We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

CHAPS Heating & Plumbing Limited

Profile thumb logo
5.0

109 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Jul 2020

About

At CHAPS Limited, located in Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, we have the experience necessary to handle all kinds of plumbing and heating around the clock. All our plumbers are gas safe registered and make sure each job is done with quality and professionalism.

By offering a wide range of services – including emergency plumbing service when sudden mishaps occur – CHAPS Limited differentiates itself from other local plumbing companies. We handle both domestic and commercial jobs, and no job is too big or too small.

If you’ve got a plumbing problem, call us out for a free estimate and see what we can do for you.

Covid-19 update: In these crazy days I just want to wish everyone best wishes to you and your family (if you have one).

We will remain open for business to help and assist anyone that needs it until told otherwise or we need to for virus related reasons.

Stay safe and healthy everyone xx.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
109 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the service and would happily recommend to anyone. Ian arrived on time, got on with the work straight away and gave some good tips on how I could use the boiler more efficiently.
Nathan in Edinburgh Posted on 01/12/2021 , work completed 25/11/2021
Boiler Change
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When our central heating boiler failed, CHAPS were recommended to us by a friend. John and Ian are helpful & friendly and replaced our old boiler promptly and with minimum fuss. We are very happy with the completed job and competitive price and look forward to seeing them in the future for the annual servicing.
Fiona & Peter in Edinburgh Posted on 01/10/2021 , work completed 23/09/2021
Service of central heating boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian arrived on time and got on with servicing the central heating boiler. He explained anything which needed explaining and did the job in a timely and tidy manner. He communicated well before and after the completion of the work. I would recommend.
Gordon in Edinburgh Posted on 21/09/2021 , work completed 16/09/2021
Excellent service and work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely fantastic service and people. I needed my tap changing and the water pressure looked at in the kitchen. My schedule kept changing, so it was hard on my end to arrange a time, but arranging through emails was very easy and very patient with me as my schedule changed and needed to rearrange. Advised me about what kind of tap to get as well. The work was done very quickly and efficiently, friendly guys and all round fantastic service. I am so pleased that I researched and went from the reviews on this site, can be hard to find reliable and friendly traders that will do a brilliant job. Will be contacting them again in the future for any other jobs! Do yourself a favour, and send them an email now to see what they can do for you :D
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/09/2021 , work completed 01/09/2021
Highly recommended for boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and very competitive price. Ian turned up on time, completed a very thorough boiler service, and provided full paperwork. Highly recommended.
Jonathan in Edinburgh Posted on 28/08/2021 , work completed 26/08/2021
Excellent work at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CHAPS installed my new boiler and I’m very happy with the service provided - they were always on time, kept things tidy and were easy to communicate with. When I originally requested a quote, Ian explained all the options clearly and helped me choose the most suitable alternative.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 27/08/2021 , work completed 24/08/2021
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our downstairs neighbours had a leak coming from our flat and Chaps came out very promptly to assist. Got job done and fixed issue for us. Good customer service. Have used Chaps before to install a new boiler and they were excellent then as well. Will continue to use. Thanks again!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 19/08/2021 , work completed 12/08/2021
Fantastic as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Ian for a few years now and yet again he came and undertook work to a fantastic standard. Always friendly, prompt, communicates well and does work to a high standard.
Irene in Edinburgh Posted on 09/07/2021 , work completed 09/07/2021
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian fixed our dripping kitchen tap. The process however was far more challenging than originally envisaged, with a key screw not willing to budge and holding up the entire repair. Where I (and I would assume many others) would have given up already after the time taken and techniques used to loosen it, Ian persevered and succeeded, avoiding a complete tap replacement. The work was done brilliantly and we cannot thank Ian enough for the great result and service received. The communication in the run-up to the visit and afterwards has been great too, we couldn't recommend him highly enough!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/06/2021 , work completed 22/06/2021
First rate job fixing boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler wasn't staying on reliably. Ian Chapman of CHAPS (recommended from this site) came when he said he would, fixed it and described what the problem had been and what I could do in future, all for a good-value standard price. Cheery and efficient.
J M in Edinburgh Posted on 20/06/2021 , work completed 12/04/2021
Good value and great service for fitting a replacement boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I don't normally leave reviews but wanted to thank Ian at CHAPS for their excellent service. It was a good price, completed quicker than expected, and I was kept up to date throughout. There was a small glitch at the end, which was immediately sorted. I’m really pleased with the way the whole job went, and am happy to recommend CHAPS.
