We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Carringtons Tree Surgery

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–20:00
  • Monday 07:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–20:00
  • Thursday 07:00–20:00
  • Friday 07:00–20:00
  • Saturday 07:30–18:00
  • Sunday 08:00–18:00
Profile thumb carrigngtons tree surgery logo

4.9

70 Reviews

About

Since 2003, Carrington’s Tree Surgery have successfully undertaken all aspects of tree surgery operations for both the homeowner & for commercial clients throughout Essex.

Carrington's ensure working standards adhere to BS3998:2010 Recommendations for Tree Work. Safety is of paramount importance with the correct PPE/PPC always used & ensuring best practice is carried out at all times. Risk assessments are carried out at the initial meeting & repeated on the day the work is undertaken.

Proud of a 100% safety record to date, the qualified (NPTC, City & Guilds, BTEC National Diploma) & dedicated workforce arrive on time at the agreed date & conduct their work diligently & leave every site spotlessly clean at the end of each project.

Carringtons are insured to £5m Public Liability / £10m Employers Liability.
Carringtons are a registered green waste carrier.

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree thinning
    • Tree planting
    • Tree removal
  • Gardeners and landscape designers

  • Landscape contractors

  • More Services

    • hedge pruning
    • tree preservation orders
    • garden clearance

Customer reviews

4.9
70 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Nigel before and have found him and his team to be polite and very proffesional. He gave us a quote for cutting back three trees that were long overdue for a trim. Arrived when he said he would, did an excellent job and cleared everything away, including from the neigbours garden as one of the trees was overhanging the fence. Would recommend Carringtons to anyone who need work on their trees.
Customer in Essex28/10/2019
Conifer Trees cut and shaped
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Carrington Tree Surgeons over the past few years. They always do a wonderful job. They leave the property very tidy and take away all garden rubbish. Would recommend highly.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea30/09/2019
3P's - Prompt, Professional and Polite - what more could you want!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We required our front and back gardens tidied up where our busy life had unfortunately allowed the trees and hedges to grow a little out of control (understatement!). Nigel kindly came around and provided a comprehensive survey and price to put everything right again. Stated 4 weeks lead time which was fine but he managed to fit us in within just a couple of weeks. Turned up promptly on a very rainy day and got cracking. He was very professional and polite continually checking we were happy with the approach to cutting the trees etc.. I would highly recommend to anyone again in a heartbeat. Thank you Nigel & helper! A grand job.
Customer in Essex10/06/2019
Delighted-Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his team are knowledgeable, skilled, efficient and friendly. We had four trees/shrubs pruned and we are delighted with the result. Everything was cleared away and the garden was left in a very tidy condition. It was all done to schedule and the agreed price. I highly recommend Nigel and his team.
Joan, Canvey Island07/05/2019
Great work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Carringtons Tree Surgery. Arrived on time and soon got started on all five of my conifer trees. They did every thing they could could, even cleared neighbours garden if anything fell in there Darren and Brad did a very good job. Could not fault them with anything, even the clearing up after they had finished my garden hadn’t looked that tidy in ages. Thank you for a job well done.
Jacqui in Essex 03/05/2019
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, polite and professional. Tidy job with all debris removed from the garden. Would definitely recommend and use their services again.
Jo, Essex29/04/2019
Delighted with work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carringtons as usual did a great job on our trees. They are professional with a lot of knowledge that they are happy to share, about trees in our garden. They work professionally causing no problems to the public and are clean and tidy workers. Apart from beautifully shaped trees you would not know they had been.
Deborah, Essex23/04/2019
Pleased we chose Nigel
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our trusted tree man of 30 years and more has retired, so we nervously asked Carringtons to help. Five trees later we happily paid a fair price, enjoyed their company, and except for improved trees you wouldn’t know they had been in our garden.
Customer in Essex20/03/2019
Courteous and professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his highly courteous, professional, and capable team pollarded a large Ash tree and sculpted an Acer for us today. We have used Nigel many times, and are always pleased with his results. He and his team are skilled, knowledgeable, and work is always completed efficiently, with great care and precision. Additionally, the garden is left immaculately tidy, and we were offered all the Ash branches as logs cut to sizes we can use on our open fire - with advice on seasoning and storage! Would recommend Nigel for all aspects of tree surgery advice and work.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea06/03/2019
First class job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Difficult job very well done. Prompt and professional approach at a reasonable price. Site left clean and tidy.
Roy, Essex05/03/2019
An excellent professional and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his very efficient team did a fantastic job pollarding a tree and removing another. They are very knowledgeable of the work they do and the care they take around your property is excellent. They also provided an brilliant clean up service afterwards. Thank You.
