We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Chalk & Brown

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb img 0449

4.9

57 Reviews

About

We are Paul Chalk and Gary Brown, painting, decorating and carpentry specialists. We have been successfully working together as Chalk & Brown in the south west London area since 1988 and have built up a loyal customer base.

We work to a very high standard, and our professionalism and reliability are second to none. Our work is always completed by us, we never sub-contract. Consequently, the majority of our work is repeat business and recommendations from existing customers.

We are also recommended and guaranteed by Dulux and are members of Dulux Select Decorators

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Painting contractors
    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Carpenters

Customer reviews

4.9
57 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Already looking forward to welcoming them back!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary & Paul were recommended to us and, as we told them many times this week while they were here us, for that we will be forever grateful! They are a friendly and hard working team getting such a lot done in a day and the results are wonderful. They have just finished painting the front of our house and we have already talked with them about coming back next year to do some interior decorating. No higher recommendation than repeat business!
Customer in Greater London13/07/2019
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and Paul always arrive on time and do a great job. They spend time on the prep work which means the finish always looks great and lasts. Trust them completely in the house and they are always pleasant and professional.
Sian, Middlesex18/01/2019
A great find
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As well as their work being of excellent quality they were so kind and helpful I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London11/01/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant & reliable.
David, Middlesex11/10/2018
Great quality and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk & Brown were very reliable, worked hard and finished within time estimated. Thorough job and great result.
Penny, Middlesex06/07/2018
A very professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk & Brown repainted the hall and landing of my house. They were here for five days and did a very professional job in terms of their approach to the work, and the end result. Very satisfied.
Reginald, Middlesex25/04/2018
Exceptional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Exceptional high standard of work and have no hesitation in recommending them to other clients. This is the second time I have had work done by Gary & Paul and will certainly use them again. Very clean & efficient in their work.
Eileen, Middlesex19/04/2018
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They always do a brilliant job. We have used them many times and rate them very highly.
Elizabeth, Middlesex23/03/2018
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job done in a very friendly and considerate way.
Peter, Middlesex28/02/2018
Cannot fault the craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Four rooms have been redecorated in the past 3 weeks (3 Jan - 22 Jan). The job was done to estimate, was timely and to the highest standards, at times it was more restoration than repainting.
John, Middlesex25/01/2018
Top Class Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I could not recommend Chalk & Brown more highly. The quality of their work is outstanding; they are punctual, polite, hardworking and fun to have around. I recommend highly their top class work.
Tessa, Middlesex23/01/2018
Thorough, speedy, excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was carried out promptly with great care and attention to detail. We were particularly impressed with the preparation and the finish. We would not hesitate to use them again and to recommend them.
Anthony, Middlesex07/12/2017
Would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and Paul are great to work with. They always arrive on time, tidy up at the end of the day to keep disturbance to a minimum, and do a fantastic job. The effort they put into the prep work means that the finished job always looks great and lasts for a long time. Always happy to have them around the house. Sian, Teddington
Sian, Teddington14/11/2017
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, Professional, Hard Working. This is the second time we have used Chalk & Brown and we would not hesitate to recommend them or use them again.
Christine, Middlesex09/11/2017
Job Well Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our experience with these workmen was excellent, they arrived on the day that they said, worked tirelessly until the job was complete, tidied up each day and were very courteous and efficient at all times.
Andrew22/08/2017
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job on external repainting of house.
Iain, Surrey24/07/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Chalk & Brown many times. They work through the job quickly and tidy up afterwards.
Lesley, Middlesex20/06/2017
Exceeded all expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk & Brown are professional, high quality and friendly. Would highly recommend to others and will use their skills again in the future. A fantastic local company!
Adrian, Surrey23/05/2017
outstanding workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and Paul decorated a badly water damaged dining room. The finish is now immaculate. The most professional job I've seen. The work was done on time and to the estimate. They were prompt, very tidy and very neat, a pleasure to have in the house. They explained the work and costs fully.It's a mark of the pride in their work, that Gary did not consider the job finished until he had made sure the glass in the windows was sparkling. I highly recommend them.
Surrey Mum25/03/2017
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality work, reliable in their arrangements. Pleasant to have around.
Paul, Middlesex03/03/2017
Truly Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent in every respect. Could not fault them.
Terry, Middlesex10/02/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, personable decorators who do an excellent job.
Noel, Surrey23/01/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job
Andrew, Middlesex13/12/2016
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual a superb job of painting our kitchen, cloakroom and garden shed and the care over the way they work is impressive.
Mervyn, Middlesex12/12/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, careful and easy to get on with in the house. This is the second time we have used them and would certainly recommend them.
Sally, Middlesex17/11/2016
Quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job, professional, reliable & nice people to deal with. Finished result looks great.
Lorraine, Surrey18/08/2016
Good quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk and Brown painted my house 10 years ago and only had to have the house repainted. Using good quality products means the paint work lasted very well. Cheerful and professional.
Lorraine, Surrey18/07/2016
Brilliant job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very satisfied with work done and very considerate at all times. Both very cheerful in trying conditions with the rain.
Elizabeth, Middlesex07/07/2016
What a great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and Paul transformed the outside of our 3-storey townhouse. They did all woodwork, balcony railings and hardwood sills, using Dulux & throughout. The result looks fantastic - especially in the sun! Gary & Paul are highly skilled, hardworking, friendly guys. We're very pleased indeed!
Martin, Middlesex20/06/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy to recommend.
Ally, Surrey16/05/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class work by experts; very helpful, cheerful, attentive.