Robin in Edinburgh Posted on 18/06/2021 , work completed 16/06/2021
Thank goodness for Chaps
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After trying unsuccessfully to get an already contracted service done, Chaps were recommended to us. We couldn't believe how quickly an appointment was arranged. Ian arrived at the appointed time and carried out a very thorough boiler and tank service with a full report and at a very reasonable price. As a pair oldies it is great to have the assurance of a family firm like Chaps and a cheery engineer like Ian to look after our heating and plumbing from now on. Many thanks to Ian and Chaps Heating and Plumbing.
Ronald Posted on 30/05/2021 , work completed 26/05/2021
Great as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have Ian around once a year to check the unvented boiler, but this time I had a blocked sink that I couldn't fix. He arrived on time as promised, kept trying everything until he found the problem and sorted it out, and is always polite, friendly and calm, explains exactly what's going on, and is reasonably priced as well.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 29/05/2021 , work completed 27/05/2021
new radiator in kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian is great..no fuss, works away and arrives when he said he would...and explained what was wrong....job done! very good indeed. Have recommended to others. He told me 30 yr old radiator had a fault with water ingress and was 'done". Ordered new one and came as said.
M. Harper in Edinburgh Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
Highly recommended, 5*
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found CHAPS by reading through reviews, and I’m very glad that I did. Ian was personable, professional, and very understanding as I was curious to know everything that was going on in my boiler - he is clearly very knowledgeable with a wealth of experience. He went above and beyond the needs of a regular boiler service and checked that my gas was safe too. I appreciate his ethos that “you can repair anything” - I am quite sure that he can! Highly recommended 5*
Nora in Edinburgh Posted on 11/05/2021 , work completed 29/04/2021
Experienced, pragmatic problem solvers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CHAPS replaced our 20+ year old system boiler with a combi boiler, moving the boiler to the attic in the process. Fixing numerous heating and plumbing problems that had arisen since the start of the year along the way. From the first estimation visit we felt in good hands, with a trust worthy and down-to-earth company looking to find solutions that are cost effective and tailored to our home. Great communication about progress through the job along with good analogies to explain issues that needed to be resolved, meant we understand our new heating system and why decisions were made. Friendly and respected the property (even the need to keep the lounge door shut to keep our cats safe) throughout. Estimate matched the work needed exactly and everything was completed on time. We have no hesitation in recommending CHAPS and will definitely be using them to service our heating system annually. It is so good to find a great plumber!
Mike in Edinburgh Posted on 11/05/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
New boiler install in a rented property
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used C.H.A.P.S Ltd to replace/install a new boiler in one of my rented properties and the service from quotation to install was very easy and stress free. The service was top notch and I would highly recommend using their services. I will definitely use them again for any future plumbing/central heating needs. Thanks Scott (Landlord)
Scott in Edinburgh Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 05/05/2021
Great work, friendly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian assessed out hot water issues with no fuss, set out clearly what was needed and went on to fix it quickly and expertly ....at a very reasonable price! No hesitation using Ian and the team again. First class!
Brian in East Lothian Council Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 03/05/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great work from CHAPS once again. We hadn’t been to our flat in Edinburgh for 4 months due to COVID restrictions. Unbeknown to us, the boiler had sprung a terminal leak, they attended, made safe, and arranged a replacement boiler all within a week. Friendly and very helpful. We will use them again.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/05/2021 , work completed 04/05/2021
Just an annual service this time but the same high quality service, as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian visited to service our boilers and all went fine with him conducting a thorough range of measurements and adjustments that hopefully give us another trouble free year. Always knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and he enjoys our full confidence.
Alistair in Edinburgh Posted on 22/04/2021 , work completed 19/04/2021
Boiler Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used CHAPS for my Gas Safety Certificate for the last few years, and they recently installed a new boiler for me. Great communication and a competitive quote. They got everything completed within the day and left the place exactly as they found it. Would highly recommend for a hassle free experience!
