We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Charleswood Property Developments Ltd

Profile thumb img 1281 1024
4.8

25 Reviews

About

Charleswood is a family run business, undertaking all aspect of building, property development and renovation work. Charleswood was established in 2008 by Mark Wood. Drawing on 26 years of experience as a senior project manager for a major UK Blue Chip Company, Mark’s commitment to quality workmanship, timely delivery, prompt and accurate communication, good customer service and satisfaction form the foundations of the company ethos.
At Charleswood, teamwork really matters. We pride ourselves on the range of expertise we can bring to your project and we are dedicated to providing our customers with the highest standards of specification and care.
As a family run business, we understand the importance of treating your property with respect. We promise to treat your home as if it were our own. This means we will respect your personal space and belongings and will maintain tidy and safe work areas.
Our team can take your ideas from the drawing board to reality and deliver the home you've dreamed of.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Building services
    • Loft conversions
    • Plastering
    • Conservatories
  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Double glazing

  • Building construction contractors

  • More Services

    • design and build
    • concept to completion. turn key service

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
25 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.6
Sort by
Professional, high quality and approachable team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Building works to create open plan kitchen, utility and dining room plus bathroom refit. Planning any alterations to your home is a major undertaking and you put yourselves very much into the hands of the company you employ. From the moment we met with Mark, and in the subsequent planning meetings we had with his team, we knew that we had made the right choice, and so it proved. We always felt that we were in safe hands, as any questions were answered quickly and problems dealt with in a positive no-nonsense way. His whole team were approachable and excellent professionals. We would have no hesitation in using Mark again and recommending Charleswood Property Developments to others. Thank you Mark
Anne and David in North Yorkshire Posted on 28/03/2022 , work completed 23/03/2022
The trader replied (on 28/03/2022)
Dear Anne and David, We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you are not only happy with the workmanship but also that the team delivered your project in a professional and approachable manner. We would also like to thank you for the referral. Best wishes from all the team at Charleswood.
An excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are really delighted with the work that’s been done by Charleswood Property Developments Ltd. Ours was a relatively small project for the company but the various alterations (removal of an internal wall, insertion of patio doors plus various changes to doors, heating, electric cables and storage) are enabling us to use the house as we want and we are immediately feeling the benefit. From the start with an exchange of emails and a bar of chocolate, it was obvious that I had chosen well in asking Mark to quote for the job. Throughout, his communication with me was excellent: clear, knowledgeable and patient in responding to my endless questions! His approach in giving a fixed price is very reassuring to the customer; the price was fair and it was good to know that costs would not escalate out of control. Everyone who worked here was polite, considerate and did all he could to help in any way possible. Respect was shown to us and our home; areas were screened off to minimise movement of dust; there were no blaring radios to upset neighbours; the working areas were left clean and tidy at the end of each day; the schedule was managed well. We felt totally confident in Paul’s oversight and Mal, too, took time to explain what he was doing and clearly wanted us to be pleased with his excellent joinery. The guys were easy to have around and made the process run as smoothly as possible. So, put simply, we couldn't have done any better. Thank you Mark, Paul, Mal and the team.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 31/12/2021 , work completed 03/12/2021
The trader replied (on 10/01/2022)
Dear Customer, We appreciate the time you have taken to leave this review. We are pleased that you are delighted with the results of the work, and that you felt the process ran smoothly from start to finish. It is good to hear that your project was carried out in the way that supports our company values; work areas left clean and tidy, no loud radios, and respect of your home. We look forward to working with you again in the near future. We will pass on your feedback to all the team. Best wishes from everyone at Charleswood.
Removing old flooring and relaying new flooring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had been recommended Charleswood Property Developments Limited by a friend. We are having some major renovation work done on our period property and needed a reliable builder to remove the old tiles in the hallway and the wooden flooring in the kitchen. I met Mark on-site and was immediately impressed by his professional, friendly demeanor and knowledge of what needed doing. I later met Mark and Paul, who was to be our "foreman", on-site and found Paul equally helpful. We discussed what was required and Mark prepared a detailed, careful quote. Once the work started, I found all the team friendly, polite, and hard-working. As is often the way, having taken up the floors, it then transpired that much more work was required than anticipated, including pulling up the original, old floorboards, strengthening the ceiling joists, and relaying the floor. This was by no means an easy task and required more manpower and more time than anyone could have anticipated. Despite this, Mark worked very hard to ensure that more men were brought on-site and, against all the odds, the work was completed on time and to a high standard. I have had previous experience with builders and could not recommend a single one of them. However, Mark and his team exceeded all my expectations. They were a pleasure to have in the house, they worked hard, they were tidy and helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in York Posted on 22/07/2021 , work completed 16/07/2021
