but I'm being very picky! The wardrobes themselves are fantastic - good quality, well built and look brilliant. Thanks Gary! Please don't get too busy as we'll need you back soon!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/05/2016 , work completed 03/05/2016
Highly skilled & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary provided an excellent service, from expert advice to sourcing materials, and very highly skilled carpentry. This is the second job he's done for us, and it certainly won't be the last. A fantastic tradesman!
Debra Jane, London Posted on 28/04/2016 , work completed 28/04/2016
Excellent job - v. professional cabinets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with our alcove units and shelves. Service was very efficient and high quality. Gary demonstrated very good attention to detail. Would highly recommend.
Orla, London Posted on 25/04/2016 , work completed 25/04/2016
Smart new storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Gary to build a unit comprising some closed cupboard for mop, broom and other cleaning stuff with some open display shelves above for vases, nice boxes etc. He came once to discuss, sent a estimate and, once we have accepted it, returned for a more precise measuring session, arranged a schedule and completed the job within two days. Gary was punctual for all the appointments and good about keeping in touch by email, his work was thorough, thoughtful as to detail and flexible around last minute made changes. The final result exceeded expectations. He was clean and tidy and seemed very well organised. He quoted two prices, one for woodwork and fitting a second for painting, and was happy when we chose to do the painting ourselves. I would thoroughly recommend him.
Linda, London Posted on 14/01/2016 , work completed 14/01/2016
Loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't recommend Gary highly enough. His work is top-notch and he is reliable, fair and always happy to help. He is really pleasant to work with and very trustworthy. I have already recommended him to friends who live locally.
Kate Brockley Posted on 11/01/2016 , work completed 11/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a fantastic job fitting cupboards and shelves in the alcoves in my living room. He took the time to understand my requirements and the job was finished to a very professional standard.
Meredith6415 Posted on 12/11/2015 , work completed 12/11/2015
kitchen Renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After considerable searching, it was with relief that I found Gary who was immediately genuinely interested in my kitchen renovation plans. Firstly, he gave great advice and, secondly, was willing to liaise, order and store materials until the job date which was very useful. He clearly new his trade inside out and the job could not have gone any smoother. A once tired kitchen is now bang up-to-date, finishing is spot on, and all done on a budget. I am very happy with his work and wouldn't hesitate to use again or recommend him to anyone.
rdefarrow Posted on 28/10/2015 , work completed 28/10/2015
BWS - Fantastic professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was very polite, efficient and organised. The quality of his work is thorough and outstanding. I explained the problem to him relating to the damaged dining chairs, I emailed him photos of the problem. I found his quote for the repairs to be reasonable and his explanation of what the work entailed. He came round and collected the chairs and took them away to be repaired at his workroom. One week later they were returned in full working order. I am extremely satisfied with his work to the extent that I have already booked Gary for some further work around the house. I would not hesitate to recommend BWS services.
Site User Posted on 22/09/2015 , work completed 22/09/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and Marcus over 2 weeks created a great kitchen at a vey reasonable price, arriving on tine each day and cleaning up before they left it was a pleasure to work with them, and they had experience and good advice, 10 out of 10 and I will use them again - highly recommended Paul New Cross SE14
pegrum Posted on 25/08/2015 , work completed 25/08/2015
Custom kitchen unit doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary helped give our 10yr old Moben kitchen units a facelift by replacing the doors and building some custom sized units. The doors had to be ordered as they were not standard size. The level of service provided was excellent and the work was of high quality at a reasonable price. I would highly recommend BWS.
shan2015 Posted on 28/07/2015 , work completed 28/07/2015
Top Notch Carpentry Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would highly recommend BSW: Gary's work is professional and tidy, he goes that bit extra to create a good finish and his rates are reasonable. We called Gary to come and sort out some heavy oak floating shelves we had tried to fit ourselves, and messed up - he rectified the mistakes efficiently, now they are as good as new and look beautiful. He also created some bespoke wooden edgings for our Victorian fireplaces, which also look excellent. We would definitely recommend him to anyone else, he is a pleasant, knowledgeable workman to have around, and he would be our first choice for any carpentry or joinery work we need in the future!
"Which? Trusted Traders Consumer" Posted on 11/07/2015 , work completed 11/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mine was a difficult job and Gary made several recommendations which were helpful. He called me back when he promised, did the work professionally and promptly and left the site spotless at the end of each day.
need0 Posted on 01/07/2015 , work completed 01/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a great job on our kitchen doors and work surface and solved some tricky problems.
stew_legg Posted on 08/06/2015 , work completed 08/06/2015
Very professional carpenter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary replaced a door sill, that was rotten, on an external door. Every aspect of his work was careful, neat and professional. He had to find the right wood for this particular sill, and supplied very high quality hardwood. He also offered suggestions about how I could finish the new sill, which I expect to follow. A very good worker, and a highly professional finish.