Kate in Edinburgh Posted on 16/04/2021 , work completed 02/04/2021
Lived up to trusted trader reviews - masked man
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a plumber for my elderly mum's boiler. I didn’t have the name of a good plumber and was very wary just picking one from the internet. That’s when I found trusted traders on Which?. I read the reviews and all were good. I contacted CHAPS and they were quick at coming back to me. John from CHAPS came out and explained what was needed, he gave me various options along with information about the different prices of the replacement part I needed. I cannot praise him enough, I found he explained everything really well. Bill was then emailed to me. Everything was very efficiently done.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 26/03/2021 , work completed 01/03/2021
Masked man to my rescue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
GCH boiler needed its annual inspection and a leaky loo was an additional problem but Ian dealt with both promptly and efficiently. In these COVID-aware times, he was fully masked up but cheery and, as ever, very knowledgeable about advice given.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/01/2021 , work completed 11/01/2021
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third or fourth time Ian has come to our assistance, this time to replace a shot Central Heating controller. As usual he was prompt, informative and carried out a great job. No hesitations in recommending him and great to have a reliable CH/plumber in our Contacts list!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 13/01/2021 , work completed 04/01/2021
Replacement water tank
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has looked after our plumbing and central heating systems for a number of years. He is knowledgeable and efficient. Recently, our hot water tank was leaking and Ian confirmed that it was corroding at the base. He recommended a new tank and provided an estimate of the cost very promptly. The new tank was ordered and then installed in early January. The work was done quickly and the flat was left very tidy. The old tank was taken away by Ian for disposal. We are very happy with the work and have no hesitation in recommending CHAPS.
Charles in Edinburgh Posted on 11/01/2021 , work completed 06/01/2021
Very good quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast and efficient service, no hidden costs and communication good throughout. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/12/2020 , work completed 07/12/2020
Friendly, fair and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian installed our boiler originally and we go back to CHAPS for servicing and heating repairs. They are reliable, knowledgeable and trustworthy. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in East Lothian Council Posted on 26/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
Great service for boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came the next day after my boiler exploded with a bang and a lot of water one night. He helped clean up a bit and determined that a new one was needed. A very competitive quote was provided swiftly, boiler ordered and fitted within a few days. It's all working great. Would recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/10/2020 , work completed 23/10/2020
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked CHAPS for a standard boiler service, which was carried out promptly and politely; all very good and would use again.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 12/10/2020 , work completed 06/10/2020
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used CHAPPS on the recommendation of a neighbour when my tenant had an issue with the boiler. Ian was able to visit the following day which is always a plus in my books. He fixed the problem and then made a further visit with me to go through what he had done. I will certainly use him in the future.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 12/10/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
As always, great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did the annual service and gas safety checks to the boiler. Always efficient and on time, keeping the safety measures recommended due to Covid. I recommend Chaps.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 20/09/2020 , work completed 14/09/2020
Always reliable, professional and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I use Chaps to check and service my unvented boiler once a year. Ian always turns up on time, he's friendly and chatty, communicates everything clearly and the charge is reasonable too. I'd definitely recommend him.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 31/08/2020 , work completed 12/08/2020
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian carried out a boiler service and gas fire service for me. He was very punctual, efficient and reassuring.
Liz, Edinburgh Posted on 31/08/2020 , work completed 28/08/2020
Great as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Since CHAPS installed my new boiler three years ago I have had no issues with it at all. They were fast, professional and courteous at the time and with each annual service they are the same. Tests performed, maintenance done quality conversation while it happens.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 29/07/2020 , work completed 24/07/2020
I will definitely use them again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast response time, punctual, friendly, explained the job he was doing and they adapted to other builder's schedule. They are a great example of how tradesman should work for customers. Definitely pleased with them.
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 24/05/2020 , work completed 21/05/2020
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did an emergency repair on our old boiler. Got him in to fit new one and it was done quickly and efficiently. Very good competitive price too. Thanks mate.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 16/05/2020 , work completed 07/05/2020
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Quick and efficient
Arrived when he said he would and as I am shielding, I was a bit concerned at having someone in my house but I need not have - Ian was wearing PPE and respected the social distancing rule. He already had the fault codes and quickly found the problem - the pump would need to be replaced. He advised that if I agreed to the work, he would order it immediately and fit it once he received it. True to his word, he phoned me Friday morning and was here within 40 minutes. He was very efficient, fitted the pump and checked everything was working. He even tidied up after himself. Throughout the process he advised me of what needed to be done and the full costs. He was going to provide heaters if I needed them and made sure I was fine throughout. He was very helpful and professional and answered all my questions.
Customer in East Lothian Posted on 16/05/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Fantastic company! Get in touch ASAP
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Amazing service, communication and workmanship! Can't thank Ian enough for the new boiler after my old one broke down. In and out no hassle and were so professional on the job. Would HIGHLY recommend to use and get in touch for anything! Even after asking for a small help that wasn't quoted for he was happy to help and not charge extra. I have gained a new tradesman to deal with that I can feel safe he will get the job done for a fair price and to a high standard!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 13/05/2020 , work completed 13/05/2020
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Very prompt, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a leaky radiator, no heating or hot water. Within 45 minutes of phoning, the fitter was here, dismantled the radiator, fixed the heating & water. Within approx. 3-4 days they had a new radiator for me & fitted it. Very nice engineer, all done very reasonably.
