We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Charles Grosvenor Limited

Profile thumb lapoutredrayton2

4.8

49 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

If you are considering a loft conversion we are here to help. We offer a no obligation free feasibility survey and quotation to provide you with an accurate cost for the proposed work, without having to pay for an architect in the initial stage of the project.

Charles Grosvenor Limited is a family run company and has been a specialist in converting lofts for 40 years. We are renowned for our professional and personal approach and have extensive knowledge and experience in all types of loft conversions regardless of size.

The service we offer includes providing structural plans and calculations, obtaining any required planning and building regulation approval, all aspects of the construction and decoration if required. We are also a specialist in converting the modern type `truss roof` attic spaces and the renovation of existing loft rooms.

We have an on site factory manufacturing bespoke staircase’s and stair parts to ensure your new stair perfectly matches your existing woodwork.

What we do

  • Loft and property converters

    • Loft Insulation
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Loft conversions
    • Garage conversions
    • Extensions
  • Property refurbishment contractors

  • Building construction contractors

  • More Services

    • loft extension
    • loft conversions
    • staircases
    • stairs

Customer reviews

4.8
49 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Awful experience, bad customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Awful experience from start to finish. Builders who didn’t show up, turned up late and leave early. Damage to our property caused by the builder not securing the access hole correctly when leaving to be off site for a week, which allowed rain to enter our property. The damaged was meant to be be fixed by plasterer and decorated, the plasterer forgot that room so had to be called back and the decorating never took place. When builder was meant to return to finish job, he didn’t show up due to illness. When he returned on the Friday he was late and became aggressive and swore in front of my young children. He then walked off the job. Our job had to be finished by a mixture of different people, which was not done to a high standard and not a great deal of care taken. When contacting directors to complain they said that my husband aggravated the builder by asking what time he called it when he showed up late. I have had nothing but poor customer service from this company, I feel let down and the whole situation left me highly stressed. I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 12/02/2020 , work completed 30/01/2020
The trader replied (on 19/02/2020)
This is a very unusual situation for which we apologise. The fitter was unfortunately and unbeknown to us, ill at the time of the job, as mentioned in the review. Sadly the aggressive attitude mentioned was down to the illness he was battling with. We rectified problems using our other skilled team members resulting in a completed job which was signed off paid for by the client. Kind regards Charles Grosvenor Ltd
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the years I have had a number building firms carry our work for me, some good some very average . How refreshing to find a building firm that sticks to its quality of service and its professionalism. All the work is carried out with the customer in mind, any problems are immediately rectified. Russell Annis our project manager was always there to make sure the work measured up to our expectations. All the staff and builders we came in contact with at Charles Grosvenor were polite and helpful. Unfortunately good building firms are rare, Charles Grosvenor is one of the best. PS My build was a tricky one as I converted a loft in a full size Barn, but it looks stunning.
Customer in Swindon Posted on 22/01/2020 , work completed 22/07/2019
The trader replied (on 27/01/2020)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It really means a lot to us here at Charles Grosvenor Ltd. We take great pride in our team and the work we do and are very happy to boast our, over, 45 years of experience keeping up with the times but still offering the traditional methods and work ethics. We hope you enjoy your new space for many years to come. Kind regards Charles Grosvenor Loft Specialists
Fantastic company - brilliant loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor have been brilliant from start to finish. Customer service has been flawless - everyone we met from the company were friendly and professional. They were realistic about time scales and kept us up to date throughout the process. They may not be the cheapest option but SO worth spending the extra money as they communicate and liaise with everyone -builders, scaffolders, electricians and plumbers - getting everything organised without any stress from our end! We were especially delighted with the size of our new room - our loft was really small and they somehow managed to create a really beautiful open space with a new staircase and it's totally transformed our house! I couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 17/12/2019
The trader replied (on 27/01/2020)
We are so pleased to hear your very positive comments and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear how large your loft space now feels, yes it is amazing how the space can be generated, we put this down to our great team of architects and surveyors who have been with us for many years and hold a wealth of knowledge allowing the rest of the team to take these drawings and then turn them into something special for our customers. Once again thank you for taking the time to comment Kind regards Charles Grosvenor Loft Specialists