The trader replied (on 04/08/2021)
Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated and gives future clients the reassurance we do deliver on our promise. We thoroughly enjoyed working for you and helping to deliver your project within the agreed timeframe. We have passed on your feedback to the team. Best wishes from all the team at Charleswood
Refit bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this builder before so were confident work would be completed on schedule, within budget and to a high standard. We were not disappointed despite extra work being evident once old tiles were removed and existing floor needed replacement. We were kept informed on exactly what work was being completed each day and great care was taken to ensure our instructions were followed. The resultant bathroom is exactly what we wanted and we are thrilled with the result.
Customer in York Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
The trader replied (on 27/07/2021)
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was once again a pleasure working for you and we hope you enjoy your new bathroom. Best wishes from all the team at Charleswood.
Very professional and great patio
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a Which? member myself, I originally found Charleswood through the Trusted Trader site and I’m extremely pleased that I did. We just had an extensive patio installed across the back of the house and Mark, Paul and the team did a really great job - real attention to detail, friendly team who always advised us on progress and options and very well organised to minimise disruption. Can’t recommend highly enough as we’ve had some pretty poor experiences with other companies in the past - shown us what a professional company can achieve. Very happy to leave this review. Thank you.
David in York Posted on 19/04/2021 , work completed 14/04/2021
The trader replied (on 07/05/2021)
Dear David, we appreciate the time you have taken to leave feedback on the service you have received. We will pass on your message to the team involved with laying your patio. We hope you get to make the most of your new patio for this Summer. Best Wishes from all the team at Charleswood.
Installation of a steel lintel.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work involved the installation of a steel lintel above an existing window to enable a new window to be fitted. I was really pleased with the work carried out by the company. Rob and Dave were a great team to have working for us. They arrived when arranged, completed the work in the timescale indicated and just got on with the job, no problems at all. They both had a great knowledge and took pride in what they were doing. The work was also completed for the fee quoted. I would certainly recommend this company. From the initial site visit by Paul, to the issuing of the contract by Mark and the actual site work this company has worked to a very high standard throughout.
Jeff in York Posted on 15/03/2021 , work completed 05/03/2021
The trader replied (on 22/03/2021)
Dear Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on the level of service you received from our company. It is always great to hear that the guys carried out the work with a sense of pride ensuring that our customers are fully satisfied with the outcome. Best wishes for all the team at Charleswood.
Garage conversion to a wet-room and a utility area.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The project was professionally planned and executed from the beginning. A site meeting prior to commencement allowed us to meet the team and we were able to discuss our requirements and preferences as well as identify potential problems. This allowed the project to progress smoothly. Excellent site management which co-ordinated the different trades and dealt with any issues promptly and efficiently. The workmanship throughout was of a very high standard and were delighted with the finished project. The work was completed within the projected time frame and budget. We have no hesitation in recommending Mark and the team of CWP.
Mervin in York Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 26/11/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Dear Mervin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure working for you and we hope you enjoy your new space. Kind regards, The Charleswood Team.
Kitchen diner project- fantastic!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently worked with mark and the team on my kitchen diner. This required knocking down the existing structural wall, bricking up doors, making good etc. I had been let down by a previous builder so it was great to meet mark and have such a professional service from day 1. Everything was clear and concise, all the building regs were taken care of- the whole process was very efficient. The work began on time and was finished as scheduled. The whole team were really nice, respectful and most importantly the end result was fantastic. I would highly recommend this company (and have done already!)
Customer in York Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 09/10/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you found the whole process efficient and more importantly that you are pleased with the end result. A big thank you too for recommending us to others. Kind regards, The Charleswood Team.
Great people, great workmanship, great extension