Marian, Midlothian Posted on 06/05/2020 , work completed 15/04/2020
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Efficient, communicative and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian fitted a new combi boiler in my rental property and did so efficiently and when he said he would. He was extremely communicative and friendly. He also provided a Landlords Gas Safety Certificate for me. Thanks!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 17/04/2020 , work completed 19/03/2020
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Made a molehill out of a mountain
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler sprung a leak. Family circs meant we needed it fixed fast. Covid19 and a Saturday! Ian arrived before lunch and sorted it. Professional in his work and with regard to a present health emergency. All aspects explained, and work done quickly and efficiently. I can't thank them enough.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 12/04/2020 , work completed 11/04/2020
The trader replied (on 29/05/2020)
Much appreciated, we are always here if you need us :) Cheers Ian and John Chapman CHAPS
Efficient Servicing of Boilers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A Year has passed since Ian and John and their guys installed two new Intergas combi boilers in my home. They have performed flawlessly since install and so quiet compared to my our old boilers. Ian attended last week to so the service visit to maintain the guarantee. He appeared exactly on time, fully equipped and worked through the required tests and provided a comprehensive written report showing the boilers both functioning correctly. All good and I have a reminder in my calendar for next March.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/03/2020 , work completed 12/03/2020
Job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys came when they said they would, were polite and efficient, worked quickly to solve the tap problem and tidied up before they left. I was given a reasonable quote over the phone and invoiced promptly. An excellent & reliable service all round. I would go to CHAPS for any plumbing-related problem
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 28/02/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had just moved into a new home and wanted my boiler serviced and a landlord safely certificate. I was recommended CHAPS on Facebook. The appointment was booked quickly and easily. The service engineer was friendly and professional and explained everything clearly to me. Extremely happy with the service and price. No hesitation in recommending this company. I would definitely use them again.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/03/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
Did what he said on the tin
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler service, first for me after I moved in. Communicative, prompt, informative, helpful, effective, tidy.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 17/01/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
Removal of boiler that was 30+ years old and installed new system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found the CHAPS team to be polite professional and friendly while onsite. They kept me informed every step of the way and showed me what needed done before they did things. The new boiler is working fine and the house is toasty warm with hot water too. Work was completed on schedule and on budget.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 10/01/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
Major job - great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed a large job done in a hurry, replacing back boiler with a new combi and moving radiators. The job was done to a really high standard and within the tight time frame I had. Will definitely be using them again for anything else I need doing.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 10/01/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recently used for 2 small domestic jobs. Fixed toilet flush and also moved a radiator within a bedroom. Work was carried out efficiently by a knowledgeable tradesman and the rooms were left tidy with everything checked to be in good working order. Good old fashioned service. Have already booked them in to do next job, connect a gas cooker.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
Trustworthy and reliable - will be my go-to from now on
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian come to inspect our boiler and heating system at short notice. I called in the morning and he arrived that afternoon - bang on time! Very friendly - took the time to talk me through the issues with the boiler, showing me the parts that were broken and explaining what needed to be done. Did a thorough job and very helpful throughout. Will use again and recommend to others.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 03/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
Couldn't get old-style Baxi Bermuda boiler working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't get my old Baxi Bermuda boiler working so I emailed CHAPS. John got back quickly, answered questions and gave rough guestimates of problem and prices based on my description. He was available at short notice (offered next day or following week), arrived at arranged time and got the boiler working straight away (I'd probably done something silly ...). He stayed to check hot water and heating was working. He did admit to not having a radiator bleed key with him but I had one, and it wasn't necessary, anyway. Since no maintenance was actually required he offered a discount on the original call-out charge and asked me to leave feedback (I've used the links he sent me afterwards via email to leave this). The whole visit took about half an hour. I found John to be friendly, no-nonsense, and straight to the point: as soon as he arrived he got down to working on the boiler. I'd also had a problem even getting the pilot light lit, which he managed first time and gave me some tips. All my communication with John was via email, which suited me fine. In general he replied very quickly, often within an hour. On one occasion (out of >10 emails) I did prompt him for confirmation but it wasn't a problem. I didn't try communicating via phone. John also sent an email after to check if things were still working OK. With the caveat that no maintenance was actually carried out I can say I was happy with the service and would use John / CHAPS again.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Fitting gas hob
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian arrived as planned. My son let him in as I had to pop out. He emailed to let me know he had arrived and that he had started work. He assessed what he needed for the job and emailed me to let me know he was going to collect materials. He returned and begun working. I left him to complete work and went out. Upon completion he tidied up and left.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
New combi boiler fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great experience with chaps getting our boiler replaced with a modern eco combi boiler! Good price and clear communication throughout as well as going above and beyond with guidance for our Energy savings trust loan application. Thanks Chaps!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 21/06/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
Replace sink grate and trap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys were quick, courteous and tidy. I sent photos of the job which they said had helped them in picking the correct parts prior to turning up. (I also like that this firm gives back to the community with some charity work, which the guys also happily talked about when I asked). I’d used them again.
