We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

BSL Home Improvements Ltd

Profile thumb img 1979
4.9

46 Reviews

About

Our company is based on the belief that our customers’ needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals.

Our experienced team is committed to handling every job, whether small or large, with complete dedication and an eye to quality. We believe in giving our customers the best value possible. So, although you’ll get top-notch materials and workmanship, you’ll find that our prices are extremely competitive. Don’t just take our word on this – you can talk to our customers and compare prices.

We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Guttering repair services
    • Loft conversions
    • Plastering
    • Porches
    • Building services
  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
    • Cladding
    • Conservatory roof conversions
    • Flat roofing
    • Lead work
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Tiled conservatory roofs
    • Roof and skylights
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
46 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Roof repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Skilled tradesmen who inspected/diagnosed/repaired structural roof problem. They also installed new guttering, downpipes, fascia and soffit. Their work was to a high standard and would use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/08/2021 , work completed 16/08/2021
Put a lot of effort in
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben quoted us a good price for the roofing work. Even when it turned out to be a bigger job than he thought, he stuck to the original quote and put the extra hours in. I would recommend him to anyone.
Gareth and Hannah in Greater London Posted on 24/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
Work on guttering and brick wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Ben based on his clear level of expertise and the detailed way in which he diagnosed a problem and explained the remedial work required. His quote was also very competitive. He and his team did excellent work to correct water overspill on part of the guttering on our block of flats, and to repoint a wall next to a balcony. This included resetting a loose brick which we had not been aware of and which could have caused damage or serious injury had it fallen. We had only asked for an area around about a dozen bricks to be dealt with, but they did the entire wall at no extra cost, working until darkness had fallen to complete in one day. We're very pleased and would have no hesitation in inviting Ben again to do further work, or to recommend him to friends and family.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/12/2020 , work completed 30/11/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my first meeting with Ben he put me at ease. He is very knowledgeable and generous with his time and advice. Him and his team did a thorough job fixing out roof. I will definitely use them again.
Aoife, London Posted on 02/03/2020 , work completed 02/03/2020
Professional!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben came promptly and did a good job on our roof. He even cleared some of the guttering as well. We use him all the time. Well recommended.
Jeff, Kent Posted on 16/02/2020 , work completed 16/02/2020
Gutter work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased. All work carried out to a high standard. Did extra work for a fair price. Would recommend.
Trevor, Kent Posted on 31/12/2019 , work completed 31/12/2019
No Problems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben is easy to talk to, quick and responsive, and knows his trade very well. He took his time to explain the work required (Various repairs to roof, gutter, window sealant, chimney, etc) and completed the jobs efficiently, on time and to the agreed budget. Will definitely continue to use Ben and his crew. Can highly recommend him!
Yuko Bielmann Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gave us an estimate and stuck to the price even though some extra work needed to be done. Would happily recommend.
Simon, Kent Posted on 07/08/2018 , work completed 07/08/2018
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responded quickly to my enquiry, gave me a full explanation of what was required and did a good job.
Gordon, London Posted on 31/07/2018 , work completed 31/07/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben did a knock through kitchen and dining room. Great job and nothing was too much trouble in sorting out other like job. Highly recommended.
Deborah, London Posted on 11/05/2018 , work completed 11/05/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked quickly and efficiently. Came as soon as possible. Left everything in a very good state. Would recommend.
Edmund, London Posted on 19/04/2018 , work completed 19/04/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time. Excellent job and price. What more can I say.
Shaun, London Posted on 12/04/2018 , work completed 12/04/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time. Excellent job and price. What more can I say.
Shaun, London Posted on 12/04/2018 , work completed 12/04/2018
Helpful, patient & efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben was a good choice for this messy & complex job. Even though the job was more time-consuming & more complicated than when we received our quote, we weren't charged any extra - something we are very grateful for! He's done a great job & we would recommend him to others.
Emily, London Posted on 03/04/2018 , work completed 03/04/2018
