We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

C M Roofing

Profile thumb c m roofing logo 2

5.0

39 Reviews

About

From a slipped slate to a new roof C M Roofing are here to help!
Our commitment to customer satisfaction and reliable service are shown in our excellent references from clients in the Cheshire and Manchester area which can be found on our website and Facebook page. The reason I wanted to join Which? trusted traders is the Which? name is associated with honesty and integrity, these are things I have always strived to have in my business and hopefully you will see that should you call us out.
We cover the Manchester, Stoke and Cheshire area, including Sale, Hale, Altrincham, Macclesfield, Alderley Edge and Prestbury. We provide free quotations and video surveys, and never pester you for a decision on carrying out any works.
We also carry out insurance work, and our team are fully trained, licenced and insured. All of our work is also guaranteed for a minimum of 5 years.

Cavan Maguire (Proprietor)

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
    • Cladding
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Flat roofing
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Lead work
    • Roof and skylights
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Tiled conservatory roofs
  • More Services

    • rebuilding chimneys
    • re-pointing
    • roof repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
39 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Chimney Rebuild and General Roof Repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing removed and rebuilt our damaged chimney and replaced the associated rotted soffit and other repair jobs on the roofline and gutters. From start to finish, Cavan was consistent, professional, knowledgeable, helpful and dependable. The work itself was undertaken by Cavan and Jake, who both worked tirelessly and cheerfully throughout, completing the job to a high standard, within budget and to the promised timeframe, leaving no mess or clean-up necessary. Cavan's reliability and communication are second to none and we felt we could trust him absolutely. We would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone in need of roofing work and wish him and his business well for the future.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 27/11/2020 , work completed 17/11/2020
Reliable, quality roofer.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Cavan on a couple of occasions now both on our old house and new. He is really reliable, turns up when he said he will, completes the work to the highest quality and above all he is trustworthy. When someone is working on your roof, you cannot always check their work so there is a high level of trust required. I would not hesitate to recommend CM Roofing for the quality of their work, their reliability and their trustworthiness.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/11/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
Prompt, Skilfull, Friendly, and Fair Roofer.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thoroughly recommend Cavan Maguire as as an excellent Roofer, he is... - Prompt... he came at the time/day that he promised, - Skillful.... he solved the problem (loose tiles), and fixed them effectively, - Friendly....good conversation whilst also efficient on the job, - Fair..... plans the job, and quotes/invoices it in an honest & fair price. We're on Ennerdale Drive in Congleton, some tiles had sagged down and were leaking, Cavan pulled them back and re-nailed them as needed. Great job.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 23/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
Always excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing have sorted out several roofing issues for me and each time the work is skillful, timely and very cheerfully done. I am a happy, repeat customer and have recommended CM Roofing to family and friends too. Workmen are very respectful of my property, work is tidy and neat, and costs are kept as low as possible.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 20/10/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
Reliable and great quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing are a company I will always recommend should anyone require this type of work. Cavan is entirely reliable, works incredibly hard and always goes the extra mile to make sure the job is up to his exacting standards. He replaced all of my elderly gutters and fascias and the work is of excellent quality, And was completed on time to budget.
Customer in Cheshire West and Chester Posted on 05/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
Roofing and Chimney Stack Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I selected CM Roofing from the Which recommended traders listing impressed by the nature and content of the existing reviews. I have not been disappointed. Cavan and Jack completed replacement of a flat roof over a bay window, chimney stacks repointing and slate roof lifting and relaying plus some other work and repairs where necessary in keeping with a building aged over 150 years. All the work was completed to the high standard as indicated by other reviews. It was a pleasure to employ CM Roofing, they were both charming, communicative and helpful, keeping me informed of progress and any arising issues. I would certainly employ them again without any hesitation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/09/2020 , work completed 16/09/2020
Complete reroof on Victorian Interlocking Semi
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing completed our new roof recently, we can't fault them. Professional, genuine and great workmanship. Cavan always goes the extra mile by completing little extras, bit of painting, tidying up wires and gutters etc. Punctual and reliable we are really pleased we found them. We have used many different tradesmen whilst renovating our house, Cavan is the only one we repeatedly recommend to our friends and family.
Lisa in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/08/2020 , work completed 07/08/2020
Roof work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with the work carried out by CM Roofing, all stages carefully explained as the job progressed. All waste removed, and everything left tidy, the job was completed in a very professional manner. We would definitely use CM Roofing in the future.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 06/07/2020 , work completed 30/06/2020