David Keenan Posted on 16/06/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
New radiators - very pleased with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used CHAPS for bolier servicing for the past two years, so got them in to fit new radiators. Really pleased with the work and the final price. Ian explained the work clearly and left everything tidy after the job was completed. Would highly recommend CHAPS.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 23/05/2019
Boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt service to fix a tricky intermittent issue that had been causing us bother. Very happy with the outcome
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 21/05/2019 , work completed 13/05/2019
New boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CHAPS put in a boiler for us last year and it's just been through it's annual service. Really good communication throughout, arrived when they said they would and work was as quoted.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 14/05/2019 , work completed 13/05/2019
Replacement Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An ageing boiler in a flat was replaced efficiently and with the minimum of mess. There was excellent communication throughout and I was very happy with the quality of the work done. The team arrived when arranged and the work was completed on schedule. I would definitely recommend CHAPS for any boiler and plumbing work based on my own experience. I'm particularly happy with the advice they supplied on potential boiler choices.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 23/04/2019 , work completed 12/04/2019
Radiator Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CHAPS replaced a faulty radiator for me. Turned up on time did a first class job were polite and courteous throughout, tided up after they had finished and price paid was what was quoted. Would definitely recommend. Thanks.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/04/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Repair cistern
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted CHAPS on 24th March and asked if they could help as our cistern had stopped working. They arranged to visit on the morning of 26th. Grant arrived 1/2 hr earlier than arranged and quickly found the problem which he should to me. He had to go and get a replacement part from the local plumbers merchants. The whole job took an hour, CHAPS were a friendly and efficient organisation to deal with. They will be my first port of call should I need a plumber in future.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 01/04/2019 , work completed 26/03/2019
Gave them an awkward job - no problem!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called them in to replace an old sink and vanity, plus some seized old heating & cutoff valves. I needed to re-floor the bathroom while the sink was out, but they worked around me like champs - everything came out great.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/03/2019 , work completed 20/03/2019
Kind and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We knew from the start that this would be a big job but there were additional complications that meant extra work was needed. The team were really lovely and helpful despite the additional problems not actually being their fault. We've used Chaps before and trust them with everything. We'd use them again for any further work we need done.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 14/03/2019 , work completed 14/03/2019
Job Done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian serviced a boiler for me. He was very through, checking more things than others who have done this job for me in the past, and although there was some confusion over the time he was to arrive he kept me informed, I recommend Chaps Heating.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 11/03/2019 , work completed 05/03/2019
Installation of new boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was quite a complicated piece of work. The installation of the new boiler included some roof work as the new flue had to be repositioned through the polycarbonate ceiling in the sun lounge extension of a mid terraced house with similar extensions on the adjoining properties in such a way that it complied with current gas regulations. It also involved guiding a condensate pipe under the floorboards of the kitchen to bring the installation up to current standards. Because the firm was able to do the roof work as well as the gas work, something that none of the other firms which provided quotes were able to do, this made the entire experience for me hassle free. All aspects of the procedure were clearly explained to me and their knowledge, skill and years of experience were obvious and greatly appreciated. The firm came to my knowledge by personal recommendation and I would have no hesitation in making similar recommendations.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 10/03/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
Install new boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service at short notice to replacement the existing boiler! Worked on Sunday! Much appreciated
Customer Posted on 04/03/2019 , work completed 03/03/2019
Excellent work, great value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Guys turned up on time on first day of work. Told me exactly what was happening and when I would have disruption. Pretty big job to put in new piping to bring everything up to code. Couldn't fault the team at all. Was given a clear walk-through of the new boiler before they left. Everything cleanup and all rubbish taken away. Would definitely recommend, very good value for money.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
Would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really pleased with CHAPS when Ian came to service our boiler. He was easy to get hold of and then did everything very quickly, even working around the smart meter fitter who turned up at the same time. We would definitely recommend CHAPS!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 16/02/2019 , work completed 11/12/2018