Andrew, Middlesex29/04/2016
Beautiful finish, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk & Brown transformed our tatty hallway, stairs & landings. They were prompt, polite & tidy.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer27/04/2016
Excellent work - highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent job. Particularly impressed by meticulous preparation. Reliable, tidy and pleasant workers.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer26/02/2016
Excellent quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship - high attention to detail. Very tidy, reliable & nice to have in your home.
Helen, London19/02/2016
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant, reliable people. Excellent job done - would recommend though more pricey than most
Clementine, Middlesex30/11/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Out standing work. Honest, kind, friendly men.
Veronica, Middlesex16/11/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thorough, efficient, friendly, professional and very skilled and experienced
Katharine, Middlesex16/10/2015
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service from chalk and brown. Good value, efficient and competent workers. Will be using them again. Great guys
Jacquetta, Surrey21/09/2015
High quality & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality job, done on time & for quoted estimate. Honest & very reliable & have used Chalk & Brown for over 15 years & have no hesitation in recommending them. Work is to a very high standard, they work hard & finish on time. Best in the business.
Polly, Surrey10/08/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
External decoration to doors and windows, arrived punctually at times advised, carried out a professional job and gave excellent customer service. Wood work was carefully prepared taken back to bare wood in may instances. Worked long hours to finish ahead of schedule. Contacted me after completion a few days later to check everything was OK. They take great pride in their work.
David, London07/08/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The men were careful and conscientious. Always polite and friendly, and did an excellent job for us. We would employ them again and would certainly recommend them. We were particularly impressed with their preparation which is the foundation of a good job.
Anthony, Middlesex22/07/2015
Fabulous job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk Brown provide a professional service and complete works to a very high standard. Their rate is not the cheapest, but like anything in life you get what you paid for. The repairs they do on old windows last extremely well.
Chloe, Middlesex03/07/2015
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Gary and Paul did a brilliant job decorating the exterior of my house. They put in long days and were always courteous and respectful of my home.
Mike, Middlesex18/06/2015
Expert & reliable decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Chalk & Brown for both external and interior decoration. They work to a high standard and to time. They clean up efficiently at the end of the job and are completely reliable.
John, Middlesex10/12/2014
Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Meticulous preparation & painting. If you are looking for decorators who will do all the work themselves to a very high standard then this is the team to choose.
C, Middlesex04/11/2014
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Chalk & Brown to repaint the exterior of our property. The service we received was second to none. All work was carried out with complete professionalism and the result is amazing
Victoria, Surrey24/09/2014
Quality job, very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk & Brown did some exterior painting on our Victorian house. The also repaired damaged window frames and doors to a very high standard. Two men for 10 days, hardworking and courteous. Not cheap, but very pleased with the final result. Will definitely use them again.
David, Middlesex24/09/2014
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary & Paul did a most excellent job in painting & making good the exterior of the house, Paul's did an excellent job of redoing the WC piping with demountable panels. An excellent paint finish.
Ron, Middlesex31/08/2014
Stunning job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Would highly recommend them.
Gordon, Middlesex26/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chalk and Brown are the best painting and decorating firm we have used. They painted the outside of our house in June and were very professional, thorough and efficient. The house has never looked so good in the 40 years we have lived in it. We would certainly use them again without hesitation.
mckewan22/06/2014
External Painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, punctual, flexible and very friendly - we hope to use them again!
MichaelH01/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with this company. They carried out the exterior painting of the house for us and made a very good job of it. They gave us very good advice about the care needed when working above our annexe roof surface and had scaffolding installed. Weather was never used as an excuse; they did not play a radio; and they carefully respected our property and our needs while the works were in progress. Highly recommended.
petergb1105/02/2014
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work from start to finish, Chalk & Brown started on the due date and completed on time. They stayed on the job and did not disappear to complete other work. They provided painstaking preparation, and first class paint work. They completed decoration of the whole of our house, which now looks like new. This is the fifth occasion we have used Chalk & Brown over a twelve year period, and we are always impressed by the quality of their work.
Mig23Wallace13/01/2014
Reliable, hardworking & skilled
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So nice to have such skilled & hardworking craftsmen decorating the outside of the house. The whole project was planned to suit weather and the need to replace or repair roof tiles and gutters in addition to the excellent painting & decorating. Unexpected repairs were discussed before carrying out the task. The end result a real triumph.
Joanna, Middlesex07/01/2014
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had Gary and Paul in twice and over the course of those two visits they have decorated my whole home. They give good advice, clear quotes and then do exactly what they have agreed to do. They turn up on time and then work on my job (and only my job) until it is finished. They clear up after themselves and leave everything neat and tidy. And they are friendly people to have around. What more could you want?
2011-05-17 21:24:26.85706/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I picked this company as they had a good review previously and were very local to the job. The brief was to decorate the exterior of my Mums house. Mum has dementia and still lives at home. Chalk & Brown were absolutely brilliant. They quoted a very competitive price, and communication was very good. The work was carried out with a minimum of fuss, very important due to Mum's condition. A few little extra jobs were added on and didn't faze them at all.They were highly professional, courteous, but also very nice people. The end result is excellent. Throughout they were discrete and caused no stress to my Mum or her carers during the week they were there. I would be happy to recommend these guys 101%. All in all a fantastic project from start to finish. Thank you very much, I will certainly use them again for any future work, and have already told people that if they need decorators, these are the guys!
sallykirton30/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top quality, respect for your house, tidy and organised. It's a real pleasure to have them around and a great relief is have found them for any future work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer30/09/2010