Customer in Essex14/02/2019
Tree Surgery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yet again Carringtons have done a fantastic job, cutting back several large trees and for the first time trimming and shaping our shrubs. Having completed the work they were also very efficient in tidying up and I cant recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Essex09/01/2019
I wouldn't use anyone else.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Carrington's Tree Surgery for many years and they always do a fabulous job. Not only do they understand trees and how to cut them (rather than just hack at them like some) but they show utmost respect for my garden and structures. The latest job required them to reduce a 60ft ash tree to a single trunk, down to around 30ft. Immediately underneath on one side was a greenhouse, to the other side a selection of extremely rare plants. The whole job was carried out quickly and efficiently.
Customer in Essex09/01/2019
Very caring and thorough job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel, Darren and the team were excellent. Not only did they do a very good job, but they were very patient in listening to what we wanted. Very impressed with the way they cleared up.
Roger, Essex19/12/2018
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service by people, who know their trees.
Anthony David, Essex22/11/2018
Tree surgery.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, job done, cleared up. No hesitation in recommending.
David, Essex14/11/2018
Super job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional team. Helpful, courteous. Very tidy, you would not know they had been.
Robert M, Essex02/11/2018
Excellent job, efficient, polite and went the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As above, also gave value for money and did a better job than previously used tree workers. I shall not be using anybody else for future work.
Valerie, Essex29/10/2018
Excellent workers, fantastic job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a large birch tree to be drastically trimmed, two dead trees to be removed. Conifers and large shrubs to be shaped and a massive strawberry tree hedge to be reduced in height. Nigel and crew phoned and let me know when they would arrive. Worked efficiently without any bother to myself. Gave great advise which I took and the outcome was amazing. They certainly know what they are doing and know their trees and plants. The garden was cleared and swept clean before they left. All done in half a day! I definitely recommend them.
Dixielil18/10/2018
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I checked Trusted Trader and found 'Carringtons' through all the positive comments left by previous customers. Nigel then came and gave me an estimate to reduce and shape one medium sized tree and fell and remove three smaller trees. The estimate was very reasonable. Nigel arrived punctually, completed all the work to my complete satisfaction. I was impressed by his organised manner and tidyness. I can honestly say that there was no mess left and I had no clearing up to do, not even sweeping! I would highly recommend Carrington's for their professional customer service and efficiency. I am definitely another satisfied customer.
JCorne15/10/2018
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Explained intended work at the start, worked tirelessly for three hours. Ideal result as had been promised and tidy work area on completion.
John, Essex26/09/2018
Listened to what I wanted and carried out to a very high standard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend and use again.
Kim, Essex19/09/2018
Prompt, professional, polite.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carrington's turned up on time, got the job done without issue or fuss, leaving the area clear and clean. Nice guys and would totally use them again and recommend to others. They even reviewed their price quote (downwards) after the job - but I paid the agreed amount as happy.
Tracy, Essex12/09/2018
Top job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, nice polite workers, great job.
Carolyn, Essex23/08/2018
Brilliant job, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Carrington's Tree Surgery before and again are very pleased with such a professional service. We would not trust anyone else to cut our trees and shrubs back. Nigel discusses and draws up a plan of exactly what you have asked for. Good value for money, all the debris is taken away. Would recommend 100% without a doubt.
Linda, Essex21/08/2018
Tidy, thorough & amenable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel, Darren & Bradley worked very hard & with great care, trimming back trees & bushes in the front & back garden. Very pleased indeed with their work.
John, Essex17/08/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Outstanding, efficient, prompt service.
John, Essex16/08/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend. Arrived promptly at our house and were happy with children watching them work. The garden looks so much happier & healthy! Thank you.
Hannah, Essex30/07/2018
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had three trees cut back. Workers were prompt, worked well. Clean and tidy. After they had gone you would not know they had been at all.
Linda, Essex27/07/2018
Recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast response. Long perimeter hedge cut and site left clean. Second time and we will be using them again! Good to deal with pleasant, honest people. Thank you.
Graham18/07/2018
Thoroughly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time. Explained all that was going to be done. Very knowledgeable and willing to give advice. Accommodated a neighbours request to remove extra tree branches. Kept to agreed budget despite extra work.
Gayle, Essex18/07/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carrington Tree Surgery - the work was carried out very professionally. They cleaned up everything & took it away and our trees & bushes are much admired. They have worked for us for a couple of years now and we would thoroughly recommend them.