No hesitation in recommending
Customer Service
Quality
Value
BSL Home Improvements carried out an extensive kitchen refurb for us which included some major structural changes. Their work was of a very high standard, they were sympathetic to our needs as a family and it finished more or less on time. Despite some unforeseen issues which were overcome swiftly and intelligently.
Caroline, Kent Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Brilliant job, prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A small job was completed quickly when I had a previous quote of £1000! Ben did this for a tiny fraction of the price.
Angela, Kent Posted on 07/03/2018 , work completed 07/03/2018
Excellent Job, High Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All the work done by Ben and his team was very high quality. I required a high standard of work and Ben delivered what I needed, at a very reasonable price.
Matt, London Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked in advance to fit round when I could be off, but happy to leave them. Friendly, professional and kept me informed of the progress. Also very tidy. Would use again and recommend. Job well done.
Michele, Kent Posted on 24/10/2017 , work completed 24/10/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick and friendly.
Seth, London Posted on 26/09/2017 , work completed 26/09/2017
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben was very helpful and thorough in explaining all the options. The work was done as agreed and for a reasonable cost. I will be using BSL again in the future.
Joanna, London Posted on 14/06/2017 , work completed 14/06/2017
Brilliant & professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team carried out some work for me when I was in distress!! I was in a hurry to get the work started and completed on a tight time scale. Ben and his team worked to a professional standard and stuck to his price. Very tidy and always polite. Would definitely recommend BSL.
Katherine, London Posted on 13/06/2017 , work completed 13/06/2017
A BREATH OF FRESH AIR !1!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very nice man. honest and open to deal with.willing to come back if there was any problem.would not hesitate to use his services again and generally felt safe and at ease with him.
2073375 Posted on 11/05/2017 , work completed 11/05/2017
Did just what was required
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben removed a obsolete branch outlet from a down-pipe and patched a hole in the softfit. He did not try to embellish the job by wanting to replace parts that did not need replacing (other quotes received for this work had been inflated this way). He arrived when he said he would and was polite and friendly. He tested his work in front of me so that I have confidence that the repair has been done properly. I would use BSL Home Improvements again.
Bob T57 Posted on 15/04/2017 , work completed 15/04/2017
Professional and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job, friendly, efficient and polite. Fair price and was able to carry out the work quickly. It was good to see before and after photos of work carried out. Voluntarily did some additional small jobs for us. Would use again.
Catherine, Kent Posted on 17/02/2017 , work completed 17/02/2017
Prompt, professional & polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job, friendly and polite (and no complaints at all about it being really cold to be working outside in December!). Feel much more secure going into the winter that the house is water tight. Would happily recommend these guys.
Susie, London Posted on 14/12/2016 , work completed 14/12/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job, trusted provider, done many jobs for me in the past. Trustworthy and friendly and hard working. Would happy recommend - agreed a price and stuck to it.
Anne, London Posted on 13/12/2016 , work completed 13/12/2016
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt, kind and professional service. Felt very safe and confident in asking for help. Clean, brilliant job. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 24/11/2016 , work completed 24/11/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben successfully repaired our leaking gutters after another contractor had clearly failed to do so properly. He provided a fast, efficient and courteous service at a very reasonable price. I would not hesitate to call him again in need. Highly recommended.
Geoffson4 Posted on 15/10/2016 , work completed 15/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben sorted a couple of slipped tiles on my daughter's roof on the same day she phoned. Very helpful - found a matching tile - and he did a good job. Really good service at a reasonable price.
kenneth may Posted on 27/09/2016 , work completed 27/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben advised on squirrels in the roof and came up with a solution promptly. He came at the appointed time and did a great job. I would certainly use BSL again..
kinzy Posted on 10/09/2016 , work completed 10/09/2016
Loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good builder and the work is exceptional. I am very pleased with their conduct and diligence. If only more traders were like BSL. The job went according to plan and my complete satisfaction.
Delroy, London Posted on 10/09/2016 , work completed 10/09/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy with the service, if there is any problem he said he would come back.