Brilliant roofing company in Cheshire, highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved into my house 2 years ago, started to have various leaks & issues as the roof had been patched up by various contractors over the years. Been let down by other companies so contacted Cavan after seeing the company on the Which Trusted Traders website. He has sorted all the leaks including ones from Velux windows, dodgy lead work, he’s replaced ill fitting tiles & the leaking chimney stack. The roof now looks immaculate & was tested with monsoon-like rain today & there isn’t a leak in sight which is such a relief. Thank you very much Cavan!
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 27/06/2020 , work completed 27/06/2020
Satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cavan was recommended to me by a friend when we developed a couple of leaks in our roof. He carried out the work very professionally, observing social distancing all the time, and in line with the budget.
Tim Watts Posted on 10/05/2020 , work completed 08/05/2020
A professional approach and meticulous workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked CM Roofing to replace our roof following the failed efforts of three previous roofers to repair a serious number of leaks. Cavan was totally professional in his approach to the work. He gave us a quotation for the job, not an estimate, which he stuck to. In spite of several matters, all beyond his control such as bad weather, which delayed progress, he was meticulous in his work, paying particular attention to detail such as leadwork. We are very pleased with the looks and quality of the finished roof and would wholeheartedly recommend his services to anyone. Thank you very much for all your efforts and we wish you well for the future.
Grenville and Margaret Leah Posted on 14/04/2020 , work completed 25/03/2020
Very Happy Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After many leaks CM Roofing was utilised to replace the flashing on our gable end. Cavan was friendly and knowledgeable, explaining clearly what was causing our problems and how he would rectify this. He even went above and beyond coming out to fix an unrelated roofing issue at a weekend. Work was weather dependent, but it was conducted at the very first opportunity that the climate allowed and completed quickly and efficiently. If we ever need any other roofing work done, Cavan will be our first port of call.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 03/01/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cavan was recommended to me over 10 years ago and I wouldn’t use anyone else! We live in an old Victorian house with an awkward roof which over the years has had several issues. Cavan and his team are professional, polite, efficient and above all totally trustworthy and have dealt with all our roofing problems from slipped/ missing tiles, re-building chimney stacks and more recently resolving a leaking flat roof (constructed by a builder I definitely wouldn’t recommend)! In each instance Cavan will discuss the problem, show me photos and speak to me in detail about the work he needs to carry out in order to resolve the problem. I have never dealt with a tradesman before who clearly is so committed to his trade, knowledgeable, informed and up to date with new products!
Katie Posted on 21/12/2019 , work completed 20/12/2019
It's rare to find a skilled tradesman who conducts business professionally
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Asked friends if they could recommend a roofer. A friend of a friend recommended CM Roofing as they had re-roofed his house several years' earlier and had done a great job. CM Roofing re-roofed our utility roof, which is about 20-25 m2. As suggested in the title, we were so impressed about how they conducted this business, such as; contacting us when agreed; turning up on time; providing options on how to resolve the leak, with clear rationale; resolving the problem with a re-roof; completing the work on-time; interacting with the planning officer; tidying up after completion of the work; value for money; courteous and polite. Over the years we have rarely encountered this level of professionalism from a tradesman. Would fully recommend CM roofing to family and friends.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 01/12/2019 , work completed 21/11/2019
Excellent work and exemplary aftercare
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing performed roofing repair for us on our Edwardian house in Manchester. We approached Cavan after being let down by other roofing specialists and his responsiveness, communication and honesty were first class from the start. We were pleased with his high standards and professional work repairing our slates, gables and stacks but also his gold-standard customer service: keeping us informed and up-to-date before and during the works. I am writing this review now, three years on, as this aftercare continues to be exemplary. We are coming to sell our property and Cavan's support remains first class - confirming the transferability of the guarantee to the new owners and promptly providing us with replacements for lost paperwork to smooth our sale. I cannot recommend CM Roofing enough and would not consider using anyone else!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/11/2019 , work completed 25/11/2016
Quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time we have used Cavan and CM Roofing. They fixed and replaced our porch which was dropping and had become unsafe. Great job as ever and really pleased with the outcome. We trust his opinion and the quality of his work and his price is always reasonable and competitive. We wouldn’t use anyone else. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 04/10/2019 , work completed 01/10/2019
Excellent worker, brilliant results. Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cavan put a a pitched roof on our garage and we have to say that we are very pleased. His workmanship, his professionalism and attention to detail resulted in a great job. He kept things tidy, everything arrived at the right time so the job went smoothly. Great person too.
Kim in Cheshire East Posted on 19/09/2019 , work completed 12/09/2019
Highly recommended by three neighbours and justifiably so
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cavan has done three jobs on my roof. He comes when he says he will and carries on until the job is fully completed and all issues resolved. I find him a pleasure to deal with and fair in terms of price. He provides before and after photos of all the work.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 16/09/2019 , work completed 14/09/2019
Very knowledgeable roofer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Cavan for many years. His knowledge of roofing is second to none. Whenever he carries out a job, I know the workmanship will be of the highest standard. As well as using Cavan for my own property, I recommend him to my clients and every time I get the same feedback from my customers, that he is very polite and so helpful with his advice to the problems they are encountering. I would highly recommend Cavan and his team for all roofing projects.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 04/09/2019 , work completed 02/08/2019