Alan, Essex18/07/2018
Very impressed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his team were on time, very efficient. Very pleased with the result and very good value for money.
Graham, Essex09/07/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, completed job. Professional, courteous and cleared up to a high standard. Very pleased all round.
Ruth, Essex03/07/2018
Brilliant, easy and quick business!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boyfriend and I are first time buyers and I needed a tree report for one of our mortgage conditions! Sharon came round, done the observation and sent me back the report all within less than a week! When we move in we hopefully will use Carringtons to remove the tree as well! Thanks guys :)
Kandy 29/06/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job.
Donna, Essex19/06/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good workers. Did a good job. Also removed all rubbish and left everything nice and tidy.
Joyce, Essex07/06/2018
Good job, prompt & tidy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came on time, got on with job, tidy working. No problems.
Glenys, Essex07/06/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job as usual.
Joanne, Essex24/05/2018
Excellent professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel clearly knows what he is doing and goes about the work in a considered and methodical way. No whirlwind of chainsaws or bull in a china shop approach. Left the site cleaner than it was when he arrived! All my neighbours are now booking him up! Will use again and will recommend to others.
Richard, Essex21/05/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really quick and efficient, super tidy, would totally recommend.
Sara Jane, Essex16/05/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, very good value, arrived promptly, friendly and cleaned and tidied up. Would strongly recommend.
Lisa, Essex04/05/2018
Excellent, Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, honest, tidy and a very professional job. Have used 3 times now, wouldn't use anyone else - extremely recommended. 5 stars around.
James, Essex27/04/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An absolute fine craftsman who does an excellent job.
Derek, Essex15/02/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his team made quick and tidy work of the oak and willow in my garden. Definitely recommended.
Tdog350616/01/2018
Tree surgery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had 5 lage leylandii trees cut down to ground level and all the foliage removed - I asked for the trunks to be cut up into manageable size logs so that I will be able to burn them in my log burner next year. All the work was completed quickly with no mess left behind. Very happy with this work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer08/09/2017
FIRST CLASS SERVICE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel Carrington always does an excellent job of cutting and reshaping my trees. Always very pleasant to work with, he's reliable, very knowledgeable and always clears the site.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer29/08/2017
Highly recommended for any tree and garden work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we have used Nigel to undertake work in my father's garden. On this occasion Nigel felled a giant eucalyptus tree that had overgrown its spot close to the house. He executed the work quickly, professionally and left no mess. He is always pleasant and courteous and is sensitive to the needs of the situation. I wouldn't hesitate to employ Nigel's services for any future garden need. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer02/08/2017
Tree "Top" Surgeon
Customer Service
Quality
Value
You would be barking made not to use Nigel and his team. Couldn't fault service, tidiness and politeness. What more can you ask for? Would definitely recommend.
Elaine 20/07/2017
Speedy and tidy work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carringtons have felled a row of conifers for me. Service was quick and efficient and the workers very nice to deal with. They came when they said they would, and cleaned up after themselves. Very pleased with their work, would definitely recommend them. Price was competitive also.
LellyB13/07/2017
Professional, on-time, tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his crew demonstrate what I like in service providers. He gives confidence that he knows what he is doing so I can rely on his advice. They turn up when they say they will come and leave the site/garden tidy and clear having completed the job . Recommended.
Alan Aldridge10/07/2017
Friendly and professional tree surgeon
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carringtons Tree Surgery, run by Nigel, was recommended to us. We found Nigel reliable, trustworthy, flexible and he accurately quotes. His first job on our new property was undertaken in May 2016 when we needed 3 massive conifers to be removed plus to chip lots of hedge debris from a previous fencing job. Nigel visited the site to review the job, if asked he would provide advise, and quote. Nigel was meticulous in taking notes, to ensure he followed what was agreed too. Nigel and his team undertook a professional and tidy job. His team were all a pleasure to have on site - polite, industrious and client focused. We needed more work done in Jan 2017 so naturally Nigel was our first choice. He is popular (has a loyal customer base) but will manage expectations about waiting times and will confirm exact date 7-10 days before. Nigel turns up on time, is considerate to neighbours/pedestrians and our invoices matched the price quoted. I would whole heartedly recommend Nigel and would trust him with any tree/heavy garden cutback work.
Kathryn Kalair24/04/2017
Carringtons for exellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his team carried out pruning work on 3 very large oak trees at our local community hall. e has also pruned a large silver birch in my own garden. All the work was carried out to a very high standard and on completion the sites were left clean and tidy. I would not hesitate to recommend Carringtons for any tree work you require.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/04/2017
