Endorsed by Which?

Bowden Locksmiths Ltd

5.0

21 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Bowden Locksmiths has over 50 years' experience in the trade, we have the knowledge and expertise to carry out an array of locksmith services at extremely competitive prices.

From supply and fitting of locks, gaining entry, safe opening and safe repairs, key cutting, you can rest assured; all our work is carried out to the highest standards. Get in touch with a member of our team today to discuss your specific requirements.

Based in Bristol, we offer our services to domestic and commercial customers.

We are members of the Master Locksmiths Association, a non profit organisation established to promote the level of skills and ethics within the industry. As an approved company we have passed regular inspections to ensure our quality and that our locksmiths have the appropriate trade qualifications.

We are accredited to Safecontactor and Constructionline.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Access control
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
    • Masterkeyed systems
  • More Services

    • safe installers
    • security grilles

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
21 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
flawless service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bowdens were recommended to me by a lockfitters in Bristol when a previous doorlock failed - leaving me to access my home through the window. Despite my saying this wasn't a real emergency, the engineer came within two hours. He was charming and very knowledgable, a safe pair of hands. He opened and removed the failed lock, and then installed an interim lock, until the better spec (ABS approved lock, and 'euro profile' door handles) was in stock. Within a week he was back to fit this top spec lock (suitable for insurance purposes) with smart new fittings. It was a great job, and a genuine pleasure.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 27/04/2023 , work completed 26/04/2023
The trader replied (on 02/05/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we are pleased we could be of service to you.
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our front door lock was not working as it should, so I contacted Bowden Locksmiths and arranged for a visit. The locksmith, Carlo, turned up on time and quickly identified the problem. He replaced the cylinder but didn't stop there. He adjusted all other parts of the locking system on the door so that they were working perfectly. I was very impressed with how professional he was. The price was very reasonable, but because of the low temperature on the day Carlo's card reader was not working. This wasn't a problem. Carlo let the office know and I received a friendly call from Lynda to take the payment. The service provided by this firm was first class at every stage.
John in Bristol City Posted on 23/12/2022 , work completed 15/12/2022
The trader replied (on 10/01/2023)
Thank you John for taking the time to give Bowden Locksmiths a review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Lock replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following the passing of my wife, I was anxious to change the man entrance lock. I was not sure how many keys were in existence, and I was going away leaving the house empty. I contacted Bowden's as soon as they opened, and within an hour they came and carried out the work. It was an excellent job, and very speedily and sympathetically carried out.
Martin in Bristol Posted on 25/11/2022 , work completed 08/11/2022
The trader replied (on 10/01/2023)
Thank you Martin for taking the time to give Bowden Locksmiths a review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Service - excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No hesitation in very highly recommending. Good communication with the office, job completed without me in attendance, invoice sent and photos of job. Price was very competitive with a sample with contact who came up first on Google search Thank you
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 02/11/2022 , work completed 02/11/2022
The trader replied (on 03/11/2022)
Thank you for your kind review, we are please we could be of service to you.
An exemplary job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed work to fix and simplify the locks in my mother's house as she ages and finds it increasingly difficult to handle keys - the engineer talked us through options and did an exemplary job
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 19/10/2022 , work completed 14/10/2022
The trader replied (on 03/11/2022)
Thank you for your kind review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Reliable and trustworthy service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Getting a lock changed at short notice can be a financially hazardous situation. I have dealt with Bowdens Locksmiths for many years and can say without hesitation that they can be relied on to do a good job at a fair price.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 22/07/2022 , work completed 20/07/2022
The trader replied (on 26/07/2022)
Thank you for your kind review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Perfect job & friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bowden were helpful, efficient, flexible, understanding and pleasant from my first phone call to their shop asking for advice through to the completion of the work which was done in good time and very well. It helped give me peace of mind in what could have been a very stressful situation. The price seemed entirely reasonable too.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 08/01/2022 , work completed 16/12/2021
