We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

C L Developments

Profile thumb 28701abd 506b 4305 96a9 917b73d2579c
5.0

17 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–19:00
  • Monday 07:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–19:00
  • Thursday 07:00–19:00
  • Friday 07:00–19:00
  • Saturday 07:00–19:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Combining over 25 years experience in domestic property renovation CL Developments is a growing team of meticulous, professional tradesmen.

Delivering a personable, value for money service, we are happy to provide free no obligation quotations on any work required.

What we do

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
  • Bedroom fitters

  • Plastering

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Loft conversions
  • Painters and decorators

  • Building construction contractors

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • tiling
    • property refurbishment

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
17 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
5.0
Sort by
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie completely renovated two of our bedrooms and a living room, including skimming the walls, replacing all woodwork, rewiring and decorating. He did a great job - the finish is excellent and he was very obliging and accommodating of shifting requirements. He always arrived when he said he would and was a pleasure to have around. Highly recommend.
Customer in Kent Posted on 11/05/2022 , work completed 31/03/2022
Did everything he said he would do on time and to a high quality.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie completely refurbished our bathroom, taking out all the old fittings and tiles and replacing the floor and redecorating. We also asked him to do a few extra bits and pieces in the bedroom next door which he was happy to do. Charlie is a methodical and organised builder who tells you what he is going to do, what it is going to cost and how long it is going to take, and then sticks to it. Can't recommend him highly enough. His work is of a high quality and we certainly intend to use him again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 23/02/2022 , work completed 08/02/2022
Professional and reliable as ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie re-plastered my kitchen ceiling due to a water leak, and redecorated my hall. Charlie worked in my house three years ago due to substantial damage caused by an underfloor water leak. I therefore had no hesitation in asking him back as that job was done to very high standards. Charlie also identified a further growing small crack in the plaster which he ensured would not return with additional securing. He also found other small faults which he undertook within the original quote. Charlie is a consummate professional. His work is to a very high standard, and he is clearly an expert in his field. He makes every effort to clear up after the working day - apart from the impact of seeing what he has achieved, you would not know he has been in the house at all. Charlie is pleasant, trustworthy (I left him my key as was away for a few days when the work was carried out) and flexible to the needs of the client. I would have no hesitation in asking him back when further work is required and recommend him highly.
Customer in Kent Posted on 02/12/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
Fast and high quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie helped us renovate our master bedroom which involved: - removing and remodeling a stud wall large cupboard/wardrobe - moving and adding power sockets and light switches - wiring in new wall lights - moving ceiling light - full room plaster including smoothing off an artex ceiling and deep cracks in the old plaster We are so pleased with the work that Charlie has done. He started on schedule (as we booked him in a few months in advance) and kept us updated in the run up to the works beginning. He is very knowledgeable about what would work best and asked questions about things we hadn't considered. He worked really quickly and just got on with it, tidied up nicely at the end of each day, and the finished product was perfect. Having renovation work done can be really stressful; especially dusty plastering and electrics, but we never felt like we were living in a building site with mess left everywhere. It was all really tidy and stress-free. Great finish, all turned out exactly how we wanted. We wouldnt hesitate to use Charlie again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 11/11/2021 , work completed 03/11/2021
Replaced external cladding on front and back of my house.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am so pleased with the workmanship and creativity. Charlie could have just replaced the cladding in the same way it had been put up before; but he took extra time and trouble. The result looks so much better than it did before. His attention to detail, workmanship, and professionalism was very much appreciated. He tidied everything at the end of each day. He has worked on my house before plastering internally and rendering external walls and completely replacing my patio. I cannot recommend him highly enough and l will be asking to complete further work next year.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/11/2021 , work completed 26/09/2021