Great Company! Great People!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his team responded very quickly when our boiler broke down. They did a great job and at a great price. I have no hesitation in recommending CHAPS to anyone.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 14/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
Fast, friendly and fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used CHAPS heating and plumbing several times for boiler and plumbing repairs. The work is always carried out promptly and at a reasonable cost. Great customer service every time.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 06/02/2019 , work completed 06/02/2019
Annual GCH service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was recommended by a friend and carried out an (overdue) GCH system service and check of my gas cooker. He was a knowledgeable troubleshooter for the causes of, and solutions for, underperforming radiators, working efficiently and effectively with a pleasant, courteous manner.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 11/01/2019 , work completed 18/12/2018
Annual Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial point of contact to the completion of the required work, I was very impressed with the high standard of professional conduct and service. A convenient date and time was arranged and all of the requested work was undertaken efficiently and at the agreed price. Printouts of all the test results were given as was a very detailed and comprehensive report of the visit - these have never been given to me by previous tradesmen. Without any hesitation, I have since highly recommended this firm to friends and others who have not had the same level of expertise, reliability and professionalism as CHAPS and I will certainly be contacting them in the future.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 04/01/2019 , work completed 29/11/2018
Successful double Intergas Boiler install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very happy to provide CHAPS Heating with a five star review. They've just done a double boiler swap in our old house and were prompt in coming round to look at the job, knowledgeable about the Intergas boilers we were hoping to fit and more than experienced enough to have ready solutions for all of the issues that would arise from migrating from our old boilers to these new condensing boilers. The installation went very smoothly and the installation very neat. Ian and John and their plumbers were all friendly, polite and careful and anxious to make sure that I was happy with routes for pipes and the position of components. Having completed the installation 10 days ago, Ian returned to make sure I was happy with how everything was going and make some final adjustments and chemicalise the systems and pass over the warranty paperwork. So far I've been delighted with the Intergas boilers - super quiet and with quick heating and excellent hot water flow. What could have been a pretty traumatic experience has all gone according to plan thanks to CHAPS Heating and I look forward to their annual service visits over the coming years.
Alistair M Posted on 22/11/2018 , work completed 22/11/2018
Huge thanks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sorted out of hours. Excellent analysis of issue. Very friendly and professional attitude. Definitely use CHAPS again
Mr Nicholas Muir Posted on 12/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
Emergency Boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian attended at short notice and not only restarted the boiler but advised me how to do the same in the future. This is invaluable as we are a public venue for hire and we need to ensure the space is usable. He is knowledgeable and courteous. Action Porty for Bellfield
Action Porty Posted on 12/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
Quick and to the point
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CHAPS did exactly what they said they would do. Turned up on time on the day they said they would, carried out my boiler service and that was that. The guy was polite and chatty which was great. Spoke highly of his employees which was nice to hear, happy work force is a productive work force.
Nicola Shaw Posted on 31/10/2018 , work completed 31/10/2018
Efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian always is polite and professional. He knows his stuff and is a definite trusted and trustworthy trader. He has completed big and small jobs and is always reasonably priced. Highly recommend Chaps.
Bobby A Posted on 25/10/2018 , work completed 25/10/2018
Shower replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A good job was done, quickly and efficiently, on what wasn't a straightforward switchover of one shower for another.
Ross Grant Posted on 11/10/2018 , work completed 11/10/2018
ANNUAL GAS BOILER SERVICE.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our gas boiler gets serviced annually. This is the 3rd or 4th time we've used CHAPS. Will use them again next year, and have asked them to remind us when the service is due! Very reliable and courteous. Great work, and no mess.
E Forsyth Posted on 09/10/2018 , work completed 09/10/2018
Nest install + plumbing repair work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CHAPS did a great job installing the Nest system. They also performed several other repair jobs whilst on site, all to a very high standard. The guys are very professional, working to a high standard, and always polite. A firm you can trust to do quality work.
Scott Vance Posted on 09/10/2018 , work completed 09/10/2018
Professional and clean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the first service of the boiler, which was very good, arrived on time, and carried out work. No mess.
Hugh, Midlothian Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
Trustworthy and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using Chaps for many years now from small fixes like water pipe leaks to new combi boiler installation. Never any issues. Highly recommended.
Boris G Posted on 05/10/2018 , work completed 05/10/2018
Waste Pipe Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his dad came through and repaired my waste pipe. They turned up when they said they would and completed the repair.