Marie, Kent Posted on 20/07/2016 , work completed 20/07/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben came over same day at very short notice for a quote. After booking him in he quickly found the source of the leak and provided a quality solution. He also carried out other remedial work effectively and efficiently. I would definitely recommend him highly.
Loraine, Kent Posted on 30/06/2016 , work completed 30/06/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben was very prompt and hard working. He completed the work quickly and showed us pictures so we could see what had been done. We are really happy to recommend his work.
Iona, Kent Posted on 09/04/2016 , work completed 09/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
BSL replaced a complete slate roof for me.They were efficient,pleasant,hard-working and reliable. Ben and his team completed the work in the depths of winter and I am completely satisfied with their work.
Sirog-t Posted on 10/03/2016 , work completed 10/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A new fibre glass flat roof to replace the old felt one and repointing done at the back of the house. Very efficient, tidy job and it all looks excellent. No hesitation in recommending them.
M.Bride Posted on 18/12/2015 , work completed 18/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our very old flat felt roof on the kitchen extension needed replacing. I found Ben and 1st Class Flat Roofing (now known as BSL Home Improvements) on Which Local. It was a pleasure doing business with him. He was proactive and easy to communicate with. He quickly came round and gave us a detailed quote for a new fibreglass roof, without being pushy. The price was reasonable, the job was completed efficiently and I'm very happy with the end result. I would definitely use Ben again and would highly recommend him.
chrishyde74 Posted on 11/08/2015 , work completed 11/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed the flat roof replacing on our garage and obtained a number of quotes. Ben???s was invited to give us a quote, based on other recommendation on Which Local. He know what he was talking about, the quote was detailed and competitive and we liked his attitude. We gave him the job and wasn???t disappointed by our choice. We opted for a new fibre glass roof covering with an insurance backed guarantee. Ben started work on the agreed date and he and his team were diligent, hardworking and we were happy to have them in our home. Ben kept me informed of progress, so there were no surprises at the end of the job and on completion the necessary guarantee was arranged quickly. Ben has expanded his workforce enabling him to offer other building services work including covering all types of roof work. He therefore now also trades as BSL Home Improvements (incorporating 1st Class Roofing). If we were planning on undertaking other types of works I would definitely invite him to quote again. I would have no hesitation in recommending Ben. As they say ??" it was a pleasure doing business with him.
Pamela1168 Posted on 24/07/2015 , work completed 24/07/2015
Repaired roofing and bay window- replastering and guttering.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trader was clean, tidy and completed work to timescales. He outlined all the options available so I could make a decision. He was approachable and friendly and returned to repair and replaster a bay window that had a small leak.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/01/2015 , work completed 18/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben gave me a good quote for a fibre glass flat roof to replace an old asbestos/cement roof. It also needed the roof raising a little to provide better headroom at the rear of the garage. The work was done effectively and efficiently (and without blaring radios). We are very pleased with the roof and Ben and his team's workmanship. Fully recommended.
dms Posted on 27/12/2014 , work completed 27/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben came promptly when called to inspect and give advice on a leaking felt roof . He explained the alternative solutions very well and then provided a competitive quote for a patch job using felt or complete new fibre glass with the option of including additional insulation. After some consideration and taking into account the age of the felt roof covering and the guarantee provided I decided to go for the new fibre glass roof covering with the additional insulation to bring it up to modern standards. Ben and his team carried out the work very diligently and kept me informed as to what was happening throughout the process. The final invoice was exactly the same as the quotation although he did attend to a couple of other gutter problems on my main roof not covered by the quote. Ben has just started trading as BSL Home Improvements incorporating 1st Class Roofing as he has expanded his work force and is now able to offer other building services including all types of roof work. I have no hesitation in recommending Ben and in addition he was a pleasure to deal with.
tony-h Posted on 23/10/2014 , work completed 23/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
