We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

CA Building & Restoration

Profile thumb ca builders sign

4.9

45 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–19:00
  • Thursday 08:00–19:00
  • Friday 08:00–19:00
  • Saturday 08:00–19:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Hi I am a bricklayer by trade and have a wide range of experience in building and restoration.

I went to college for three years and then worked in London for a big stone restoration company on big projects like Kings cross train station for 2years and Harrods to name a few.

I then travelled and used my skills in Australia while I was there.

I have a passion for keeping heritage buildings using old methods in lime and old bricks.

I cover pointing and brick repairs in old methods as well.

New brickwork is undertaken at a very high standard and aim to give the client the look they are wanting for their projects.

I cover most general building projects and confident in what I do.

If you would like to discuss any of your projects with me, please give me a call.

Many thanks,
Chris

What we do

  • Bricklayers

    • Re-pointing
  • Fencing

  • Decking installers

  • Patios and driveways

    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Driveway installation and maintenance
  • Property refurbishment contractors

  • More Services

    • restoration
    • conservation
    • brickwork
    • rendering
    • stonewalling

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
45 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent standard of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team have just completed rendering our house; removing all previous render, installing lintels (unforeseen job but Chris fixed quickly for a very reasonable price), rendering and painting. Chris, Aaron and the team are professional, very knowledgeable, clean/ tidy and really nice to deal with. Really nice group and I would highly recommend. We are really happy with the finish and will be getting Chris back next year to do our rear patio!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/05/2021 , work completed 29/04/2021
House render - highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and Aaron did a brilliant job repairing the cracked and blown render on my house. Even as unforeseen problems arose, Chris offered practical solutions at a fair price and completed the work within the schedule. Chris takes great pride in his work and was always keen to make sure I was happy at each stage. The team left the site clean and tidy at the end of each day, and I couldn't be more pleased with the overall result. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chris and he would be my first call for any further work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/04/2021 , work completed 10/03/2021
Brick work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris has previously repointed the main part of our house and we did not hesitate to get him back when the brickwork on our extension needed some attention. As before we are really pleased with the quality of his ( and Aaron's ) work, their overall approach and the fact that their prices are competitive.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
CA Building Restoration Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the 2nd time we had CA Building Restoration do some work for us. 1st was at the front of our house taking out the old brick mortar and redoing. The 2nd was to take off the render at the back of the house and redo the whole back. Chris and his team were great, clean and tidy and took great care in what they were doing. Both jobs have made the outside of the house look incredible and made it look good as new. I would highly recommend for any work that needs doing.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 10/03/2021 , work completed 09/03/2021
Thoroughly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and Aaron did an excellent job rebuilding an external front garden wall, which had been partially demolished by a vehicle. Prompt arrival throughout the length of the job, professional and courteous along with excellent consideration to detail. We have no hesitation in recommending CA Restoration and would definitely use again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 05/02/2021
Good patio / repointing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team did a great job of repointing the rear part of our Victorian EOT house, and also of laying sandstone patio slabs in the side return. Communication was prompt and clear when questions & the inevitable unforeseen issues arose. All works were completed professionally and to a high standard. Also some additional small jobs out of the original scope were completed. The guys were here for almost 2 weeks and were no trouble at all.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/12/2020 , work completed 02/12/2020
Repointing rear gable wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team arrived on site on Monday morning and set up really professionally. They had to work on our flat roof extension with a large glass skylight. They covered this safely and completed the works within 3 days. Repointing looks excellent and the team were always polite and hard working.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/11/2020 , work completed 18/11/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and the team re-rendered and decorated three external walls of my house. They were hard working and meticulous in every aspect of their work whilst being very clean and tidy. I am thrilled with the end result.
Shirley in Greater London Posted on 15/11/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
Great attitude, honest, hardworking, very good job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After the most frustrating, stressful experience with a builder, Chris and his team were a breath of fresh air. They started on time, worked really hard and were only happy when I was happy with the work. The team were really polite and Chris nothing less than always helpful. It was a tricky job but they kept at it wanting only the best outcome. They removed the paint from the brickwork on the front of the house and repointed. They sanded and repainted our fascias. The job over ran but Chris didn’t give up and worked hard to keep on schedule. As a result, my house has been transformed. I feel Chris is someone who can be trusted which is a rare thing in tradesmen these days it would seem. I also think his costs are reasonable. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend CA construction to a friend!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/11/2020 , work completed 30/09/2020