Paul Crooks Posted on 02/10/2018 , work completed 02/10/2018
Professional & quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Balance radiator, released sticking valve. Did not push unnecessary work such as unnecessary flush of system. Will use again.
L, Midlothian Posted on 01/10/2018 , work completed 01/10/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has helped us out more than once when we had issues with our boilers. Last week he turned up at short notice, did an excellent job, and his bill was very reasonable. I am always happy to recommend Chaps Heating & Plumbing ltd.
Teebs22 Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
Fast, reliable, polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I only used Chaps for a small job, doing an annual boiler check. They were great, turned up on time, friendly and professional, good value. I'll now use them every year and for any other plumbing jobs that come up.
Anna Claybourne Posted on 23/09/2018 , work completed 23/09/2018
Fast, efficient & friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I badly needed my combi boiler serviced so after contacting Ian he quickly arranged for James to visit the next day. Our boiler was serviced quickly & thoroughly by James who was very efficient & friendly. I would definitely recommend their services.
Pauline Posted on 21/09/2018 , work completed 21/09/2018
Above and beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used CHAPS for a recent heating upgrade, work was completed early and to a very high standard all within a very reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone. 5 stars.
Jamiee123 Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
Combi-boiler and heating system service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian, and his apprentice Harris, were hired to review and service the Combi-boiler and central heating system in a house we had recently bought. They were both friendly, diligent and thourough with their tests and service. Also great at explaining how to look after my boiler and how to re-pressurise it when required. I would highly recommend CHAPS to anyone needing their services.
Scott2018 Posted on 21/08/2018 , work completed 21/08/2018
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely fantastic service from start to finish. Explained everything really clearly and managed to fix the problem in about 10 mins. Magic!
ByNorthwest Posted on 16/08/2018 , work completed 16/08/2018
Very accommodating - very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used CHAPS before and had no hesitation in using them for the Scottsih Arts Club which needed to have a sink installed in a studio a long way from any services. They installed metres or pipework, a maceratot pump and a small neat Belfast sink. They also had to arrange for electricity to be routed to the sink to provide power. The technical challenges were significant, but on top of that tehy worked round our need to keep the studio working, and arranged to come back on three Mondays when we were closed rather than working for three consecutive days. Although this must have involved some extra planning, and perhaps some extra costs, no extra charge was made. The CHAPS staff were unfailingly polite and obliging, and the standard of work was impeccable.
SACEdinburgh Posted on 15/07/2018 , work completed 15/07/2018
Dependable, Reliable, Knowledgable, Fair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My central heating was not working. I thought I would need a new boiler. Ian checked my boiler, pump and all my radiators. He advised me to undertake only the work necessary and not to change the boiler, as that was old but serviceable. He bled, serviced and balanced all the radiators and fitted new thermostatic valves. This rectified all my problems and saved me money. Ian made several visits and he always came when he said he would and on time. He only charged as agreed per quote and he was friendly, personable and courteous.
Gazwell Posted on 20/05/2018 , work completed 20/05/2018
Professional, knowledgeable and would HIGHLY recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian services my boiler every year and has also carried out some light plumbing work when the need has arisen. He always turns up on time and his communication is exceptional, Ian is very knowledgeable and is always able to advise a solution or the best course of action, on top of this the prices are very competitive. On more than a few occasions I have had minor issues with my boiler and my gas supply for a gas fire. Ian turned up to take a look and in some instances where it was a quick fix he has offered some advice on preventing it in the future and didnt charge me. Very reasonable and anytime I need plumbing work done its an easy choice of who to call, pity other tradesmen werent more like Ian!
jhanna60 Posted on 10/03/2018 , work completed 10/03/2018
Replacement gas boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian gave us a very clear and detailed explanation of our options to replace our old boiler and update our central heating system when he visited to give us an estimate. This was followed up with a comprehensive estimate a day later. He knows his business. The team came on the appointed day to remove the old boiler and install the new one. The work took 2 full days and John (father of Ian) explained how the control system operated and the various features. Snagging was completed a few days later. The team did not make much mess and the pipework looks neat and tidy to my eye. The price quoted was competitive. I am happy to recommended CHAPS
Elspeth Hosie Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
CHAPS Go well above and beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian helped us switch out a faulty boiler when we moved into a new home and even went onto fix a tap that failed afterwards for no extra charge. Really friendly and helpful service with good chat and happy to explain anything when we had questions out of curiosity.