Honest, Reliable, Trustworthy, The best in the business!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can’t recommend Cavan C M Roofing service enough. He has been helping myself and my family for years and there is no one else I would trust. He is honest and reliable to the highest degree. Whether it be replacing a full roof or just a repair this guy is your man! This is the best service in the business and it is an absolute pleasure to recommend him to others. Not only is he meticulous when it comes to detail but he is exceptionally price competitive. To add to this he is the nicest guy to go with it. I would happily leave him the keys to my house to complete work. 100% trustworthy and such a lovely guy. You’ll never go anywhere else for your roofing needs. My only regret is I didn’t meet him sooner. The standard of his work is also impeccable! He fixed a roof for me that should have only lasted a few years but his quality and standard was so good it’s lasted me nearly 7! He is also 100% honest with his quotes so you’ll never have to worry about any unnecessary mark ups. He has now helped me on 3 of my Houses (& all my families) and he will only quote for the work that is needed and nothing more like other traders I’ve come across. It has been an absolute pleasure to deal with Cavan and is an honour to be able to recommend him to others. I promise you you’ll not be disappointed and you’ll never go anywhere else.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 04/09/2019 , work completed 19/07/2019
A truly rare find!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Cavan for about ten years for work on our Victorian house - most of the time on roofing jobs but he has also painted all the exterior windows and doors. His attention to detail and pride in his work means that we always get the job done expertly and at a price that we know isn’t inflated. He turns up when he says he will and is genuinely one of the nicest people you could hope to meet, he is one of those tradesmen you feel lucky to have found and that feels like a rarity in this day and age. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend C M Roofing - and have already done so - and cannot see ourselves ever contacting anyone else for any of our roofing needs.
Customer in Cheshire West and Chester Posted on 01/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
A passionate, experienced and honest roofer.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Cavan for roofing work since moving into our current home nine years ago. He has dealt with tiny jobs such as cracked slates or blocked gutters with the same attention and professionalism he used when replacing a large section of our roof. I used to work as an architect and know that this roofer is worth his weight in gold. He is extremely knowledgable about his trade. He is reliable and comes when he says he will and he is absolutely honest. Cavan offers a keenly priced service and has quoted accurately and provided a comprehensive breakdown of the work required. We now never consider using anybody else.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 02/07/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
Fantastic Pointing Job on 4 Storey Victorian Semi
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cavan has just completed the pointing on the front and side of our property. We can’t fault his work. He has repaired roof tiles and problematic chimney stacks for us in the past too. He is reliable, very reasonably priced, punctual and hard working! He was a recommendation from a friend and I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone. We have recently had lots of work done by various tradesmen and he is one of the few we trust. We have booked him in to re-roof the house in autumn.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 01/07/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
Great job repairing a leak in my roof.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Cavan to come & give me a quote for repairing a leak in my roof and also in some guttering. After visiting the house he provided a quote promptly by email. A while later he came and repaired the broken tiles, fixing the leak. He was very professional & polite and completed the job in a very tidy manner. He returned some time later to repair some guttering, again his work was good and he left the property in a very tidy state, identifying a few further broken tiles which he will replace in the near future. I would recommend his services as highly professional & courteous.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 15/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Professional and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cavan has helped us at each house we have owned and he is the tradesman we trust the most. He is responsive and thoroughly reliable as well as very experienced and knowledgeable. He explains the work which is necessary or which is optional and you never get any surprises on cost. He really does turn up when he says he will! We have recommended him to family and friends without hesitation. Your roof is in very safe hands with Cavan!
Mrs Wilkinson, Greater Manchester Posted on 15/06/2019 , work completed 15/06/2019
Roof and Soffit repairs
I and my family have used CM Roofing several times over recent years and have a high regard for Cavan and his team.His work is of a highly professional standard and he is very easy and pleasant to deal with. I have no hesitation in recommending him and his company. He sticks to his quotes,keeps us well informed,is tidy and cleans every thing up and removes all debris. In every thing a five star job.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 15/06/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Super job by a true professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing was highly recommended to me by a work colleague. From detailed quotation, full explanation of work schedule, prompt easy communication, keeping everywhere tidy during and after work completed to the finished product, I couldn’t be more happy with my new roof and guttering - it all looks great! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Cavan & Jake - they do their trade proud! Many thanks. Helen M