2011-06-17 08:39:20.797 Posted on 26/05/2015 , work completed 26/05/2015
Very glad we found him
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary fixed our leaking windows and did an excellent job. He was prompt, reliable, courteous, friendly, did a good job and reasonably priced - everything you could want from a workman. He even came back specially to put window locks on for us.
Clare, London Posted on 30/04/2015 , work completed 30/04/2015
Kitchen work tops and new sink
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary fitted new kitchen work tops and a new sink, no existing wall tills were damaged and we were very pleased with all his work. We would recommend him to anyone.
Grt1945 Posted on 13/03/2015 , work completed 13/03/2015
Gary of BWS
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary from BWS has done a number of jobs for me and I have found him to be completely reliable and trustworthy. If you are looking for totally bespoke furniture for your home then you would not do better than using Gary and I would recommend his services 100%
Briandownton Posted on 05/11/2014 , work completed 05/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Gary to design a way to cupboard in a utility area, including sink, washer/dryer and freezer. We also wanted the cupboard doors to match some existing units in the room. This involved rebuilding most of the area and, consequently, took quite a bit of time but the result is better than anything that we originally imagined. Highly recommended and a nice guy too.
FussyMe Posted on 29/10/2014 , work completed 29/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Gary to get four built-in cupboards custom made for two bedrooms. Excellent job. Pleasant to deal with, listens well, high quality work, mess cleared up. Patient with us too, as we changed our minds a couple of times before going ahead with the final version.
RD @ Which? Posted on 03/08/2014 , work completed 03/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary Jackson has undertaken several jobs for me in the last year, including fitted bookshelves, a window replacement, new wardrobe doors, and the fitting of my new kitchen cabinets, counter and appliances. He has also made some great floating oak bookshelves. He is very meticulous and patient, and his attention to detail and getting it right is a real plus. The prices are fair, the results are great. I highly recommend him.
Charlotte Franson Posted on 28/09/2013 , work completed 28/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary fitted 3 new oak doors for us. He gave a highly professional service in all respects and we are very pleased with his work.
blenheim Posted on 31/05/2013 , work completed 31/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did a thorough job in fitting a number of alcove shelves and bespoke cupboards. It was a painstaking task but he took care in producing neat and professional results.
takh Posted on 22/04/2013 , work completed 22/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So far, we have needed Gary to do only relatively small jobs (half-day jobs), related to our front bay, but he has done them well. On two occasions he came at short notice, helpfully fitting us in. His charges were fair for the work and he is reliable and very pleasant to deal with.
drcw Posted on 18/04/2013 , work completed 18/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary made us a cupboard/screen to cover a boiler and pipework in February 2013 - the result is really great - a lovely, neat piece of work. He did exactly what he said he would do and explained if there was any change to the plan. But the best bit was that Gary was so patient about listening to what we needed and helping us work within a budget.
Quiettime Posted on 21/03/2013 , work completed 21/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
BWS have done several jobs for me which have really made a big impact on the renovations at our house. Renewing doors, banisters, cupboards to name a few from a very long list. Very professional and reliable. They have done a great job and several aspects of our house which need repair, now look brand new. We will be using BWS again as we continue modernising the house. Gary's attention to detail is the best I have ever seen.
Pebso Posted on 15/12/2012 , work completed 15/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As other reviewers have stated, Gary is an excellent carpenter/joiner. He cut and re-hinged some old Victorian doors and his work is superb. He is actually an artisan in the way he goes about making sure all details are correct so that everything fits together neatly. He is not shy of taking on difficult tasks.
Browbate Posted on 01/11/2012 , work completed 01/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary is an excellent carpenter and joiner with great customer service. He visited my house, quoted efficiently and completed the work quickly and without fuss. His work is reasonably priced and good quality. Thanks Gary !!