Ben Newbon Posted on 26/02/2018 , work completed 26/02/2018
Fantastic company - great attitude and totally professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've had the pleasure of using Ian as well as his father for various issues I've had with my boiler/heating system, as well as standard events like boiler servicing. I've been absolutely delighted with both the service I've received as well as the costs being extremely reasonable. His family company is the only one I would turn to when I have any kind of boiler/heating work needing done - as one example, I recently had a 3 way valve that needed replacing, which became more tricky than originally thought (mainly due to a water hammer issue) and he (and his father) worked on the issue over many visits, trying three different valves - and insisted ultimately on sticking to the exact original price they had quoted for the job. You really get the feeling that both Ian and his father genuinely take pride in completing a job, and that the customer is left happy. They are both extremely knowledgeable and you get the impression that what they don't know between them on boilers/heating systems really isn't worth knowing. On top of that you won't find a nicer pair of guys running a business like this. If you're reading this review because you have an issue and don't know who to trust - just contact Ian and be reassured you're in the best possible hands.
Gary_S Posted on 17/02/2018 , work completed 17/02/2018
Boiler Service and Advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, friendly, tidy, efficient and reasonably priced
Hummer Posted on 16/02/2018 , work completed 16/02/2018
Would highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was very clear about work needing doing, time scales available and provided a written quote. Very happy with job.
Debbie Baker Posted on 11/02/2018 , work completed 11/02/2018
And once again the radiators are heating up the house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian replaced a faulty radiator valve, the central heating control unit, and serviced the whole system. He was very quick, but with tremendous attention to detail, providing full certification of the service tests undertaken. I am happy in the knowledge that my system has been properly maintained, and the repairs are even better than when the house was newly built. I will hire Ian again.
Scott Vance Posted on 03/02/2018 , work completed 03/02/2018
1st Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual prompt knowledgeable service .They will correct your central heating problems
Allan Posted on 24/12/2017 , work completed 24/12/2017
Prompt, professional and enthusiastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian serviced our boiler and unvented cylinder very efficiently and at quite short notice and in the process told us a lot about our system that we had not previously understood. Nice to meet someone who takes such a genuine interest in their work. Highly recommended. Richard
Sparks Posted on 14/12/2017 , work completed 14/12/2017
Recommmended Gas service Engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job went as they said with no issues and they even went beyond what was required to ensure that we were satisfied with their work. They were very easy and extremely pleasant to deal with and I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Alisdair Mair Posted on 24/11/2017 , work completed 24/11/2017
Wouldn't use any other plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of our radiators had started to leak just before we were going on holiday. Ian fixed the radiator in no time. I've used CHAPS for a number of jobs, big and small, over the past few years and wouldn't use any other plumber. Efficient, friendly and always a reasonable price. Highly recommended.
Fraser Posted on 23/10/2017 , work completed 23/10/2017
Superb service with a smile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chaps are incredible - knowledgeable, efficient, very professional. A good team.
Fredrick Posted on 04/10/2017 , work completed 04/10/2017
Brilliant, can't fault them!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Got a Landlord gas check done. 10/10 Ian, all great - good timing, professional, friendly & helpful all at a decent price. So glad I found you & will be using u again without a doubt. Thanks!
Victoria Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
Reliable as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was prompt and efficient. He always is. Chaps have done a few jobs for us and are always on time and reasonably priced. A very reliable company. Definitely recommend
Louise Posted on 01/10/2017 , work completed 01/10/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chaps attended as scheduled and carried out annual service and maintenance on one space heater plus 2 Boilers. All work efficient and effective. Arrived on time, clean and tidy, courteous.
Douglas, Midlothian Posted on 25/08/2017 , work completed 25/08/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On Fri 30th June, Ian Chapman replied to an emergency plumber to find and fix an open leak on central heating in my flat. Early next day a member of his staff attended and carefully lifted plywood covered planked floor. After 3 hrs, the leak was found and repaired restoring system. The plumber made good the flooring, leaving an area to dry out the property.
Allan, Midlothian Posted on 18/07/2017 , work completed 18/07/2017
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chaps service our boiler and heating system regularly and have carried out various related works over a number of years. On this occasion they provided advice on the system.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Happy to recommend Chaps
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chaps serviced a boiler in a let flat, and prepared a gas certificate for us. When a problem was discovered with the control panel, they obtained the necessary parts and completed the job very promptly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Happy Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler Service
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Excellent in every way!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We required a new thermostatic mixer for the shower unit. Ian Chapman supplied us with a very reasonable quote and 3 days later when the part arrived had it fitted. He kept in touch with us throughout and even sent texts with the progress of the fitment along with photographs of the completed work. Very impressed and would definitely recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017