Repointing Works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a competitive quotation exercise we had the front and back of our Edwardian house repointed and guttering replaced by Chris and Arran and are very pleased with the results. Arran also painted certain timber window frames which needed a refresh. They were punctual, conscientious and kept us and our neighbours informed of progress so no surprises. They were very tidy whilst working. The scaffolders engaged by Chris were similarly experienced and hard working. Chris has clearly built up a good team. Both he and Arran were Covid aware and complied with all requirements from what we saw. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/11/2020 , work completed 02/11/2020
Restoring Victorian bays
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team did a fantastic job for us on our bay windows. The bays were in a state of disrepair and had also been modified in the past meaning that some original features needed to be reinstated. Chris and his team carried out all the necessary repairs, reinstated the sill and original features, stripped off all the old paintwork, and repainted after preparing the surface diligently. Throughout the project, the team worked hard (even in 35+ degree heat), were very polite, cleaned up very well after themselves and we are extremely happy with the result of all their work. I would definitely recommend Chris and his team to others and would hire them again for further work.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 30/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
Repointed my patio with great care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have a lovely Indian sandstone patio, with each slab individually cut to shape. But after 20 years, the original pointing was shot, and some of the slabs were wobbly. A few years back I used some of the brush in stuff you can get in Wickes. It was expensive, and did not last. I realised I needed a professional. I got a quote from one trader, but it was for brush in. Then I found Chris, who confirmed that he did proper mortar. The quote was the same. He and Arran did it very well. The work was "below their pay grade", in that they are more skilled than this job, but they were keen to do it, and I was keen to have them do it. They completed the work (much) earlier than expected - it was a small job, and they had a spare slot at the last moment. As others have said, they are very nice people. I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/09/2020 , work completed 01/09/2020
Repointing work to bay window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris carried out repointing to the front bay window and the result is excellent. The work has been carried out to a very high standard, the team worked hard and was completed on time. The site was cleaned and all rubbish removed at the end of the job. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 05/08/2020
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work Chris & Arran did on the front of our Victorian terraced property: repointing, repairing & the stonework facias & some additional maintenance work. The job was very competitively priced and all the work was completed to a high standard. The guys were hard working & conscientious, and did a great job clearing up at the end. Communication throughout was excellent. All in all, very happy with my choice using CA Building & Restoration, and would definitely use their services again. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/08/2020 , work completed 31/07/2020
The trader replied (on 25/09/2020)
Thank you for taking time to leave a review Thanks Chris
Brick plinth road name sign with plaque and flint inset
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very pleased with the work done by CA Building. Chris and his men, working to drawings, put in foundations and built a unique road name brick plinth sign, using lime mortar, emulating local 19th century brickwork. The plinth incorporated an engraved slate name plate set in mortar with knapped flint insets. The bricks included angled plinth bricks and a capping of antique hand made clayware. Everything was completed to our agreed price and payment schedule. Chris listened and was easy to deal with. Thank you Chris.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 08/06/2020 , work completed 28/05/2020
The trader replied (on 25/09/2020)
Thank you for taking time to leave me a review , enjoyed doing this job Thanks Chris
Excellent job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did a great job and we are really pleased with the outcome, particularly the fence which Chris suggested as the best option. The work was completed to a high standard and the area was left clear with all rubbish removed. We would definitely use Chris again and recommend him to others. Thanks again!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 05/06/2020 , work completed 05/06/2020
The trader replied (on 25/09/2020)
Thank you for taking time to leave me a review , much appreciated Thanks Chris
Steer clear
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris replaced yard fencing for me and installed a shed base. The timber supplied was of good quality and a good price. The fencing work started late and was not finished on time, there were various delays that were not helpful. A year later I am having to pay a contractor to make good (as best as possible) the building work that Chris did last year. Chris did not make the fences level at the top, the posts were loose and some not straight, the fences its self was not straight. There was no ongoing communication or aftercare. I have given 1 star for value as the work has to be revisited at an additional cost a year latter! Ignore the temping price - there are far better contractors out there.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/05/2020 , work completed 25/03/2019
The trader replied (on 02/06/2020)
I am truly shocked by this review as I have not received any information via email or telephone about any problems with any fencing I completed last year, If a problem arises with any of my work I would like to be contacted to make sure that I am at fault and then put it right. Please contact me so we can go through the issues you have as I have no idea and move forward.
Replacing Stone Wall on Driveway with Earth Bank
CA Building have done a wonderful job replacing my mother’s stone wall on her driveway. It was complex as it involved an Earth bank, a steep driveway which required some tarmac and reshaping, and dealing with an underground spring in thick clay soil. Chris and his team did a wonderful job on schedule, in the agreed timeline, and cost. He immediately highlighted a problem with the underground spring which we worked with the water company and thus was dealt with. My elderly mother found Chris and his team to be delightful and misses their company very much. Thank you so much to Chris and the team. We are very proud of our new stone wall which has been beautifully finished.
Customer in Posted on 16/02/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 07/04/2020)