Rich F Posted on 25/10/2012 , work completed 25/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
During the recent external re-decoration of our house, the decorator found some areas of serious decay in timber windows and doors. After consulting Which Local, we contacted Gary Jackson of Bespoke Woodwork Services. He arrived precisely at the appointed time and having assessed the work, provided us with a reasonable quotation, which we accepted. He started work, again very punctually, and completed the repairs very efficiently. His attention to detail and the quality of his work are excellent, in addition to which he is a most personable and courteous person. Highly recommended.
sandraroberta Posted on 12/08/2012 , work completed 12/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with Gary's workmanship in replacing our bathroom door and fire-proofing our front door. He came when he said he would, was polite and thorough. We would definitely use him again and would certainly recommend him.
pjfujii Posted on 08/08/2012 , work completed 08/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary came to inspect the job and quoted a fair price for the job. He fitted a new door to replace a sliding door but first he had to rectify a previously badly fitted door frame. He did an excellent job and left the place neat and tidy when he finished. We were extremely pleased with the result and would have no hesitation in recommending him to friends and family.
Owen Moore Posted on 11/06/2012 , work completed 11/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I read about BWS on Which Local when looking to have some bespoke shelves made for our dining room. Gary talked through out options, and we decided on selecting walnut shelves - so glad we did, because they look great. Gary's professionalism and attention to detail, meant that i had no hesitation getting him to fix our damaged gate post/fencing. Highly recommended for quality workmanship, fair pricing and flexibility.
paul Davey Posted on 10/06/2012 , work completed 10/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had BWS to fix wobbly parts of the stairs in our new place - which was done very neatly and at a reasonable cost despite it taking longer than it looked like it was going to. Very pleasant to deal with. So we're now getting quotes from BWS for wardrobes and other more optional work.
RD @ Which? Posted on 01/05/2012 , work completed 01/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I read about Gary from BWS in Which Local & contacted him when we needed a metre of replacement skirting board. Gary responded quickly and the skirting board he made was excellant. It was quite an ornate skirting board and Gary reproduced the original exactly. We were very pleased with Gary's work, his price was fair & we would definitely recommend him.
lizbrunton Posted on 28/03/2012 , work completed 28/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Gary to do two jobs for me. One was to change the existing door handles on four bedroom doors with new handles which had locks. The other was to make and hang three shelves in our kitchen to go with the existing wall units. I was very pleased with the results and quality of his workmanship and have no hesitation in recommending Gary.
Chris72 Posted on 13/03/2012 , work completed 13/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary Jackson of BWS joinery responded quickly to my request for an inspection and quotation to provide a new back door. He efficiently also supplied and installed this door, to the agreed price. There was no fuss. Highly professional service and I would happily use his services again.
celestecronin Posted on 20/01/2012 , work completed 20/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary built and fitted three sets of alcove shelving for us and he provided an excellent service. He was very helpful and knowledgeable in advising us on the best approach and materials to use for the job. He then carried out the work exactly when he said he would, completed on time, and was friendly and considerate throughout. The standard of the work was excellent and we're really pleased with the results. Would recommend highly.
Mrs Macadoo Posted on 27/12/2011 , work completed 27/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary hung a door for us, fitted a letterbox and constructed a cupboard for our boiler. He was extremely thorough and professional, and we're very pleased with the results - highly recommended.
Kerry Frampton Posted on 16/12/2011 , work completed 16/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Gary, from BWS, after reading recommendations about him on Which Local, because I needed a bookcase assembled and fitted to the corner of my study. He came within a few days to view the job, gave me a very acceptable quote and returned the following day to carry out the work - which turned out to be quite complicated. Gary did a really excellent, very professional job and was extremely pleasant to have around. He showed me a portfolio of some of the more bespoke work he has done and it all looked very accomplished and of exceptional quality. I wholeheartedly recommend Gary.
hania laganowski Posted on 21/11/2011 , work completed 21/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary made a neat job putting a surround and doors to cover an awkward space. He listened to my ideas, but gave us good advice too. Excellent work at a good price.
Bev Feather Posted on 06/11/2011 , work completed 06/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trustworthy, good work, good price, good advice, Gary completed our door fitting to a professional standard. There was door cutting and trimming to size. Locks and handles were cut in and fitted. It all went well. We will be asking Gary to talk to us again in the future about fitting our kitchen ; work surfaces, cupboards, tailored box-work, etc. I can recommend BWS. T. Grace Bromley
pamg Posted on 27/09/2011 , work completed 27/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a built-in wardrobe for our bedroom and a bin store. We got a couple of quotes - including from a cabinet maker in wimbledon, and Gary from BWS was half the price. He did a great job building the wardrobes and bin store - very professional finish. Good telephone communication. When he started, he was doing this in addition to his main job, so it took quite a while, but now he's working for BWS full-time so it should be faster. I have no hesitation in recommending him for good value and old-fashioned (good) service. They are only a small company - Gary and Steve, so you should get the same service that I did.
Shaumik Posted on 06/08/2011 , work completed 06/08/2011