A thoroughly helpful and professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed this company to undertake a part build loft conversion for us in a 1960s bungalow, providing 2 bedrooms and a shower room. They undertook the main part of the building work including the planning application and we completed the job (insulation, electrics, plumbing and plasterwork). Their work was quick, efficient and clean, main build took just 3 and a half weeks. We were kept informed throughout and with regular site visits we were able to make some decisions as the job progressed. The personable staff both on site and in the offices made it a pleasurable rather than stressful experience, I would recommend them to anyone thinking of transforming a roof space into a useful living space. They know their stuff!
Carol, Oxfordshire Posted on 20/08/2019 , work completed 17/05/2019
The trader replied (on 27/01/2020)
Thank you for your comments, it really does mean a lot to the whole team. Communication is key and we work hard to keep our customers notified at all times. We appreciate fully how exciting and sometimes frustrating it can be from our customers side of things and whilst time is very important to all, upholding the quality of workmanship we promise our customers, is at the very heart of our business. We hope you enjoy your new space for many years to come. Kind regards Charles Grosvenor Loft Specialists
Well managed and executed Velux loft conversation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the earliest consultation with Paul to the build, and the customer management by Russell, I was very impressed with Charles Grosevenor: Their support staff back in the office were also very helpful with dealing with any queries and even helped us source door knobs that were a close match to the ones we had elsewhere in the house. At the start it was the ideas offered by Paul with respect to how we should accommodate our stairs up to the loft space impressed me. In addition Charles Grosevenor were very accommodating in waiting for us to be in a position to start the work over a year after our initial consultation. When a start date was agreed everything went to plan. All the builders/tradesmen always turned up as agreed at a time which allowed us to continue going to work whilst the conversation went ahead. All the tradesmen respected the house by tidying up after themselves and were always very polite and accommodating. The work was completed within the estimated timescale and to a good standard and Russel was always on hand to check we were happy on dealt with any snags. What I liked about working with Charles Grosevenor was that I felt that I didn't need to worry about anything as they looked after everything. I therefore would recommend Charles Grosevenor to anyone considering a loft conversion.
Ian, West Berkshire Posted on 15/08/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Using Charles Grosvenor for my loft conversion was best decision I could have made
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our loft conversion is amazing! Charles Grosvenor were amazing. They really know what they are doing because they have so much experience just converting lofts. That meant they had some great ideas that really worked. They also got the maximum living space out of our loft for us. Now that it is done we realise the space you get makes the most difference. They were also able to use their experience and ideas to create a very beautiful space you want to spend time in. Paul who initially came out to see us when we enquired about using the company did not try to hard sell us but talked through what was possible and as someone who used to install the lofts himself his experience was really informative. Russell who project managed everything and everyone who worked on the loft were brilliant and could not do more to help or to answer any question we had. If there was ever a problem or a change we wanted to make .... during the conversion or after..... Russell did not hesitate to get it fixed. We are very happy. If I had to have another loft conversion I would not hesitate to use these guys! In fact both my neighbours have / are using them. They are experts in converting lofts and a pleasure to deal with.
Luc, Windsor and Maidenhead Posted on 09/07/2019 , work completed 25/09/2018
Loft conversion resulting in a large en-suite bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Charles Grosvenor after looking at properties in the area with recent loft conversions and asking the homeowners about their experience. The feedback regarding Charles Grosvenor was excellent, in particular their after-care. Russell was our project manager and the communication was good throughout. The builders were amiable and professional and there was surprisingly little disruption throughout the build. I was impressed by the quality of work and felt fully informed at all times. On completion of the build the snaggings list ensured that any areas that I felt needed attention were addressed promptly and I felt that the overall experience with Charles Grosvenor was excellent. I recommend them to anyone considering a loft conversion.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 20/06/2019