Garage conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie took over a half finished garage conversion after we had been let down by our previous builder. He provided a quote to complete and today has finished the job to the very highest standard and on budget. He framed, boarded, plastered, trimmed bricks, tiled, skirted, painted and coordinated with the plumber, electrician and chippy where required. Charlie is a true professional who takes great care and pride in his work. Will give you an honest view on jobs and will propose improved solutions. For example hiding all the heating pipes and a gas pipe that the previous builder had run in front of the plaster board. Charlie found this unacceptable and organised the rerouting of all behind the plasterboard. We asked for a number of additional jobs whilst he was working for us and nothing was too much trouble. The finished jobs are to the very highest standard. We have already asked Charlie to quote to redecorate the rest of our house and paint the outside wood. We would highly recommend Charlie for any similar job
Customer in Kent Posted on 26/10/2021 , work completed 26/10/2021
Rude and unreliable - booked in job then disappeared
I spoke to Charlie in January after he came to check a leak (which he did for free, to his credit) about getting some gutters fixed. He promised to send me a quote and book in the work. It took months of sporadic calling for him to book it in, but eventually we agreed on a date in July. He gave me a rough quote (£50-100) over the phone but didn't set a time. About 10 days prior to the work date it turned out I would have to go out for part of the day, so I called and texted Charlie 6 or 7 times asking if he could let me know his rough arrival time so I could ensure one of us would be in. No response at all. I then sent an email and a voice message the day before the work was due to reconfirm that someone would be there all day and we were expecting him. Still no reply. On the day, surprise surprise, he didn't bother to show up. I am really unimpressed by this rude and arrogant behaviour, I know it's a small job but I have other work planned in the house that I would have given him if he had actually made the effort. You would think that if he no longer wanted to come, a quick phone call to tell me so would be basic courtesy. I'm now back to square one looking for a workman, and not happy at all.
Customer in Kent Posted on 17/07/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 27/09/2021)
This particular review is lacking a complete and accurate account of the facts. It was agreed in January that given the weather conditions the gutter repair could not take place. Further attempts to complete this work could not happen due to COVID-19. In the final attempt to complete this work (after a bombardment of emails and phone calls) it was made clear that CL Developments was committed to a large project in west London and that “IF” time was available on a weekend we would do our best to help. No dates were booked or confirmed. Accusations of rude and arrogant behaviour are extremely disappointing. CL Developments provided honest, accurate, money saving advice free of charge on more than one occasion. And will always continue to.
Fantastic work to completely refurbish our ground floor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie has done a fantastic job with every aspect of refurbishing our house and fitting out our new kitchen extension and wet room. It was such a relief to work with someone who could complete every aspect of the internal fit of our home following a large extension and remodelling. Charlie worked incredibly hard to ensure he met our very tight timelines and had our kitchen up and running in time for Christmas (something we were told by other builders would be impossible to do). As well as fitting our new bespoke kitchen, he also fitted out our new wet room, tiled throughout the ground floor, fitted new doors, skirts, coving, plastering - the full works. Charlie has been a pleasure to work with, and our children have loved having ‘Charlie Builder’ around, which was really important given the added stress of undergoing a major refurbishment during lockdown. We are really happy with all aspects of Charlie’s workmanship and can wholeheartedly recommend CL Developments.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 24/03/2021 , work completed 06/03/2021
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie did a great job decorating our house. He was very punctual and tidy and the finished job is excellent. Thanks!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/01/2021 , work completed 25/09/2020
Re rendered house with K-Rend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had Charlie render the back of my house with a coloured K-Rend. I was very impressed with the quality of his work. He was punctual, polite and left the site clean and tidy once the job was completed. I would highly recommend him and I will be using him again for future projects.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/01/2021 , work completed 25/07/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie was brilliant - from his punctuality, tidiness and friendly approach to his excellent standard of work. The work was spread over a period of 4 days, two of which included a weekend and he was there for an 8 am start every day. I also asked for some extra work to be done which meant changing the original quote and time frame and Charlie was able to accommodate with absolutely no fuss or problem. I'm thrilled with the work Charlie has carried out and would not hesitate to recommend him. Thanks Charlie!