Thanks shan for this lovely review , Your mother looked after us everyday and was a pleasure to work for such a lovely lady ! Many thanks Chris
Excellent repointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On contacting Chris, he made early inspection of the property and kept to the quote. The repointing made to the full front of my property, and to other areas as needed, has been carried to a very high standard. I am delighted with the results. Chris and his team were prompt, polite, courteous and professional, carrying out detailed work efficiently. They were also very careful to completely tidy up, clean, and remove all debris etc. It was a pleasure to have Chris and his team on site. Highly Recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 03/02/2020 , work completed 03/02/2020
The trader replied (on 15/02/2020)
Thank you for taking time to leave a review Many thanks chris
New Patio in back garden - Top Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team worked hard clearing an area in the back garden, demolishing old shed and installing a brand new patio at the back of the garden. The whole job ran smoothly from start to finish, with great communication throughout. They were punctual, polite & courteous and everything was left spotless at the end and job completed in just 5 days. We are delighted with our new patio. I have used Chris before for re-pointing work and constructing a new porch and his work has always been of a high standard. I would definitely highly recommend Chris for his professionalism, work ethic and quality craftsmanship.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/01/2020 , work completed 24/01/2020
The trader replied (on 15/02/2020)
Thank you for taking time to leave a review Many thanks Chris
Repointing and repainting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did an excellent job building a new front garden wall for us so had no hesitation asking him to come back and repoint and repaint the front of our house. Chris and his team were very thorough, hardworking and professional and we're really happy with the end result. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/01/2020 , work completed 08/01/2020
The trader replied (on 15/02/2020)
Thank you for leaving a review Kind regards chris
Front Bay window guttering replaced and brickwork re pointed and painted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Chris after a recommendation from our neighbour. He was extremely helpful in advising what work needed doing to fix the leak we had and then advising how best to repair the damage the leak had caused. Once we decided to book Chris in he fitted in around our timetable with no problem, started the job promptly and did a fantastic job. Chris and his team were a pleasure to have at our house, very courteous and tidied up extremely well at the end of each day. I would highly recommend C A Building Restoration.
Sarah Rowe, Hampton Posted on 22/11/2019 , work completed 21/11/2019
The trader replied (on 05/12/2019)
Thank you Sarah for taking time to leave a review Many thanks Chris
Pointing and brickwork repair on 1840s property
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work Chris and his team did on our cottage in Mortlake, repointing a gable end to a high standard, rebuilding a crumbling parapet and repairing a number of old blown bricks. Chris and his team were polite, friendly, prompt and considerate during the project and we are very happy with the result. During the works, a painted sandstone feature in the wall was discovered to be crumbling and dangerous, Chris quickly recommended a pragmatic solution and the replacement masonry looks identical to the original, which is important considering we are in a conservation area. The work was completed on time and to budget with minimal disruption. We'd gladly use Chris and his team again and have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/10/2019 , work completed 15/10/2019
The trader replied (on 05/11/2019)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review , much appreciated. Many thanks chris
Small job done well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his colleague handled a small repair (bricking up a small exhaust opening). I’m very happy with the result. Chris is obviously very knowledgeable about brickwork and its history, and is friendly and tidy as well.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 06/09/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
The trader replied (on 17/10/2019)
Thank you for taking time to leave a review , much appreciated Thanks chris
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris was great. Wall looks perfect. He came when he said he would. Did a very neat and tidy job with a minimum of fuss. Ran through my options with me and we made some amendments to the original plan which he then dealt with smoothly for a better result. Happy to recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/07/2019 , work completed 02/07/2019
The trader replied (on 05/07/2019)
Thank you matt for taking time to leave a review Thanks chris
Front garden brick wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his colleague done a great job. Tidy, good workmanship and stuck to the quoted price. Happy to recommend
Pete S Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
The trader replied (on 05/07/2019)
Thanks Pete for taking time to leave a review
A very nice job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris put in a new driveway at my house. I'm very pleased with the result and the way it was carried out. Prompt, pleasant, sensibly priced. The neighbours have remarked on how good it looks.
Jane Hunter Posted on 13/08/2018 , work completed 13/08/2018
The trader replied (on 03/10/2018)
Hi Jane Thank you for the review , and thanks for the honey it was lovely Kind regards chris
Build Brick Piers, replace fences
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Chris to build two brick piers at the front of my property, replace some old fence panels and extend a small patio. Chris provided a competitive quote based on my requirements and advice on what my options were. The work was completed the work to a high standard and I am pleased that I used Chris.
Shahbaz Ahmed Posted on 29/07/2018 , work completed 29/07/2018
The trader replied (on 03/10/2018)
Hi Shahbaz Thank you for taking time to leave a review Kind regards chris
Decking & Fencing Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with Chris' work. He noticed two small extra things which needed doing and did them at no extra charge. He completed the work within his estimated time and left everything tidy at the end.
FSC Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