Charles Grosvenor - Fantastic Loft and Building Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor undertook the work of converting the loftspace of our bungalow into a two bedroom+bathroom space. Additionally, CG were contracted to remove some ground-floor walls, relocate kitchen services, fit new French door & re-plaster downstairs walls and ceiling. Windows, doors and Velux's used are all high quality double glazed units, which seal very well. We commissioned several upgrades to the 'standard' package, (such as PVT soffits and superb hardwood staircase) which we feel really finish the package. The insulation chosen for the new ceiling was the low-profile foil/plastic/foil layered type, which massively improved the head-height (one of our real concerns!) There was a bit of a delay in kicking off the job, which we understood was due to work pressure, however once it was kicked off, the process was smooth and we were involved in any decisions. Head office kept us well up to date of how we were tracking to completion, and we had regular site visits and consults from Russell our project manager. We were really amazed at the speed at which the new roof structure came together. The site crew (Billy and Rob) always acted professionally and safely, with high regard for quality. CG also provided electricians, plumbers, plasterers, and general handymen, and we can only praise them very highly. Overall, We are really happy with our new loft conversion, and would not hesitate to recommend CG.
Customer in Warwickshire Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
Could not be happier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor did a loft conversion on my 12-year-old house. It took a 3-bed semi and transformed it to give me two extra bedrooms and a shower room. From the first contact I had, I experienced nothing but professional and helpful people. The quoting process was what I’d been crying out for- a rapid and straightforward understanding of the job, the costs and the milestones. I had total confidence in them from the beginning. The work itself was like wizardry- transforming my house with minimum disruption and maximum impact. They put in steel beams, new floor joists, six new windows, boarded, insulated, put up walls and gave me new stairs in four days! The plumbing, electrics, plastering etc were all delivered well within the six weeks timeframe I was quoted. I was communicated with throughout; with next steps always made clear and I felt like my project mattered to them as much as it did to me. My loft conversion was on time and on budget, all delivered with excellent customer care. I knew who to speak to if I wanted to tweak something or get the little snags sorted. I am absolutely over the moon with the new floor I now have- it has transformed my home and I can’t fault Charles Grosvenor for their staff, service and the result. I throughly recommend this company- on all fronts!
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 06/04/2019 , work completed 06/02/2019
An excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very happy with the work that was done by Charles Grosvenor. All members of their staff (office and on-site) were professional and helpful at all times, as were their affiliated suppliers. We would happily recommend them to others looking to convert their loft space.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/11/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
The trader replied (on 01/05/2019)
We are pleased that you would recommend us to others, as we pride ourselves on a quality service - from planning through to carrying out the building work.
An excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very happy with the work that was done by Charles Grosvenor. All members of their staff (office and on-site) were professional and helpful at all times, as were their affiliated suppliers. We would happily recommend them to others looking to convert their loft space.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/11/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
The trader replied (on 01/05/2019)
Thank you for your review. We are always happy when a customer would recommend us to others.
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic job from start to finish. Charles Grosvenor created a wonderful loft conversion for us, providing an additional bedroom and en suite. The quality of the workmanship and the ‘trades’ used were second to none. A superb experience from a dedicated and professional team. I would highly recommend Charles Grosvenor.
Billy and Ness Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Charles Grosvenor- The Best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor completed the loft conversion for us, providing with an additional bedroom with en suite shower in our home in Langley, Berkshire. We were concerned because we were lowering the ceilings on the first floor, but we were super surprised with every aspect of the work from planning, advice, support through to the actual build /completion was exceptional. Every member of the Charles Grosvenor team excelled at their job. The fitters have created a wonderful space in our loft, the plasterers have done an amazing finish, everyone were very professional in their area of work. The whole team was brilliant, patient, respectful and incredibly efficient. The office staff were polite, excellent, made us stress free with regular communication and very professional. Finally, Russell as the project manager very best in bringing it all together gem of a person. Professional, reliable , efficient, timely and great value from start to finish. Never will hesitate to recommend Charles Grosvenor to anyone without any doubt. Many thanks to you all.
Anand K Posted on 20/10/2017 , work completed 20/10/2017