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark and Paul visited our house to discuss the work, and they were a pleasure to deal with. We went through the plans and we had already decided, before they left, that they would be the builders for us. They arrived on the first day (not long before Christmas) and the whole team was delightful - if you're going to have people in your house for six months (and continue to live in it) you really do have to like them. They left the house in a liveable condition over Christmas and were back in the new year. The work progressed as planned, and when it didn't (our house as opposed to them) they took everything in their stride and even fitted in an unforeseen bathroom re-fit at the same time. I was poorly throughout the build (hence the very late review) and the guys on site were so unbelievably kind, I cannot thank them enough. Paul is fantastic at communication. I don't think there's a time of night when he doesn't answer his emails! Great craftsmanship and two very happy customers.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 13/12/2020 , work completed 08/07/2019
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure working for you and we are very pleased that we have another two very happy customers. Your comments will be passed onto our team. Kind regards, The Charleswood Team
Impressive Renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We can highly recommend Charleswood Property Developments. They recently completed a beautiful renovation of our property, which involved the creation of a through kitchen/diner/living space from three different rooms involving the removal of two internal walls. Our bathroom, ensuite and downstairs cloakroom were also completely renewed. They were efficient, thorough and very competent. The most impressive feature of the team's work is the ease with which we could contact them and talk through ideas and issues. They explained any difficulties as the work progressed and any problems were sorted out quickly. Their work was even more impressive given the issues with Covid and the difficulties that this has presented with the supply of materials. We especially appreciated the tireless work and skill of Paul and Oliver, to mention just two of the marvellous team.
Customer in York Posted on 15/10/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
The trader replied (on 19/10/2020)
Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying the space that has been created and found the experience a positive one. Your comments will be passed onto our team. Kind regards, The Charleswood Team.
Amazing project management
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charleswood Property Development delivered exactly what was promised in the time frame agreed. This was a six to eight week job with only seven weeks until Christmas! By 8am on the first day it was obvious that this was a very professional building team. There were roofers, carpenters, plumbers, electricians and general builders all over my house. They at all times treated me and my property with respect.They also made sure not to unnecessarily disturb my neighbours. On Christmas day I was able to welcome my family into my newly renovated and refurbished home. Thank you Mark, Paul and the rest of the team.
Happy Bunny York Posted on 17/01/2020 , work completed 19/12/2019
Good job, well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Despite one or two minor issues with communications, the Charleswood Team delivered. A failed window lintel turned out to be due to water ingress above the window, but this was quickly resolved and a new lintel installed. Internal cracking within our property was also dealt with in a very professional manner. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to others.
Customer in York Posted on 24/10/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
The trader replied (on 25/11/2019)
Thank you for your feedback and for enabling us to resolve the issues you have described. We are pleased that you feel that we have done a good job and are happy to recommend us to others.
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark and his company did some repair work on my house back in 2016 which included fixing the roof. In September 2019 I noticed that a small area of the ridge tiles needed attention. Within a couple of days of emailing Mark, he had dispatched his site foreman to have a look who fixed the problem there and then. Bearing in mind they were busy with bigger jobs and that this was over 3 years after completing the work on my house, I consider the service I have received to be extremely professional. I would not hesitate to have Mark and his company complete work on my house again. Nor would I hesitate to recommend him to anybody I knew who needed a builder.
Customer in York Posted on 16/09/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
The trader replied (on 07/10/2019)
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate it. Whilst we initially carried out the work 3 years ago it is all part of the service and we are pleased that the problem was resolved to your satisfaction. Kind regards, Mark
Great company to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the outset the communication was clear. We were kept updated throughout the work. The work has been completed to a high standard. We would highly recommend the company and hope to continue working with them in the future.
Customer in York Posted on 05/08/2019 , work completed 28/05/2019
Utter fantastic build and experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the word go, Mark and his team were fantastic. Everything was made so easy and they always turned up when they said they would and very accommodating to all of our requirements and needs. They fully understood the project and the end result that we were wanting to achieve. Every member of the team was fantastic and very friendly and helpful throughout the process. The quality and standard of work exceeded our expectations. Paul the site manager always went over and beyond to ensure that we were happy at every stage and communicated brilliantly with us. I would without doubt recommend and use this company again in the future. We are so happy with the end result and it has made such a massive difference to our family home. Thank you so so much Team Charleswood.