Well pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the last few years Carrington's have carried out bi-annual maintenance to an ash tree in our front garden, to control height and spread in a fairly small area, with limited access. They have always completed the work when they promised, shaped the tree well, not caused any damage (given the space available), cleared up efficiently, and been ready to give advice when asked for. We are very happy with the work they do.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer04/04/2017
10/10
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can only echo what's been said before. Would definitely use again
johnc13/03/2017
Great work. Very polite. Excellent time keeping
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend. We have used Carringtons for many years now. Always on time. All members of the team are friendly and polite. Very tidy.
howard16/02/2017
Professional and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and his team provided a first-class service - timely, thorough, professional, efficient, reliable.... they did exactly what they said on the tin! If you are in need of tree services, look no further. I highly recommend this trustworthy company.
Lesley L10/10/2016
Trees and shrubs trimmed and pruned - a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am so pleased with this trader. Very polite and courteous and the estimate was very reasonable. The men arrived early and started work in my garden which was quite confined, they worked swiftly and quietly and had all the correct safety equipment. I was really impressed by the care they took in the trimming and pruning and after they left you would not have known they had been there other the the great job they had done in my garden. Would not hesitate to use them again.
Steve B21/09/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very satisfied with the work which has been very well completed and would always be happy to have the same company back to do work for me in the future. I was treated promptly and with great courtesy. Well done. Thank you.
Doris, Essex05/09/2016
Wholeheartedly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you are looking for tree services, then I wholeheartedly recommend Carringtons Tree Surgery. Nigel and his team provide a professional, fast and efficient service. Nothing is too much for them and their prices are also reasonable. All in all, they are a pleasure to deal with.
Gareth, Essex23/08/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful beyond the call of duty. Worked like beavers! Will certainly invite them back.
Eileen, Essex18/08/2016
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, clean and tidy job.
Peter, Essex09/08/2016
The trader replied (on 22/08/2016)
Dear Peter Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding Carringtons Tree Surgery. We are committed to providing excellent customer service with a high level of quality workmanship and value for money for tree works undertaken. I would welcome your feedback as to how we could have achieved 5/5 for quality and for value from you. With regards Sharon Carrington (Business Partner)
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived early for initial inspection assessment. Difficult due to bad weather/light. Scope of work defined and cost agreed. No extra charges. Arrived promptly, carried out work efficiently. Some damage to dense under planting inevitable. Left site tidy, including neighbours.
Roger, Essex26/07/2016
PROMPT, RELIABLE, COURTEOUS & PROFESSIONAL
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Nigel and his team. He turned up exactly when he said he would and clearly "knew his stuff". His work, has made such a difference to our garden which was very dark due to the amount of trees in it. We did not want to lose the trees but his expertise has allowed the light into our garden whilst retaining the trees, so we are very happy. Everywhere was left so neat and tidy with no mess! Nigel has also tidied up a bay tree, some shrubs and two conifers at the front of the house - the drive looks so much bigger and so tidy! We have already booked Nigel for later in the year to reduce three further trees that he advised would be the better time of year to do so. I have no hesitation in recommending him. Thank you to Nigel and his team.
Judy12320/07/2016
Brilliant job, prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite and tidy workmen, it was a pleasure doing business with them. A credit to their profession.
Melvyn, Essex20/07/2016
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean and tidy. Friendly. Value for money. Worked very hard.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer19/07/2016
Conifers, laurels cut.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had Nigel Carrington and his team to cut off approx 4 feet off our conifers and laurels. Turned up on the time he stated, which in my book goes a long way. A really professional job done and was very pleased, would not hesitate to recommend him.
123mick12/07/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient service. Highly recommended!
Zoe, Essex11/07/2016
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had bad experience with local traders, I was amazed to find an honest, courteous and skilled tradesman. I would certainly recommend him and his team. (And now that I know about Which traders I will look there before I decide on any other when looking for tradespeople).
Stella, Essex24/06/2016
Professional, Reliable Tree Surgeon
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had Nigel and his team remove a 50ft conifer from the corner of our garden. He turned up exactly on time with all the correct equipment, removed the tree in about 2 hours and tidied so well you wouldn't have known they had been in. The price was very reasonable as well. With so many cowboys in this line of work I was so pleased Nigel Carrington was recommended to me.
Robspa11/01/2016