Charles Grosvenor- Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Attic conversion- period property. Included installation of an observatory lantern A superb job handled with great skill and flexibility We could not be more delighted with the approach, professionalism and collaborative approach of Charles Grosvenor. The project has been a complete success. I would recommend Charles Grosvenor unreservedly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/08/2017 , work completed 10/08/2017
Reliable and efficient company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a loft conversion into a small storage room in a small terraced house. I was very happy with Charles Grosvenor. Everyone in their team was very reliable. Hayley back at the office was very easy to contact by Email and constantly kept me posted on what was going on. I had been delaying this loft conversion because I have a busy job and don't have time to juggle building projects. I shouldn't have waited, as Charles Grosvenor made everything hassle-free!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/05/2017 , work completed 21/05/2017
Converted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor completed a loft conversion for us, providing us with an additional bedroom with en suite shower. We were pleased with every aspect of the work from planning through to the actual build. There ongoing support and advice was exceptional
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/05/2017 , work completed 05/05/2017
Excellent and a pleasure to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft conversion
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/05/2017 , work completed 01/05/2017
Charles Grosvenor Ltd - excellent overall experience for loft conversion process
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor Ltd worked with us through all stages of a loft conversion from initial discussions and idea, through to final design, planning, building and project management. It was an excellent experience and they were very professional and helpful throughout and all aspects of the work were completed to a very high standard. Communication was always positive and all issues were resolved quickly and to our satisfaction. It was a very positive experience and we are very happy with the work that was done and the final completed loft conversion
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/04/2017 , work completed 30/04/2017
Professional and respectful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a loft conversion with Charles Grosvenor earlier this year. The sales consultant was very friendly and clear on what type of conversion I could have and clearly went through the step by step process of having the conversion. My quote was very specific and I could see exactly what I was paying for. Throughout the planning process the office kept in touch to inform me of each and every stage. The job was not only done swiftly, with the minimum of disruption to us living in the house, but also to a very high standard. I had regular meetings with the supervisor who updated me on the progress of the job and I felt that I was listened to and my needs were met every time. All the trades men were professional and showed the utmost respect to me, my children and surrounding neighbours. There was also always someone in the office I could talk to whenever I needed. As a single working mother of two I felt that my house was always in safe hands with this company and would highly recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/04/2017 , work completed 20/04/2017
Superb loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a pleasant experience from planning to completion, no problems, excellent and speedy work, a great team, a good price and a remarkable transformation to the house. I'd highly recommend this company for a stress free loft conversion!
Ade Morris Posted on 22/03/2017 , work completed 22/03/2017
Super pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would just like to say a massive thank you to all the team for their hard work. Everyone was very professional, polite and extremely hard working. I was dreading the 'mess', but I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of it. The distribution was kept to a minimum and the work was carried out to a very high standard. We have had so many positive comments from family and friends. I would, and already have highly recommended Charles Grosvenor. We are over the moon with our loft conversion. Russell was a pleasure to liase with and made sure everything ran smoothly - what a lovely guy. Many thanks again to the whole team!
Stephanie Posted on 19/01/2017 , work completed 19/01/2017
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although it wasn't the biggest loft conversion ever done, we were concerned because we were lowering the ceilings on the first floor and this might spoil the character and the feel of the house. We discussed our concerns with Ken who re-assured us that the heights would be OK. We needn't have worried, the measurements and the look of the finished loft room are better than we could have hoped. Every member of the Charles Grosvenor team that worked on the conversion excelled at their job, and Russell kept us up to date every step of the way. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone having their loft done. We're so pleased, thank you so much!
Dave D Posted on 19/01/2017 , work completed 19/01/2017