Customer in Kent Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 09/06/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie did an excellent job dealing with the damp coming through the wall in our old property and subsequent replastering. The quality of the work was excellent. He came promptly to assess the job, provided a reasonable quote, and kept us informed throughout. He was very knowledgeable and talked us through our options, but without any pressure. He worked extremely tidily, arrived promptly each day and was a pleasure to deal with. We are so pleased that we found him and would have no hesitation in asking him to do other work and would thoroughly recommend him to others.
Sarah Brown Posted on 26/09/2018 , work completed 26/09/2018
Plastering and Plumbing - Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had used Charlie before so had no hesitation calling him to plaster our conservatory wall (was original outside brick, painted - we wanted a smooth 'internal' finish). As the original outside tap was also sticking out of the wall, we also needed this moving back 'outside'. Charlie quoted which we accepted and a date was booked in. This was slightly delayed due to an issue with the plumber but Charlie kept us informed throughout and quickly sorted the problem and the job started with only a short delay. As always, the quality of work is excellent - both the plumber who capped off and removed the original tap and reinstalled a new outside tap and Charlie who did everything required to give us a beautiful 'internal' wall. The conservatory now looks and feels less like an 'addition' and has a more natural flow as a 'room' belonging to the house. Personable guys who do a genuine job and leave the place clean and tidy. Can't fault, would use again without question and would highly recommend.
nickyx Posted on 04/05/2018 , work completed 04/05/2018
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie was able to visit our house really quickly and give us advice on the best way forward in terms of the work we required doing. He also responded quickly with quotes for each bedroom and landing. The work started exactly on the day scheduled and completed according to his original programme of works. Him and his colleagues from day one respected our property by providing protection to our property. They carried out renewal of radiators to the bedroom and an extension of pipework to the landing for a new radiator. They chased out plaster and repositioned light switch and double socket outlets. They overboarded the ceiling and plastered it with a skimcoat finish. They carried a series of structural crack repairs to cracked brickwork and replastered several of the existing walls. We did have a series of additional works to the bathroom and bedroom for which we instructed Charlie to do and found that his prices for these works were very reasonable and he did not, for one minute, take advantage of the situation. We have received prices from him for other stages of works and have no doubt at all of instructing Charlie to carry these works out based on the quality provided for the first phase of works. We will not hesitate at all in providing Charlie with future work we have planned for our property. Charlie and his colleagues are all fair, unintrusive, polite and professional.
freedomseaside Posted on 06/04/2018 , work completed 06/04/2018
Bathroom re-plaster
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following buying a old property it became necessary to remove and replace all the plaster in the main bathroom. The work was carried out with great care and attention to detail, even though there wasn't a single straight wall to work with. I now have a perfectly square bathroom with straight walls and and very tidy boxing. Charlie always showed up on time, worked hard and ensured that any mess made was tidy when he left. I would highly recommend him for and plastering work.
DylanM Posted on 17/12/2017 , work completed 17/12/2017
Excellent builders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recent work involved fitting a new exterior door, including cat-flap. Previous work from the same company has involved extensive decorating, inside and out, including sash windows (our property is Grade 2 listed), and general household repairs. The work is always carried out to a very high standard, in a surprisingly short space of time. These builders are highly skilled craftsmen who are also flexible, knowledgeable, helpful, courteous and extremely trustworthy people. Highly recommended.
Tansy & Rolf, . Posted on 02/12/2017 , work completed 02/12/2017
very satisfied.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an internal wall removed, the resulting plastering of surrounding walls and ceilings, adding coving and skirting as necessary. All debris was cleared and removed and areas left clean. The workmanship was excellent and Charles and colleague were cheerful and courteous at all times.
Sue, Sittingbourne., . Posted on 12/08/2017 , work completed 12/08/2017
K-rend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our bungalow completely rendered with K-rend the work was carried out in a very professional way including tidying up after a days work. We found them to be honest and trustworthy.
T & M, . Posted on 01/06/2017 , work completed 01/06/2017