During that dreadfully wet weather I noticed a damp smell in a back bedroom and feared that the roof was leaking. I had used Ben's services before and called him to come and check the roof. He told me that I did not need a new roof but that the old Victorian brickwork on the back wall was very wet and the pointing needed to be replaced. He and his brother did the work immediately, in very difficult weather conditions, and the wall was repointed before the damp had penetrated enough to spoil the interior of the room, so I did not need to have the room redecorated. At the same time he advised me that a small area of flat roof on a ground floor extension needed replacing as it was 25 years old and had become soft and spongy. Ha came back this week and I now have a new fibreglass flat roof which has a much longer life expectancy than the old one. Inevitably there were complications and he explained them and sought my approval for additional work that needed to be done. I am delighted with the result and will be using his services for all outside maintainance work in future.
libbyc Posted on 20/06/2014 , work completed 20/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben has aptly named his business as his work and service really were 1st Class. He was unable to come to do the work required in January as the weather was appalling but he kept in touch and turned up just as soon as possible. Everything was explained fully and the work was carried out efficiently and professionally. I would happily employ him again should the need arise. Many thanks for a great job!
W Bevan Posted on 07/05/2014 , work completed 07/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can recommend this company, Ben came out very quickly to view my flat roof which was leaking and gave a prompt quote. He sealed the area a few days later and also gave some advice on how to maintain the roof for the future. Ben was very professional and charged a reasonable price for the small job.
Millie2006 Posted on 02/08/2013 , work completed 02/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had three flat roofs replaced _ two felt garage roofs and one porch roof replaced with fibreglass. The work was done over four months at the beginning of 2013. Ben gave a reasonably priced accurate estimates which he stuck to despite having to do a little remedial work with at least one roof. Ben was very conscientious and meticulous in ensuring a high standard of work. The installation of the fibreglass roof was delayed until the weather conditions were satisfactory for the curing _ but the two felt roofs were quickly installed. He, and his colleagues, ensured that the contents of the garages were protected during the installations and they were scrupulous about clearing up and leaving everything clean and tidy. The roofs are guaranteed through an insurance scheme _ added security. There was some very slight disorganisation on one of the visits but that can be put down to the pressures introduced by the unreliable and inclement weather. I would trust 1st Class Flat Roofing to do a good professional job at a reasonable price; and will happily use them again.
SimonJA Posted on 25/07/2013 , work completed 25/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When our felt-covered flat roof started showing signs that it was coming to the end of its life (bubbling felt, 'spongy' patches of timber), I started looking into quotes to get the roof renewed. I was originally looking at a felt like-for-like replacement, but when I met with Ben from 1st Class Flat Roofing, he explained the nature and benefits of a fibreglass/GRP roof. Effectively the same material that yacht hulls are made of, the fibreglass roof is an ultra-tough, long-lasting and of course waterproof top coating that Ben guarantees for 30 years. On top of this, Ben provides a 10 year insurance-backed guarantee for peace of mind. I thought this was going to cost a lot more, but 1st Class Flat Roofing's quote was detailed and very competitive - much better value than equivalent GRP roof quotes we had and only fractionally more than some of the felt quotes. Having chosen 1st Class, Ben and his colleague started work promptly only to discover that our roof actually hid a mini chamber of horrors - inches and inches of thick felt and bitumen where a previous builder had cut corners and patched things up. There was considerably more effort involved that Ben had anticipated but he was careful to explain to me at all times what was happening and show me where additional materials and work was required to rectify these problems. Any additional costs were agreed up front and were still better value than many of the quotes we'd received which hadn't of course taken into account the 'hidden nasties'. In particular, I was very impressed by how conscientious the team were: on one night when there was a freak storm, Ben came out late at night for an hour (at no charge) to ensure that the temporary covering he had used overnight on the half-finished roof kept the rain out as much as possible and he didn't so much as grumble once. He is unfailingly polite and extremely conscientious, making sure that both he and I were happy with the end result and spending extra time resolving any snagging issues without quibble. Given some of awful experiences I've had with unreliable London tradesman, it was both refreshing and relief to be able to trust someone to finish a job and do what he says he will. Throughout the process, Ben kept everything clean and tidy when he finished for the day, too. The end result? The roof looks great and performs well. Stripping, re-decking and top-coating the roof wasn't an easy job at all, it being a very awkward shape and construction. 1st Class spent a lot more time and effort on the roof than they could possibly have anticipated, but they stuck to their revised quote and made sure I was a happy customer. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Ben and 1st Class Flat Roofing to other people as he is that all-too-rare thing: a fairly-priced, professional, reliable and courteous tradesman who takes pride in his work.
honty Posted on 17/08/2011 , work completed 17/08/2011