Excellent Work and Amazing New Room!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor provided us with a friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional service. The standard of their work is very high and good communication throughout the build meant we were included in decisions being made to achieve exactly what we wanted. In particular the team worked very hard to adjust our planning application to comply with local regulations, still giving us the best space possible, and to fit our desired en-suite into limited space for which we are very grateful!
JeanetteS Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
Professional, efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are absolutely delighted with our fantastic loft conversion from Charles Grosvenor. From our initial contact through to the very end of the work, they have been professional, efficient and friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone wanting a loft conversion.
computer Posted on 17/01/2017 , work completed 17/01/2017
Absolutely Thrilled :-)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely thrilled with our loft conversion. Couldn't recommend Charles Grosvenor enough. The whole process (which I was dreading) has been very smooth & surprisingly quick. The workmanship is outstanding and everyone that we have come into contact with (scaffolders, plumber, electrician, builders, plasterers, office staff) haven been amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Special shout out to Russell our project manager who has to be one of the nicest people we've ever met! It's been a pleasure working with you.
Faye Sawyer Posted on 16/01/2017 , work completed 16/01/2017
Loft Conversion - Warfield, Berkshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We highly recommend Charles Grover Ltd, the whole team were amazing throughout the build (Loft bedroom and on-suite bathroom). The back office planning team kept us up to date with what was going on throughout the build and all the onsite team were great hard working guys. Any teething issues were dealt with promptly. The whole Charles Grosvenor team were very professional at all times, I can’t recommend them enough.
Darryl Posted on 12/01/2017 , work completed 12/01/2017
Fantastic experience - loft conversion in Oxforx
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a great experience from start to finish, thanks Charles Grosvenor. We have a small grade 2 listed terrace in Oxford and adding another bedroom has made a big difference. CG dealt with both planning and listed building consent effectively and were extremely competitively priced compared to firms in Oxford. Our two builders, Dave and Craig were absolutely lovely. We were amazed how quickly it progressed and how little disruption it caused. Bob, the owner, visits weekly to check on progress and is also very nice! Our loft is fantastic, we are very pleased with the outcome and love our new room! Griffiths Family
Sarah M Posted on 12/10/2016 , work completed 12/10/2016
Loft Conversion Solihull
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New Loft conversion with ensuite
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/09/2016 , work completed 30/09/2016
Excellent service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Conversion of roof space to form a large dormer extension creating a room approx. 80 sq. mtrs
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Loft conversion in Oxford
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a loft conversion to expand our home without having to move house, and decided to choose Charles Grosvenor to undertake this task. We have been very pleased with the professional service throughout the whole process, with the company's management very effective in ensuring that their builders worked in line with professional standards. The result is a pleasant & well-built loft. We would recommend this company to anyone wishing to undertake a good quality loft conversation. BS and EMF
BS and EFM Posted on 27/06/2016 , work completed 27/06/2016
Something from nothing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have a large bungalow, but with a low pitched roof, very little loft space and no potential to make use of it. We decided to explore the prospect of a loft conversion. An internet search for providers in the Midlands immediately landed on the Charles Grosvenor website - full repertoire of what we wanted and only a few miles away. From the initial contact, relations were congenial and positive. Increasing the roof pitch suddenly liberated 500 sq ft pf floorspace, and a slight sacrifice at one end of a bedroom allowed access from the hall. The build took place in Autumn 2014 and, in spite of some foul weather, the house was kept weather-tight throughout. We were continuously informed of progress through the stages of the work. The end result is superb and all of our dealings with Charles Grosvenor people, their contractors and sub-contractors, were cordial throughout - particularly noteworthy as the process was lengthy and disruptive. We would have no hesitation in recommending Charles Grosvenor to others and indeed have already done so. Alex Grieve 20/06/2016
Alex M Grieve Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Excellent Loft Conversion Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were attracted to Charles Grosvenor as we needed an additional bedroom for our Edwardian terraced house. Right from the planning stage we were impressed by their professionalism, being able to create a good design and planning the complete package at a competitive price. Once local authority permission was obtained the project went ahead at a steady pace. There was a experienced builder and joiner who kept us informed on daily progress by the team, which also included plumbers, electricians and plasterers. They also undertook a re-tile with Spanish slate tiles. Russell, the supervisor, visited weekly to review progress and sort any problems. We were and remain very happy with the finished room, which acts as a lovely, en suite guest room and doubles as my wife's sewing room, being beautifully light and airy with three Velux windows. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Edward Bray Posted on 19/06/2016 , work completed 19/06/2016