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/05/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Reliable, on time, on cost, great communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CM Roofing have done multiple jobs for us over the years on a couple of properties. Cavan is always professional and practical and keeps a tidy site. He is reliable, affable, a good communicator and a pleasure to deal with. The job just finished was to replace aging (mortared) ridge tiles in a fairly awkward arrangement with new ones on dry-fix system and to reflash and mortar chimneys. He did such a great job colour matching to the rest of the weathered roof, you don't even notice the change. He has also put up firewalls in a terraced property, replaced rotten support timbers, broken tiles and given insurance reports. On asssessing a job he explains what he finds, proposes what to do (with options, where applicable) and is open and honest. Any issues we have had once the job has been finished have been resolved promptly and without fuss.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 30/04/2019 , work completed 29/04/2019
Repair To Gable End Of Roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used C.M Roofing following a series of less satisfactory contractors who failed to address the issues we had. Cavan is honest, courteous and trustworthy. He accurately analyses the problem and offers a range of costed solutions offering reliable advice. The standard of workmanship is excellent and he finishes work on schedule and sticks to the estimate price and leaving the site tidy on completion. We live in an old property with individual roof issues and CM roofing have done an excellent job - we recommend them without reservation.
Customer in Cheshire West and Chester Posted on 06/03/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
Reliable and Good Quality Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used CM Roofing several times over the years to carry out various repairs. Cavan is always a pleasure to deal with. He responds quickly to emails, and provides clear options on how to best tackle problems. He has replaced the lead flashing on our leaking Victorian slated roof, as well as re-pointed two chimney breasts. We haven't experienced a problem since. He also replaced a leaking flat garage roof, on which there was a constant pool of water. There's now no sign of any leaks. I definitely have no hesitation in recommending CM Roofing.
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 12/02/2019 , work completed 12/01/2019
Quality work and utterly reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Cavan at C M Roofing for a number of roofing jobs over the last 15 years. His work is always excellent and he is utterly reliable. He offers detailed advice and carries out the work on time and as discussed. I have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
re Roof and lead flashing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We’ve had Cavan work for us at least three times and every time his work has been spot on One was a re roof facials and downspouts and once for lead flashing It’s rare to find someone that takes pride in their work like Cavan does Highly recommend by myself and my wife
Customer in Cheshire East Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 22/01/2019
Leaking Roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used CM Roofing .They are very reliable and punctual nothing seems too much trouble.I would have no problem recommending them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 18/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
CM Roofing - Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The flat roof above a bedroom window has been leaking for many years and various people had tried to repair it. Cavan turned up as promised for the initial inspection and took photos of the existing situation and used these to explain the damage and how he would repair it. As he was booked up for some time he came back (again on time) to do a temporary repair which did withstand some heavy rainfall. He kept me informed of date availability at all times. For the permanent job Cavan stripped the existing roof down and applied new ply deck, primer, membrane and waterproofing to the flat roof. There is a small gable above the roof - here he replaced the barge boards, and lead flashings and slates where necessary. When the job was finished he again took photos to show me the finished work. I have had many disappointing experiences with traders over the last few years - not turning up, ignoring emails/phone calls, etc. Cavan's attitude and ethics made a refreshing change. The work took the three days he anticipated and they were always polite and worked quietly and without fuss.
TriciaH Posted on 08/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
one of the best traders we have used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New tiles on entire roof in 2018, a few years previously reused tiles and a re-roof of a garden room. This Company is exceptional, they went above and beyond what was asked for them.
MEvans Posted on 31/10/2018 , work completed 31/10/2018
Excellent and well planned job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
24/09/18 to 05/10/18-Completely refurbished paths and patios around house-excellent and professional job. 01/11/13 to 20/11/13-Replaced Kemper covering in three large box gutters (approx 15m x 2m each). Previous contractors had carried out a bad job. CM Roofing completed an excellent job on time, on budget and we were extremely pleased with the result
JKBLG Posted on 30/09/2018 , work completed 30/09/2018
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Install of replacement roof tiles on existing roof, plus remedial work to newly installed roof (performed by another contractor) on an extension to our property. We have used Cavan and his team several times over recent years and his work is exceptional. He’s brilliant to work with; he provides transparent, honest assessment of the work that needs to be done and the workmanship is always to a consistent high standard. He arrives on time with the minimum fuss and is a pleasure to have around. For that reason we will continue to use Cavan for future work - we think his work is excellent value.
Richardbaker Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used CM Roofing for a number of years for a number of large and small jobs on our house and new extension. We found them honest, trustworthy, professional and good value for money.
The Downs Family Posted on 01/08/2018 , work completed 01/08/2018
Professional service, reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had several bits of remedial work done to the roof tiles, fittings and chimney pots
Andy Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
Prompt & very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very good worker. Job is perfect. Clean & very tidy. 10/10.
Marjorie, Cheshire Posted on 18/02/2018 , work completed 18/02/2018