The trader replied (on 11/01/2022)
Thank you for the kind review, we are pleased to have been of service to you.
Great Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It should be a simple job (2 new BSS mortice locks to match existing, both to pass same key) but diy stores were confused and local locksmiths unhelpful. I spoke to Nick, posted the lock that needed replacement and in a short time had two locks plus 10 keys. The locks were same make and fitted perfectly. Splendid postal service at affordable prices!
Customer in Monmouthshire Posted on 06/11/2021 , work completed 01/10/2021
The trader replied (on 09/11/2021)
Thank you for the review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Key safe
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carlo installed it very speedily at reasonable cost and explained how to use it. Very pleased; now I can lock myself out of my house with impunity.
David in Bristol City Posted on 15/10/2021 , work completed 13/10/2021
The trader replied (on 09/11/2021)
Thank you for the review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Prompt and professional service at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problem with an internal bathroom door being inexplicably locked closed. My best endeavours with bendy plastic failed to release the catch. Contacted Bowden having checked their credentials with Guild of Locksmiths. They sent an engineer at time agreed who had to dismantle and remove mechanism to unlock. Then obtain and return to fit a replacement lock mechanism in the door. The price was reasonable as it was clearly not a simple job as did require removal and replacement of the Karcher mechanism. Would recommend Bowden as a good local locksmith in a market where there are a number of cowboys.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 01/12/2020 , work completed 30/11/2020
The trader replied (on 09/11/2021)
Thank you for the review, we are please we could be of service to you.
Excellent, responsive service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bowden Locksmiths did a great job on my damaged deadlatch lock. They arrived the same day, advised on a better lock and fitted it, plus had additional keys cut. Very professional and highly recommended.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 23/10/2019
Security locks upgrades
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bowden Locksmiths did three specific tasks for me to upgrade the basic security for our much loved home: (I) replace inner porch lock (ii) upgrade conservatory doors to British Standards (iii) Add external lock to garden gate. 1. Quotation visit - polite, good advice and rapid quotation with options and discounts for do more tasks. 2. Timely work - work was done in the timescale I needed, a few works. 3. Work - arrived a bit late, but called me to advise of this, no problem. Work was completed in the day as agreed. High quality of work and supplied materials. No mess or damage to paintwork. Excellent work and service.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 07/09/2019 , work completed 03/09/2019
Superb Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Being based 200 miles away in Cornwall, I obviously have to rely on suppliers/contractors when there is a problem in any of our tenanted houses in Bristol I have always received outstanding customer service from this company and my thanks to Mr Bowden and Carlo for their prompt and efficient attention in resolving the recent problem. This level of service and reliability is a rare commodity these days ....so well done Bowden’s!
Customer in Cornwall Posted on 11/12/2018 , work completed 07/12/2018
Complete overhaul of Ingersol lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was told by several locksmiths that our lock was a brilliant lock, but that it was no longer being manufactured. Nick at Bowdens Locksmiths offered to take the lock to bits and get it working. He was true to his word. This guy is a genius and the sort of skilled tradesman we should all cherish. Thanks Mrs Jell
Mrs Jell Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick, Friendly and Fixed.
Jane, Avon Posted on 27/04/2018 , work completed 27/04/2018
Great Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trader came out really quickly and took the time to fix the lock and make sure the door closed properly. Really pleased!
Catherine, Avon Posted on 20/04/2018 , work completed 20/04/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very tough and brilliant job.
Bruce, Avon Posted on 09/04/2018 , work completed 09/04/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very tough and brilliant job.
Bruce, Avon Posted on 09/04/2018 , work completed 09/04/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good customer service, good attitude (can-do!) would recommend.
Gaye, Avon Posted on 29/03/2018 , work completed 29/03/2018
Work done to a great standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my front door lock repaired by Bowden Locksmiths a few weeks ago. I was very happy with the work and Carlo was a delight to have in the house. I would definitely recommend them to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/08/2016 , work completed 03/08/2016
Work was fine
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had them come to fix my door central locking mechanism and was very happy with the work. They didn't charge for a call out and did some fine work. Would recommend them.
Guy, Bristol Posted on 18/06/2016 , work completed 18/06/2016