First rate loft conversion company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Charles Grosvenor Ltd last year for our loft conversion. The whole process was very efficiently handled from the planning stage through delivery of materials and the build itself and we were kept very well informed as to what was going to be happening and when. CG took care of all the appropriate permissions (permitted development, building control, etc.) Their staff were very friendly, polite and helpful and came up with good ideas for ways we could modify the design to better suit our requirements as the build progressed, as well as carrying out the work to a very high standard. They were always up front about costs and what was or wasn't included in the quote and the price for the conversion was very competitive. We are very pleased with the end result and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
John M Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Top Quality Loft Conversion (Summer 2015)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having made the decision to have a loft conversion, rather than move house, I contacted Charles Grosvenor after seeing a loft conversion, which they had built for my friend. I was very impressed with the extra space, which had been created and with the quality of the workmanship. One of their surveyors arranged a visit and took me through the options and provided me with a sketch of how it would look. Due to the style of my house a “wrap-around” dormer was the proposed solution, providing the best use of the roof space. The Project Manager then visited me and went through the build process and was happy to answer any questions. I was kept up to date with all the stages of the build: from the delivery of the materials to the dismantling of the scaffolding. The build took a few weeks. Everyone involved always arrived on time to start work at 8am prompt. They were always polite, tidied up and let me know what the next stage would be and who would be doing it. The Project Manager made regular visits as the build progressed and if I had any questions, they were always answered in a timely fashion. The finished loft conversion is fabulous and has provided a bedroom with an en-suite, which has also added value to my home. The whole process was very professional at every step from the initial survey through to the completion of the build. I would not hesitate in recommending Charles Grosvenor to friends and family.
H. Emson – West Bromwich, West Midlands Posted on 15/06/2016 , work completed 15/06/2016
First Class Experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked a few loft conversion companies to see what they could to do with our loft space and we had many differing results, but Charles Grosvenor came in and listened to what we wanted and then produced a sketch plan of what we wanted all as part of the quote. When we agreed to the work, CG looked after a aspects of the build from drawing up plans, getting the correct permissions, all the way through to completion. The trades men were all kind and polite and produced an excellent finish. The speed at which the conversion was excellent too. Overall a very positive building experience, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them on. Our son and daughter are over the moon with their new rooms.
darren Posted on 10/06/2016 , work completed 10/06/2016
Great Loft!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our experience of using Charles Grosvenor was very positive. We asked them to create a bedroom and en-suite in our loft. The work included re-shaping and re-tiling our roof completely. The service from both sales and project management people was personal and they quickly responded to emails and phone queries. All the tradespeople were friendly and got on with the job. When a gale blew in the day after our tiles were taken off, Gil (fitter) and his son drove more than 20 miles at 8pm on a Saturday night to batten down the tarpaulin again. The only slight issue we had was with them finding a tiler - we had to do this ourselves in the end. Overall a great result and a low-stress building experience.
Bird Family Posted on 09/06/2016 , work completed 09/06/2016
Superior quality work, friendly and honest company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall it was a great experience, we always felt informed at every stage and the co-ordination of resources was very organised. The fitting team and trades were brilliant, really nice bunch of guys, hard working, dedicated and approachable. Even though we have quite a small property, the quality and usability of the new space is excellent and has added value to our house and solved our space issue perfectly.
JamieO Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job from start to finish. Our building team were excellent and when we found out halfway through the job we needed a new boiler, it was handled efficiently and replaced without any delay to the job! We would thoroughly recommend Charles Grosvenor, our loft is transformed and looks amazing. Thank you
Donna O'Regan Posted on 06/06/2016 , work completed 06/06/2016