Satisfied customer - repointing job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did a good job repointing the back of our Victorian house in Wandsworth - and I'd be happy to recommend him. He was very straight-forward, friendly and pleasant to deal with, communicated clearly and quickly - sending pictures via whatsapp so I could see what he was doing - and he clearly takes pride in what he does. He took care of the scaffolding and was considerate about letting us know what was happening at every step, so that it was convenient for us. Happy with the price too. I wish him well
timfromwandsworth Posted on 20/06/2018 , work completed 20/06/2018
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Hi Tim Really appreciate you taking time to leave me a review Many thanks chris
New garden fence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris was very efficient and professional and provided us with a range of quotes for the work to replace the fence in our long garden. He then carried out the work quick and to a really high standard, leaving the garden clear and tidy. The fence looks really great and I would highly recommend this company to any one considering similar work.
HF7755 Posted on 16/06/2018 , work completed 16/06/2018
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Hi Helen Thanks for leaving a review from your travels ,hope you had a great time Many thanks Chris
High quality repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repairs to flat roof area. Pointing work plus other repairs to front and back of a block of flats. All the flat owners were very pleased with the work. Chris communicated well and provided pictures of the completed work via WhatsApp. The site was left in a very clean and tidy state after the completion of the work.
Dr D R EDMONDSON, . Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Thank you David for leaving a review Thanks chris
Excellent work by excellent people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris & his colleagues gave us a very competitive quote for a whole ceiling replacement in South London. They then did the work to a very high quality, on budget, on time and at a speed we couldn't quite believe. We're very happy to recommend Chris and his colleagues to any that read this. Thanks Chris.
Gerard Posted on 02/06/2018 , work completed 02/06/2018
Pointing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris has just finished replacing the pointing on my house. I can’t believe the difference it has made. The job was very messy for them to do but the site was left clean and tidy. All dust and dirt was cleaned away and the only evidence that any work was done is the perfect brickwork I now have.
Valerie O'd Posted on 10/05/2018 , work completed 10/05/2018
Lovely new garden wall, sensitively and well executed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team did a great job demolishing our garden wall and then rebuilding with thoughtful reference to the original. Where materials couldn’t e salvaged Chris took time to find the best alternatives and were are all very pleased with the results. Also on time, tidy polite and everything you could ask for!
TaraW39 Posted on 03/05/2018 , work completed 03/05/2018
Garden work re-positioning gate and doing new edging
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is professional and polite and helpful always on time when he said he would got on with the job straight away he cleaned up and took the rubbish with him the quote he gave was fair and reasonable we would recommend him and use him again
Jane Hilton Posted on 20/04/2018 , work completed 20/04/2018
The trader replied (on 30/04/2018)
Hi Jane , Thanks for taking time to leave a review Many thanks chris
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his colleague replaced damaged pebble-dash and created a new plinth along my side wall. The work was completed to an excellent standard and the site was left clean and tidy. I am so pleased with the work I will be booking Chris to do re-pointing work and have no hesitation recommending him.
Valerie O'donnell Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
The trader replied (on 16/04/2018)
Hi Valerie Thank you for taking the time to leave a review We will see you soon Many thanks Chris
Excellent work carried out very efficiently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris recently rerendered over our damp course and repaired the front wall. He also did other repairs and all completed in three days. He and his colleague did a full day's hard work and left the property tidy. Would recommend.
E Lacey Posted on 06/03/2018 , work completed 06/03/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found the team of CA Building Restoration very efficient and thorough. The work was first class and on time. I have no hesitation in recommending them
sallyann Posted on 03/03/2018 , work completed 03/03/2018
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team re-pointed and repaired all the masonry to the front of our house to our entire satisfaction. They are reliable, efficient and extremely helpful. Chris even sourced other qualified tradesmen to help us. Would highly recommend him.
MH Sammut Posted on 13/02/2018 , work completed 13/02/2018
High quality repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repairs to flat roof area. Pointing work plus other repairs to front and back of a block of flats. All the flat owners were very pleased with the work. Chris communicated well and provided pictures of the completed work via WhatsApp. The site was left in a very clean and tidy state after the completion of the work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/01/2018 , work completed 28/01/2018
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of old rendering. Total repointing and rendering of the front of the house together with rebuilding of roof gable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/01/2018 , work completed 27/01/2018
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did rendering work on our block of flats. Provided a very great service at a good price, reliable and trustworthy. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/01/2018 , work completed 26/01/2018
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did rendering work on our block of flats. Provided a very great service at a good price, reliable and trustworthy. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/12/2017 , work completed 20/12/2017
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of old rendering. Total repointing and rendering of the front of the house together with rebuilding of roof gable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
High quality repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repairs to flat roof area. Pointing work plus other repairs to front and back of a block of flats. All the flat owners were very pleased with the work. Chris communicated well and provided pictures of the completed work via WhatsApp. The site was left in a very clean and tidy state after the completion of the work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 24/11/2017 , work completed 24/11/2017