Customer in York Posted on 12/03/2019 , work completed 01/12/2018
The trader replied (on 02/05/2019)
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We value your feedback and are pleased that we delivered the project to your satisfaction. Kind regards, Mark
Wonderful house renovation and extension
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark and his team have done a smashing job extending and renovating our house. My husband and I thought the whole process would be stressful whichever building team we appointed however Mark and Paul dealt with everything with professionalism making the process nothing but exciting and enjoyable. Aspects of the project where we wanted things changing from the spec, we found were often simply resolved by speaking to Charleswood about it, and we would return on our next visit to site to find our requirements had just been arranged, no fuss, no issues. The finish on all the work is done to a great standard. Mark and Paul are true gentlemen who clearly want the job to be done to a high standard and put a high value on ensuring their customers are please with their work.
Customer in York Posted on 09/03/2019 , work completed 02/02/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first time I met Mark, to the completion of our extension, his team were prompt, helpful and the quality of the work, better than expected. Nothing was too much for them when we amended the spec and advice given was appreciated. Building work is always messy but they cleaned up after every shift. I would easily recommend them to anyone.
Peter, North Yorkshire Posted on 12/12/2018 , work completed 12/12/2018
Excellent building work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charleswood Property Developments came highly recommended by two people who had each had building work carried out. From the initial contact with Mark Wood we were confident that the work would be carried out to a high standard and we were not disappointed. The work was completed within the time specified, to a high standard and by a professional and friendly team. Nothing was too much trouble and any additional requests and changes were always taken into account. Special thanks to Mark, Andy and Paul. The work undertaken on our home was a small project and we are now considering a much larger project for next year. I would not hesitate to recommend Charleswood Developments Ltd.
Happy Customer Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Super new bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with our smart new bathroom. The work was carried out very efficiently with minimal disruption t ourselves. All the workers were very pleasant and clearly skilled at their speciality's.
Hilary, North Yorkshire Posted on 23/01/2017 , work completed 23/01/2017
Super job from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark and his team provided a super job from start to finish. Competitively priced, they arrived and finished early, left the house spotless (they even washed the mugs and moved our daughter's toys back), and put in two RSJs with minimal disruption. Excellent communications throughout, and a professional manner from the whole team.
Robert, West Yorkshire Posted on 16/11/2016 , work completed 16/11/2016
Two Great Jobs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company has carried out work at our house twice. One job was knocking through to an adjacent independent "granny flat" to make it an integral part of the main house, installation of additional central heating radiators. The second job was the demolition of an unsatisfactory conservatory and construction of a greatly improved replacement. In both cases Mark Wood and his team were a joy to deal with. Communications were excellent, the work of high quality, conducted by people with a great sense of humour.
Riverman Posted on 25/09/2016 , work completed 25/09/2016
High quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with our new kitchen/extension. All aspects of this complex process well organised - very competent workers - also a pleasure to have in our home.
Alan, North Yorkshire Posted on 01/08/2014 , work completed 01/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Under his company name of Charleswood Property Developments, Mark Wood project manages a team of carefully chosen labourers and craftsmen (plumber, electrician, bricklayer, plasterer, joiner, decorator, etc.). The companyÍs work is of an excellent standard, as I discovered when they worked on my house over a period of about 5 weeks in the spring of this year (2013). Any problems are quickly sorted out with Mark, a totally honest person who genuinely cares about customer satisfaction. ItÍs wonderful to have one person to speak to about any aspect of the job. I have no hesitation in recommending Charleswood.
Jan Wilford Posted on 17/07/2013 , work completed 17/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark Wood is an excellent North Yorkshire builder. He undertook various building works during the autumn of 2010, and all were completed to a very high standard. Mark, and his team of workers including drive/ groundworks, plasterers, electricians, plumbers, joiners, bricklayers etc., was an outstanding organiser and a perfectionist in all he, and his team, undertook. I was impressed with the way his team completed tasks on time, and to budget, and I can highly recommend. The new drive, plus the building of a new kitchen, study and utiility area, were all completed on time and to a very impressive standard.
fuse Posted on 18/12/2010 , work completed 18/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark and Lee have only just started this business. They are very thorough and conscientious and produce Excellent results. They will do airy building/plumbing etc type work.
Swallow Posted on 15/07/2009 , work completed 15/07/2009