Charles Grosvenor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charles Grosvenor were very professional , I had a loft conversion with a dorms. I am very happy with it. The two Bob's who did mine were marvellous , nothing was to much, they were very clean and tidy . From start to finish they kept me informed. I would sincerely recommend them.
Maria511 Posted on 05/06/2016 , work completed 05/06/2016
Loft Conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a dormer loft conversion to create more space including an extra bedroom and bathroom. The whole project was run efficiently and with a great end result. The office and project manager, Bob, were informative and always quick to deal with any queries. All the staff who worked on site were considerate, respectful and tidy. Rich, Darren and Eddie went out of their way to help. I would recommend Charles Grosvenor to anyone thinking of a loft conversion.
Q Ghfoor Posted on 05/06/2016 , work completed 05/06/2016
Loft Conversion 2015
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall we are very pleased with the result. Things slowed down a bit towards the end with the guys off site a bit but overall it was good work and the guys were very considerate to the people living on site during the conversion work. The communication from the office was first rate, a major plus! I would certainly recommend their work.
M Brooke Posted on 03/06/2016 , work completed 03/06/2016
Loft conversion including bedroom and office
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process was well explained and I was kept informed throughout the project. Fitters/Plumber: Paul has vast expertise, knowledge and skills. He was very friendly and professional. Plasterer: The rest of the team recommended Darren and I can see why. Could not fault his work. Also very friendly and professional. Electrician: All options explained and very tidy. Could not fault. Project Manager: Bob was courteous, friendly and always provided me with a solution. Office Staff: Always a pleasure speaking to them. Bricklayer: Excellent job by Stu fitting Study window. Brickwork looks great. Overall I could not fault Charles Grosvenor. They did a great job.
Peter H Posted on 03/06/2016 , work completed 03/06/2016
A superb job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Without exception, every one of your representatives who worked on site were uniformed, polite, tidy, respectful, considerate and obliging. Your office staff were really on the ball and provided the same level of courtesy and efficiency. You should be very proud of every one of them. We're so pleased we chose Charles Grosvenor Ltd!
Walker household Posted on 02/06/2016 , work completed 02/06/2016
Small loft conversion by Grosvenor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our loft conversion done by Charles Grosvenor recently. A simple loft conversion with one dormer, approx 18 sqm. Good points : * Overall the quality of the main work is fine and it looks good * Afterworks service is good * Cost of those works was correct compared to other companies. Survey was done properly. * Every time I had to deal with someone in the office, the person tried to help. Bad points: *The beginning of the works was postponed 6 times, from mid May to early October. * We were told that the works would last between 6 to 8 weeks. Works began on the 16th of September, and ended at the end of December. We were told crazy excuses. Very unprofessional. * Messy fitter: Fitter strongly damaged one room (extra costs for us), water came from the roof in another room, coffee spilled everywhere, nails left everywhere * Bad communication between different workers. I had to manage myself to prevent big mistakes to be done. I never had peace of mind. * Part of the scaffolding was erected in my neighbor's garden... without her permission. Scaffloding wasn't safe nor protected by a net, so small items were constantly falling. * The staircase wasn't manufactured properly and the fitter had to add pieces of wood so that the parts fit together. The velux frame was also damaged when the staircase was brought in. * After 8 weeks the skip was removed and never replaced. The front of my house was used as a skip and lots of rubbish was left hidden in the eaves.
elkynes Posted on 31/05/2016 , work completed 31/05/2016
Good service - good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A company that specialised in loft conversions and the experience shows. Good service including getting approvals together with a simple schedule of stage payments. Good quality of work - no hidden extras. Our conversion took a month from start to finish including a weeks break for the plaster to dry.
Robert, Worcestershire Posted on 11/03/2016 , work completed 11/03/2016
Positive experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a loft conversion on a bungalow. The work was well coordinated by the project manager. We developed a good relationship with the team. They were friendly and reliable. They strived to make us happy with their work at every stage.
H Gardener, Worcestershire Posted on 31/08/2015 , work completed 31/08/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So pleased we chose them
Geoff, Somerset Posted on 27/06/2015 , work completed 27/06/2015
Provided bedroom via a loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was started in April and finished May 2015.Very Happy with the work very good job done. All was completed on time and within budget. Superb
Natalie Posted on 01/05/2015 , work completed 01/05/2015
Loft Conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally stress free. Happy to recommend.
Jason Posted on 01/07/2014 , work completed 01/07/2014